DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 30-42 are pending. Claims 1-29 are cancelled.
Making Final
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner is maintaining the rejection(s) using the same grounds for rejection and thus making this action FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presents the following argument(s) [in italics]:
… Applicant's specification describes the gateway identifier as identifying a logical group of elevator systems or escalator systems specifically, so that a particular elevator system or escalator system or a group of elevator systems or a group of escalator systems can be identified. See Par [0030], [0052], and [0070]. Despite the name, Applicant's "gateway identifier" does not identify the communication gateway…
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
The Examiner notes that the Gesch device ID information assigned to the Simcik gateway results in identifying the Simcik elevator system 202 as the recipient of the Gesch configuration file that is transmitted to the said gateway.
The Applicant Remarks appear to be indicate wherein the ‘gateway identifier’ is used to differentiate between a plurality of different elevator systems connected to the gateway.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e a plurality of different elevator systems connected to the gateway) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant presents the following argument(s) [in italics]:
… The Gesch device ID information only identifies the component 102 to the terminal device 108 and is provided by the component. Applicant's gateway identifier is provided by the portable device to the communication gateway and identifies the transportation system. As explained in Applicant's " [0030], [0052] and [0070], the configuration data comprise a gateway identifier identifying a logical group of elevator systems or escalator systems. The gateway identifier can be elevator systems or escalator systems specific, so that a particular elevator system or escalator system or a group of elevator systems or a group of escalator systems can be identified. The Gesch device ID information is not being provided to the component 102 and does not identify the elevator system 106 as recited in Applicant's claims….
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
The Examiner notes that the Gesch device ID information assigned to the Simcik gateway results in identifying the Simcik elevator system 202 as the recipient of the Gesch configuration file that is transmitted to the said gateway.
The Applicant Remarks appear to be indicate wherein the ‘gateway identifier’ is used to differentiate between a plurality of different elevator systems connected to the gateway.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e a plurality of different elevator systems connected to the gateway) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant presents the following argument(s) [in italics]:
… Oggianu does not disclose a third communication connection from the communication gateway (gateway device 240) to a transportation system control unit (system controller 115). The communication path described by the Examiner uses the communication module 220 in the mobile wireless access point 210 to transfer data between the communication nodes 280 and the gateway device 240 (TII [0037] and [0048]). As shown in Fig. 2, the gateway device 240 only has two communication paths. Oggianu does not describe a communication path between the gateway device 240 and the system controller 115…
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Oggianu Paragraph 41 disclosed wherein mobile wireless access point 210 may be an active rider of the elevator car 130 configured to control the schedule and operation of the elevator car 103 to facilitate the transfer of data 202 between communication nodes and the local gateway device 240.
Oggianu Figure 2,Paragraph 37,Paragraph 48 disclosed wherein the mobile wireless access point 210 includes a short-range communication module 220 located within the mobile wireless access point 210. The short-range communication module 220 is configured to allow the controller 212 of the mobile wireless access point 210 to communicate with the communication nodes 280, other mobile wireless access points 210 and the local gateway device 240 through short-range wireless protocols. The short-range communication module 220 may consist of one or more wireless transceivers capable of transmitting/receiving data 202 to/from the local gateway device 240 and the nodes 280.
Oggianu disclosed (re. Claim 30) establishing a third communication connection from the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the transportation system through a third communication connection interface of the communication gateway. (Oggianu-Figure 2,Paragraph 37,Paragraph 48,the mobile wireless access point 210 includes a short-range communication module 220 located within the mobile wireless access point 210. The short-range communication module 220 is configured to allow the controller 212 of the mobile wireless access point 210 to communicate with the communication nodes 280, other mobile wireless access points 210, and the local gateway device 240 through short-range wireless protocols 203. The short-range communication module 220 may consist of one or more wireless transceivers capable of transmitting/receiving data 202 to/from the local gateway device 240 and the nodes 280.)
The Applicant presents the following argument(s) [in italics]:
… The Higgins site location data is obtained by scanning the barcode on the equipment and is confirmed by the maintenance management unit 118. Thus, the site location data is not included in the maintenance procedures data subsequently sent to the personnel computing device 106…
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Higgins disclosed (re. Claim 40) receiving data at the portable device for installing and commissioning the communication gateway,(Higgins-Column 7 Lines 40-45, the procedures (when more than one is required to be performed during the inspection) are provided to the personnel in a predetermined order based on the work performed) the data including a site location for installation, (Higgins-Column 6 Lines 60-65 , scan of barcode 116 is to identify that the personnel is at the equipment 108 which is required to be inspected. This assists in confirming that the maintenance schedule for the equipment 108 is occurring at the proper date and time, that the personnel are at the proper location, and with the proper piece of equipment 108. )
Priority
This application claims benefits of priority from Foreign Application EP19165928.3 filed March 28, 2019.
