DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, in the submission dated 07/21/2025, are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 4, 15, and 20 are amended. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-15, 17-20 and 22-24 are pending. The rejection of claim 4 under 35 USC § 112 in the Office action of 04/21/2025 is withdrawn in light of the amendment to claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-15, 17-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2018-0102852 A (of record, see IDS dated 09/24/2024, where the closest English language equivalent Choi US PGPub 2021/0132264 A1 is referenced, hereinafter, “Choi”).
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Choi discloses a lens barrel comprising:
a barrel unit comprising an upper surface, a lower surface disposed opposite to the upper surface in a first direction in parallel to an optical axis, and a side surface connecting the upper surface to the lower surface (Fig. 1, lens assembly 1000 has holder 500, par. [0069], equivalent to a barrel unit, and holder 500 has at least two surfaces, an upper surface and a lower surface opposite the upper surface in a direction parallel to the optical axis as shown in at least Figs. 1 and 4, and holder 500 has at least one side surface connecting the upper and lower surfaces thereof, pars. [0069-72]);
a first lens unit disposed in the barrel unit and at an upper side of a variable lens (Fig. 1, first lens unit 100, par. [0036], is disposed in holder 500, par. [0040], at an upper side of liquid lens 300, par. [0043]); and
a second lens unit disposed in the barrel unit and at a lower side of the variable lens (Fig. 1, second lens unit 400 is disposed in holder 500 under liquid lens 300, pars. [0041], [0069-70]),
wherein the barrel unit (i.e., holder 500) comprises a first body protruding from the upper surface thereof and at least a portion of the first lens unit (i.e., first lens unit 100) is disposed in the first body of the barrel unit (Fig. 4, holder 500 has first lens disposition portion 510, par. [0079],equivalent to a first body protruding from the upper surface, and first lens disposition portion 510 includes the first region in which first lens unit 100 is disposed, par. [0079], see at least Fig. 4),
wherein the side surface of the barrel unit comprises:
first and second side surfaces facing each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (as shown in at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has two side surfaces facing each other in a direction perpendicular to the first direction); and
third and fourth side surfaces connecting the first side surface to the second side surface and facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (as shown in at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has third and fourth side surfaces connecting the first and second side surfaces, and third and fourth side surfaces are facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions),
wherein the barrel unit comprises a first opening on the first side surface and a second opening on the second side surface (Fig. 1, holder 500 has a side surface with a through-hole for insertion of liquid lens 300, pars. [0069-72], where a through-hole is understood by the Examiner to refer to an opening that passes completely through an object, in which case, holder 500 has openings in first and second side surfaces),
wherein the upper surface of the barrel unit comprises a stepped portion (Figs. 4-6, holder 500 has a stepped portion at the upper surface), and wherein the stepped portion comprises:
a first region connected to the third and fourth side surfaces of the barrel unit (as shown in Figs. 5-7, first horizontal plate 521, par. [0089], connects the third and fourth side surfaces of holder 500, equivalent to a first region);
a second region positioned higher than the first region and connected to the first body (as depicted in at least Fig. 5, the region between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is equivalent to a second region higher than first region and connected to first lens disposition portion 510); and
a third region connecting the first region and the second region so as to be positioned higher than the side surface of the barrel unit and spaced apart from the third and fourth side surfaces (Fig. 5, the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is higher than the side surface of holder 500 and is spaced apart from the third and fourth sides of holder 500, thus this horizontal surface is equivalent to a third region as best understood by the Examiner),
wherein the third region is in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit (Fig. 5, the vertical surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is parallel to portion 520, and the vertical surface is responsible for positioning the horizontal surface that is equivalent to the third region higher than the side surface of holder 500, therefore Choi discloses a structure equivalent to the third region that is in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit), and
wherein the third region overlaps a reception space of the barrel unit configured to receive the variable lens in the first direction and does not overlap the first body in the first direction (Fig. 5, the equivalent of the third region of overlaps the space in holder 500 where variable lens 300 is received along the optical axis without overlapping first lens disposition portion 510).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 1, wherein the first body projects from the second region of the barrel unit (see at least Figs. 4 and 5, showing first lens disposition portion 510 projects from the region between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 of holder 500, satisfying the limitation as recited).
