DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-7, and 19-25 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 1, 6, 21, 23, and 25 are amended. Claims 2, and 8-18 is cancelled. Claims 26-27 are new.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on November 24, 2025 are acknowledged. The objection to Claim 21 has been withdrawn due to the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pgs 5-10, filed October 20, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 3-7, and 18-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented and that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C in use.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously applied references in combination with a newly found prior art reference. The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the indicator” on ln 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as Claim 23 nor Claim 1 introduces “an indicator”. It appears that Claim 26 should depend from Claim 24, which includes the first disclosure of “an indicator”. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted the Claim 26 to require: “wherein the heating assembly further comprises an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user, wherein the indicator is a visual indicator comprising one or more light sources”. Claim 27, which depends on Claim 26, is similarly rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballesteros Gomez (WO 2018/019855 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/13/2024) in view of Blandino (US 2017/0119047 A1) and Gill (US 2018/0332894 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ballesteros Gomez, directed to aerosol generating devices (pg 1, ln 4), teaches an aerosol-generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol- generating material (pg 5, ln 18-20, pg 6, ln 16-17, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; The aerosol generating device of Fig. 1 is configured to generate an aerosol from aerosol generating substrate 200), the aerosol-generating device comprising:
a heating assembly having a mouth end and a distal end (pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; First heat source 102 and second heat source 104 form a heating assembly, having a mouth end 106 and a distal end 108), the heating assembly comprising:
a first heat source arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol-generating material in use (pg 17, ln 8-12, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; First heat source 102 is arranged to heat, but not burn, first portion 202 of aerosol generating substrate 200);
a second heat source arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol-generating material in use (pg 17, ln 8-12, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; Second heat source 104 is arranged to heat, but not burn, second portion 204 of aerosol generating substrate 200),
the first heat source being disposed closer to the mouth end of the heating assembly than the second heat source (pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; First heat source 102 is disposed closer to mouth end 106 than second heat source 104); and
a controller for controlling the first and second heat sources (pg 15, ln 26 – pg 16, ln 4, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; The aerosol-generating device comprises a controller for controlling the first and second heat source 102, 104),
wherein the first or second heat source may be an induction heating unit (pg 15, ln 4-24),
but does not explicitly state that i) the first heat source is a first induction heating unit, and the second heat source in a second induction heating unit, ii) wherein the heating assembly is configured such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the at least one of the first and second induction heating units, and iii) such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C in use.
With respect to i), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use induction heating units as the first and second heat sources because Ballesteros Gomez states that induction heating systems are advantageous because the varying magnetic field magnitude can be easily controlled by controlling the electromagnet, design freedom and control over the heating profile may be greater, and cost may be lower (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 15, ln 4-24).
Ballesteros Gomez does not teach the aerosol-generating device ii) wherein the heating assembly is configured such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the at least one of the first and second induction heating units, and iii) such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C in use.
With respect to iii), Blandino, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001], [0089], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 is a device for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material. [0057], the term “smokable material” includes materials that provide volatilized components upon heating, typically in the form of vapor or an aerosol), teaches an aerosol-generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol-generating material ([0089], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 generates an aerosol by heating an article that comprises smokable material (aerosol-generating material)), the aerosol-generating device comprising:
an induction heating unit arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol-generating material in use ([0089]-[0097], Fig. 3; Apparatus 100 comprises a heating zone 111 for receiving an article comprising smokable material; a heater 115 for heating the heating zone 111, wherein the heater 115 comprises heating material that is heatable by penetration with a varying magnetic field; and a magnetic field generator 112 for generating a varying magnetic field that penetrates the heating material of the heater 115. Magnetic field generator 112 comprises an electrical power source 113, a coil 114, a device 116 for passing a varying electrical current, such as an alternating current, through the coil 114. [0059], Heater 115, and magnetic field generator 112 form an induction heating unit arranged to heat, but not burn, the article (aerosol-generating material) in use),
wherein the induction heating unit reaches a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C in use ([0018]-[0024], the heater 115 comprises heating material, wherein the heating material has a Curie point temperature that is less than the combustion temperature of the smokable material. The Curie point temperature may be less than 350 degrees Celsius, less than 325 degrees Celsius, less than 300 degrees Celsius. [0003]-[0007], the Curie point temperature is equal to or less than a maximum temperature to which the heater 115 is to be heated in use. [0089]-[0097], Fig. 3; Heater 115 (which is inductively heated by magnetic field generator 112) reaches a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C in use, in at least one embodiment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the device of Ballesteros Gomez such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C in use as taught by Blandino because Ballesteros Gomez and Blandino are directed to aerosol generating devices, Ballesteros Gomez states that its temperature operating range is only exemplary (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 11, ln 13-17), Blandino demonstrates that operating temperatures greater than 250°C and less than 300°C are suitable for a tobacco substrate (Blandino, [0003]-[0024], [0057]), and the disclosure in Blandino would have motivated a skilled artisan to provide the induction unit(s) having the claimed maximum operating temperature.
Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino does not teach the aerosol-generating device ii) wherein the heating assembly is configured such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the at least one of the first and second induction heating units.
With respect to ii), Gill, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0006]-[0010], The electronic vapour inhaler generates an aerosol by heating a non-liquid flavour release medium such as tobacco. Tobacco generates an aerosol upon heating (see instant specification, pg 1, ln 9-20)), teaches an aerosol-generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol-generating material ([0006], [0024]-[0027], Fig. 1; Electronic vapour inhaler 10 generates an aerosol by heating non-liquid flavour release medium 30 (tobacco)), the aerosol-generating device comprising:
an induction heating unit arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol-generating material in use ([0011], [0024]-[0028], Fig. 1; Induction heating arrangement 34 comprises an induction coil 36 which inductively heats induction heatable element 28. Induction heatable element 28 heats, but does not burn non-liquid flavour release medium 30); and
a controller for controlling the induction heating unit ([0024]-[0028], Fig. 1; Control arrangement 20 controls induction heating arrangement 34);
wherein the induction heating unit reaches a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the at least one of the first and second induction heating units ([0011], [0024]-[0030], Fig. 1; Induction heatable element 28 reaches a maximum operating temperature of 250° C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power from power source 22 to induction coil 36),
wherein the induction unit rises from an ambient temperature to the maximum operating temperature at a rate of at least 1000°C per second ([0011], [0024]-[0030], Fig. 1; Induction heatable element 28 rises from ambient temperature a maximum operating temperature of 250°C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power to induction coil 36. The rate of temperature increase is equal to (250°C – ambient temperature)/0.2 seconds. If ambient temperature is interpreted as anywhere between 15°C and 25°C, rate of temperature increase is between 1125°C/s to 1175°C/s. Ballesteros Gomez has been modified in Claim 1 to include the induction heating unit of Gill).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the one or both of the first and second induction heating units taught by Ballesteros Gomez with the induction heating unit taught by Gill such that the heating assembly is configured such that at least one of the first and second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the at least one of the first and second induction heating units because Ballesteros Gomez and Gill are directed to aerosol generating devices, Gill demonstrates that Gill demonstrates that an induction heating unit with a low thermal mass rapidly cools in the absence of an alternating electromagnetic field and ensures that the aerosol generating substrate (tobacco) does not burn or char (Gill, [0011]), and this involves substituting at least one induction heating unit with another prior art induction heating unit to yield predictable results. Further, because the induction heating unit of Gill is capable of rising from an ambient temperature to the maximum operating temperature at a rate of at least 1000°C per second (Gill, [0011], [0024]-[0030]), the induction units would be necessarily capable of rising from an ambient temperature to the maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C within 20 seconds of supplying power (Gill, [0011], [0024]-[0030]; Induction heatable element 28 rises from ambient temperature a maximum operating temperature of 250°C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power to induction coil 36. It is reasonably understood that the induction heating units of Gill would be capable of reaching a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C (e.g. 251°C) within 20 seconds of supplying power).
Regarding Claim 3, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino and Gill teaches an aerosol-generating device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the device wherein the at least one induction heating unit includes the first induction heating unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the first induction heating unit to reach a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the first induction heating unit because Gill demonstrates that at least one induction heating unit reaches a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the at least one induction heating unit (Gill, [0011], [0024]-[0030]), and Ballesteros Gomez demonstrates that there are only two induction heating units in the aerosol generating device (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; Aerosol generating device comprises first heat source 102 and second heat source 104). As there are only a finite number of options presented for the induction heating unit configured to reach the maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by selecting from this finite list of options. Thus, it would have been obvious to try configuring the first induction heating unit to reach a maximum operating temperature within 20 seconds of supplying power to the first induction heating unit, as claimed, because there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions.
