DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 14, 17-18 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin [2019/0253906] in view of Siomina [US 2014/0200016] and Nam [US 2018/0262313].
As claims 1 and 31-32, Lin [2019/0253906] discloses a device, method and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for a user equipment (UE) to perform mobility measurements in a wireless communication system, the computer- readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to: decode, at the UE upon reception from a base station, a message including a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration that indicates a CSI-RS window associated with one or more CSI-RS, with respect to one or more mobility related measurements [Fig 9, Ref 901 discloses UE receives CSI-RS timing windows which associated with CSI-RS mobility measurements such as intra-frequency with up to two CMTC and inter-frequency with up to one CMTC, Par. 0007-0008 and 0013, wherein the CMTC parameters includes timing offset, duration, periodicities wherein periodicity includes the timing windows for using to determining CSI-RS resources, Par. 0027-0028] wherein the CSI-RS window is limited by a CSI-RS measurement timing configuration (CMTC) [See Abstract, Par. 0008, 0028 discloses CSI-RS window for measuring is limited by CMTC window]; a first maximum number of CSI-RS resource periodicities configured per measurement object (MO) per intra-frequency layer [Fig 3c and 3d discloses a periodicity for intra-frequency with up to two CMTC, Par. 0031 discloses periodicity is 40 ms or 80 ms for Par. 0032 and Par. 0033 discloses 20 ms. Par. 0029 and Fig 4, Ref periodicity #1 for intra-frequency, Par. 0007, 0024] and a second maximum number of CSI-RS resource periodicities configured per MO per inter-frequency layer [Fig 3a discloses a periodicity for inter-frequency with one CMTC, Par. 0029 and Fig 4, Ref periodicity #2 for inter-frequency, Par. 0007, 0024] wherein the second maximum number is less than the first maximum number [Par. 0007 and 0024 discloses intra-frequency value is two greater than inter-frequency value is one]; determine, at the UE, the one or more mobility related measurements using the CSI-RS configuration [Par. 0007-0008 discloses UE determining when it performs inter-frequency or intra-frequency measurement based on the CSI-RS configuration, Par. 0024, 0029]; measure, at the UE, the one or more CSI-RS using the determination of the one or more mobility related measurements [Fig 2, Ref 292 and Par. 0029 discloses UE uses window 1 for intra-frequency measurement and window 2 for inter-frequency]; and generate, at the UE, a report for the base station corresponding to the measurement of the one or more CSI-RS [Fig 2, Ref 29 for generating a measurement report base on CSI-RS mobility measurements]. However, Lin fails to disclose the second maximum number is less than the first maximum number and CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing. In the same field of endeavor, Siomina [US 2014/0200016] discloses the second maximum number is less than the first maximum number [Par. [0177] “Further, the inter-frequency measurement pattern length and periodicity (L in FIG. 10) may be different, e.g., 40 ms or 80 ms, than that for intra-frequency, and may correspond to a predefined measurement gap pattern periodicity, e.g., 40 ms or 80 ms, which may apply for at least one of FDD and TDD. The current standard specifies TDD pattern periodicity and length of 20, 60 and 70 ms for some UL/DL configurations.” and [0183] “According to one embodiment, the need for the measurement gaps is taken into account also when defining the behavior of the measurement, e.g., RRM, RLM, positioning, CSI, etc., under dynamic configuration of a measurement pattern. For example, when the gaps are needed, the measurement period may be even longer than just due to the state transition. Further, the measurement period may be a function of the number of measured frequencies or carriers, e.g., the measurement period may be proportional to the number of measured frequencies or carriers. In another embodiment, the measurement period may be a function of the number of carriers requiring measurement gaps.” discloses the periodicity of inter-frequency is different from periodicity of intra-frequency for CSI measurement such as the periodicity of intra-frequency is 80 ms then the periodicity of inter-frequency is 40 ms wherein 80 ms is the first maximum of periodicities and 40 ms is the second maximum of periodicities]. However, Lin and Siomina fail to disclose CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing. In the same field of endeavor, Nam discloses the CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing [Table 2 discloses a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing for CSI-RS window in the CMTC window wherein SCS 60 khz has 4 slots, 120 khz has 8 slots and 240 khz has 16 slots, so CSI-RS measuring widow includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are depended on subcarrier spacing, Fig 22, 25, Par. 0216, 0305, CMTC window has a duration 1 ms “ 2 slots”, 0327 for slots and Par. 0281, spacing].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing as disclosed by Nam into teaching of Siomina comprising the second maximum number is less than the first maximum number into the teaching of Lin ‘906. The motivation would have been to improve communication flexibility.