Regarding amended dependent claim 4, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 3, wherein the barrel unit (i.e., holder 500) comprises a second body at which the second lens unit is disposed, and the second body projects from the lower surface of the barrel unit (lens unit 400 is disposed in a second portion of holder 500, see at least Fig. 1, and lens unit 400 projects from the second surface).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 1, wherein the stepped portion comprises a first stepped portion and a second stepped portion, which are formed between the third side surface and the fourth side surface (see at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has two stepped surfaces that are perpendicular to the optical axis and also perpendicular to the sides surfaces discussed above, refer to axes labeled II and III in Fig. 4).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 6, wherein the stepped portion comprises a third stepped portion and a fourth stepped portion, which are formed between the first side surface and the second side surface and connect the first stepped portion to the second stepped portion (Fig. 4, holder 500 has third and fourth stepped portions between and connecting the first and second side surfaces).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 6, wherein the first region of the barrel unit is connected both to the third side surface and to the fourth side surface (see at least Figs. 1 and 4, holder 500 first region equivalent is connected to third and fourth side surfaces).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 6, wherein the first stepped portion is disposed in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit, and the second stepped portion is disposed in parallel to the fourth side surface of the barrel unit (as shown in at least Fig. 4, Choi discloses holder 500 has a first stepped portion parallel to the third side surface, and a second stepped portion disposed parallel to the fourth side surface).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 6, wherein the barrel unit comprises a projection projecting from at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface (Fig. 4, top surface of holder 500 has projection on first side surface, highlighted near axis II).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 7, wherein a width of the first region in a direction perpendicular to the third side surface is less than a width of the first region in a direction perpendicular to the first side surface (lens unit 100 is disposed in the first region of holder 500, and from Figs. 1 and 4, the first region is rectangular and therefore satisfies the instant limitation).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 10, wherein an upper end of the projection is positioned higher than the opening in the barrel unit (Fig. 6, projection on top surface of holder 500 is positioned higher than opening in holder 500).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 12, wherein a lower end of the projection is positioned lower than the opening in the barrel unit (Fig. 6, projection is positioned lower than opening in holder 500).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 1, wherein the variable lens comprises a liquid lens (liquid lens 300, par. [0036], see at least Fig. 3, is a variable lens, refer to at least par. [0050]).
Regarding amended independent claim 15, Choi discloses a camera module (refer to at least title and abstract) comprising:
a circuit board (Fig. 1, connection board 380 may be a flexible printed circuit board, par. [0073]);
a lens holder disposed on the circuit board (Fig. 1 depicts base 700 integrally formed with holder 500 disposed on connection board 380, par. [0076], therefore base 700 is the equivalent of a lens holder);
a lens barrel coupled to the lens holder (Fig. 1, holder 500 is the equivalent of a lens barrel in that holder 500 holds liquid lens 300, first lens unit 100, and second lens unit 400, par. [0070]); and
a lens assembly disposed in the lens barrel (Fig. 1, lens assembly 1000 includes first lens unit 100, second lens unit 400, and liquid lens unit 300, par. [0036], thus lens assembly 1000 is equivalent to a lens assembly in holder 500), wherein the lens barrel comprises:
a first barrel portion (Fig. 4, first lens disposition portion 510, par. [0079]), a second barrel portion disposed on the first lens barrel portion (Fig. 4, liquid lens disposition portion 520, par. [0079]), and a third barrel portion disposed under the first lens barrel portion (Fig. 4, second lens disposition portion 530, par. [0079]),
wherein the second barrel portion comprises a first surface (Fig. 4, liquid lens disposition portion 520 has a first surface), and the third barrel portion comprises a second surface disposed opposite to the first surface of the second barrel portion in the first direction (Fig. 4, second lens disposition portion 530 has a surface disposed opposite to the surface of liquid lens disposition portion 520 in a direction of the optical axis), and
wherein the lens assembly comprises a first lens unit disposed in the second barrel portion (as shown in at Figs. 1 and 4, first lens unit 100 is in first lens disposition portion 510 of holder 500, par. [0079], equivalent to the second barrel portion), a second lens unit disposed in the third barrel portion (Figs. 1 and 4, second lens unit 400 is in second lens disposition portion 530, par. [0079], equivalent to the third barrel portion), and a variable lens disposed in the first barrel portion (liquid lens 300 is in liquid lens disposition portion 520, par. [0079]),
wherein the lens barrel comprises:
a side surface disposed connecting the first surface of the second barrel portion and the second surface of the third barrel portion (Fig. 1, holder 500 has a side surface connecting the surfaces of portion 520 and portion 530); and
an opening opened to the side surface of the lens barrel and through which the variable lens is fitted or assembled (Fig. 1, holder 500 has a side surface with a through-hole for insertion of liquid lens 300, pars. [0069-72]),
wherein the second barrel portion comprises a body protruding from the first surface thereof (Fig. 5, the region above portion 510, highlighted by the arrow from 500, is the equivalent of a body protruding from the first surface of portion 510),
wherein the side surface of the lens barrel comprises first and second side surfaces facing each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (as shown in at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has two side surfaces facing each other in a direction perpendicular to the first direction) and third and fourth side surfaces connecting the first side surface to the second side surface and facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (as shown in at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has third and fourth side surfaces connecting the first and second side surfaces, and third and fourth side surfaces are facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions).
