DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. As directed by the amendment: no claim(s) has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 14-26 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15, 17, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al (US 2019/0009573) in view of Smelser et al (US 2012/0013661).
Regarding claim 14, Grossmann discloses an apparatus for marking electric devices aligned on a support rail, comprising
(a) a receptacle (Fig. 2 #9 receiving device) for receiving the support rail (Fig. 3 #11 carrier rail), said receptacle (Fig. 2 #9 receiving device) having a longitudinal axis and being mounted on a frame (Fig. 3 #14 linear feed) for pivotal movement about said longitudinal axis (Fig. 2 shows the receptacle having a longitudinal axis and is mounted on Fig. 3 #14 rotary mounts.).
However, Grossmann does not disclose (b) a movable laser assembly arranged adjacent to said receptacle, said laser assembly initially being guided for displacement in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis to a selected position relative to said receptacle and subsequently applying a marking to the electric devices by deflecting a laser beam within a focal area of said laser assembly relative to said receptacle.
Nonetheless, Smelser in the same field of endeavor being laser marking devices teaches (b) a movable laser assembly (Fig. 2 #60 beam marking system) arranged adjacent to said receptacle, said laser assembly (Fig. 2 #60 beam marking system) initially being guided for displacement in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis to a selected position relative to said receptacle and subsequently applying a marking to the electric devices by deflecting a laser beam within a focal area of said laser assembly relative to said receptacle ([0044] lines 3-9 ---"In some instances, the movable arm 300 has two or more movable components that collectively move the beam marking device 104 along or about two or more three axes. For example, as shown, the movable arm 300 includes a first arm portion 306 that has a movable component 302 that can move the marking device 104 along a first axis 304, such as an X-axis. “).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann by incorporating the movable laser assembly as taught by Smelser for the benefit of rapidly, accurately, and safely marking a beam. (Smelser [0005])
Regarding claim 15, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), and Grossmann teaches wherein said receptacle (Fig. 2 #9 receiving device) includes a longitudinal support member (Shown in the figure below) including a receiving bed (Shown in the figure below) for receiving the support rail (Fig. 3 #11 carrier rail), said support member including pivot arms (Fig. 3 #14 rotary mounts) for connection with the frame (Fig. 3 #14 linear feed), whereby said receiving bed (Shown in the figure below) is off-center with respect to a rotation axis of said receptacle (Fig. 2 #9 receiving device) (Fig. 3 shows the receiving bed being off-center from a rotational axis of the receptacle.).
Regarding claim 17, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), and Grossmann teaches further comprising a slider (Fig. 2 #10 terminal block) arranged on the longitudinal support member and movable relative to said longitudinal support member (Shown in the figure above) to secure support rails (Fig. 3 #11 carrier rail) of different length.
Regarding claim 21, Grossmann discloses an apparatus for marking electric devices aligned on a support rail, comprising
(a) a receptacle (Fig. 2 #9 receiving device) for receiving the support rail (Fig. 3 #11 carrier rail), said receptacle (Fig. 2 #9 receiving device) having a longitudinal axis and being mounted on a frame (Fig. 3 #14 linear feed) for pivotal movement about said longitudinal axis through a pivot angle of more than 3600;
However, Grossmann does not disclose (b) a laser assembly arranged adjacent to said receptacle for applying a marking to the electric devices, said laser assembly being guided for displacement in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis.
Nonetheless, Smelser teaches (b) a laser assembly (Fig. 2 #60 beam marking system) arranged adjacent to said receptacle for applying a marking to the electric devices, said laser assembly (Fig. 2 #60 beam marking system) being guided for displacement in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis ([0044] lines 3-9 ---"In some instances, the movable arm 300 has two or more movable components that collectively move the beam marking device 104 along or about two or more three axes. For example, as shown, the movable arm 300 includes a first arm portion 306 that has a movable component 302 that can move the marking device 104 along a first axis 304, such as an X-axis. “).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann by incorporating the moveable laser assembly as taught by Smelser for the benefit of rapidly, accurately, and safely marking a beam. (Smelser [0005])
Regarding claim 22, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), and Grossmann teaches further wherein said longitudinal support member includes lateral guide plates (Fig. 1 #1 terminal) which protrude laterally above a plane containing said receiving bed and extend in a longitudinal direction of said longitudinal support member.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al (US 2019/0009573) in view of Smelser et al (US 2012/0013661) as applied to claim 14, further in view of Grossmann et al (US 2014/0299732) (hereinafter referred to as “Grossmann ‘732”).
Regarding claim 18, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), but does not teach further comprising a receiving lug arranged on each of said longitudinal support member and on said slider, respectively, said receiving lugs protruding above opposite ends of said support rail.
