This office action is responsive to the applicant’s correspondence filed on 09/16/2025.
Claims 14-24 are pending. Claims 14-17, 19, and 23-24 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding double patenting rejection:
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
To clarify, Examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “generic component model datasets” as indicated in the claim interpretation below, the generic component model dataset amounts to the component model data of the reference application having default values and including floor heights. Other limitations of measuring a floor height for each floor; generating a three-dimensional digital-double dataset; arranging component model dataset in sequence in the vertical direction for each floor level of the elevator; and replacing the component model dataset with measurement data are all taught in the reference application.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC § 102:
Regarding Applicant’s arguments based on newly amended subject matter, all arguments are addressed in the 102 rejection of the claims below.
With respect to the remarks, page 9, regarding measuring floor heights, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Markku discloses measuring floor heights.
To clarify, the remarks alleges that Markku para [0079] and [0087] merely indicate that the scanning data is presented in the format of 3D coordinate measurements. Examiner notes that the scanning apparatus moves vertically and scans each floor and stores the coordinates x=length, y=width, z=height. Measuring the coordinates for height for each floor would provide the floor height for each floor. Para [0004] also discloses aligning the position of the door with the floor landings ([0004]: “Corresponding problems have been caused if the positions of the door openings of floor landings leading out from the hoistway are not quite aligned in the vertical direction.”). Para [0062] discloses that floor landings is one of the structures of the elevator measured by the scanning apparatus ([0062]: “When the objects being scanned are structures that are already installed, the structures are scanned with scanning apparatus at the elevator site. … Installed structures are considered here to be, for example, the shapes, i.e. walls, ceiling and floor, bounding the interior of the elevator hoistway and of the machine room that can be scanned at the installation site, i.e. in the final disposal location of the elevator. Likewise, the openings 0, or corresponding, of floor landings leading out of the hoistway are deemed to be installed structures.”). Fig. 1 also shows vertically measuring the structure including each of the floors. Therefore, this corresponds to the measurement data corresponding to the floor height for each floor on which the elevator lands.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 14-17 and 23-24 recite the limitation “generic component model datasets.” Specification does not disclose these limitations. However, specification page 13 lines 13-17 discloses that component model datasets are defined by characterizing properties B, T, H that are predefined with default values x, y, z. The remarks at the bottom of page 8 also alleges that the “generic component model datasets” are defined with default values, and these values are replaced with the measurement values. Therefore, the limitation “generic component model datasets” is interpreted as component model datasets having default values. The limitation “generic height characteristic” is accordingly interpreted as the default height value z.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: all instances of the limitations “data set” and “data sets” should read “dataset” and “datasets” respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites the limitations “generic component model datasets” and “generic height characteristic”. There is no support for these limitations in specification. Specification at page 10 lines 1-4 discloses that the component model datasets are predefined with default values, but does not disclose that these default values are generic component model datasets. Therefore, “generic component model datasets” and “generic height characteristic” are new matter.
Claims 15-24 are rejected as reciting the similar limitations or by the virtue of their dependency on the rejected claim(s).
Double Patenting
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 17/600,045 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below:
Instant application claims
Reference application claims
Claim 14:
during at least one measuring run, moving an elevator car of an existing elevator system to each floor of the existing elevator system and recording, with a measuring device measurement data representing a floor height for each floor
generating, and storing in a storage medium, a three-dimensional digital-double dataset representative of the existing elevator system from generic component model datasets,
wherein the generic component model datasets comprise at least a generic height characteristic, by: arranging in sequence one above the other in a vertical direction a plurality of generic component model datasets corresponding to a number of floors in the existing elevator system, and
for each of the plurality of generic component model datasets, replacing the generic height characteristic with the floor height of the floor recorded with the measuring device during the measuring run
Claim 2:
approaching each floor level of the existing elevator installation at least once by at least one measuring run with the existing or to be modernized elevator installation, recording at least those measurement data representing floor heights by a measuring device
wherein the three-dimensional digital replica data record of the existing or modernized elevator installation is generated by the computer program product from component model data records and stored in a storage medium
the component model data records configured as a floor section component model data record and/or the component model data records configured as a shaft section component model data record are arranged in a recorded sequence one above the other in the vertical direction for each floor level of the elevator installation detected by the measuring run, and
the default values of the characterizing property that defines the height distance with respect to the next component model data record are replaced in these component model data records in each case by the corresponding floor heights determined from the measurement data
This is an anticipatory provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16, 18, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Markku et al. (US20150158699A1), hereinafter Markku.