The effective date of the claims described in this application is March 28, 2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-39,41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gesch (US Patent 11095502) further in view of Simcik (USPGPUB 2020/0109025) further in view of Verma (USPGPUB 2020/0382365) further in view of Swami (USPGPUB 20190112148) further in view of Oggianu (USPGPUB 20190393950)
Regarding Claim 30
Gesch Column 5 Lines 60-65 disclosed wherein terminal device 108 is configured to exchange data with the passenger conveyor component 102 wirelessly (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections). In at least one embodiment, the passenger conveyor component 102 can wirelessly transmit the device ID information to the terminal device 108 in response to receiving a device ID request signal.
Gesch disclosed (re. Claim 30) a method for commissioning a control unit of a transportation system using a portable device, the method comprising the steps of:
establishing a first communication connection from the portable device to the control unit of the transportation system; (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65,terminal device 108 is configured to exchange data with the passenger conveyor component 102 wirelessly (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections).)
transmitting configuration data to the portable device from the control unit using the established first communication connection, wherein the configuration data includes a device ID identifying the transportation system; (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65 ,the passenger conveyor component 102 can wirelessly transmit the device ID information to the terminal device 108 in response to receiving a device ID request signal.)
establishing, using the configuration data, a second communication connection from the control unit to a server unit; (Gesch-Column 8 Lines 30-35, passenger conveyor component 102 is equipped with WiFi communication capability or Internet connection, the component 102 proceeds to operation 9a and wirelessly transmits a commission request signal that is received by the network controller 111 via the API 118,Column 8 Lines 45, network controller verifies the passenger conveyor component 102 and establishes a secure data link 112 between the data communication network 110 and the component 102. Once verified, the configuration file corresponding to the selected device type is transmitted to the component 102 via the secure data link 112.)
and initiating a control unit configuration file deployment received from a server unit by the established second communication connection (Gesch-Column 8 Lines 45, network controller verifies the passenger conveyor component 102 and establishes a secure data link 112 between the data communication network 110 and the component 102. Once verified, the configuration file corresponding to the selected device type is transmitted to the component 102 via the secure data link 112.) to commission the control unit in the transportation system.(Gesch-Column 8 Lines 30-35, passenger conveyor component 102 is equipped with WiFi communication capability or Internet connection, the component 102 proceeds to operation 9a and wirelessly transmits a commission request signal that is received by the network controller 111 via the API 118. )
While Gesch substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch does not disclose (re. Claim 30) a communication gateway and a gateway identifier specifically identifying the particular transportation system.
While Gesch substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch does not disclose (re. Claim 30) initiating a communication gateway software deployment received from a server unit
While Gesch substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch does not disclose (re. Claim 30) transmitting configuration data from the portable device to the control unit using the established first communication connection
Simcik Figure 2,Paragraph 36 disclosed wherein gateway 204 may be part of the controller 220. In one embodiment, the gateway 204 may be separate from the controller 220.
Simcik disclosed (re. Claim 30) a communication gateway.(Simcik-Figure 2,Paragraph 36,gateway 204 may be part of the controller 220. In one embodiment, the gateway 204 may be separate from the controller 220.)
Gesch and Simcik are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding elevator control systems. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Simcik into Gesch. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable wherein a single controller 306 may control all of the elevators 304 and enable forwarding requests to the cloud server 210 for processing through the cloud network to provide processing and performance analysis and further obtaining controller configuration parameters for the one or more elevators. (Simcik-Paragraph 38,Paragraph 54)
Gesch-Simcik disclosed (re. Claim 30) transmitting configuration data from the portable device to the control unit using the established first communication connection, (Simcik-Paragraph 51,user device 310 can be used to send a request to the system 300 to report an issue, to modify service, request an evaluation, etc. The request and/or commands can be transmitted to the controller 306 and the cloud server 314 through the gateway 312)
wherein the configuration data includes a device ID identifying the transportation system; (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65 ,the passenger conveyor component 102 can wirelessly transmit the device ID information to the terminal device 108 in response to receiving a device ID request signal.)
The Examiner notes wherein the combination of Gesch-Simcik does not explicitly disclose ‘a gateway identifier’.