Nonetheless, Grossmann ‘732 in the same field of endeavor being support systems for machining a workpiece teaches further comprising a receiving lug (Fig. 3 #16b screws) arranged on each of said longitudinal support member and on said slider, respectively, said receiving lugs (Fig. 3 #16b screws) protruding above opposite ends of said support rail.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann in view of Smelser by incorporating the lugs as taught by Grossmann ‘732 for the benefit of fastening the base body to the support rail.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al (US 2019/0009573) in view of Smelser et al (US 2012/0013661) as applied to claim 15, further in view of Sanders, Jr. et al (US 5,506,607).
Regarding claim 19, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), but does not teach wherein said longitudinal support member receiving bed contains at least one electromagnet for securing a support rails within said receiving bed.
Nonetheless, Sanders, Jr. in the same field of endeavor being laser machining devices teaches wherein said longitudinal support member receiving bed contains at least one electromagnet (Fig. 1 #31 electromagnets) for securing a support rails within said receiving bed (Col. 4 lines 7-10 ---"The model shaving system includes electromagnets 31 for engaging the carriage 12 and Y coordinate rails 5 for moving the milling cutter along the X-coordinate rails.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann in view of Smelser by incorporating the electromagnets as taught by Sanders, Jr. for the benefit of engaging the carriage to the coordinate rails.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al (US 2019/0009573) in view of Smelser et al (US 2012/0013661) and Sanders, Jr. et al (US 5,506,607) as applied to claim 19, further in view of Clover et al (US 4,025,807).
Regarding claim 20, Grossmann in view of Smelser and Sander, Jr. teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 19), but does not teach further comprising a rotary feed through connector connected with said receptacle to deliver a current too said at least one electromagnet.
Nonetheless, Clover in the same field of endeavor being electromagnetic motors teaches further comprising a rotary feed (Fig. 1 #46 rotary ball contactor) through connector connected with said receptacle to deliver a current too said at least one electromagnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann in view of Smelser and Sanders, Jr.by incorporating the rotary feed as taught by Clover for the benefit of providing current to the electromagnet.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al (US 2019/0009573) in view of Smelser et al (US 2012/0013661) as applied to claim 14, further in view of Robbins et al (US 2006/0262182).
Regarding claim 24, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), but does not teach further comprising a first linear guide parallel to said receptacle and connecting said movable laser assembly with said receptacle for linear displacement relative to said receptacle.
Nonetheless, Robbins in the same field of endeavor being laser marking devices teaches further comprising a first linear guide (Fig. 9 #250 mount) parallel to said receptacle and connecting said movable laser assembly with said receptacle for linear displacement relative to said receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann in view of Smelser by incorporating the first linear guide as taught by Robbins for the benefit of securing the laser assembly to the support structure.
Regarding claim 25, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), but does not teach further comprising at least one additional linear guide which extends perpendicular to said first linear guide for connecting said laser assembly with said receptacle.
Nonetheless, Robbins teaches further comprising at least one additional linear guide (Fig. 9 #252 arm) which extends perpendicular to said first linear guide for connecting said laser assembly with said receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann in view of Smelser by incorporating the additional first linear guide as taught by Robbins for the benefit of securing the laser assembly to the support structure.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al (US 2019/0009573) in view of Smelser et al (US 2012/0013661) as applied to claim 14, further in view of Zhang et al (US 2011/0193929).
Regarding claim 26, Grossmann in view of Smelser teaches the apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), but does not teach wherein said movable laser assembly includes a laser head having a laser which emits in a UV wavelength range.
Nonetheless, Zhang in the same field of endeavor being laser marking devices teaches wherein said movable laser assembly includes a laser head having a laser which emits in a UV wavelength range ([0056] lines 1-5 ---" Laser parameters which may be advantageously employed by embodiments of this invention include using lasers with wavelengths which range from IR through UV, or more particularly from about 10.6 microns down to about 355 nm.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Grossmann in view of Smelser by incorporating the UV laser as taught by Robbins for the benefit of producing pulse parameters associated with the desired color and optical density.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claims 16 and 21:
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach splitting movement between two devices, a receptacle and a moveable laser assembly. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Prior art reference Grossman teaches a receptacle movable in a longitudinal direction. Prior art reference Smelser teaches a laser assembly moveable in a direction parallel to the longitudinal direction. Furthermore, the laser assembly of Smelser is capable of movement on an x, y, or z axis. Smelser considers splitting the movement between the laser assembly and the movement system (receptacle) [0007]. Grossmann teaches the movement of the receptacle in a longitudinal direction. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Grossmann and Smelser to teach split movement between the receptacle and the movement system to arrive at the claimed invention.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, an apparatus having a receptacle capable of longitudinal movement and a laser assembly capable of parallel movement to the longitudinal movement of the receptacle would be in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, citing the referenced combination of Grossmann and Smelser.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761