Regarding claim 14, Markku discloses
during at least one measuring run, moving an elevator car of an existing elevator system to each floor of the existing elevator system and recording, with a measuring device measurement data representing a floor height for each floor ([0056]: “In the method the structures (i.e. one or more structures) of an elevator are scanned with scanning apparatus, which collects scanning data relating to the shape and/or surface patterning of the structures being scanned. The scanning data is recorded in memory, e.g. in digital memory.”) ([0073]: “Preferably the scanning apparatus 1 is moved in at least the vertical direction of the space, preferably for at least most of the vertical height, in which case the structure of the space S, M, I will be scanned to a large extent in the vertical direction of the elevator for the three-dimensional model.”) ([0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor … The position data can comprise coordinate data (x=length, y=width, z=height)”) ([0062]: “When the objects being scanned are structures that are already installed, the structures are scanned with scanning apparatus at the elevator site. … Installed structures are considered here to be, for example, the shapes, i.e. walls, ceiling and floor, bounding the interior of the elevator hoistway and of the machine room that can be scanned at the installation site, i.e. in the final disposal location of the elevator. Likewise, the openings 0, or corresponding, of floor landings leading out of the hoistway are deemed to be installed structures.”) (Fig. 1),
Examiner notes that the scanning apparatus moves vertically and scans each floor and stores the coordinates x=length, y=width, z=height. Measuring the coordinates for height for each floor would provide the floor height for each floor. Para [0004] also discloses aligning the position of the door with the floor landings ([0004]: “Corresponding problems have been caused if the positions of the door openings of floor landings leading out from the hoistway are not quite aligned in the vertical direction.”). Para [0062] discloses that the floor landings are one of the structures of the elevator measured by the scanning apparatus ([0062]: “When the objects being scanned are structures that are already installed, the structures are scanned with scanning apparatus at the elevator site. … Installed structures are considered here to be, for example, the shapes, i.e. walls, ceiling and floor, bounding the interior of the elevator hoistway and of the machine room that can be scanned at the installation site, i.e. in the final disposal location of the elevator. Likewise, the openings 0, or corresponding, of floor landings leading out of the hoistway are deemed to be installed structures.”). Fig. 1 also shows vertically measuring the structure including each of the floors. Therefore, this corresponds to the measurement data corresponding to the floor height for each floor on which the elevator lands.
generating, and storing in a storage medium, a three-dimensional digital-double dataset representative of the existing elevator system from generic component model datasets ([0007]: “a database is formed about a plurality of known devices, said database comprising device-specific information of the elevators”) ([0071]: “In any of the aforementioned three embodiments whatsoever it is advantageous to link the aforementioned the three-dimensional model(s) of the structure(s) to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. The elevator database is, in practice, preferably an elevator database managed by the elevator manufacturer or by a customer responsible for an elevator plurality. The database can be situated e.g. in a central computer. … A three-dimensional model can be brought out of the database on the basis of its identification, in which case an elevator structure can be inspected very precisely according to need.”) ([0059]: “For example, a three-dimensional model of the old elevator hoistway and/or of the components in it can be formed with the method. In this way the modification need of the structure in question can be determined or, on the basis of the three-dimensional model, the plan of an elevator being fabricated can be modified or adapted in respect of other structures”) ([0039]: “The aforementioned three-dimensional model is preferably recorded in memory in digital format.”)
wherein the generic component model datasets comprise at least a generic height characteristic ([0073]: “Preferably the scanning apparatus 1 is moved in at least the vertical direction of the space, preferably for at least most of the vertical height, in which case the structure of the space S, M, I will be scanned to a large extent in the vertical direction of the elevator for the three-dimensional model.”) ([0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor … The position data can comprise coordinate data (x=length, y=width, z=height)”) ([0062]: “When the objects being scanned are structures that are already installed, the structures are scanned with scanning apparatus at the elevator site. … Installed structures are considered here to be, for example, the shapes, i.e. walls, ceiling and floor, bounding the interior of the elevator hoistway and of the machine room that can be scanned at the installation site, i.e. in the final disposal location of the elevator. Likewise, the openings 0, or corresponding, of floor landings leading out of the hoistway are deemed to be installed structures.”) (Fig. 1), by:
arranging in sequence one above the other in a vertical direction a plurality of generic component model datasets corresponding to a number of floors in the existing elevator system ([0034]: “Preferably before performing the scanning a reference point is defined, in relation to which the position data collected during the scanning is defined.”) ([0035]-[0038]: “In one preferred embodiment in each collection phase collecting position data is connected to the collected data, which collecting position data preferably comprises the prevailing position data of the scanning apparatus (more particularly the position data of the receiver collecting data). In this way the scanning data collected from the different positions can be situated in relation to each other for forming a larger entity from the parts. … In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. … In one preferred embodiment in the method a computer program is executed, which program forms a three-dimensional model on the basis of scanning data”) ([0051]: “Preferably the scanning data relating to the shape of structures being scanned comprises data about the shape and the dimensions of the structure being scanned. In this way a three-dimensional model can be formed to be of corresponding shape to the scanned structure and its exact dimensions are known, in which case the three-dimensional can be combined with other three-dimensional models, e.g. for determining the compatibility (e.g. from the viewpoint of space usage) of the structures described by them. Exact dimension data could, however, be determined otherwise also, such as e.g. by means of reference measurements.”) ([0037]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. In this way a database can be formed”), and
Markku discloses scanning the elevator structure vertically and obtaining measurement data with respect to a reference point. Markku also discloses situating different components in relation to each other using the reference point and coordinate points. Therefore, Markku discloses arranging in sequence one above the other in a vertical direction the obtained data to obtain a three-dimensional model.