As claim 4, Lin [20190253906] discloses the CSI-RS configuration is configured to include the CSI-RS window [Par. 0027].
As claim 5, Lin [20190253906] discloses the CSI-RS configuration is predetermined to include the CSI-RS window [Par. 0027].
As claim 6, Lin [20190253906] discloses decode, at the UE, the CSI-RS window using the CMTC [Par. 0027].
As claim 7, Lin [20190253906] discloses the measuring of the one or more CSI-RS includes an inter-frequency measurement and an intra-frequency measurement [Par. 0007].
As claim 14, Lin [20190253906] wherein the CMTC is configured on a per measurement object basis [See Abstract, Par. 0028].
As claim 17, Lin [20190253906] wherein the CMTC is based on a measurement gap configuration [Par. 0027].
As claim 18, Lin [20190253906] the CSI-RS configuration indicates a configured periodicity of the CSI-RS window [Par. 0027].
Claim(s) 2, 8-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘906, Nam and Siomina as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin [US 2020/0029315].
As claim 2, Lin ‘096, Nam and Siomina fail to disclose what Lin ‘315 discloses wherein the one or more mobility related measurements include Layer3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) [Par. 0380].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising one or more mobility related measurements include Layer3 reference signal received power as disclosed by Lin into the teaching of Lin ‘906, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
As claim 8, Lin ‘096, Nam and Siomina fail to disclose what Lin ‘315 discloses the intra-frequency measurement is associated with an intra-frequency carrier of a first neighboring cell to a serving cell of the UE [Par. 0327 discloses measuring intra-frequency associated with carrier of first neighbor cell “target carrier” to a serving cell to UE] and the inter-frequency measurement is associated with an inter-frequency carrier of a second neighboring cell to a serving cell of the UE [Par. 0320, discloses measuring inter-frequency associated with carrier of second neighbor cell “target carrier” to a serving cell to UE ].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the intra-frequency measurement is associated with an intra-frequency carrier of a neighboring cell to a serving cell of the UE and the inter-frequency measurement is associated with an inter-frequency carrier of a neighboring cell to a serving cell of the UE as disclosed by Lin ‘015 into the teaching of Lin, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
As claim 9, Lin ‘096, Nam and Siomina fail to disclose what Lin ‘315 discloses the CSI-RS configuration is configured per physical cell identity (PCI) [Par. 0334, 0352, discloses physical cell identifier for CSI-RS].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the CSI-RS configuration is configured per physical cell identity (PCI) as disclosed by Lin ‘015 into the teaching of Lin, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
As claim 10, Lin ‘096, Nam and Siomina fail to disclose what Lin ‘315 discloses the CSI-RS configuration is configured per CSI-RS resource [Par. 0322 discloses CSI-RS for RS resource].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the CSI-RS configuration is configured per CSI-RS resource as disclosed by Lin ‘015 into the teaching of Lin , Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
As claim 12, Lin ‘096, Nam, and Siomina fail to disclose what Lin ‘315 discloses wherein a length of the CSI-RS window selected from a group comprising 1 millisecond, 2 milliseconds, 3 milliseconds, 4 milliseconds, and 5 milliseconds [Par. 0368, 4 ms for period “window”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a length of the CSI-RS window selected from a group comprising 1 millisecond, 2 milliseconds, 3 milliseconds, 4 milliseconds, and 5 milliseconds as disclosed by Lin ‘015 into the teaching of Lin, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
As claim 13, Lin ‘906, Nam and Siomina fail to disclose what Lin ‘315 discloses wherein the CMTC is configured on a per UE basis [Par. 0361, 0368, CMTC for UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the CMTC is configured on a per UE basis as disclosed by Lin ‘015 into the teaching of Lin, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘906, Nam and Siomina as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Novlan [US 2019/0053235].