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. An exemplary rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness is that of ' applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.'
At the time of the claimed invention it would have been well-known in the networking art to use various device attributes to identify a specific target device when sending a request/command to said target device. In context of Gesch-Simcik it would have been obvious to implement the Gesch device ID information assigned to the Simcik gateway and further use the device ID as the communication gateway identifier.
While Gesch-Simcik substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch-Simcik does not disclose (re. Claim 30) initiating a communication gateway software deployment received from a server unit
Verma Paragraph 32 disclosed updating of the system software of devices acting as cloud gateways 20, 22, 24.
Verma disclosed (re. Claim 30) initiating a communication gateway software deployment received from a server unit.(Verma-Paragraph 32,updating of the system software of devices acting as cloud gateways 20, 22, 24.)
Gesch,Simcik and Verma are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding machine control systems. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Verma into Gesch-Simcik. The motivation for the said combination would have been to implement a software update assessment that takes into account the risks that may arise if a software update fails.(Verma-Paragraph 9)
Gesch disclosed (re. Claim 30) establishing a first communication connection from the portable device to the control unit of the transportation system through a first communication connection interface of the control unit; (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65,terminal device 108 is configured to exchange data with the passenger conveyor component 102 wirelessly (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections).)
establishing, using the configuration data, a second communication connection to a server unit through a second communication connection interface of the control unit; (Gesch-Column 8 Lines 30-35, passenger conveyor component 102 is equipped with WiFi communication capability or Internet connection, the component 102 proceeds to operation 9a and wirelessly transmits a commission request signal that is received by the network controller 111 via the API 118,Column 8 Lines 45, network controller verifies the passenger conveyor component 102 and establishes a secure data link 112 between the data communication network 110 and the component 102. Once verified, the configuration file corresponding to the selected device type is transmitted to the component 102 via the secure data link 112.)
The Examiner notes wherein Gesch disclosed using first connection with first communication interface of the control unit via wireless (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections) and using a second connection with a second communication interface of the control unit via WiFi communication capability or Internet connection.
Simcik Paragraph 38 disclosed wherein the communication gateway receives a request from the user mobile device using WiFi and/or Bluetooth and forwards the request to the cloud.
In the combination of Gesch-Simcik it would have been obvious to implement the Simcik gateway following the Gesch method of using a Bluetooth/USB interface to communicate with the user mobile device and separately using a WiFi/ Internet interface to communicate with the cloud.
Gesch-Simcik disclosed (re. Claim 30) establishing a first communication connection from the portable device to the communication gateway of the transportation system through a first communication connection interface (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65,terminal device 108 is configured to exchange data with the passenger conveyor component 102 wirelessly (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections).) of the communication gateway (Simcik- Paragraph 38 ,the communication gateway receives a request from the user mobile device and forwards the request to the cloud using WiFi and/or Bluetooth)
establishing, using the configuration data, a second communication connection to a server unit through a second communication connection interface (Gesch-Column 8 Lines 30-35, passenger conveyor component 102 is equipped with WiFi communication capability or Internet connection, the component 102 proceeds to operation 9a and wirelessly transmits a commission request signal that is received by the network controller 111 via the API 118,Column 8 Lines 45, network controller verifies the passenger conveyor component 102 and establishes a secure data link 112 between the data communication network 110 and the component 102. Once verified, the configuration file corresponding to the selected device type is transmitted to the component 102 via the secure data link 112.) of the communication gateway (Simcik- Paragraph 38 ,the communication gateway receives a request from the user mobile device and forwards the request to the cloud using WiFi and/or Bluetooth)
While Gesch-Simcik substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch-Simcik does not disclose (re. Claim 30) selecting a version of communication gateway software stored on the server unit based upon the gateway identifier;
initiating a communication gateway software deployment received of the selected communication gateway software version from the server unit by the established second communication connection to the communication gateway; and
executing the deployed communication gateway software version to commission the communication gateway in the transportation system
Swami Paragraph 35 disclosed an intermediary controller 101, a sub-system 102, and at least one sensor 103, a backend sub-system 106, and augmenting device 110.
