DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Wang), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0216614 in view of Gao et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0156709 (Gao 709’).
Regarding Claims 1, 13 and 17, Wang discloses a method comprising:
processing downlink control information (DCI) received from a base station (for
example, the HARQ-ACK timing may be indicated via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling or control information, i.e. Downlink Control Information (DCI)… the network device 120 may transmit 210 control information, i.e., Downlink Control information to the terminal device 110.; see paragraphs [0038]-[0040], [0048]-[0049] and figure 2);
determining, based on the DCI (i.e., first DCI 611, second DCI 612, third DCI 613), a physical uplink channel resource within a slot of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) slot group (see figure 6A), the physical uplink channel resource determined using one or more entries associated with a first symbol and a number of symbols that correspond to a start and Length Indicator (SLIV) (i.e., the terminal device 110 may determine respective Start and Length Indicator Values, SLIVs; see paragraphs [0100] and [0101]), a plurality of acknowledgements to be bundled in a HARQ codebook based on the time domain bundling (for example, the HARQ-ACK value for the first PDSCH 312 and the HARQ-ACK value for the second PDSCH 313 can be bundling to be a one-bit HARQ-ACK value and reported in the PUCCH 314. For example, if ACK for the first PDSCH 312, NACK for the second PDSCH 313, then the one-bit HARQ-ACK value may be ACK(1)&NACK(0)=NACK(0).; see paragraph [0055]), wherein the one or more entries are determined based on the time domain bundling being provided (see figure 6A); and
generating, for transmission on a physical uplink channel, one or more HARQ
codebooks in the physical uplink channel resource (for example, the HARQ-ACK values for PDSCHs 621, 622, 623 and 624 can be reported in the positions 641 to 644 and the HARQ-ACK values for PDSCH 625 and PDSCH 626 can be reported in the positions 645 and 646, respectively.; see paragraph [0078]).
Wang fails to disclose the HARQ slot group including a plurality of uplink slots and corresponding to a time domain bundling of the plurality of uplink slots for HARQ.
Gao 709 discloses the HARQ slot group including a plurality of uplink slots and corresponding to a time domain bundling (i.e., if U1 and U2 are within one slot and/or U1 and U2 overlap in time domain; see paragraphs [0122] and [0134]) of the plurality of uplink slots for HARQ (i.e., the terminal device 120 can transmit 210 the previous control information 205 (for example, via a PUCCH or a PUSCH) to the network device 110 in the first slot 318. As shown in FIG. 3, with a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a set of K1 values {3, 6, 8} for transmitting HARQ-ACK indications to the network device 110 in the first slot 318.; see paragraphs [0073], [0075] and figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 709’s invention with Wang’s invention for improving the reliability and robustness of transmissions of control information in the communication system (see abstract for Gao 709’).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Gao 709’ in view of Gao et al. (Gao), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0269039 (Gao 039’).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the physical uplink channel has a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and wherein a size of the HARQ slot group is based on a subcarrier spacing. Gao 039’ discloses wherein the physical uplink channel has a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and wherein a size of the HARQ slot group is based on a subcarrier spacing (see paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 3, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the size is fixed, and wherein the method further comprises: signaling, to the base station, capability of a user equipment for the transmission using the subcarrier spacing larger than 120 KHz; and processing radio resource control (RRC) configuration received from the base station and indicating the size. Gao 039’ discloses wherein the size is fixed, and wherein the method further comprises: signaling, to the base station, capability of a user equipment for the transmission using the subcarrier spacing larger than 120 KHz (see paragraph [0094]); and processing radio resource control (RRC) configuration received from the base station and indicating the size (see paragraph [0108]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the size is dynamic, and wherein the method further comprises determining the size based on the DCI. Gao 039’ discloses wherein the size is dynamic, and wherein the method further comprises determining the size based on the DCI (see paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the DCI indicates a slot offset indicator and the method further comprises: determining, based on the slot offset indicator, a slot offset (K1) between data reception and HARQ feedback transmission, wherein the slot offset (K1) is defined based on HARQ slot groups. Gao 039’ discloses wherein the DCI indicates a slot offset indicator and the method further comprises: determining, based on the slot offset indicator, a slot offset (K1) between data reception and HARQ feedback transmission, wherein the slot offset (K1) is defined based on HARQ slot groups (see paragraph [0107]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the entries are defined in a physical channel control uplink (PUCCH) resource table, wherein the DCI indicates the entries. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the entries are defined in a physical channel control uplink (PUCCH) (see paragraph [0072]) resource table, wherein the DCI indicates the entries (see paragraph [0043] and Tables 5.4-1 & 5.4-2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 8, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the entries are defined in a physical channel control uplink (PUCCH) resource table, wherein the DCI includes a first field that indicates a slot of the HARQ slot group and a second field that indicates the entries. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the entries are defined in a physical channel control uplink (PUCCH) (see paragraph [0072]) resource table, wherein the DCI includes a first field that indicates a slot of the HARQ slot group and a second field that indicates the entries (see paragraph [0043] and Tables 5.4-1 & 5.4-2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 9, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the one or more of HARQ codebooks represent a plurality of acknowledgements/negative-acknowledgements (ACKs/NAKs), wherein each ACK/NAK corresponds to a different transport block or a different code block group. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the one or more of HARQ codebooks represent a plurality of acknowledgements/negative-acknowledgements (ACKs/NAKs), wherein each ACK/NAK corresponds to a different transport block or a different code block group (see paragraph [0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks represent a single acknowledgement/negative-acknowledgement (ACK/NAK) that corresponds to a plurality of transport blocks or a plurality of code block groups. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks represent a single acknowledgement/negative-acknowledgement (ACK/NAK) that corresponds to a plurality of transport blocks or a plurality of code block groups (see paragraphs [0072] and [0076]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 18, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the one or more non-
