DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 07/11/2025. Claims 1, 5-7 and 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by YAO et al. (WO 2016/109301 A1) are withdrawn in light of amendment to claim 1.
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected with traverse of Group I, drawn to a fungicidal composition comprising a mixture of component (A) and (B), and the species of (A) and (B) having following structure(s), in the reply filed on 12/02/2024.
As noted in last office action, although the elected component A (i.e. metarylpicoxamid), CAS # 2376210-14-7 is encompassed by general formula I, the structure of the elected component species are NOT explicitly disclosed or identified in working examples of fungicidal mixtures in instant specification.
The instant elected component (B), N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5-(trifluoromethyl)-1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl]cyclopropanecarboxamide, CAS # 2093177-34-3 (See STN search Note), has following structure:
Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 read on the elected invention/species.
Claim 3-4 recite component (A) species that do not read on the elected component A species, and remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 15-16 and 27 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The fungicidal composition comprising enantiomer of the elected species component(A) and elected component (B), or non-elected component(B) species (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc. ) remain rejected under following 102 and 103 rejections. Other non-elected species are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-28 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 3-4,15-16 and 27 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are currently under examination.
Action Summary
Applicant's Remarks filed 07/11/2025 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant's argument are fully considered. Claims 1, 5-7 and 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by YAO et al. (WO 2016/109301 A1) are withdrawn in light of amendment to claim 1. Claims 1, 5-14 and 17-21 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being obvious over YAO, necessitated by amendment.
Maintained Rejections ( See Response to Argument following rejections):
1) Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are rejected as Improper Markush Grouping;
2) Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement;
3) Claims 1, 5-7, 13-14, 17-22, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Loy et al. ( WO 2019/173665 A1).
4) Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
5). Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1), in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017055473 A1, family member of US 10899724 B2/ US 20180273494 A1).
6). Double patenting rejections over US patent Nos.11974572, 10899724, 11066375, 10501425 and 11180462, in view of Loy are maintained since Loy anticipate instant claim 1. Double patenting rejections over US patent Nos. 11291205, 11395489, 11535594 and 11629138, in view of Stierli are maintained.
Applicant’s argument regarding double patenting rejections over US patent No 11291205 is NOT persuasive. Reference claims are directed to picolinamide compound of Formula I that are very similar to instantly claimed component (A) wherein instant R3 and R4 together with the carbon atom to which they are attached form a cyclopropyl, cyclobutyl or cyclohexyl ring.
Reference claim 6 recite R5 are each independently hydrogen or C1-C4alkyl. Reference claim 8 recites R6 is hydrogen, C1-C4alkyl. According to MPEP 2144.09 (I), A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
Priority
This instant application 17/594,263 filed October 8,2021, is a 371 national stage application of International Application No. PCT/EP2020/060073 filed April 8, 2020, which claims priority to EP 19168328.3 filed April 10, 2019.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The certified copy of EP 19168328.3 was filed on 10/08/2021.
Specification(Maintained)
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Instant claims are directed to composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B) as active ingredients. The elected composition species comprising a mixture of both elected component A and elected component B are required to be disclosed and supported by instant specification. The elected component A species or enantiomer thereof, e.g. metarylpicoxamid, CAS # 2376210-14-7, is NOT explicitly disclosed or identified in working examples in instant specification.
Instant specification discloses 17 compound species of component A (e.g. X1 through X 17) (See Table 1 and Table X ), and working examples of formulation without specific active ingredients mixture/combination of specific components (A) and (B) (See page 122). Instant specification does NOT explicitly disclose or identify working example of composition comprising mixture of the elected component A and the elected component B, or any working example of composition comprising mixture of the elected component A and specific component B. Thus, instant specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter, e.g. fungicidal composition comprising mixture of the elected component A or enantiomer thereof (metarylpicoxamid), and component B genus.
