DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/12/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, (b) / Second Paragraph
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-07.2022]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B, which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For convenience, claims 1 and 2 are reproduced below.
Claim 1 is confusing where is specified: “hybridizing a template switching nucleic acid to untemplated C-nucleotides added to the generated double stranded nucleic acid sequence by reverse polymerase”. As evidenced by claims 1 and 2, there is no requirement of one having to select C nucleotides and only C nucleotides when performing the step of “adding at least five consecutive nucleotides to the 3’ terminus of the RNA”. Given such, it stands to reason that if one had selected A, and added “at least five consecutive [A] nucleotides to the 3’ terminus”, one would not be able to perform the step of “hybridizing a template switching nucleic acid to untemplated C-nucleotides added to the generated double stranded nucleic acid sequence by the reverse polymerase”.
Additionally, it is unclear if the aspect of ““adding at least five consecutive nucleotides to the 3’ terminus of the RNA” is a separate step from that which would result in “untemplated C-nucleotides added to the generated double stranded nucleic acid sequence by the reverse polymerase”. It is noted that the “at least five consecutive nucleotides to the 3’ terminus of the RNA” may need to be added via a reverse transcriptase, and may be all C nucleotides. In such a case, it would seem that the method would necessarily result in compounded addition of C residues to the 3’ end.
Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “balls”. See claim 1 at line 19.
Claims 2, 3, 5-6, and 8-10, which depend from claim 1, fail to overcome the above identified issues and are similarly rejected.
Claims 6 and 10 are confusing where is stated “any one of the preceding claim 1”. Seemingly the claims are implying that there are multiple “claim 1”, when there is but a single “claim 1”.
Response to argument
Applicant’s representative, at pages 5-6 of the response of 20 November 2025, hereinafter the response, traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b).
At page 6 of the response said representative asserts:
Claim 1 is also said to be confusing as to where the untemplated C-nucleotides are added. Bur the fourth step of claim 1 says that the untemplated C-nucleotides are added by the reverse transcriptase to the synthesized double-stranded cDNA. That is, after synthesizing the double- stranded cDNA from an RNA template, the reverse transcriptase adds the untemplated C nucleotides.
The above argument has been considered and has not been found persuasive. The steps at issue in claim 1 are the following:
- adding at least five consecutive nucleotides to the 3’ terminus of the RNA;
- hybridizing a priming nucleic acid sequence complementary to the added nucleotide sequence and, extending from the priming nucleic acid sequence, synthesizing a cDNA sequence with a template dependent reverse transcriptase to obtain a double stranded nucleic acid sequence;
- hybridizing a template switching nucleic acid to untemplated C-nucleotides added to the generated double stranded nucleic acid sequence by the reverse polymerase[.]
As presently worded, and as seen in claim 2, “the at least 5 consecutive nucleotides are selected from the group consisting of ribo-[[ ]]desoxy-ribonucleotides or didesoxy-ribonucleotides of A, T, C, G or U”. There is no requirement that one only add C nucleotides. While the next step does speak to hybridizing a primer and extending the primer so to synthesize a cDNA which would require the use of a reverse polymerase, there is no requirement that any “untemplated C-nucleotides [be] added”. Given such, it is less than clear as when and where in the method these “untemplated C-nucleotides [were / are to be] added”. Given such, the rejection is maintained.
At page 6 of the response said representative asserts:
The term “ball” of concatemers is said to be indefinite because other authors have associated the term “ball” with varying lengths of concatemers. That there might be some variation in the lengths of concatemers synthesized by others by other methods has no bearing on the clarity of the present claims, where the term “ball” would be readily understood as referring to any operable length of concatemers resulting from synthesis by the claimed methods.
This argument has been fully considered and has not been found persuasive. Attention is directed to MPEP 2145 I [R-01.2024].
An argument by the applicant is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art.
Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of applicant statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration.
A review of the response fails to find where any affidavit or declaration has been provided.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,137 is drawn to a method of sequencing which requires the production of a cDNA, making it double stranded, the use of “template switching nucleic acid sequence” and the sequencing of same.
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 12, and 13 of copending Application No. 18/459,195 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/459,195, like that of the instant application, are drawn to a method of sequencing of a cDNA molecule which has undergone amplification. Claim 13 of 18/459,195 is much like claim 2 of the instant application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Standard for Obviousness.
Attention is directed to In re Jung, 98 USPQ2d 1174, 1178 (Fed. Cir. 2011) wherein is stated:
There has never been a requirement for an examiner to make an on-the-record claim construction of every term in every rejected claim and to explain every possible difference between the prior art and the claimed invention in order to make out a prima facie rejection. This court declines to create such a burdensome and unnecessary requirement. “[Section 132] does not mandate that in order to establish prima facie anticipation, the PTO must explicitly preempt every possible response to a section 102 rejection. Section 132 merely ensures that an applicant at least be informed of the broad statutory basis for the rejection of his claims, so that he may determine what the issues are on which he can or should produce evidence.” Chester, 906 F.2d at 1578 (internal citation omitted). As discussed above, all that is required of the office to meet its prima facie burden of production is to set forth the statutory basis of the rejection and the reference or references relied upon in a sufficiently articulate and informative manner as to meet the notice requirement of § 132. As the statute itself instructs, the examiner must “notify the applicant,” “stating the reasons for such rejection,” “together with such information and references as may be useful in judging the propriety of continuing prosecution of his application.” 35 U.S.C. § 132.
