DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks submitted October 24, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 8-11, 23-37, 30-34, and 36-41 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues claims 8, 24, and 31 should not be rejected under 35 USC 112(a) because these claims do not recite “translating… parameters,” which is a limitation of claim 9 (Remarks, p. 6). The Examiner has carefully considered this point, but notes the claims are rejected because of the “providing [to/for the UE]” of these parameters (claim 1, line 9). The Examiner does not see in the specification wherein the PCF receives parameters (claim 1, line 3)1, and subsequently transmits2 these same parameters to the UE.
Applicant nevertheless directs attention to paragraph [0043] of the specification, and asserts “the PCF translat[ing] the information from the AF into policy rules and then provid[ing] the translated policy rules to UE1” is adequate support for 35 USC 112(a). The Examiner respectfully disagrees because even this paragraph [0043] describes that which is received from the AF (“information”) as different than what is provided to the UE (“rules”). The rejection under 35 USC 112(a) is therefore maintained. However, this rejection will be withdrawn and/or overcome if the claim is amended to adopt the language of paragraph [0043]. The Examiner notes that the claim(s) have been interpreted similar to the manner described in paragraph [0043]. For instance, the previously set forth rejection under 35 USC 112(b) sets forth the interpretation as providing, to the first UE, the policy rules for the SL session.
This rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn and/or overcome. However, Applicant’s statement that the claims have been amended “in accordance with the Examiner’s suggestions” (Remarks, p. 7) is inaccurate, as the previous Office action set forth the interpretation of providing, to the first UE, “the policy rules for the SL session” (p. 3), which is in congruence with Applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant argues the prior art of record fails to teach “receiving, from an application server (AS), a provisioning of sidelink (SL) parameters… the SL parameters including at least… a path selection policy for PC5 interface selection” (Remarks, pp. 8-9). Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 8, 24, 31, and all dependent thereon, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant’s specification lacks adequate support for a transmission by the PCF to the UE of the parameters received from the AS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 8-10, 24-26, 31-33, and 36-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0279075 (hereinafter “Fan”), alternatively in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0367026 (hereinafter “Li`026”), in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0261757 (hereinafter “Rajadurai”), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0322202 (hereinafter “Li`202”).
Regarding claims 8, 24, and 31: Fan teaches a policy control function (PCF) of a core network (see, e.g., [0045], figures 1-3), comprising: one or more processors configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from an application server (AS), a provisioning of sidelink (SL) parameters for an interactive service for a user equipment (UE) group comprising a first UE and at least one further UE connected via a SL to the first UE, the SL parameters including at least session management parameters for sidelink group communication (see, e.g., [0069]-[0072]; note also [0008]-[0009], [0044], [0058], and/or [0099]; a provisioning of parameters is received; note also interactive services and D2D communication); and
providing, to the first UE, the SL parameters (see, e.g., [0008], [0013], [0045]; rules are sent that are based on the policy).
To the extent Fan does not inherently teach a first feature of “session management parameters” thereafter translated into the rules (note the messaging is for session management, policy control, and/or charging), this feature is nevertheless taught by Li`026 (see, e.g., [0052]; note also [0011], [0060], and [0092]; note session parameters). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Li`026, such as the parameter signaling, within the system of Fan, in order to improve session management.
Fan modified by Li`026 fails to explicitly state the second feature of “a validity time, wherein the validity time indicates when the session management parameters for sidelink group communication are to expire.” However, this feature is taught by Rajadurai (see, e.g., [0036], [0046], [0047], [0053], [0101]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Rajadurai, such as the parameter signaling, within the system of Fan modified by Li`026, in order to improve reporting and/or charging accuracy.
Fan modified by Li`026 and Rajadurai further teaches the third feature of “a path selection policy for PC5 interface path selection” (see, e.g., Fan [0038]-[0045], [0069]-[0072]; and/or Li`026 [0092], [0101]). To the extent this feature is not inherent to Fan modified by Li`026 and Rajadurai, it is nevertheless taught in Li`202 (see, e.g., [0274], [0287]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Li`202, such as the parameter signaling, within the system of Fan modified by Li`026 and Rajadurai, in order to improve sidelink throughput.
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 8 is applicable to the method and medium of claims 24 and 31, respectively.
Regarding claims 9, 25 and 32: Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202 further teaches translating at least a portion of the SL parameters into policy rules comprising charging rules (see, e.g., Fan [0008], [0013], [0045]; also Rajadurai [0036], [0046]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 8 is applicable to claim 9.
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 9 is applicable to the method and medium of claims 25 and 32, respectively.
Regarding claims 10, 26, and 33: Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202 further teaches wherein the policy rules comprise a rule indicating the first UE is to report SL usage (see, e.g., Fan [0006] and [0041]).
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 10 is applicable to the method and medium of claims 26 and 33, respectively.
Regarding claims 36, 38, and 40: Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202 further teaches wherein the path selection policy for PC5 interface path selection comprises traffic routing rules for PC5 path selection (see, e.g., Fan [0038]-[0045], [0069]-[0072]; Li`026 [0092], [0101]; and/or Li`202 [0274], [0287]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 8 is applicable to claim 36.
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 36 is applicable to the method and medium of claims 38 and 40, respectively.
Regarding claims 37, 39, and 41: Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202 further teaches wherein the SL parameters are provided to the first UE via a UE configuration update procedure (see, e.g., Fan [0075], [0104]; Li`026 [0108], [0129]; and/or Li`202 [0306], [0324]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 8 is applicable to claim 37.
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 37 is applicable to the method and medium of claims 39 and 41, respectively.
10. Claims 11, 23, 27, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, alternatively in view of Li`026, in further view of Rajadurai, and in further view of Li`202, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0262924 (hereinafter “Dao”).
Regarding claims 11, 27, and 34: Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202 further teaches wherein the policy rules comprise a rule indicating the first UE is to report a duration of the SL session (see, e.g., Li`026 [0101]; Rajadurai [0034], [0035]). To the extent this feature is not inherent to Fan modified by Dao and Li`026, it is nevertheless taught in Dao (see, e.g. Dao [0060]-[0062], [0107]-[0108]; note also [0029]-[0033], [0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Dai, such as the parameter signaling, within the system of Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202, in order to improve session management.
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 11 is applicable to the method and medium of claims 27 and 34, respectively.
Regarding claims 23 and 30: Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202 further teaches provisioning a session management function (SMF) of a core network (CN) with the policy rules so that the SMF can determine a duration of the SL session in accordance with the charging rules (see, e.g., Li`026 [0101]; Rajadurai [0034], [0035]). To the extent this feature is not inherent to Fan modified by Dao and Li`026, it is nevertheless taught in Dao (see, e.g. Dao [0060]-[0062], [0107]-[0108]; note also [0029]-[0033], [0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Dai, such as the parameter signaling, within the system of Fan modified by Li`026, Rajadurai, and Li`202, in order to improve session management.
The rationale set forth above regarding the PCF of claim 23 is applicable to the method and medium of claim 30.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 Applicant confirmed the limitation of “receiving… a provisioning of sidelink (SL) parameters” to mean receiving sidelink parameters (see the Interview Summary mailed July 24, 2025, item 2).
2 “Providing,” in this context, is interpreted as transmitting (either directly or indirectly).