Instant specification disclose various chemicals/drugs by names. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Improper Markush Group (Maintained)
Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping of component (B) species and pesticides species do not share both a substantial structural feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if: (1) The species of the Markush group do not share a single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a "single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent (see Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 27, Wednesday, February 9, 2011, p. 7166, left and middle columns, bridging paragraph).
The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons:
Claim 1 and its dependent claims recite a composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B) as active ingredients, wherein components (B) are selected from improper Markush group of vast variety of chemical compound alternatives(e.g. benzovindiflupyr, fluxapyroxad,…etc.) that do not share a substantially structural similarity or belong to the same recognized chemical class. For example, claims 22 and 28 recite component (B) selected from N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5-(trifluoromethyl)-1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl]cyclopropanecarboxamide (the elected component B species), having following structure:
, and 3-(difluoromethyl)-1-methyl-N-((3R)-1,1,3- trimethyl-2,3-dihydro-1H-inden-4-yl)-1H-pyrazole-4-carboxamide( (inpyrfluxam) having following structure:
.
Since there is nothing common to the Markush alternative chemical species, one can conclude that the instantly claimed component (B) are structurally different. The component (B) species fail to share a substantially structural similarity or any substantial structural feature or common activity that naturally flows from the substantial structural feature. Thus, not all members recited in this improper Markush group of component (B) belong to the same recognized physical/ chemical class.
Claim 13 recites the composition further comprises one of more pesticides selected from vast variety of fungicide, insecticide, bactericide, acaricide or a biological agent (e.g. Bacillus thuringiensis, Bacillus thuringiensis delta endotoxin, baculovirus, entomopathogenic bacteria, virus and fungi). It’s noted that biological agent (e.g. entomopathogenic bacteria, virus, fungi) and small molecule fungicide /insecticide do not belong to the same physical/ chemical class.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Applicant argues “grouping of component (B) is proper. Specifically, claim 1 recites "[a] fungicidal composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B) as active ingredients .... " Here, the claim literally illustrates the "common use" of the various components within component (B)” (Remarks, bridging page 17-18/30)
RESPONSE: As illustrated in last office action and reiterated above, instant claims recite pages of chemical names that do NOT share a substantial structural feature or belong to the same recognized structural class, and the alleged “common use” do NOT naturally flow from the different structures. An ordinary skilled in the art would not recognize the compounds species are fungicidal from the recitation of compound names comprising vast variety of structures. In last office action, the examiner already included suggestions to amend claims reciting only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. As such, the Improper Markush rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement ((Maintained). The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of composition genus comprising a mixture of components (A) genus and components (B) genus . This is a written description rejection, rather than an enablement rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Applicant is directed to the MPEP 2163 and Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st "Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.
MPEP 2163.02 states “ Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.”
Instant claims are drawn to composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B) as active ingredients wherein recited component A genus and component B genus encompass vast variety of species that have different structure, different chemical/physical properties, different biological activity, etc. The Applicant is required to provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed fungicidal composition genus comprising mixture of both component A genus and component B genus. Instant specification disclosed working examples of formulation without identification of active ingredients mixture of specific components (A) and specific (B) (See page 122).
MPEP 2163 II states; “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above)”. While applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. “A representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus” MPEP 2163 II.
Regarding the elected component A species or enantiomer thereof, i.e. metarylpicoxamid, CAS # 2376210-14-7(See STN search note), is NOT explicitly disclosed in instant specification. Instant specification does NOT explicitly disclose working example of composition comprising the elected component A and the elected component B, or any working example comprising specific component A and specific component B.
Regarding component (B), instant claims recite vast variety of component (B) that do NOT belong to the same recognized physical/ chemical class. Regarding the elected component (B) species, N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5-(trifluoromethyl)-1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl]cyclopropanecarboxamide (CAS # 2093177-34-3, and other non-elected species (e.g. inpyrfluxam), they are only recited among a long laundry list of chemicals that might be used as component (B) to combine with compound of Formula I. However, a "laundry list" disclosure of possible component (B) and pesticide does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to the composition comprising any particular component (B) and pesticide species.