Swami disclosed (re. Claim 30) selecting a version of communication gateway software stored on the server unit (Swami-Paragraph 62-63, the captured information is verified by the augmenting device with a backend sub-system to determine whether there are any available upgrades for the equipment… the backend sub-system can cross-reference software version data to verify software/firmware for the equipment.,) based upon the gateway identifier and an identifier of the particular transport system;(Swami-Paragraph 40, The code is an optical, machine-readable, representation of data describing an object that carries the code itself. The data describing the object can comprise at least a serial number, Paragraph 57, an augmenting device is utilized to scan a code of an intermediate controller to procure first captured information. At block 420, the augmenting device is utilized to scan a code of elevator control equipment and/or sensors to procure second captured information, Paragraph 58-59, the augmenting device communicates the first and second captured information to the backend sub-system. Once the first and second captured information is received, the backend sub-system performs a remote verification service by utilizing the first and second captured information to search an internal database to locate and analyze the entries for the intermediate controller, the elevator control equipment, and sensors. For instance, the backend sub-system can cross-reference commission data to verify software/firmware for the intermediate controller, the elevator control equipment, and sensors is correct)
initiating a communication gateway software deployment received of the selected communication gateway software version from the server unit by the established second communication connection to the communication gateway; (Swami-Paragraph 19, the intermediary controller can execute the downloading of the software for the equipment ) and
executing the deployed communication gateway software version to commission the communication gateway in the transportation system (Swami-Paragraph 63, the intermediate controller automatically upgrades the equipment by installing the current software)
Gesch,Simcik and Swami are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding machine control systems. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Swami into Gesch-Simcik. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable searching an internal database to locate the entries for the control equipment based on the serial numbers. The internal databased can include a set of tables that maintain up-to-date information for the control equipment with respect to the serial numbers, such as product numbers, manufacturing dates, installations dates, installation locations, commission data, licensing terms, software versions, etc. (Swami-Paragraph 51)
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 30,41,42) wherein the configuration data includes a gateway identifier and an identifier of the particular transport system (Swami- Paragraph 57, an augmenting device is utilized to scan a code of an intermediate controller to procure first captured information. At block 420, the augmenting device is utilized to scan a code of elevator control equipment and/or sensors to procure second captured information, Paragraph 58-59, the augmenting device communicates the first and second captured information to the backend sub-system. Once the first and second captured information is received, the backend sub-system performs a remote verification service by utilizing the first and second captured information to search an internal database to locate and analyze the entries for the intermediate controller, the elevator control equipment, and sensors. For instance, the backend sub-system can cross-reference commission data to verify software/firmware for the intermediate controller, the elevator control equipment, and sensors is correct)
The Examiner notes wherein Swami disclosed a gateway identifier (Swami- a code of an intermediate controller as first captured information) and an identifier of the particular transport system (Swami- a code of elevator control equipment and/or sensors as second captured information) wherein the gateway identifier and the identifier of the particular transport system are separate and discrete data/information.
Official Notice (see MPEP 2144.03) is taken that at the time of the invention it would have been well-known in the networking art to append multiple separate and discrete fields of data (‘datum’) in order to form concatenated data and further use the concatenated data as a reference label/identifier for a logical combination. In the context of the Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami since Swami is utilizing the first and second captured information in order to verify software/firmware for the intermediate controller and the elevator control equipment , it would have been obvious to concatenate the first captured information (a code of an intermediate controller) and second captured information (a code of elevator control equipment ) in order to simplify the capture and storage of the required logical combination/affiliation of the intermediate controller and elevator control equipment.
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 30) establishing a third communication connection from the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the transportation system.(Simcik-Figure 2,Paragraph 36, gateway 204 relays data between the network 208, elevator system 202, and user device 206 )
While Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami does not disclose (re. Claim 30) establishing a third communication connection from the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the transportation system through a third communication connection interface of the communication gateway.
Oggianu Figure 2,Paragraph 37,Paragraph 48 disclosed wherein the mobile wireless access point 210 includes a short-range communication module 220 located within the mobile wireless access point 210. The short-range communication module 220 is configured to allow the controller 212 of the mobile wireless access point 210 to communicate with the communication nodes 280, other mobile wireless access points 210 and the local gateway device 240 through short-range wireless protocols. The short-range communication module 220 may consist of one or more wireless transceivers capable of transmitting/receiving data 202 to/from the local gateway device 240 and the nodes 280.
Oggianu disclosed (re. Claim 30) establishing a third communication connection from the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the transportation system through a third communication connection interface of the communication gateway. (Oggianu-Figure 2,Paragraph 37,Paragraph 48,the mobile wireless access point 210 includes a short-range communication module 220 located within the mobile wireless access point 210. The short-range communication module 220 is configured to allow the controller 212 of the mobile wireless access point 210 to communicate with the communication nodes 280, other mobile wireless access points 210, and the local gateway device 240 through short-range wireless protocols 203. The short-range communication module 220 may consist of one or more wireless transceivers capable of transmitting/receiving data 202 to/from the local gateway device 240 and the nodes 280.)