for each of the plurality of generic component model datasets, replacing the generic height characteristic with the floor height of the floor recorded with the measuring device during the measuring run ([0007]: “a database is formed about a plurality of known devices, said database comprising device-specific information of the elevators … the scanning data is compared to the data of the aforementioned database”) ([0072]: “As a part of the method (e.g. when later processing collected and recorded data) a program can be executed, which is arranged to identify the structures of an elevator, more particularly elevator devices such as e.g. an overspeed governor, motor or other electronic device, directly from the scanning data or from a three-dimensional model formed on the basis of the scanning data, by comparing the scanning data to the data of known structures and elevator devices contained in a structure database, more particularly a database containing device-specific data.”) ([0040]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a program is executed, which is arranged to identify the structures of an elevator, more particularly elevator devices such as e.g. an overspeed governor, motor or other electronic device, from the scanning data or from a three-dimensional model formed on the basis of the scanning data, by comparing the scanning data to the data of known structures contained in a structure database, e.g. a device database.”) ([0044]: “In one preferred embodiment after the formation of a three-dimensional model the scanned structure is modified. For example, in this case a structure bounding an elevator space scanned in the scanning phase, of which structure a three-dimensional model has earlier been formed, and/or the elevator structures (such as parts or devices) that is/are inside the elevator space scanned in the scanning phase, of which structures a three-dimensional model has earlier been formed, is/are modified.”) ([0060]: “In one embodiment applying to the collection of general information the formation of a three-dimensional model in the aforementioned manner is a part of the collection of data about an existing elevator, e.g. for updating the database.”).
Examiner notes that Markku discloses collecting scanning data, storing it in a database, and generating a three-dimensional model based on the scanning data (by vertically arranging the measured data) ([0035]-[0038]: “In one preferred embodiment in each collection phase collecting position data is connected to the collected data, which collecting position data preferably comprises the prevailing position data of the scanning apparatus (more particularly the position data of the receiver collecting data). In this way the scanning data collected from the different positions can be situated in relation to each other for forming a larger entity from the parts. … In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. … In one preferred embodiment in the method a computer program is executed, which program forms a three-dimensional model on the basis of scanning data”).
Markku then discloses using this model and database as a basis for elevator inspection and identifying discrepancy between the actual elevator and the model data, and modifying this structure or updating the database as necessary ([0004]: “A problem has been that the positioning of individual structures does not always fully correspond to the plan. … For example, problems might arise if the shape of the elevator hoistway does not fully correspond to the plan or is otherwise not of the type of the prevailing assumption.”) ([0037]: “In this way a database can be formed, from which can be brought forth accurate and reliable data of the desired elevator on the basis of its identification and a structure of it can be inspected without going to the site.”) ([0040]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a program is executed, which is arranged to identify the structures of an elevator, more particularly elevator devices such as e.g. an overspeed governor, motor or other electronic device, from the scanning data or from a three-dimensional model formed on the basis of the scanning data, by comparing the scanning data to the data of known structures contained in a structure database, e.g. a device database.”) ([0043]: “In this way a three-dimensional model can function as a part of the design process, enabling the selection or adaptation of later structures on the basis of the real elevator structure.”) ([0044]: “In one preferred embodiment after the formation of a three-dimensional model the scanned structure is modified. For example, in this case a structure bounding an elevator space scanned in the scanning phase, of which structure a three-dimensional model has earlier been formed, and/or the elevator structures (such as parts or devices) that is/are inside the elevator space scanned in the scanning phase, of which structures a three-dimensional model has earlier been formed, is/are modified.”) ([0057]: “A three-dimensional model and/or type data offer real and reliable data about the shape of structures, which data can be reliably utilized for determining the later placement or modification need of the structure in question. Likewise, the needs relating to placement or modification of structures to be installed in the future in the proximity of a scanned structure can be determined in advance on the basis of the model.”) ([0072]: “As a part of the method (e.g. when later processing collected and recorded data) a program can be executed, which is arranged to identify the structures of an elevator, more particularly elevator devices such as e.g. an overspeed governor, motor or other electronic device, directly from the scanning data or from a three-dimensional model formed on the basis of the scanning data, by comparing the scanning data to the data of known structures and elevator devices contained in a structure database, more particularly a database containing device-specific data.”) ([0060]: “In one embodiment applying to the collection of general information the formation of a three-dimensional model in the aforementioned manner is a part of the collection of data about an existing elevator, e.g. for updating the database.”). This aligns with the problem the present invention is trying to solve as disclosed at specification page 1, and corresponds to the replacement of the default generic values with the scanned measurements.