Claim 13 recites composition comprises one of more pesticides selected from a laundry list of vast variety of fungicide, insecticide, bactericide, acaricide or a biological agent that do NOT belong to the same physical/ chemical class. Instant specification does not disclose working example of formulation comprising mixture of both component A, component B , and further comprise instantly claimed additional pesticide.
In the absence of sufficient recitation/working sample of composition comprising mixture of various components (A) and (B) species, one of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of the claimed composition genus. The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed. Applicant is reminded that MPEP 2161 II makes clear that “ The written description requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement”.
Applicant argues “component (B), as recited in claim 1, is not a "true genus." A true genus would be, e.g., if component (B) generically recited a "fungicide" or a "pesticide." However, claim 1 does not. Rather, claim 1 recites a list of alternatives” (Remarks, page 19).
RESPONESE: Instant claim 1 recites two pages of component B having different structures as alternative and an ordinary skilled in the art would not recognize what species/alternative is considered as representative of component B from the laundry list of alternatives.
More importantly, the written description rejection is directed to combination genus comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B) as active ingredients wherein recited component A genus and component B genus encompass vast variety of species that have different structure, different chemical/physical properties, different biological activity, etc. There would be millions of combination comprising different component A and different component B with substantial variation within instantly claimed genus. Instant specification dose NOT explicitly disclose the elected component A species or enantiomer thereof, i.e. metarylpicoxamid. Instant specification does NOT explicitly disclose working example of composition comprising the elected component A and the elected component B, or any working example comprising specific component A and specific component B. In absence of sufficient working examples that represent vast variation within the genus, an ordinary skilled in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of the claimed combination genus comprising vast variety of component A and component B. As such, the Written Description rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 13-14, 17-22, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1, patent family of US 11155520 B2 /US 20190276404 A1) (maintained).
Regarding instantly claimed component (A) recited in 1, 17-21, Loy discloses picolinamide compound of Formula I as fungicides and composition comprising mixture/combination of picolinamides and other pesticides, for control or prevention of fungal attack on a plant (See abstract, [0004]-[0006],[0038]; claims 1, 10-24).
, wherein
Loy discloses a preparation of compound of Formula I, (compound species that are encompassed by or very similar to instant claimed compound of Formula I) (e.g. compound 266, 278, etc., See Table 1) and fungicidal activity thereof (See Example A-K, [0091]-[00114]). Compound 278 of Loy is enantiomer of instant elected component (A) (i.e. metarylpicoxamid) which reads on instant claims 1, 17-21 wherein R1 is propanoyloxy, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl, R4 is hydrogen, R5 is methyl substituted phenyl. Please refer to Loy Table 1 for complete compound species that read on instantly claimed component (A), compound of Formula I.
Regarding instantly claimed component (B) recited in claims 1, 5-6, 22, 28, Loy discloses picolinamide may be combined with other fungicides to form fungicidal mixtures and synergistic mixtures thereof, wherein other fungicides may include inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.(See 0039]). Please refer to Loy for complete compound species that read on instantly claimed component (B).
Regarding the ratio of component (A) to component (B) recited in instant claim 7, Loy discloses picolinamide compounds of Formula I and fungicides/pesticidal compound in the combination be present in a weight ratio of from 1:100 to 100:1 (SEE [0038]).
Regarding other pesticide recited in claim 13, Loy discloses picolinamide may be combined with other pesticides, including insecticides (e.g. abamectin, acephate, amitraz,etc.), nematocides, miticides, , bactericides, and herbicide or combinations thereof(See [0038], [0040]-[0041). Please refer to Loy for complete compound species that read on instantly claimed other pesticide.
Regarding inactive ingredients of fungicidal composition recited in instant claims 14 and 26, Loy teaches formulation comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I with phytologically acceptable carrier, adjuvant surfactants ( See [0028], [0036]- [0037]).
As elaborated, Loy discloses fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 278), in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). Thus, Loy anticipate instant claimed fungicidal composition.