wherein the opening comprises a first opening on the first side surface and a second opening on the second side surface (Fig. 1, holder 500 has a side surface with a through-hole for insertion of liquid lens 300, pars. [0069-72], where a through-hole is understood by the Examiner to refer to an opening that passes completely through an object, in which case, holder 500 has openings in first and second side surfaces),
wherein the first surface of the second barrel portion comprises a stepped portion (see Figs. 1 and 4, holder 500 has stepped portions),
wherein the stepped portion comprises a first region connected to the third and fourth side surfaces of the lens barrel (as shown in Figs. 5-7, first horizontal plate 521, par. [0089], connects the third and fourth side surfaces of holder 500, equivalent to a first region),
a second region positioned higher than the first region and connected to the body (as depicted in at least Fig. 5, the region between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is equivalent to a second region higher than first region and connected to first lens disposition portion 510), and
a third region connecting the first region and the second region so as to be positioned higher than the side surface of the lens barrel and spaced apart from the third and fourth side surfaces (Fig. 5, the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is higher than the side surface of holder 500 and is spaced apart from the third and fourth sides of holder 500, thus this horizontal surface is equivalent to a third region as best understood by the Examiner),
wherein the third region is in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit (Fig. 5, the vertical surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is parallel to portion 520, and the vertical surface is responsible for positioning the horizontal surface that is equivalent to the third region higher than the side surface of holder 500, therefore Choi discloses a structure equivalent to the third region that is in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit), and
wherein the third region overlaps a reception space of the first barrel portion configured to receive the variable lens in the first direction and does not overlap the body in the first direction (Fig. 5, the equivalent of the third region of overlaps the space in holder 500 where variable lens 300 is received along the optical axis without overlapping first lens disposition portion 510).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 15, wherein the lens barrel comprises a projection formed at one side of the opening (Fig. 4, holder 500 has projections at either side of the openings on the first side surface at least), wherein the lens holder comprises a column formed at a corner thereof and a groove formed in the column (Fig. 4, holder 500 has a column with a groove projecting from lower surface), and wherein the projection of the lens barrel is disposed in the groove of the lens holder (projections at either side of the opening on first side surface of holder 500 are disposed in grooves in columns projecting from lower surface of holder 500, satisfying the instant limitation).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 15, wherein the variable lens comprises a liquid lens (liquid lens 300, par. [0036], see at least Fig. 3, is a variable lens, refer to at least par. [0050]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 15, comprising a cover configured to receive the lens holder (Fig. 1, cover 600, par. [0036]), wherein the cover comprises a top plate, a side plate extending from the top plate, and a bore formed in the top plate (as shown in at least Fig. 1, cover 600 has a top plate, a side plate extending from the top plate, and a bore in the top plate where lens unit 100 passes through), and wherein a spatial interference between the stepped portion and the cover is inhibited by the bore of the cover (Fig. 1, cover 600 allows lens unit 100 to pass through the opening of cover 600 without touching, thereby preventing spatial interference with the stepped portions of lens unit 100 and the holder 500).
Regarding amended independent claim 20, Choi discloses a camera module (refer to at least title and abstract) comprising:
a circuit board (connection board 380, Fig. 1, may be a flexible printed circuit board, par. [0073]);
a lens holder disposed on the circuit board (Fig. 1 depicts base 700 integrally formed with holder 500 disposed on connection board 380, par. [0076], therefore base 700 is the equivalent of a lens holder); and
a lens barrel coupled to the lens holder (Fig. 1, holder 500 is the equivalent of a lens barrel in that holder 500 holds liquid lens 300, first lens unit 100, and second lens unit 400, par. [0070]),
wherein the lens barrel comprises:
a barrel unit comprising a first surface (Fig. 1, holder 500 has at least two surfaces, an upper surface and a lower surface, pars. [0069-72]), a second surface disposed opposite to the first surface in a first direction in parallel to an optical axis (Fig. 1, holder 500 has a lower surface opposite the upper surface in a direction parallel to the optical axis), and a side surface connecting the first surface to the second surface (as shown in at least Figs. 1 and 4, holder 500 has at least one side surface connecting the first and second surfaces thereof);
a first lens unit disposed in the barrel unit and at one side of a variable lens (Fig. 1, first lens unit 100, par. [0036], is disposed at one side of liquid lens 300, par. [0043]); and
a second lens unit disposed in the barrel unit and at another side of the variable lens (Fig. 1, second lens unit 400 is disposed at another side of liquid lens 300, as liquid lens 300 is disposed between lens unit 100 and lens unit 400, refer to pars. [0069-70]),
wherein the barrel unit comprises a body protruding from the first surface thereof and at least a portion of the first lens unit is disposed in the body of the barrel unit (holder 500 has first lens disposition portion 510, par. [0079],equivalent to a first body protruding from the upper surface, and first lens disposition portion 510 includes the first region in which first lens unit 100 is disposed, par. [0079], see at least Fig. 4):
wherein the side surface of the barrel unit comprises:
first and second side surfaces facing each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (as shown in at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has two side surfaces facing each other in a direction perpendicular to the first direction): and
third and fourth side surfaces connecting the first side surface to the second side surface and facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (as shown in at least Fig. 4, holder 500 has third and fourth side surfaces connecting the first and second side surfaces, and third and fourth side surfaces are facing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions),
wherein the barrel unit comprises a first opening on the first side surface and a second opening on the second side surface (Fig. 1, holder 500 has a side surface with a through-hole for insertion of liquid lens 300, pars. [0069-72], where a through-hole is understood by the Examiner to refer to an opening that passes completely through an object, in which case, holder 500 has openings in first and second side surfaces),
wherein the first surface of the barrel unit comprises a stepped portion (Figs. 4-6, holder 500 has a stepped portion at the upper surface), and the stepped portion comprises a first region connected to the third and fourth side surfaces of the barrel unit (as shown in Figs. 5-7, first horizontal plate 521, par. [0089], connects the third and fourth side surfaces of holder 500, equivalent to a first region), a second region positioned higher than the first region and connected to the body (as depicted in at least Fig. 5, the region between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is equivalent to a second region higher than first region and connected to first lens disposition portion 510), and a third region connecting the first region and the second region so as to be positioned higher than the side surface of the barrel unit and spaced apart from the third and fourth side surfaces (Fig. 5, the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is higher than the side surface of holder 500 and is spaced apart from the third and fourth sides of holder 500, thus this horizontal surface is equivalent to a third region as best understood by the Examiner),
wherein the third region is in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit (Fig. 5, the vertical surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is parallel to portion 520, and the vertical surface is responsible for positioning the horizontal surface that is equivalent to the third region higher than the side surface of holder 500, therefore Choi discloses a structure equivalent to the third region that is in parallel to the third side surface of the barrel unit ), and
wherein the third region overlaps a reception space of the barrel unit configured to receive the variable lens in the first direction and does not overlap the body in the first direction (Fig. 5, the equivalent of the third region of overlaps the space in holder 500 where variable lens 300 is received along the optical axis without overlapping first lens disposition portion 510).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 1, wherein the third region is overlapped with the variable lens in the first direction (Fig. 5, the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is equivalent to the third region, and overlaps liquid lens 300 in the first direction).
Regarding dependent claim 23, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 15, wherein the third region is overlapped with the variable lens in the first direction (Fig. 5, the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is equivalent to the third region, and overlaps liquid lens 300 in the first direction).
Regarding dependent claim 24, Choi discloses the lens barrel according to claim 20, wherein the third region is overlapped with the variable lens in the first direction (Fig. 5, the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520 is equivalent to the third region, and overlaps liquid lens 300 in the first direction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that although Choi discloses a lens barrel, Choi fails to disclose a third region connecting the first region and the second region that is parallel to the third side as recited in the amended independent claims. Applicant points to third region P3 that is parallel to third side surface 52e, as shown in Figure 11B and described in paragraph [0309] of the instant application, and compares this element to the equivalent region in Choi, arguing that the equivalent element of Choi is perpendicular to the third side surface of holder 500 as depicted in Choi Fig. 4, rather than the recited relationship of “parallel to the third side surface” in the amended independent claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Choi teaches the equivalent of a third region that connects the first region and the second region in the form of the horizontal surface between first lens disposition portion 510 and liquid lens disposition portion 520, as shown in at least Fig. 5 of Choi, and for the third region to be positioned higher than the side surface of the barrel unit as recited in the claims, there must be a vertical element or surface that is responsible for positioning the horizontal surface that is equivalent to the third region higher than the side surface of holder 500. Choi has such a surface as shown in Fig. 5 thereof, and this surface of Choi is in the same position as region P3 shown in Fig. 11B of the instant application.
Although the cited reference is different from the invention disclosed by Applicant, the language of Applicant's claims is sufficiently broad to reasonably read on the cited reference. No special definition of “region” is found in the present specification, and, absent a special definition, Examiner is obligated to take the broadest reasonable interpretation not in conflict with the specification. It is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., “regions” of surfaces of the lens barrel) has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner's interpretation of descriptions of regions of lens barrels in the prior art is both reasonable and not in conflict with the specification, and the limitations of the claims were identified and correlated with the reference cited, as indicated above, are met by the prior art. As such, the prior art discloses the invention as currently claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN W. HUSTOFT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872