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that the default generic value under broadest reasonable interpretation amounts to pre-stored data in a database (default values) which one can modify based on current, up-to-date data. Moreover, Markku teaches such database being from an elevator manufacturer, which would mean that the data stored in the database are default generic values from a manufacturer ([0071]: “In any of the aforementioned three embodiments whatsoever it is advantageous to link the aforementioned the three-dimensional model(s) of the structure(s) to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. The elevator database is, in practice, preferably an elevator database managed by the elevator manufacturer or by a customer responsible for an elevator plurality. The database can be situated e.g. in a central computer. … A three-dimensional model can be brought out of the database on the basis of its identification, in which case an elevator structure can be inspected very precisely according to need.”). Accordingly, Markku anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Markku discloses
wherein each generic component model dataset has predefined interfaces, via which the generic component model datasets are connected to one another and positioned relative to one another ([0076]: “Before performing the scanning a reference point is defined, in relation to which the position data collected during the scanning is defined.”) ([0034]: “Preferably before performing the scanning a reference point is defined, in relation to which the position data collected during the scanning is defined.”) ([0035]-[0038]: “In one preferred embodiment in each collection phase collecting position data is connected to the collected data, which collecting position data preferably comprises the prevailing position data of the scanning apparatus (more particularly the position data of the receiver collecting data). In this way the scanning data collected from the different positions can be situated in relation to each other for forming a larger entity from the parts. … In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. … In one preferred embodiment in the method a computer program is executed, which program forms a three-dimensional model on the basis of scanning data”) ([0039]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is formed to be presentable to the user visually by means of a computer (preferably on a computer display).”),
wherein corresponding characterizing properties of each generic component model dataset to be added are automatically replicated with the corresponding characterizing properties of the generic component model dataset provided for the connection via the interface ([0035]: “In this way the scanning data collected from the different positions can be situated in relation to each other for forming a larger entity from the parts.”) ([0075]: “In this way recordings achieved with a number of data collections can be situated in relation to each other in a position corresponding to the actual structure and an integral scanning result for a large area from a series of interconnected scans that apply to small areas.”).
Regarding claim 16, Markku discloses
wherein an elevator car component model dataset is arranged in a virtual shaft formed by at least generic component model dataset ([0020]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned space is one or more of the following: an elevator hoistway, a machine room, an interior of an elevator car.”) ([0065]: “Likewise, the guide rails or other elevator components installed in the elevator hoistway or in the machine room, including also the elevator car if it is already in the hoistway, can be installed structures.”) and
motion profiles of the existing elevator car recorded during the measuring run are assigned as characterizing properties to the elevator car component model dataset in a hierarchy of the floor ([0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor … The position data can comprise coordinate data (x=length, y=width, z=height)”) ([0073]: “Preferably the scanning apparatus 1 is moved in at least the vertical direction of the space, preferably for at least most of the vertical height, in which case the structure of the space S, M, I will be scanned to a large extent in the vertical direction of the elevator for the three-dimensional model.”).
Regarding claim 18, Markku discloses
wherein the three-dimensional digital-double dataset is retrieved from a storage medium ([0039]: “The aforementioned three-dimensional model is preferably recorded in memory in digital format.”) ([0056]: “The scanning data is recorded in memory, e.g. in digital memory.”) and
displayed on a screen in a static and/or dynamic manner as a virtual elevator system ([0039]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is formed to be presentable to the user visually by means of a computer (preferably on a computer display).”),
reproducing at least the height distances of the floors in the correct ratio to one another ([0076]: “The position data can comprise coordinate data (x=length, y=width, z=height)”) ([0035]: “In this way the scanning data collected from the different positions can be situated in relation to each other for forming a larger entity from the parts.”).