Applicant argues Loy does not disclose the identical invention in as complete detail as is claimed. “component A in claim 1 is more tailored than formula I of Loy …Formula (I) of Loy includes more variables with more diversity and more generality… The picolinamide compound of Formula I of Loy, as relied upon by the Examiner, are innumerable(Remarks, page 21-23/30).
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is NOT persuasive. Instant specification does NOT even explicitly disclose the elected species.
Loy explicitly disclosed compound species with defined substituents, e.g. compound 266 and 278 (See Table 1) that fall within instant claimed genus. Loy explicitly disclosed preparation/ characterization and biological activity of compound 278 which is instantly elected species. As MPEP 2131.02 states: "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989). A REFERENCE THAT CLEARLY NAMES THE CLAIMED SPECIES ANTICIPATES THE CLAIM NO MATTER HOW MANY OTHER SPECIES ARE NAMED. “A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught. The Board compared the facts to the situation in which the compound was found in the Merck Index, saying that "the tenth edition of the Merck Index lists ten thousand compounds. In our view, each and every one of those compounds is ‘described’ as that term is used in [pre-AIA ] 35 U.S.C. 102(a), in that publication."). Id. at 1718. See also In re Sivaramakrishnan, 673 F.2d 1383, 213 USPQ 441 (CCPA 1982)”.
Applicant’s argument about combination with component B is NOT persuasive. Instant claims are directed to combination genus, NOT specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). Loy explicitly disclosed compound 278 (i.e. metarylpicoxamid), combination of Loy’s compound 278 in combination with component B (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.) disclosed by Loy would fall within instant claimed combination genus. Thus, Loy anticipates instant claimed fungicidal composition mixture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over YAO et al. (WO 2016/109301 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/08/2021)(necessitated by amendment) .
Regarding instantly claimed component (A), YAO teaches fungicidal compound of Formula I, having following structure wherein X is hydrogen Y is Q (See [0004], claims 1-8) that read on instant claimed core structure of Formula I:
Yao teaches preparation of compound of Formula I, compounds species (See Table 1) that are very similar to instant claimed compound of Formula I ( e.g. 120, 123, 161, 183, 197-200, 210-212 etc.), and fungicidal activity thereof(See Table 4-6).
Regarding instantly claimed component (B) recited in claims 1 and 5-6, Yao discloses formulation comprising combinations of compound of Formula I and other pesticidal compound (e.g. fungicides, insecticide, herbicide, etc.) to form fungicidal mixtures and synergistic mixtures thereof, in a weight ratio of from 1:100 to 100: 1, wherein the other fungicide may include difenoconazole, azoxystrobin, copper oxide, etc. (See [0031]-[0034], claim 11). Please refer to Yao for complete compound species that read on instantly claimed component (B).
Regarding the ratio of component (A) to component (B) recited in instant claim 7, Yao discloses picolinamide compounds of Formula I and fungicides/pesticidal compound in the combination be present in a weight ratio of from 1:100 to 100:1 (SEE [0031]). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to explore the weight ratio of component (A) to component (B) , based on Yao’s teaching, together with experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of fungicide/pesticide and arrive at the instantly claimed range with reasonable expectation of success..
Regarding other pesticide recited in claim 13, Yao discloses picolinamide may be combined with other pesticides, including insecticides (e.g. abamectin, acephate, amitraz, etc.), nematocides, miticides, , bactericides, and herbicide or combinations thereof(See [0033]). Please refer to Yao for complete compound species that read on instantly claimed other pesticide.
Regarding inactive ingredients of fungicidal composition recited in instant claim 14, Yao teaches formulation comprising compound of Formula I with phytologically acceptable carrier, adjuvant surfactants ( See [0029], [0030]).
Yao also teaches method of control of a fungi pathogen applying composition comprising compound of Formula I and another pesticide ( See [0035], claim 12).