Gesch,Simcik and Oggianu are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding machine control systems. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Oggianu into Gesch-Simcik. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable local gateway device 240 to receive data 202 from the remote system 280 through the network 250 via long-range protocol 204 and then the data 202 may be distributed to communication nodes 280 by the mobile wireless access points 210.(Oggianu-Paragraph 37)
Regarding Claim 31
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 31) wherein the transportation system includes at least one of an elevator system and an escalator system.(Gesch-Column 6 Lines 10, passenger conveyor system 106 includes, for example, an elevator system, an escalator system or a moving walk way.)
Regarding Claim 32
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 32) wherein the portable device is at least one of a personal digital assistant, a laptop, a smartphone and a tablet.(Gesch-Column 2 Lines 60, terminal device includes at least one of a smart phone, a tablet computer, and a laptop computer)
Regarding Claim 33
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 33) wherein the first communication connection is established as at least one a Wi-Fi connection, a Bluetooth connection, a Bluetooth low energy connection, an infrared connection and a near field communication connection. (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65,terminal device 108 is configured to exchange data with the passenger conveyor component 102 wirelessly (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections).)
Regarding Claim 34
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 34) wherein the established second communication connection is a secured communication connection established with at least one secure communication certificate provided by the server unit(Gesch-Column 6 Lines 25, connection string include connection secrets, protocol data, a shared access secrete token, public or private keys, authentication certificates)
Regarding Claim 35
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 35) triggering an end-to-end connectivity test by the portable device for verifying a connectivity between the communication gateway and the transportation system(Gesch-Column 9 Lines 20, perform a connection verification test, Column 7 Lines 1-5, IoT inter-network 120 also can facilitate test message based communication and data exchange between a commissioned passenger conveyor device and the data communication network 110.)
Regarding Claim 36
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 36) updating communication gateway software of the communication gateway using the established second communication connection from the communication gateway to the server unit. (Verma-Paragraph 32,updating of the system software of devices acting as cloud gateways 20, 22, 24.)
Regarding Claim 37
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 37) using the third communication connection from the communication gateway to the transportation system control unit to at least one of write, change and update technical features of the transportation system control unit through the communication gateway.(Simcik-Paragraph 54, obtaining controller configuration parameters for the one or more elevators)
Regarding Claim 38
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 38) using the third communication connection from the communication gateway to the transportation system control unit to at least one of download and update transportation system control unit features through the communication gateway to the transportation system control unit, (Simcik-Paragraph 54, obtaining controller configuration parameters for the one or more elevators)
wherein the transportation system control unit features are at least one of transportation system control unit data, transportation system control unit options and transportation system control unit parameters. (Simcik-Paragraph 54, obtaining controller configuration parameters for the one or more elevators)
Regarding Claim 39
Claim 39 (re. non-transitory computer readable medium) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 30. Claim 39 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 30.
Regarding Claim 41
Claim 41 (re. system) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 30. Claim 41 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 30.
Regarding Claim 42
Claim 42 (re. communication gateway of a transportation system) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 30. Claim 42 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 30.
Furthermore Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami-Oggianu disclosed (re. Claim 42) the communication gateway comprising: a first communication connection interface (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 60-65,terminal device 108 is configured to exchange data with the passenger conveyor component 102 wirelessly (e.g., via Bluetooth transmission) or by wire (e.g., using USB connections).) wherein the configuration data includes a gateway identifier identifying the transportation system;
a second communication connection interface (Gesch-Column 8 Lines 30-35, passenger conveyor component 102 is equipped with WiFi communication capability or Internet connection,
and a central processing unit executing the deployed communication gateway software to commission the communication gateway in the transportation system.(Gesch-Column 1 Lines 15, (PCBs) that include hardware controllers which are typically configured to operate in a particular host system (e.g., an elevator system).)
Oggianu disclosed (re. Claim 42) establishing a third communication connection from the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the transportation system through a third communication connection interface of the communication gateway. (Oggianu-Figure 2,Paragraph 37,Paragraph 48,the mobile wireless access point 210 includes a short-range communication module located within the mobile wireless access point 210. The short-range communication module 220 is configured to allow the controller 212 of the mobile wireless access point 210 to communicate with the communication nodes 280, other mobile wireless access points 210, and the local gateway device through short-range wireless protocols 203. The short-range communication module 220 may consist of one or more wireless transceivers capable of transmitting/receiving data 202 to/from the local gateway device 240 and the nodes 280.)