As claim 3, Lin ‘096, Nam and Siomina fail to fully disclose what Novlan [US 2019/035235 discloses CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS configuration are configured per physical cell identify (PCI) per measurement object (MO) [Fig 7 discloses CMTC configured for PCI and measurement object].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for configurating CMTC on a per PCI basis as disclosed by Novlan into the teaching of Lin, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
As claim 15, Lin ‘096, Nam and Siomina fail to fully disclose what Novlan [US 2019/0053235] discloses wherein the CMTC is configured on a per physical cell identity (PCI) basis [Fig 7 discloses CMTC is configured for PCI, Par. 0038-0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for configurating CMTC on a per PCI basis as disclosed by Novlan into the teaching of Lin, Nam and Siomina. The motivation would have been to allow an efficient signaling of measurement configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to pages 7-9, the applicant states that Nam fail to disclose the CSI-RS window is limited by a CSI-RS measurement timing configuration (CMTC) and CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing. In reply, Nam discloses the CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing [Table 2 discloses the number of slots in a frame scales with SCS such as SCS 60 khz has 40 slots, 120 khz has 80 slots and 240 khz has 160 slots and when SCS is 120 Khz with 80 slots in a frame, two consecutive slots are used for mapping of a CSI-RS resource which defined within a CSI-RS measurement window “read on the CSI-RS window is limited by a CSI-RS measurement timing configuration (CMTC) and CSI-RS window includes a predetermined number of contiguous slots that are dependent on subcarrier spacing”, Fig 22, 25, Par. 0216, 0301, 0305, 0323,
“[0216] In one example, the numerology and frame structure for the CSI-RS configuration are the same as those for SS block mapping (i.e., SS block default numerology). In such a case, the CSI-RS configuration and mapping parameters (i.e., slot offset, OFDM where to map the two OFDM symbols corresponding to a CSI-RS resource) are determined by the subcarrier spacing, e.g., according to TABLE 2.
TABLE 2
CSI-RS configuration parameters
SCS Number of slots CSI-RS in a frame CSI-RS configuration parameters
60 kHz 40 Slot offset = X Two OFDM symbols, n and n + 7 in each CSI-RS slot are used for mapping of a CSI-RS resource. FIG. 16A corresponds to this case.
120 kHz 80 Slot offset = 2X OFDM symbol m in two consecutive slots are used for mapping of a CSI-RS resource. The one time slot in FIG. 16A now corresponds to two slots, and OFDM symbols x and y correspond to OFDM symbol m in two consecutive slots.
240 kHz 160 Slot offset = 4X OFDM symbol l in two slots spaced apart by one slot (e.g., slots 4X and 4X + 2) are used for mapping of a CSI-RS resource. The one time slot in FIG. 16A now corresponds to four slots, and OFDM symbols x and y correspond to OFDM symbol l in slot 4X and 4X + 2.“.
Par. 0301, In one example, number of antenna ports per resource (or alternatively number of one/two-port resources per resource set) is considered. In one example, CSI-RS timing reference may show either SS block timing or frame boundary. In one example, CSI-RS timing configuration comprises a slot offset and/or an OFDM symbol offset for each CSI-RS resource (defined within a CSI-RS measurement window). In such example, if timing reference is an SS block, an OFDM symbol offset may be sufficient. CSI-RS resource i is transmitted in an l.sub.offset-th OFDM symbol after the first OFDM symbol of the i-th SS block. The configuration options include: a list of l.sub.offset values, one per CSI-RS resource; and a commonly applicable l.sub.offset value to all the configured CSI-RS resources.