As elaborated, Yao discloses fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 198) that’s very similar to instantly claimed component A , in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. difenoconazole, azoxystrobin, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide.
It’s noted claim 1 is amended reciting R3 is methyl, R4 is hydrogen or methyl to overcome rejection anticipated by Yao under 35 USC§ 102. According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
In instant case, the difference between the disclosed species by Yao and instantly claimed compounds are hydrogen vs methyl and methyl vs alkyl group.
Generally, methyl in replacement of hydrogen is not deemed a patentable distinction absent evidence of superior, unexpected results, since one of ordinary skilled in the art would at once envisage the subject matter of methyl in replacement of hydrogen based on Grimm’s Hydride
Displacement Law: “Atoms anywhere up to four places in the periodic system before an inert
gas change their properties by uniting with one to four hydrogen atoms, in such a manner that the
resulting combinations behave like pseudoatoms, which are similar to elements in the groups one to
four places respectively, to their right”. For example, Yao teaches R11 is H or methyl, R1 is hydrogen or alkyl. The difference between methyl (C1 alkyl) and C2-C4 alkyl groups are considered as homologs. As stated in MPEP § 2144.08 II subsection II. A. 4.(c), "Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved properties." As stated in MPEP 2144 .09 II : “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.)”. MPEP 2144 .09 III “Prior art structures do not have to be true homologs or isomers to render structurally similar compounds prima facie obvious. In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979) (Claimed and prior art compounds were both directed to heterocyclic carbamoyloximino compounds having pesticidal activity. The only structural difference between the claimed and prior art compounds was that the ring structures of the claimed compounds had two carbon atoms between two sulfur atoms whereas the prior art ring structures had either one or three carbon atoms between two sulfur atoms. The court held that although the prior art compounds were not true homologs or isomers of the claimed compounds, the similarity between the chemical structures and properties is sufficiently close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the claimed compounds in searching for new pesticides.)”.
It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the teachings of prior art and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) (maintained).
The collective teachings of Loy are elaborated in preceding 102 rejection and applied as before. Loy collectively teaches fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 278), in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide.
Regarding the ratio of component (A) to component (B) recited in instant claim 7-12, Loy discloses picolinamide compounds of Formula I and fungicide/pesticidal compound in the combination be present in a weight ratio of from 1:100 to 100:1 (SEE [0038]). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to explore the weight ratio of component (A) to component (B) , based on Loy’s teaching, together with experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of fungicide/pesticide and arrive at the instantly claimed range with reasonable expectation of success..
According to MPEP 2144.09 (I), A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the teachings of prior art and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues about the Graham factors to establish a prima facie obviousness, the size of genus, express teachings, structure similarity. etc.(Remarks, page 24-27/30).
RESPONSE: First, as discussed above, Loy anticipates instant claimed combination genus.
Applicant’s argument is based on non-obviousness analysis when prior art does not expressly disclose particular claimed species or subgenus. In instant case, Loy explicitly disclosed instant elected component A and component B, thus anticipates instantly claimed combination genus. As MPEP 2131.02 states: "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." Please note the examination is response to Applicant’s election, and other non-elected species are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
The difference of instant claimed invention and Loy under 35 USC§ 103 is the ratio of component A to compound B recited in claims 8-12. Loy disclosed picolinamide compounds of Formula I and fungicide/pesticidal compound in the combination be present in a weight ratio of from 1:100 to 100:1 (SEE [0038]). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1, 5-14, 17-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1), in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017055473 A1, family member of US 10899724 B2/ US 20180273494 A1)(maintained) .
The collective teachings of Loy is elaborated in preceding 102 and 103 rejection and applied as before. Loy collectively teaches fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 278), in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide.