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is substantially similar to claim 1, and therefore the similar analysis is applicable. Furthermore, Markku discloses
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that configure one or more processors ([0056]: “It is advantageous to convey with a memory, or to send scanning data for the formation of a three-dimensional model and/or of type data, from the location at which the scanning is performed to the system performing the task, e.g. to a computer that is remote from the scanning location. It is, however, also possible to form a three-dimensional model and/or type data immediately on site with means integrated into the scanning apparatus itself or with apparatus in the proximity of the scanning apparatus, in which case the means preferably comprise a computer.”) ([0038]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a computer program is executed”) ([0039]: “The aforementioned three-dimensional model is preferably recorded in memory in digital format.”) ([0079]: “The scanning apparatus can comprise a memory for recording scanning data and/or other data, such as position data, and a drive unit of the memory, such as e.g. a computer.”).
Claim(s) 17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markku in view of Reghetti et al. (US20100251028A), hereinafter Reghetti.
Regarding claim 17, Markku discloses
wherein spatial dimensions of an existing elevator car are recorded as measured values and the default values of the assigned characterizing properties of the elevator car component model dataset are replaced by the measured spatial dimensions ([0056]: “In the method the structures (i.e. one or more structures) of an elevator are scanned with scanning apparatus, which collects scanning data relating to the shape and/or surface patterning of the structures being scanned.”) ([0020]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned space is one or more of the following: an elevator hoistway, a machine room, an interior of an elevator car.”) ([0065]: “Likewise, the guide rails or other elevator components installed in the elevator hoistway or in the machine room, including also the elevator car if it is already in the hoistway, can be installed structures.”) ([0051]: “Preferably the scanning data relating to the shape of structures being scanned comprises data about the shape and the dimensions of the structure being scanned.”) ([0060]: “In one embodiment applying to the collection of general information the formation of a three-dimensional model in the aforementioned manner is a part of the collection of data about an existing elevator, e.g. for updating the database.”).
Markku does not explicitly disclose
wherein the default values of the characterizing properties of the generic component model datasets are checked using a collision checking routine and,
in the case of colliding dimensions, corresponding characterizing properties are adapted to the projections leading to collisions.
However, Reghetti teaches collision checking routine and adapting dimensions ([0204]: “For instance, with the execution of an appropriate command, inventive systems and methods can perform a check of objects within a drawing to determine if any conflicts exist between any objects.”) ([0116]: “While dimensions can be processed as a whole group, other embodiments of the invention enable the user to select and alter individual dimensions”).
Markku and Reghetti are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of CAD modeling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this concept of checking collisions in CAD objects and adapting dimensions into Markku to check for collisions between objects or values in the model when modifications are made to them, and adapt the corresponding object or value in order to resolve the collision.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so allows one to resolve conflicts that could arise when modifications are made to the model (Reghetti, [0010]: “With multiple designers participating in the design and review processes on various versions of the CAD drawings for a particular object, a number of problems can arise with respect to managing modifications, identifying and/or resolving conflicts, the reconciliation of 2D and 3D drawings, coordinating associations between related drawings and the like.”).
Therefore, the combination of Markku and Reghetti teaches
wherein the default values of the characterizing properties of the generic component model datasets are checked using a collision checking routine (Reghetti, [0204]: “For instance, with the execution of an appropriate command, inventive systems and methods can perform a check of objects within a drawing to determine if any conflicts exist between any objects.”) and,
in the case of colliding dimensions, corresponding characterizing properties are adapted to the projections leading to collisions (Reghetti, [0204]: “For instance, with the execution of an appropriate command, inventive systems and methods can perform a check of objects within a drawing to determine if any conflicts exist between any objects.”) (Reghetti, [0116]: “While dimensions can be processed as a whole group, other embodiments of the invention enable the user to select and alter individual dimensions”).
Regarding claim 19, Marrku discloses
components of an elevator system in a database ([0056]: “In the method the structures (i.e. one or more structures) of an elevator are scanned with scanning apparatus, which collects scanning data relating to the shape and/or surface patterning of the structures being scanned. The scanning data is recorded in memory, e.g. in digital memory.”) ([0037]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. In this way a database can be formed”) ([0045]: “structures preferably comprise one or more of the following: an elevator car, the device(s) of the elevator, or parts of said device(s), such as an overspeed governor, an elevator control unit, a hoisting machine or parts thereof, a guide rail/guide rails of the elevator, such as the guide rail/guide rails of the elevator car and/or counterweight, the rope(s) of the elevator, such as suspension ropes.”); and
the three-dimensional digital-double dataset ([0056]: “On the basis of the collected scanning data a three-dimensional model is formed”) ([0071]: “A three-dimensional model can be brought out of the database on the basis of its identification”) ([0039]: “The aforementioned three-dimensional model can preferably be presented in this way with a CAD program.”).
Markku does not explicitly disclose selecting a component via a graphical user interface and inserting the component into a model via an interface.