transitory computer-readable storage media as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the physical uplink channel has a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks include a semi-static codebook generated for a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is based on a subcarrier spacing being larger than 120 KHz. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the physical uplink channel has a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks include a semi-static codebook generated for a number of slots, wherein the number of slots is based on a subcarrier spacing being larger than 120 KHz (see paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the one or more non-
transitory computer-readable storage media as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks include a semi-static codebook generated for slots that have at least one of: symbols with a valid base station-UE beam pair, valid flexible symbols, or valid uplink symbols. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks include a semi-static codebook generated for slots that have at least one of: symbols with a valid base station-UE beam pair, valid flexible symbols, or valid uplink symbols (see paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the one or more non-
transitory computer-readable storage media as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks include a dynamic codebook generated for slots, wherein the slots are indicated by a plurality of downlink assignment indexes based on a subcarrier spacing being larger than 120 KHz. Gao 039’ disclose wherein the one or more HARQ codebooks include a dynamic codebook generated for slots, wherein the slots are indicated by a plurality of downlink assignment indexes based on a subcarrier spacing being larger than 120 KHz (see paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gao 039’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for properly scheduling uplink data as described throughout Gao 039’.
Claim(s) 5, 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Gao 709’ in view of Noh et al. (Noh), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0328849.
Regarding Claim 5, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described
above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the HARQ slot group includes a HARQ sub-slot group, wherein the one or more of HARQ codebooks include the HARQ codebook for the HARQ sub-slot group. Noh discloses wherein the HARQ slot group includes a HARQ sub-slot group, wherein the one or more of HARQ codebooks include the HARQ codebook for the HARQ sub-slot group (see paragraph [0342] and Table 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling dale of the claimed invention to consider Noh’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for decreasing wireless data traffic as described in the background section of Noh.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose further comprising: generating the single ACK/NAK by performing an AND operation on a plurality of ACKs/NAKs, wherein each of the plurality of ACKs/NAKs corresponds to a different transport block or a different code block group. Noh discloses further comprising: generating the single ACK/NAK by performing an AND operation on a plurality of ACKs/NAKs, wherein each of the plurality of ACKs/NAKs corresponds to a different transport block or a different code block group (see paragraphs [0163] and [0176]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling dale of the claimed invention to consider Noh’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for decreasing wireless data traffic as described in the background section of Noh.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the method as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose further comprising: signaling, to the base station, capability of a user equipment (UE) for the transmission using a subcarrier spacing larger than 120 KHz; and receiving, from the base station, a size of the HARQ slot group and a size a set formed by the one or more HARQ codebooks. Noh discloses further comprising: signaling, to the base station, capability of a user equipment (UE) for the transmission using a subcarrier spacing larger than 120 KHz (see paragraphs [0067] and [0069]); and receiving, from the base station, a size of the HARQ slot group and a size a set formed by the one or more HARQ codebooks (see paragraph [0095]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling dale of the claimed invention to consider Noh’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for decreasing wireless data traffic as described in the background section of Noh.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the apparatus as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the physical uplink channel having a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate the one or more HARQ codebooks based on a number of HARQ processes, wherein the number is larger than sixteen. Noh discloses wherein the physical uplink channel having a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate the one or more HARQ codebooks based on a number of HARQ processes, wherein the number is larger than sixteen (see Table 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling dale of the claimed invention to consider Noh’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for decreasing wireless data traffic as described in the background section of Noh.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang and Gao 709’ disclose the apparatus as described above. Wang and Gao 709’ fail to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a repetition number from the DCI; and generate the one or more HARQ codebooks based on the repetition number. Noh discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a repetition number from the DCI; and generate the one or more HARQ codebooks based on the repetition number (see Table 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling dale of the claimed invention to consider Noh’s invention with Wang’s and Gao 709’s invention for decreasing wireless data traffic as described in the background section of Noh.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
August 12, 2025