Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-19, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP2087045B1, evidenced by WO2004035474A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 22, EP2087045B1 discloses an aqueous pigment dispersion comprising silanized colloidal silica particles in an aqueous dispersion with a weight ratio of silane to silica from about 0.25 to about 1.5, a pigment such as inorganic pigment content about 25 to about 85 wt% and an organic binder content below about 15, for example below about 10 or below about 5, for example below about 3 or below about 1 or below about 0.1 wt%. See [0005-0006]; [0023]; [0030].
EP2087045B1 discloses that WO2004035474A1 shows an organic binder is subsequently mixed with the dispersion of silanized colloidal silica particles. The term "organic binder" includes latex, water soluble resins and polymers and mixtures thereof. Water soluble resins and polymers can be of various types such as e.g. poly(vinyl alcohols), modified poly(vinyl alcohols), polycarboxylates, poly(ethylene glycols), poly(propylene glycols), polyvinylpyrrolidones, polyallylamines, poly(acrylic acids), polyamidamines polyacrylamides, polypyrroles, proteins such as casein, soybean proteins, synthetic proteins, polysaccharides such as cellulose derivatives including methylcelluloses, ethylcelluloses, hydroxyethylcelluloses, methylhydroxyethylcelluloses, ethylhydroxyethylcelluloses or carboxymethylcelluloses, and starches or modified starches; chitosan, polysaccharide gums such as e.g. guar gums, arabic gums, xanthan gums and mastic gums and mixtures or hybrids thereof. See page 4, line 36 to page 5, line 18.
The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "overlapping" ranges, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 2 and 23, EP2087045B1 discloses that the weight ratio of silica to pigment is from about 0.02 to about 0.8 to form said substantially aqueous pigment dispersion. The organic binder content in the aqueous pigment dispersion below about 15, for example below about 10 or below about 5. The silica content in the dispersion is from about 1 to about 80 wt%. See [0006] and claim 13.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, EP2087045B1 discloses that suitable silane compounds to be admixed with colloidal silica particles include epoxy silanes and silane compounds containing a glycidoxy or glycidoxypropyl group; tris-(trimethoxy)silane, octyl triethoxysilane, methyl triethoxysilane, methyl trimethoxysilane; isocyanate silane such as tris-[3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl]isocyanurate; gamma-mercaptopropyl trimethoxysilane, bis-(3-[triethoxysilyl]propyl)polysulfide, beta-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)-ethyl trimethoxysilane; silanes containing an epoxy group (epoxy silane), glycidoxy and/or a glycidoxypropyl group such as gamma-glycidoxypropyl trimethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropyl methyldiethoxysilane, (3-glycidoxypropyl)trimethoxy silane, (3-glycidoxypropyl) hexyltrimethoxy silane, beta-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)-ethyltriethoxysilane; silanes containing a vinyl group such as vinyl triethoxysilane, vinyl trimethoxysilane, vinyl tris-(2-methoxyethoxy)silane, vinyl methyldimethoxysilane, vinyl triisopropoxysilane; gamma-methacryloxypropyl trimethoxysilane, gamma-methacryloxypropyl triisopropoxysilane, gamma-methacryloxypropyl triethoxysilane, octyltrimethyloxy silane, ethyltrimethoxy silane, propyltriethoxy silane, phenyltrimethoxy silane, 3-mercaptopropyltriethoxy silane, cyclohexyltrimethoxy silane, cyclohexyltriethoxy silane, dimethyldimethyoxy silane, 3-chloropropyltriethoxy silane, 3-methacryoxypropyltrimethoxy silane, i-butyltriethoxy silane, trimethylethoxy silane, phenyldimethylethoxy silane, hexamethyldisiloxane, trimethylsilyl chloride, vinyltriethoxy silane, hexamethyldisilizane, and mixtures thereof. US 4,927,749 discloses further suitable silanes which may be used in the present invention. See [0020],
Regarding claims 4 and 13-14, EP2087045B1 discloses that colloidal silica particles employed suitably have an average particle diameter ranging from about 2 to about 150, for example from about 2 to about 100, or from about 3 to about 50, or from about 4 to about 40, or from about 4 to about 15, or from about 5 to about 12 nm. See [0013]. Table 5 discloses the claimed size.
Regarding claims 5 and 15-17, EP2087045B1 discloses that the pigment has a particle size ranging from about 10 to about 5000, e.g. from about 100 to about 1000, or from about 100 to about 500, or from about 200 to about 400 nm. See [0024]
Regarding claims 6-7 and 18-19, WO2004035474A1 discloses that the binder is polysaccharide gums such as e.g. guar gums, arabic gums, xanthan gums and mastic gums and mixtures or hybrids thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 05/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731