However, Reghetti teaches selecting a component via a graphical user interface ([0019]: “selecting one of the references, storing in the first data structure an identification of the external drawing corresponding to the selected reference”) ([0105]: “The “Pick Layers” button returns the user to the drawing editor and prompts the user to select objects.”) and inserting the component into a model via an interface ([0019]: “attempting with the second session to link (e.g., bind) the corresponding external drawing to the first CAD drawing”) ([0074]: “The “Insert” function inserts the selected X-ref into the drawing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate such functionalities of CAD into Markku to select component model datasets of components of an elevator system from a database via a graphical user interface and insert them into the three-dimensional digital-double dataset via an interface.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such functionalities allow users to visually make modifications to the model, making it convenient (Reghetti, [0126]: “Rather, each drawing is opened and reviewed visually to make a determination as to its type”) (Reghetti, [0119]: “As each X-ref is modified, the main architect is able to see the changes reflected on the main drawing.”).
Therefore, the combination of Markku and Reghetti teaches
wherein further components of an elevator system are selected from a database via a graphical user interface (Markku, [0045]: “structures preferably comprise one or more of the following: an elevator car, the device(s) of the elevator, or parts of said device(s), such as an overspeed governor, an elevator control unit, a hoisting machine or parts thereof, a guide rail/guide rails of the elevator, such as the guide rail/guide rails of the elevator car and/or counterweight, the rope(s) of the elevator, such as suspension ropes.”) (Markku, [0037]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification. In this way a database can be formed”) (Markku, [0056]: “In the method the structures (i.e. one or more structures) of an elevator are scanned with scanning apparatus, which collects scanning data relating to the shape and/or surface patterning of the structures being scanned. The scanning data is recorded in memory, e.g. in digital memory.”) (Reghetti, [0019]: “selecting one of the references, storing in the first data structure an identification of the external drawing corresponding to the selected reference”) (Reghetti, [0105]: “The “Pick Layers” button returns the user to the drawing editor and prompts the user to select objects.”) and
inserted into the three-dimensional digital-double dataset via predefined interfaces (Markku, [0056]: “On the basis of the collected scanning data a three-dimensional model is formed”) (Markku, [0039]: “The aforementioned three-dimensional model can preferably be presented in this way with a CAD program.”) (Reghetti, [0019]: “attempting with the second session to link (e.g., bind) the corresponding external drawing to the first CAD drawing”) (Reghetti, [0073]: “In certain embodiments, the undo feature is only effective at undoing “Detach,” “Insert,” “Insert All,” “Bind” and “Bind All” commands.”) (Reghetti, [0074]: “The “Insert” function inserts the selected X-ref into the drawing”).
Regarding claim 20, Markku/Reghetti teaches
wherein at least counterweight, guide rail, shaft door, car door, drive component model datasets and suspension device component model datasets in different suspension means guiding variants are selected as component model datasets of components (Markku, [0045]: “In one preferred embodiment the structures being scanned comprise the structures bounding a space of the elevator and/or the structures that are inside a space of an elevator, and after the formation of the aforementioned three-dimensional model the elevator structures are installed into the aforementioned space, which structures preferably comprise one or more of the following: an elevator car, the device(s) of the elevator, or parts of said device(s), such as an overspeed governor, an elevator control unit, a hoisting machine or parts thereof, a guide rail/guide rails of the elevator, such as the guide rail/guide rails of the elevator car and/or counterweight, the rope(s) of the elevator, such as suspension ropes.”) (Markku, [0040]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a program is executed, which is arranged to identify the structures of an elevator, more particularly elevator devices such as e.g. an overspeed governor, motor or other electronic device”) (Reghetti, [0019]: “selecting one of the references, storing in the first data structure an identification of the external drawing corresponding to the selected reference”) (Reghetti, [0105]: “The “Pick Layers” button returns the user to the drawing editor and prompts the user to select objects.”).
The already provided combination is applicable.
Regarding claim 21, Markku does not explicitly disclose
wherein the characterizing properties defined by measurement data are provided with a marker, so that they are distinguished from characterizing properties with default values.
However, Reghetti teaches designating specific data to distinguish them from other data ([0177]: “In certain further embodiments, the newly added objects can be further distinguished, such as being illustrated in a different color (or highlighted in some other way), from the unchanged objects in the revised drawing.”) ([0175]: “Any revisions that have or have not been made can be readily viewed to determine what the modifications are and whether those modifications, or lack thereof, are relevant to the user's work on the current drawing.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate such concept of designating a specific object in CAD into Markku to mark characterizing properties defined by measurement data so that they can be distinguished from characterizing properties with default values.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so allows one to distinguish between designated data and data that is not designated so that further operation can be performed selectively on desired data (Reghetti, [0177]: “In certain further embodiments, the newly added objects can be further distinguished, such as being illustrated in a different color (or highlighted in some other way), from the unchanged objects in the revised drawing.”) (Reghetti, [0175]: “Any revisions that have or have not been made can be readily viewed to determine what the modifications are and whether those modifications, or lack thereof, are relevant to the user's work on the current drawing.”).