Regarding Claim 4, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino and Gill teaches an aerosol-generating device according to claim 1. Ballesteros Gomez further teaches the aerosol-generating device wherein the first inductive heating unit is controllable independent from the second inductive heating unit (pg 17, ln 29-30).
Regarding Claim 5, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino and Gill teaches an aerosol-generating device according to claim 1. Ballesteros Gomez further teaches the aerosol-generating device wherein the heating assembly is configured such that the first and second induction heating units have temperature profiles which differ from each other in use (pg 17, ln 21-27).
Regarding Claim 6, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino and Gill teaches an aerosol-generating device according to claim 1. Ballesteros Gomez further teaches the aerosol-generating device wherein the heating assembly is configured such that in use at least one induction unit rises from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature (pg 5, ln 22-28, pg 15, ln 4-24, pg 23, ln 5 – pg 24, ln 3, Figs. 2-3; Fig. 2 shows that at least one heat source (Heater 2) is programmed to rise from a first operating temperature of 160 °C to a maximum operating temperature 240 °C which is higher than the first operating temperature. Fig. 3 shows that at least one heat source (Heater 2) rises from 160 °C to 240 °C. The heat sources are induction heating units as applied to Claim 1). Gill further teaches the aerosol generating device wherein one of the induction units rises from a first temperature to the maximum operating temperature at a rate of at least 50°C per second ([0011], [0024]-[0030], Fig. 1; Induction heatable element 28 rises from ambient temperature a maximum operating temperature of 250°C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power to induction coil 36. The rate of temperature increase is equal to (250°C – ambient temperature)/0.2 seconds. If ambient temperature is interpreted as anywhere between 15°C and 25°C, rate of temperature increase is between 1125°C/s to 1175°C/s. Ballesteros Gomez has been modified in Claim 1 to include the induction heating unit of Gill),
but does not teach the aerosol generating device wherein the heating assembly is configured such that in use the second induction unit rises from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature at a rate of at least 50°C per second.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the heating assembly such that in use the second induction unit rises from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature because Ballesteros Gomez demonstrates that at least one induction unit rises from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 5, ln 22-28, pg 23, ln 5 – pg 24, ln 3, Figs. 2-3; Fig. 3 shows that at least one heat source (Heater 2) rises from a first operating temperature of 160 °C to a maximum operating temperature 240 °C which is higher than the first operating temperature), and that there are only two induction heating units in the aerosol generating device (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; Aerosol generating device comprises first heat source 102 and second heat source 104). As there are only a finite number of options presented for the induction heating unit configured to rise from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by selecting from this finite list of options. Thus, it would have been obvious to try configuring the second induction unit to rise from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature, as claimed, because there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the second induction heating unit to rise from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature at a rate of at least 50°C per second because Gill demonstrates that one of the induction units rises from a first temperature to the maximum operating temperature at a rate of at least 50°C per second (Gill, [0011], [0024]-[0030], Fig. 1; Induction heatable element 28 rises from ambient temperature a maximum operating temperature of 250°C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power to induction coil 36. The rate of temperature increase is equal to (250°C – ambient temperature)/0.2 seconds. If ambient temperature is interpreted as anywhere between 15°C and 25°C, rate of temperature increase is between 1125°C/s to 1175°C/s), and Ballesteros Gomez demonstrates that there are only two induction heating units in the aerosol generating device (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; Aerosol generating device comprises first heat source 102 and second heat source 104). As there are only a finite number of options presented for the induction heating unit configured to rise from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature at a rate of at least 50°C per second, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by selecting from this finite list of options. Thus, it would have been obvious to try configuring the second induction heating unit to rise from a first operating temperature to a maximum operating temperature which is higher than the first operating temperature at a rate of at least 50°C per second, as claimed, because there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions.