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gesch (US Patent 11095502) further in view of Simcik (USPGPUB 2020/0109025) further in view of Verma (USPGPUB 2020/0382365) further in view of Swami (USPGPUB 20190112148) further in view of Oggianu (USPGPUB 20190393950) further in view of Higgins (US Patent 11282301) further in view of McKinley (USPGPUB 20160012707)
Regarding Claim 40
Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami disclosed (re. Claim 40) installing the communication gateway in the particular transportation system; (Gesch-Column 5 Lines 35-45, service technician can select “elevator controller” from the SVT APP in order to commission the non-configured component 102 as an elevator controller for a particular elevator system 106,Swami-Paragraph 60, the intermediate controller is allocated with the elevator control equipment to execute and establish configuration parameters and perform other necessary tasks like configuration of intermediate controller) and connecting the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the particular transportation system. (Gesch-Column Lines , The IoT inter-network 120 is configured to establish a data link with the passenger conveyor component 102 after completing commissioning.)
While Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami does not disclose (re. Claim 40) receiving data at the portable device for installing and commissioning the communication gateway, the data including a site location for installation, a job description of tasks to be fulfilled by a fitter, a list of materials needed, and instruction and manuals describing an installation and commissioning process of the communication gateway; installing the communication gateway in the particular transportation system; and connecting the communication gateway to a transportation system control unit of the particular transportation system.
Higgins Column 4 Lines 10-20 disclosed wherein a structured and documented maintenance process, wherein based on the maintenance process settings, the personnel perform the maintenance steps in a regimented and documented process to assure each step is being performed and addressing any issues or repairs which are needed along the way.
Higgins disclosed (re. Claim 40) receiving data at the portable device for installing and commissioning the communication gateway,(Higgins-Column 7 Lines 40-45, the procedures (when more than one is required to be performed during the inspection) are provided to the personnel in a predetermined order based on the work performed) the data including a site location for installation, (Higgins-Column 6 Lines 60-65 , scan of barcode 116 is to identify that the personnel is at the equipment 108 which is required to be inspected. This assists in confirming that the maintenance schedule for the equipment 108 is occurring at the proper date and time, that the personnel are at the proper location, and with the proper piece of equipment 108. ) a job description of tasks to be fulfilled by a fitter, (Higgins-Figure 7,Column 11 Lines 25-35, Once the personnel has activated the image capturing system of the personnel computing device 106 and scans the barcoded equipment 108, a list of different procedure types 702 are presented to the personnel which are to be performed on the barcoded equipment 108. ) and instruction and manuals describing an installation and commissioning process of the communication gateway (Higgins-Figure 7,Column 11 Lines 25-35, Once the personnel has activated the image capturing system of the personnel computing device 106 and scans the barcoded equipment 108, a list of different procedure types 702 are presented to the personnel which are to be performed on the barcoded equipment 108. )
Gesch,Simcik and Higgins are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding machine control systems. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Higgins into Gesch-Simcik. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable confirming that the maintenance schedule for the equipment 108 is occurring at the proper date and time, that the personnel are at the proper location, and with the proper piece of equipment 108 and further determine if the procedure has been completed based on the requirements of the step and the received data from the personnel. (Higgins-Column 8 Lines 30)
While Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami-Higgins substantially disclosed the claimed invention Gesch-Simcik-Verma-Swami-Higgins does not disclose (re. Claim 40) receiving a list of materials needed.
McKinley Paragraph 86 disclosed wherein application 1210 can also indicate to a technician the cause of a malfunction and determine the probability of necessary parts based on a repair description and usage of the equipment in addition to the correct parts to bring to repair the equipment. This can allow the technician to repair the equipment faster for an equipment operator in order to minimize downtime and other costs associated with non-operation.
McKinley disclosed (re. Claim 40) receiving a list of materials needed.(McKinley-Paragraph 86,application 1210 can also indicate to a technician the cause of a malfunction and determine the probability of necessary parts based on a repair description and usage of the equipment in addition to the correct parts to bring to repair the equipment)
Gesch,Simcik and McKinley are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding machine control systems. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine McKinley into Gesch-Simcik-Higgins. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable the technician to repair the equipment faster for an equipment operator in order to minimize downtime and other costs associated with non-operation.(McKinley-Paragraph 86)
Conclusion
Examiner’s Note: In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREG C BENGZON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444