Therefore, the combination of Markku and Reghetti teaches
wherein the characterizing properties defined by measurement data are provided with a marker, so that they are distinguished from characterizing properties with default values (Markku, [0056]: “In the method the structures (i.e. one or more structures) of an elevator are scanned with scanning apparatus, which collects scanning data relating to the shape and/or surface patterning of the structures being scanned. The scanning data is recorded in memory, e.g. in digital memory.”) (Reghetti, [0177]: “In certain further embodiments, the newly added objects can be further distinguished, such as being illustrated in a different color (or highlighted in some other way), from the unchanged objects in the revised drawing.”) (Reghetti, [0175]: “Any revisions that have or have not been made can be readily viewed to determine what the modifications are and whether those modifications, or lack thereof, are relevant to the user's work on the current drawing.”).
Regarding claim 22, Markku/Reghetti teaches
wherein a component model dataset of the digital-double dataset is replaced by a definitive component model dataset in that its characterizing properties provided with a marker are read via a replacement routine (Reghetti, [0177]: “In certain further embodiments, the newly added objects can be further distinguished, such as being illustrated in a different color (or highlighted in some other way), from the unchanged objects in the revised drawing.”) (Reghetti, [0175]: “Any revisions that have or have not been made can be readily viewed to determine what the modifications are and whether those modifications, or lack thereof, are relevant to the user's work on the current drawing.”) (Markku, [0060]: “In one embodiment applying to the collection of general information the formation of a three-dimensional model in the aforementioned manner is a part of the collection of data about an existing elevator, e.g. for updating the database.”),
possible defined component model datasets of actually existing components of elevator systems matching the characterizing properties are determined from a database using said marked characterizing properties (Markku, [0040]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a program is executed, which is arranged to identify the structures of an elevator, more particularly elevator devices such as e.g. an overspeed governor, motor or other electronic device, from the scanning data or from a three-dimensional model formed on the basis of the scanning data, by comparing the scanning data to the data of known structures contained in a structure database, e.g. a device database.”).
The already provided combination is applicable.
Markku does not explicitly disclose
a replacement component model dataset is additionally selected by manual inputs.
However, Reghetti further teaches receiving manual user inputs ([0149]: “Immediately below these two windows are buttons for the user to manually open and/or move selected files to the list of X-refs or to the list of host drawings.”) ([0170]: “For instance, the illustrated dialog box 350 comprises a plurality of inputs for prompting the user to manually identify and/or classify a particular X-ref.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate such concept of receiving manual user inputs into Markku to select the replacement component model dataset by manual inputs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so allows user a flexibility to select a particularly desired component (Reghetti, [0170]: “For instance, the illustrated dialog box 350 comprises a plurality of inputs for prompting the user to manually identify and/or classify a particular X-ref.”).
Therefore, the combination of Markku and Reghetti teaches
a replacement component model dataset is additionally selected by manual inputs (Markku, [0060]: “In one embodiment applying to the collection of general information the formation of a three-dimensional model in the aforementioned manner is a part of the collection of data about an existing elevator, e.g. for updating the database.”) (Reghetti, [0149]: “Immediately below these two windows are buttons for the user to manually open and/or move selected files to the list of X-refs or to the list of host drawings.”) (Reghetti, [0170]: “For instance, the illustrated dialog box 350 comprises a plurality of inputs for prompting the user to manually identify and/or classify a particular X-ref.”).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markku in view of Nakazawa (JP2000335845A, hereinafter referred to the English translation included in this action).