Regarding Claim 7, Gill further teaches the aerosol-generating device wherein the heating assembly is configured such that the at least one of the first or second induction heating units reaches a maximum operating temperature in less than 2 seconds of activating the device ([0011], [0024]-[0030], Fig. 1; Induction heatable element 28 rises from ambient temperature a maximum operating temperature of 250°C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power to induction coil 36. It is reasonably understood that the induction heating unit of Gill would be capable of reaching a maximum operating temperature greater than 250°C and less than 300°C (e.g. 251°C) within 2 seconds of activating the device),
but does not teach the device wherein the heating assembly is configured such that the first induction heating unit reaches a maximum operating temperature within 2 seconds of activating the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the first induction heating unit to reach a maximum operating temperature within 2 seconds of activating the device because Gill demonstrates that at least one induction heating unit reaches a maximum operating temperature within 2 seconds of activating the device (Gill, [0011], [0024]-[0030], Fig. 1; Induction heatable element 28 rises from ambient temperature a maximum operating temperature of 250°C within 0.2 seconds of supplying power to induction coil 36), and Ballesteros Gomez demonstrates that there are only two induction heating units in the aerosol generating device (Ballesteros Gomez, pg 21, ln 27 – pg 22, ln 5, Fig. 1; Aerosol generating device comprises first heat source 102 and second heat source 104). As there are only a finite number of options presented for the induction heating unit configured to reach the maximum operating temperature within 2 seconds of activating the device, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by selecting from this finite list of options. Thus, it would have been obvious to try configuring the first induction heating unit to reach a maximum operating temperature within 2 seconds of activating the device, as claimed, because there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions.
Claims 19-21, and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballesteros Gomez (WO 2018/019855 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/13/2024) in view of Blandino (US 2017/0119047 A1) and Gill (US 2018/0332894 A1) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Lim (US 2020/0305512 A1).
Regarding Claims 19-20 and 24, Ballesteros Gomez further teaches the aerosol-generating device wherein the heating assembly is operable in at least a first mode (pg. 2, ln 3-25; In the first mode, the first and second heat sources have different controlled temperature profiles),
but does not teach the device wherein the heating assembly is operable in at least a first mode and a second mode, wherein a maximum operating temperature for the first mode differs from a maximum operating temperature for the second mode, wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user interacting with a user interface for selecting the first mode or second mode, wherein the heating assembly further comprises an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user.
Lim, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]), teaches an aerosol-generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol-generating material ([0056]-[0059], Fig. 2; Aerosol generating device 10 is configured to heat cigarette 100 (aerosol generating material) to generate an aerosol), the aerosol-generating device comprising:
a heating assembly comprising: an induction heating unit arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol-generating material in use ([0056]-[0059], Fig. 2; Aerosol generating device 10 comprises a heating assembly comprising heater 130. Heater 130 is configured to heat but not burn cigarette 100 (aerosol generating material) to generate an aerosol. [0066], The heater 130 may include an induction heater and cooperate with a susceptor. Lim does not include the words ‘burn’ or ‘ignite’. The sole usage of the word ‘combustive’ ([0071]) does not relate to the operation of the device 10, and is only used as a comparative term); and
a controller for controlling the induction heating unit ([0056], [0062], Fig. 2; Aerosol generating device 10 comprises controller 110 for controlling heater 130 (induction heating unit)),
wherein the heating assembly is operable in at least a first mode and a second mode ([0047]-[0051], Fig. 1; Device 10 is configured to communicate with user terminal 20 and cigarette database 30. [0130]; The user terminal 20 displays a plurality of temperature profiles of different types of cigarette through a display unit included therein. A user selects at least one of the temperature profiles through an input device included in the user terminal 20. The selected temperature profile is transmitted to the aerosol generation device 10 and is stored in a storage device of the aerosol generation device 10. Thereafter, when a cigarette is coupled to the heater of the aerosol generation device 10, the aerosol generation device 10 controls the temperature of the heater based on the temperature profile stored in the storage device. The plurality of temperature profiles which are selectable by a user, correspond to at least a first mode and a second mode of operation for the heating assembly comprising heater 130),
wherein a maximum operating temperature for the first mode differs from a maximum operating temperature for the second mode ([0110], The maximum operating temperature for a first temperature profile (first mode) may be different from a maximum operating temperature for a second temperature profile (second mode),
wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user interacting with a user interface for selecting the first mode or second mode ([0130]; The user terminal 20 (user interface) displays a plurality of temperature profiles of different types of cigarette through a display unit included therein. A user selects at least one of the temperature profiles through an input device included in the user terminal 20. The selected temperature profile is transmitted to the aerosol generation device 10 and is stored in a storage device of the aerosol generation device 10. Thereafter, when a cigarette is coupled to the heater of the aerosol generation device 10, the aerosol generation device 10 controls the temperature of the heater based on the temperature profile stored in the storage device),
wherein the heating assembly further comprises an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user ([0130]; The user terminal 20 (user interface) displays a plurality of temperature profiles of different types of cigarette through a display unit included therein. A user selects at least one of the temperature profiles through an input device included in the user terminal 20. The selected temperature profile is transmitted to the aerosol generation device 10 and is stored in a storage device of the aerosol generation device 10. Thereafter, when a cigarette is coupled to the heater of the aerosol generation device 10, the aerosol generation device 10 controls the temperature of the heater based on the temperature profile stored in the storage device. [0103], Fig. 6 demonstrates that device 10 can further include a display unit 150 which allows the user to select the temperature profile. If display unit 150 provides a list of temperature profiles and the user can view which profile they select, then display unit 150 is an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user. If the operation of selecting the temperature profile can be performed on the display unit 150, and the display unit 150 is operatively connected to controller 110 and heater 130, then the heating assembly comprises the display unit 150 (indicator)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aerosol generating device of Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino and Gill wherein the heating assembly is operable in at least a first mode and a second mode, wherein a maximum operating temperature for the first mode differs from a maximum operating temperature for the second mode, wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user interacting with a user interface for selecting the first mode or second mode, wherein the heating assembly further comprises an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user as taught by Lim because Ballesteros Gomez, Blandino, Gill, and Lim are directed to aerosol generating devices, Lim demonstrates that this configuration allows the user to control their smoking experience based on their preferences (Lim, [0105], [0130]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 21, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, and Lim teaches the aerosol-generating device according to claim 19, but does not teach the device wherein a ratio between a first mode maximum operating temperature of the first heating unit and a first mode maximum operating temperature of the second heating unit is different from a ratio between a second mode maximum operating temperature of the first heating unit and a second mode maximum operating temperature of the second heating unit.
As Ballesteros Gomez has been modified in view of Lim such that a maximum operating temperature for the first mode differs from a maximum operating temperature for the second mode (Lim, [0110]), and Ballesteros Gomez has been modified in view of Blandino such that a maximum operating temperature may be in a range from 250°C to 300°C (Blandino, [0003]-[0024]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a ratio between a first mode maximum operating temperature of the first heating unit and a first mode maximum operating temperature of the second heating unit and a ratio between a second mode maximum operating temperature of the first heating unit and a second mode maximum operating temperature of the second heating unit can be adjusted by selecting different maximum operating temperatures for the first heating unit and the second heating unit in the first and second mode. As there are infinite values for maximum operating temperatures in the range from 250° C to 300° C, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select suitable operating temperatures which yield a ratio between a first mode maximum operating temperature of the first heating unit and a first mode maximum operating temperature of the second heating unit that is different from a ratio between a second mode maximum operating temperature of the first heating unit and a second mode maximum operating temperature of the second heating unit.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballesteros Gomez (WO 2018/019855 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/13/2024) in view of Blandino (US 2017/0119047 A1), Gill (US 2018/0332894 A1), and Lim (US 2020/0305512 A1) as applied to Claim 19, and further in view of Schorr (US 2021/0023316 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, and Lim does not teach the aerosol generating device wherein a duration of the first mode differs from a duration of the second mode.
