DETAILED ACTION
The examiner prosecuting the application has changed. Please direct all future correspondences to Katherine Salmon.
This action is in response to papers filed 4/16/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-10 are pending. Claims 4, 7, and 11-20 have been cancelled.
The following rejections are Modified with response to arguments following. It is noted that claims 8-9 were previously not rejected under 35 USC 103.
This action is Nonfinal.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 USC 112b rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Standard for Obviousness.
Attention is directed to In re Jung, 98 USPQ2d 1174, 1178 (Fed. Cir. 2011) wherein is stated:
There has never been a requirement for an examiner to make an on-the-record claim construction of every term in every rejected claim and to explain every possible difference between the prior art and the claimed invention in order to make out a prima facie rejection. This court declines to create such a burdensome and unnecessary requirement. “[Section 132] does not mandate that in order to establish prima facie anticipation, the PTO must explicitly preempt every possible response to a section 102 rejection. Section 132 merely ensures that an applicant at least be informed of the broad statutory basis for the rejection of his claims, so that he may determine what the issues are on which he can or should produce evidence.” Chester, 906 F.2d at 1578 (internal citation omitted). As discussed above, all that is required of the office to meet its prima facie burden of production is to set forth the statutory basis of the rejection and the reference or references relied upon in a sufficiently articulate and informative manner as to meet the notice requirement of § 132. As the statute itself instructs, the examiner must “notify the applicant,” “stating the reasons for such rejection,” “together with such information and references as may be useful in judging the propriety of continuing prosecution of his application.” 35 U.S.C. § 132.
Attention is directed to the decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007):
When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
It is further noted that prior art is not limited to the four corners of the documentary prior art being applied. Prior art includes both the specialized understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art, and the common understanding of the layman. It includes “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art. . . [A] court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1396.
Suggestion, teaching or motivation does not have to be explicit and “may be found in any number of sources, including common knowledge, the prior art as a whole or the nature of the problem itself’” Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc. 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007) citing Dystar Textilfarben GMBH v. C. H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Holding and Rationale
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macosko et al. (2015) (Macosko et al. Highly Parallel Genome-wide Expression Profiling of Individual Cells Using Nanoliter Droplets, Cell, 2015 May 21;161(5):1202-1214. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2015 .05.002) in view of Suresh et al. (2017) (Suresh et al., Next-generation sequencing for endocrine cancers: Recent advances and challenges, Tumour Biol., 2017 May;39(5):1010428317698376. doi: 10.1177/1010428317698376).
Notes: The teachings of Macosko et al. (2015) have been documented in Non-Final of 17/039,126 mailed on 12/07/2022, pages 5-12. Application 17/039,126 became US Patent number 11,788,137.
Fig. 1 of Macosko et al. (2015) is copied below.
Figure 1. Molecular Barcoding of Cellular Transcriptomes in Droplets
(A) Drop-Seq barcoding schematic. A complex tissue is dissociated into individual cells, which are then encapsulated in droplets together with microparticles (gray circles) that deliver barcoded primers. Each cell is lysed within a droplet; its mRNAs bind to the primers on its companion microparticle. The mRNAs are reverse-transcribed into cDNAs, generating a set of beads called ‘‘single-cell transcriptomes attached to microparticles’’ (STAMPs). The barcoded STAMPs can then be amplified in pools for high-throughput mRNA-seq to analyze any desired number of individual cells.
(B) Sequence of primers on the microparticle. The primers on all beads contain a common sequence (‘‘PCR handle’’) to enable PCR amplification after STAMP formation. Each microparticle contains more than 108 individual primers that share the same ‘‘cell barcode’’ (C) but have different unique molecular identifiers (UMIs), enabling mRNA transcripts to be digitally counted (D). A 30-bp oligo dT sequence is present at the end of all primer sequences for capture of mRNAs.
(C) Split-and-pool synthesis of the cell barcode. To generate the cell barcode, the pool of microparticles is repeatedly split into four equally sized oligonucleotide synthesis reactions, to which one of the four DNA bases is added, and then pooled together after each cycle, in a total of 12 split-pool cycles. The barcode synthesized on any individual bead reflects that bead’s unique path through the series of synthesis reactions. The result is a pool of microparticles, each possessing one of 412 (16,777,216) possible sequences on its entire complement of primers (see also Figure S1).
(D) Synthesis of a unique molecular identifier (UMI). Following the completion of the ‘‘split-and-pool’’ synthesis cycles, all microparticles are together subjected to eight rounds of degenerate synthesis with all four DNA bases available during each cycle, such that each individual primer receives one of 48 (65,536) possible sequences (UMIs).
Macosko et al. (2015), does not explicitly teach the step of “obtaining concatemers that self-assemble into balls by performing a rolling circle replication of the circular DNA template”.