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is substantially similar to claim 1, and therefore the similar analysis is applicable. Furthermore, Markku discloses
at least one measuring device, wherein by at least one measuring run with the elevator system measurement data are recorded by the at least one measuring device, from which the floor heights of the floors of the elevator system are determined ([0056]: “In the method the structures (i.e. one or more structures) of an elevator are scanned with scanning apparatus, which collects scanning data relating to the shape and/or surface patterning of the structures being scanned.”) ([0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor”) ([0073]: “Preferably the scanning apparatus 1 is moved in at least the vertical direction of the space, preferably for at least most of the vertical height, in which case the structure of the space S, M, I will be scanned to a large extent in the vertical direction of the elevator for the three-dimensional model.”) ([0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor … The position data can comprise coordinate data (x=length, y=width, z=height)”);
a programmable device; and a computer program product with machine-readable program instructions … by executing the computer program product on the programmable device and by taking into account the measurement data recorded by the at least one measuring device during the measurement run ([0043]: “the structures being scanned comprise … after the formation of the aforementioned three-dimensional model the elevator structures are installed into the aforementioned space. In this way a three-dimensional model can function as a part of the design process, enabling the selection or adaptation of later structures on the basis of the real elevator structure.”) ([0044]: “In one preferred embodiment after the formation of a three-dimensional model the scanned structure is modified. For example, in this case a structure bounding an elevator space scanned in the scanning phase, of which structure a three-dimensional model has earlier been formed, and/or the elevator structures (such as parts or devices) that is/are inside the elevator space scanned in the scanning phase, of which structures a three-dimensional model has earlier been formed, is/are modified.”) ([0007]: “a database is formed about a plurality of known devices, said database comprising device-specific information of the elevators … the scanning data is compared to the data of the aforementioned database”) ([0037]: “In one preferred embodiment the aforementioned three-dimensional model is linked to form at least a part of the data that is in the database and is linked to the elevator-identification of the elevator in question, which database comprises a plurality of elevator-identifications and the data of an identified elevator connected to each elevator-identification.”) ([0039]: “The aforementioned three-dimensional model is preferably recorded in memory in digital format.”) ([0038]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a computer program is executed, which program forms a three-dimensional model on the basis of scanning data.”).
Markku does not explicitly disclose
wherein the at least one measuring device is connected to an elevator control unit of the existing elevator system and
characterizing properties are extracted by the at least one measuring device from control signals of the elevator control unit and transmitted to the programmable device.
However, Nakazawa teaches an elevator control device connected to a measuring device and configured to transmit and receive signals to and from various devices ([0006]: “In the elevator control device 2, reference numeral 21 denotes a control unit which is a known microcomputer control device, reference numeral 22 denotes a communication unit which transmits and receives signals between the control unit 21 and other devices … In the diagnostic device 3, reference numeral 31 denotes a diagnostic control unit for controlling diagnosis of each elevator device, and reference numeral 32 denotes a communication unit of the diagnostic device, which receives signals from the resistance measuring device 4, transmits and receives signals to and from the elevator control device 2, and performs remote monitoring”).
Markku and Nakazawa are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring elevators and transmitting measuring data across devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this teaching from Nakazawa to modify Markku to connect the measuring device to an elevator control unit of an elevator and transmit signals between devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so allows transmitting the measured data to appropriate devices so that they can be used to diagnose the condition of the elevator and improve the function of the elevator as necessary (Nakazawa, [0006]: “The determination unit 35 compares the resistance value measured this time in the storage unit 34 with the past measurement result, and when a change in the resistance value is larger than a predetermined value, that is, when a remarkable variation is found in the resistance value (S6), The diagnosis control unit 31 issues a relay failure signal to the remote monitoring device 5 (S7).”).
Therefore, the combination of Markku and Nakazawa teaches
wherein the at least one measuring device is connected to an elevator control unit of the existing elevator system (Markku, [0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor that is in connection with the scanning apparatus 1”) (Nakazawa, [0006]: “In the elevator control device 2, reference numeral 21 denotes a control unit which is a known microcomputer control device, reference numeral 22 denotes a communication unit which transmits and receives signals between the control unit 21 and other devices … In the diagnostic device 3, reference numeral 31 denotes a diagnostic control unit for controlling diagnosis of each elevator device, and reference numeral 32 denotes a communication unit of the diagnostic device, which receives signals from the resistance measuring device 4, transmits and receives signals to and from the elevator control device 2, and performs remote monitoring”) and
characterizing properties are extracted by the at least one measuring device from control signals of the elevator control unit and transmitted to the programmable device (Markku, [0076]: “According to one implementation method the position data of the scanning apparatus 1 is collected during scanning by means of an acceleration sensor that is in connection with the scanning apparatus 1”) (Markku, [0038]: “In one preferred embodiment in the method a computer program is executed, which program forms a three-dimensional model on the basis of scanning data.”) (Nakazawa, [0006]: “In the elevator control device 2, reference numeral 21 denotes a control unit which is a known microcomputer control device, reference numeral 22 denotes a communication unit which transmits and receives signals between the control unit 21 and other devices … In the diagnostic device 3, reference numeral 31 denotes a diagnostic control unit for controlling diagnosis of each elevator device, and reference numeral 32 denotes a communication unit of the diagnostic device, which receives signals from the resistance measuring device 4, transmits and receives signals to and from the elevator control device 2, and performs remote monitoring”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (CN104760853A)
/HEIN JEONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186