Schorr, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0196]-[0197]; Inhaler 100 is a device configured to generate an aerosol from one or more source materials), teaches an aerosol-generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol-generating material ([0196]-[0197]; Inhaler 100 is a device configured to generate an aerosol from one or more source materials (aerosol-generating material)), the aerosol-generating device comprising:
a heating assembly comprising: an induction heating unit arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol-generating material in use ([0196]-[0197]; Inhaler 100 comprises heating operator 110 comprising heating element 114 which is configured to heat the one or more source materials to generate an aerosol. Schorr does not include the words ‘burn’, ‘combust’, or ‘ignite’); and
wherein the heating assembly is operable in at least a first mode and a second mode ([0173], [0276], Fig. 2; Heating operator of inhaler 100 is operable based on a selection form a plurality of heating profiles. The plurality of heating profiles corresponds to a first mode and a second mode),
wherein a duration of the first mode differs from a duration of the second mode ([0224] lists three profiles lasting 1 second, 2 seconds, and 3 seconds respectively. [0250]-[0251], Fig. 5 shows that source materials (aerosol-generating materials) heated for different durations yield aerosols having different quantities of volatilized components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, and Lim wherein a duration of the first mode differs from a duration of the second mode as taught by Schorr because Ballesteros Gomez, Blandino, Gill, Lim, and Schorr are directed to aerosol generating devices, Schorr demonstrates that providing heating modes wherein a duration of a first mode differs from a duration of a second mode yields aerosols having different quantities of volatilized components (Schorr, [0250]-[0251], Fig. 5), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballesteros Gomez (WO 2018/019855 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/13/2024) in view of Blandino (US 2017/0119047 A1), Gill (US 2018/0332894 A1), and Lim (US 2020/0305512 A1) as applied to Claim 19, and further in view of Kaufman (US 2017/0119046 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Lim further teaches the device wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user interacting with a user interface for selecting the first mode or second mode ([0130]; The user terminal 20 (user interface) displays a plurality of temperature profiles of different types of cigarette through a display unit included therein. A user selects at least one of the temperature profiles through an input device included in the user terminal 20. The selected temperature profile is transmitted to the aerosol generation device 10 and is stored in a storage device of the aerosol generation device 10. Thereafter, when a cigarette is coupled to the heater of the aerosol generation device 10, the aerosol generation device 10 controls the temperature of the heater based on the temperature profile stored in the storage device),
wherein the user interface comprises a mechanical button ([0049], The input device of the user terminal 20 may include at least one selected from a mechanical button),
but does not teach the device wherein the user interface comprises a mechanical switch selected from a biased switch, a rotary switch, a toggle switch, or a slide switch.
Kaufman, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]-[0002], [0050]), teaches an aerosol generating device ([0050], [0058]-[0062], Figs. 1-4; Apparatus for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material. The smokable material generates an aerosol upon heating) comprising:
a user interface comprising a mechanical switch selected from a toggle switch ([0058]-[0065], Figs. 1-4; The apparatus includes a user interface 180 which may comprise a push-button, a toggle switch, a dial, a touchscreen, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the push-button user interface of Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, and Lim with the toggle switch user interface of Kaufman because Ballesteros Gomez, Blandino, Gill, Lim, and Kaufman are directed to aerosol generating devices, Kaufman demonstrates that a toggle switch user interface is a suitable alternative for a push-button user interface (Kaufman, [0065]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballesteros Gomez (WO 2018/019855 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/13/2024) in view of Blandino (US 2017/0119047 A1), Gill (US 2018/0332894 A1), and Lim (US 2020/0305512 A1) as applied to Claim 19, and further in view of Scheck (US 2017/0027232 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, and Lim does not teach the device wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user during a first portion of a session of use, wherein the selected mode cannot be changed by the user during a second portion of the session of use.
Scheck, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]-[0002], [0040]-[0049], Fig. 1; Device 10 is configured to vaporize an active substance to generate an aerosol), teaches an aerosol-generating device ([0001]-[0002], [0040], Fig. 1; Device 10), the aerosol-generating device comprising:
a heating assembly ([0040]-[0049], Fig. 1; Device 10 comprises two heating resistors 120, 125 which form a heating assembly),
wherein the heating assembly is operable in at least a first mode and a second mode ([0040]-[0049], Fig. 1; Device 10 comprises a means 135 for controlling the heating of each resistor 120, 125 (heating assembly). [0080]-[0081], In some variants, the device 10 comprises a rotating ring, whose degree of rotation determines an amount of active substance to be vaporized and an overall heating power for the two resistors, 120 and 125. [0077], The means 135 for controlling the heating of each resistor 120, 125 actuates each resistor 120, 125 independently in accordance with the determined amount of active substance to be vaporized. The variable heating power of the two resistors 120, 125 generates at least a first and second mode of operation of the heating assembly),
wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user during a first portion of a session of use ([0080]-[0081], In some variants, the device 10 comprises a rotating ring, whose degree of rotation determines an amount of active substance to be vaporized and an overall heating power for the two resistors, 120 and 125. [0077], The means 135 for controlling the heating of each resistor 120, 125 actuates each resistor 120, 125 independently in accordance with the determined amount of active substance to be vaporized. The variable heating power of the two resistors 120, 125 generates at least a first and second mode of operation of the heating assembly. A user rotates that ring to determine the amount of active substance to be vaporized (the first mode, second mode, etc), and means 135 controls the two resistors 120, 125 in accordance with the determined amount of active substance to be vaporized. [0080]-[0087], Based on the cited disclosures relating to the rotating ring, button, or touch area for selecting the level of active substance to be evaporated, it is reasonably understood that such user selections can be performed during a first portion of a session of use), and
wherein the selected mode cannot be changed by the user during a second portion of the session of use ([0105], In some variants, the control means 135 is deactivated during a predefined limit time when a predefined limit quantity of active substance has been vaporized during a predefined limit time. The first portion of the session of use ends and the second portion of the session use begins when the predefined limit time has elapsed. [0077]-[0079], If the control means 135 is deactivated during the second portion, regulation of the amount of active substance does not occur, and any user selections made on the rotating ring will not be performed by the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the device of Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, and Lim wherein the first mode and second mode are selectable by a user during a first portion of a session of use, wherein the selected mode cannot be changed by the user during a second portion of the session of use as taught by Scheck, because Ballesteros Gomez, Blandino, Gill, Lim, and Scheck are directed to aerosol-generating devices, Scheck demonstrates that allowing the first mode and second mode be selectable by a user during a first portion of a session of use provides increased flexibility in the operation of the device, such that the device may function according to a user preference (Scheck, [0077]-[0087]), Scheck demonstrates that preventing the selected mode from being changed by the user during a second portion of the session of use can serve as a method of limiting the user’s consumption of nicotine (Scheck, [0002]-[0003], [0019], [0105]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 26-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballesteros Gomez (WO 2018/019855 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/13/2024) in view of Blandino (US 2017/0119047 A1), Gill (US 2018/0332894 A1), Lim (US 2020/0305512 A1), Kaufman (US 2017/0119046 A1) as applied to Claim 23, and further in view of Rucker (US 2019/0239567 A1).
Regarding Claims 26-27, Lim further teaches the aerosol generating device wherein the heating assembly further comprises an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user ([0130]; The user terminal 20 (user interface) displays a plurality of temperature profiles of different types of cigarette through a display unit included therein. A user selects at least one of the temperature profiles through an input device included in the user terminal 20. The selected temperature profile is transmitted to the aerosol generation device 10 and is stored in a storage device of the aerosol generation device 10. Thereafter, when a cigarette is coupled to the heater of the aerosol generation device 10, the aerosol generation device 10 controls the temperature of the heater based on the temperature profile stored in the storage device. [0103], Fig. 6 demonstrates that device 10 can further include a display unit 150 which allows the user to select the temperature profile. If display unit 150 provides a list of temperature profiles and the user can view which profile they select, then display unit 150 is an indicator for indicating the mode of operation of the device to a user. If the operation of selecting the temperature profile can be performed on the display unit 150, and the display unit 150 is operatively connected to controller 110 and heater 130, then the heating assembly comprises the display unit 150 (indicator)),
but does not teach the aerosol-generating device wherein the indicator is a visual indicator comprising one or more light sources, wherein the device is further configured such that the indicator indicates to the user when the aerosol-generating device is ready for use.
Rucker, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]-[0003]), teaches an aerosol generating device ([0063]-[0066], Fig. 1; Vapour producing device 1 is configured to generate an aerosol by heating a herbal vapour producing material 8) comprising:
a visual indicator comprising one or more light sources ([0083], Fig. 1; Vapour producing device 1 comprises an indication light (not shown) which illuminates to indicate to the user that the heating temperature has been reached and the device 1 is ready to be used),
wherein the device is further configured such that the indicator indicates to the user when the aerosol-generating device is ready for use ([0083], Fig. 1; Vapour producing device 1 comprises an indication light (not shown) which illuminates to indicate to the user that the heating temperature has been reached and the device 1 is ready to be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, Lim, and Kaufman wherein the indicator is a visual indicator comprising one or more light sources as taught by Rucker because Ballesteros Gomez, Blandino, Gill, Lim, Kaufman, and Rucker are directed to aerosol generating devices, Rucker demonstrates that one or more light sources can serve as a visual indicator for a user (Rucker, [0083]), and this involves substituting one visual indicator for another to yield predictable results.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Ballesteros Gomez in view of Blandino, Gill, Lim, and Kaufman wherein the device is further configured such that the indicator indicates to the user when the aerosol-generating device is ready for use as taught by Rucker because Ballesteros Gomez, Blandino, Gill, Lim, Kaufman, and Rucker are directed to aerosol generating devices, Rucker demonstrates that a visual indicator can indicate to a user that a heating unit has reached a predetermined heating temperature and that the user may begin inhaling from an aerosol generating device (Rucker, [0083]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
If attempts to reac