Par. 0305, As shown in FIG. 22, CMTC configures CSI-RS measurement window timing in terms of periodicity and offset. The periodicity and offset for CMTC is likely to be configured in terms of number of frames or msec. In each CMTC period, there is one CSI-RS measurement window comprising a short duration of 1, 5, 10 msec. In the CSI-RS measurement window both SS burst set and CSI-RS are mapped.].
Par. 0323 In one embodiment of CMTC (CSI-RS measurement timing configuration), if fully flexible CSI-RS resource configuration and mapping need be supported without any restriction, the CSI-RS timing configuration may be done per resource. However, it is expected that this may incur huge overhead. A simple analysis is conducted to understand the impact of fully configuration timing configurations. There are four periodicity values agreed, which are 5, 10, 20 and 40 msec. If slot based offset is signaled, the worst case signaling overhead to be able to indicate a slot in 5, 10, 20 and 40 msec duration with 240 kHz SCS is (640+320+160+80)=1200 states (11 bits) per resource. To configure 1024 resources, the fully flexible CSI-RS timing configuration may require 11,264 bits.] and
Lin discloses the CSI-RS window is limited by a CSI-RS measurement timing configuration (CMTC) [See Abstract, Par. 0008, 0028 discloses CSI-RS window for measuring is limited by CMTC window].
So, the teaching of Lin and Nam perform the claimed invention.
In response to page 9, the applicant states that Lin ‘315 fails to discloses a length of the CSI-RS window selected from a group comprising 1 millisecond, 2 milliseconds, 3 milliseconds, 4 milliseconds, and 5 milliseconds. In reply, Nam discloses in Par. 0305 discloses CMTC configures CSI-RS measurement window timing in terms of periodicity and offset. The periodicity and offset for CMTC is likely to be configured in terms of number of frames or msec. In each CMTC period, there is one CSI-RS measurement window comprising a short duration of 1, 5, 10 msec and Par. 0325 discloses For example, if the CSI-RS mapping window size is limited to be within 5 msec, then the slot offset may be configured by two numbers: a first offset with respect to a frame/half-frame boundary, which is configured per cell; and a second offset with respect to the first offset, which may be configured lower level than the cell-level. For the first offset, fully flexible offset configuration may be necessary, in which case 11 bits may be used per cell. The second offset only need to be able to indicate up to 80 states (corresponding to number of slots in 5 msec with 240 kHz SCS). The periodicity can also be configured per cell.. In the CSI-RS measurement window both SS burst set and CSI-RS are mapped and Lin discloses the UE receives period with 4ms wherein CMTC windows is designed for CSI-RS measurement “CSI-RS window” [Par. 0361 the CSI-RS based measurement timing configuration (CMTC) window is designed for CSI-RS based mobility measurement, for example to be utilized for an asynchronous network. A UE can perform CSI-RS based measurements on a configured duration confined within the CMTC window. An accurate measurement duration per target cell (TC), i.e., the associated cell to measure, can be determined by the configured duration of associated CMTC window and the time offset of target cell relative to a reference cell (RefCell).
Par. [0366] In step 2801, the UE receives assistance information configuring CSI-RS based measurement with CMTC window. In step 2802, the UE performs CSI-RS based measurements among cell-specific measurement durations confined in the associated CMTC window.
Par. [0367] In the first approach, the gNB can signal the UE assistance information to configure the CMTC window for configuring the CSI-RS based measurement per frequency layer. The assistance information can be selected from the following examples.
Par. [0368] In a first example of assistance information, the gNB can signal the UE the periodicity of CMTC, i.e., T{circumflex over ( )}CMTC. T{circumflex over ( )}CMTC can be selected from a set of values, such as {4 ms, 8 ms, O1 ms, 20 ms, and 40 ms}.
Par. [0369] In a second example of assistance information, the gNB can signal the UE a list of cell(s) to be measured (i.e., target cells) associated with the CMTC window. The associated target cells have CSI-RS resources with same periodicity as the associated CMTC window.]. So, Lin ‘096, Nam, Siomina and Lin ‘315 discloses CSI-RS window is selected from groups 1, 4, 5 ms wherein period is 4ms then 4ms is repetition in order to have periodicity.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414