Attention is directed to the decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007):
When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
It is further noted that prior art is not limited to the four corners of the documentary prior art being applied. Prior art includes both the specialized understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art, and the common understanding of the layman. It includes “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art. . . [A] court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1396.
Suggestion, teaching or motivation does not have to be explicit and “may be found in any number of sources, including common knowledge, the prior art as a whole or the nature of the problem itself’” Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc. 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007) citing Dystar Textilfarben GMBH v. C. H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Holding and Rationale
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macosko et al. (2015) (Macosko et al. Highly Parallel Genome-wide Expression Profiling of Individual Cells Using Nanoliter Droplets, Cell, 2015 May 21;161(5):1202-1214. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2015 .05.002) in view of Suresh et al. (2017) (Suresh et al., Next-generation sequencing for endocrine cancers: Recent advances and challenges, Tumour Biol., 2017 May;39(5):1010428317698376. doi: 10.1177/1010428317698376).
Notes: The teachings of Macosko et al. (2015) have been documented in Non-Final of 17/039,126 mailed on 12/07/2022, pages 5-12. Application 17/039,126 became US Patent number 11,788,137.
Fig. 1 of Macosko et al. (2015) is copied below.
Figure 1. Molecular Barcoding of Cellular Transcriptomes in Droplets
(A) Drop-Seq barcoding schematic. A complex tissue is dissociated into individual cells, which are then encapsulated in droplets together with microparticles (gray circles) that deliver barcoded primers. Each cell is lysed within a droplet; its mRNAs bind to the primers on its companion microparticle. The mRNAs are reverse-transcribed into cDNAs, generating a set of beads called ‘‘single-cell transcriptomes attached to microparticles’’ (STAMPs). The barcoded STAMPs can then be amplified in pools for high-throughput mRNA-seq to analyze any desired number of individual cells.
(B) Sequence of primers on the microparticle. The primers on all beads contain a common sequence (‘‘PCR handle’’) to enable PCR amplification after STAMP formation. Each microparticle contains more than 108 individual primers that share the same ‘‘cell barcode’’ (C) but have different unique molecular identifiers (UMIs), enabling mRNA transcripts to be digitally counted (D). A 30-bp oligo dT sequence is present at the end of all primer sequences for capture of mRNAs.
(C) Split-and-pool synthesis of the cell barcode. To generate the cell barcode, the pool of microparticles is repeatedly split into four equally sized oligonucleotide synthesis reactions, to which one of the four DNA bases is added, and then pooled together after each cycle, in a total of 12 split-pool cycles. The barcode synthesized on any individual bead reflects that bead’s unique path through the series of synthesis reactions. The result is a pool of microparticles, each possessing one of 412 (16,777,216) possible sequences on its entire complement of primers (see also Figure S1).
(D) Synthesis of a unique molecular identifier (UMI). Following the completion of the ‘‘split-and-pool’’ synthesis cycles, all microparticles are together subjected to eight rounds of degenerate synthesis with all four DNA bases available during each cycle, such that each individual primer receives one of 48 (65,536) possible sequences (UMIs).
Macosko et al. (2015), does not explicitly teach the step of “obtaining concatemers that self-assemble into balls by performing a rolling circle replication of the circular DNA template”.
Suresh et al. (2017), teach that “In the case of library preparation from microRNA (miRNA) and other small RNAs, gel-based size enrichment of the ligated fragments is essential to separate the miRNA library (120 bp adapters and ~30 bp miRNAs) from adapter dimer side products generated during ligation reactions (See left column, page 2. under section title “Short-read NGS”); and that “It involves a series of adapter ligations, circularization, a cleavage reaction, rolling circle amplification of the DNA, and the formation of complex DNA concatemers. These DNA nanoballs are then immobilized on a patterned flow cell for sequencing. (See right column, page 2. under section title “Short-read NGS”.)
Suresh et al. (2017), page 2, right column, second paragraph, teach:
The incorporation of dNTPs labeled with different fluorescent dyes allows each base to be individually identified. In addition, the dye acts as a terminator and is cleaved after base detection to identify the next base.
The above teaching is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 10.
Suresh et al. (2017), page 2, right column, first paragraph, teach using Phi29 DNA polymerase. Such a showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 6.
Suresh et al. (2017), page 4, right column, first paragraph, teach using miRNA. Such a showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claim 5.
In view of the detailed teachings of the prior art, the sequencing methods set forth in claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macosko et al. (2015) (Macosko et al. Highly Parallel Genome-wide Expression Profiling of Individual Cells Using Nanoliter Droplets, Cell, 2015 May 21;161(5):1202-1214. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2015 .05.002) in view of Suresh et al. (2017) (Suresh et al., Next-generation sequencing for endocrine cancers: Recent advances and challenges, Tumour Biol., 2017 May;39(5):1010428317698376. doi: 10.1177/1010428317698376).
Conclusion
Objections and/or rejections which appeared in the prior Office action and which have not been repeated hereinabove have been withdrawn.
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682