Suresh et al. (2017), teach that “In the case of library preparation from microRNA (miRNA) and other small RNAs, gel-based size enrichment of the ligated fragments is essential to separate the miRNA library (120 bp adapters and ~30 bp miRNAs) from adapter dimer side products generated during ligation reactions (See left column, page 2. under section title “Short-read NGS”); and that “It involves a series of adapter ligations, circularization, a cleavage reaction, rolling circle amplification of the DNA, and the formation of complex DNA concatemers. These DNA nanoballs are then immobilized on a patterned flow cell for sequencing. (See right column, page 2. under section title “Short-read NGS”.)
Suresh et al. (2017), page 2, right column, second paragraph, teach:
The incorporation of dNTPs labeled with different fluorescent dyes allows each base to be individually identified. In addition, the dye acts as a terminator and is cleaved after base detection to identify the next base.
The above teaching is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 10.
Suresh et al. (2017), page 2, right column, first paragraph, teach using Phi29 DNA polymerase. Such a showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 6.
Suresh et al. (2017), page 4, right column, first paragraph, teach using miRNA. Such a showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 5.
In view of the detailed teachings of the prior art, the sequencing methods set forth in claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macosko et al. (2015) (Macosko et al. Highly Parallel Genome-wide Expression Profiling of Individual Cells Using Nanoliter Droplets, Cell, 2015 May 21;161(5):1202-1214. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2015 .05.002) in view of Suresh et al. (2017) (Suresh et al., Next-generation sequencing for endocrine cancers: Recent advances and challenges, Tumour Biol., 2017 May;39(5):1010428317698376. doi: 10.1177/1010428317698376).
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection a summary of the arguments have been provided below with response to arguments following. The reply asserts that the use of template switching in Macosko is to attach a PCR handle and that there is no suggestion that the circularization of the resulting DNA or the small RNA (p. 3). The reply asserts that Suresh suggests small RNAs but teaches using a series of adapter ligations, circularization and cleavage followed by RCA (p. 3). The reply asserts that the there are numerous sequencing methods and a myriad of combinations, however, that it is known in the prior art that circularization of small nucleic acids is challenging due to conformational restraints (p 3). The reply asserts that there is no discussion of how or why the specific elements would be combined however, it is not clear why the numerous steps of Suresh would be used in the method of Macosko nor the use of small RNA in place of mRNA (p. 3).
These arguetmsn have been reviewed but have not been found persuasive.
It is noted that the claims only require hybridizing a template nucleic acid to a untemplated C nutled to generate double stranded nucleic acid. As Macosko et al. taches the addition of a handle this would encompass the hybridization. It is suggested that the claim be amended to more fully describe the switching if the circularization is required. Although there are numerous different combinations of method steps, this unto itself is not unpredictable as the steps skill are drawn to routine and known methods of hybridizing and immobilizing for the predictable outcome of sequencing. Although the use of smaller RNA would require optimization, it is noted that the sequencing of the RNA using the methodology of switching, ligation and RCA is well known in the prior art and exemplified above. As such the rejection based upon the breadth of the claims is maintained.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macosko et al. (2015) (Macosko et al. Highly Parallel Genome-wide Expression Profiling of Individual Cells Using Nanoliter Droplets, Cell, 2015 May 21;161(5):1202-1214. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2015 .05.002) and Suresh et al. (2017) (Suresh et al., Next-generation sequencing for endocrine cancers: Recent advances and challenges, Tumour Biol., 2017 May;39(5):1010428317698376. doi: 10.1177/1010428317698376) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10 and in view of Drmanac et al (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0099208 May 3, 2007).
Macosko et al. and Suresh et al. teaches a method of sequencing based upon immobilizing the concatemers on a patterned array flow cell. However, Macosko et al. and Suresh et al. does not teach a method of a particular flow cell and binding.
With regard to claim 8, Drmanac et al. teaches a patterned array flow cell that is silicon and photoresist (para 59-79).
With regard to claim 9, Drmanac et al. teaches that attachment is done with aminiosilane functionalization (para 52).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to modify the methods of Macosko et al and Suresh et al. to include a known flow cell that can be used for sequencing. As Drmanac et al. teaches flow cells that can be used in sequencing (para 4-10) it would be obvious to modify the method of Macosko et al. and Suresh et al. to use one of the finite types of flow cells with the expectation of sequencing.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,137 is drawn to a method of sequencing which requires the production of a cDNA, making it double stranded, the use of “template switching nucleic acid sequence” and the sequencing of same.
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 12, and 13 of copending Application No. 18/459,195 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/459,195, like that of the instant application, are drawn to a method of sequencing of a cDNA molecule which has undergone amplification. Claim 13 of 18/459,195 is much like claim 2 of the instant application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
The reply asserts that the applications were filed later and therefore the terminal disclaimer is not required. This has been allowed but it is noted that as the application has not been allowed the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682