Loy is silent about the elected component (B), N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5-(trifluoromethyl)-1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl]cyclopropanecarboxamide (CAS # 2093177-34-3, See STN search Note)
Stierli teaches microbiocidal 1,2,4-oxadiazole compounds of Formula I useful as a fungicides, fungicide composition comprising aforementioned oxadiazole compounds for controlling or preventing infestation of plants, or non-living materials by phytopathogenic microorganisms, preferably fungi (See abstract, Table T1, claims 1-15)
Stierli teaches 1,2,4-oxadiazole compound species that are encompassed or very similar to oxadiazole component(B) species recited in claim 1, 5-6, 22 and 28 (See Table T1, ). Stierli explicitly teaches compound 1. 2 which is the elected component (B), and other non-elected oxadiazole component(B) (See Table T1 on page 91, 105).
Stierli teaches 1,2,4-oxadiazole compound may be admixed with one or more additional active ingredients such as a pesticide, fungicide, synergist, herbicide, bactericides, biological agents: where appropriate additional active ingredient may result in synergistic activities(See page 45, lines 5-40; pages 46-50). Please refer to Stierli for complete compound species that read on instantly claimed fungicide/pesticide.
Stierli teaches composition further comprising at least an agrochemically-acceptable diluent, carrier, adjuvants, etc.(See page 5, line 14-16; page 42; claim 13).
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 {CCPA 1980) See MPEP 2144.06.
It would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Loy’s picolinamide fungicidal compound with Stierli’s oxadiazole fungicidal compound to form a fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide and oxadiazole fungicidal compound as active ingredients. The skilled artisan would be motivated to combine the elements because both Loy and Stierli teach combination with other fungicides to form potential synergistic fungicidal mixtures thereof. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to further explore combination of component (A) and component (B), and weight ratio thereof , based on Loy’s and Stierli’s teaching, together with experimentation/optimization based on general knowledge of fungicide/pesticide and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The combined teachings of prior art, together with optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal would provide alternative fungicidal mixture/ composition comprising picolinamide and oxadiazole compound as active ingredients which might have synergistic effect for fungicidal activity.
It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination/mixture of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues “ it is unclear why a person of ordinary skill in the art would specifically select
the elected component (A) from Loy, and then choose to combine it with the specifically select
the elected component (B) from Stierli. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal are
respectfully requested”.
RESPONSE: Please note instant claims are directed to fungicidal composition mixture/ combination genus, NOT specific combination of the elected component A and component B. Instant specification does NOT even disclose the specific combination of the elected component A and component B. The combination of the elected component A and B is just an illustrated example that falls within instantly claimed combination genus. Loy teaches component A as fungicidal agent, Stierli teach component B as fungicidal agent, both Loy and Stierli teach combination with other fungicides to form potential synergistic fungicidal mixtures thereof. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 {CCPA 1980), See MPEP 2144.06.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 5-11, 13-14, 17-22, 26 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. patent No. 11974572 B2 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) (maintained).
Reference claims are directed to a fungicidal composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B) as active ingredients, wherein component (A) is a compound of 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole compounds that are encompassed or very similar to instantly claimed 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole component (B). For example, N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5-(trifluoromethyl)-1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl]cyclopropanecarboxamide is the instant elected component (B).
The other active ingredient component (B) of reference claims recite a variety of compounds/fungicide species (e.g. benzovindiflupyr, fluxapyroxad, etc.) that read on instant claimed component (B),
Reference claim 5-9 recite weight ratio of component A to component B that reads on or overlaps with weight ratio recited in instant claims.
Reference claim 10 recites composition further comprises one or more additional pesticides that read on instant claim 13.
Reference claims are silent about picolinamide as active ingredient,
The collective teachings of Loy is elaborated in preceding 102 and 103 rejection and applied as before. Loy collectively teaches fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 278), in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be usefuI for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 {CCPA 1980) See MPEP 2144.06.
It would have been obvious to combine Loy’s picolinamide fungicidal compound with reference oxadiazole compounds to form a fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide and oxadiazole fungicidal compound as active ingredients. The person of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the elements because both Loy and reference claims teach combination with other fungicides to form fungicidal mixtures thereof. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing instant claims based on the combined teachings of reference claims, Loy’s , and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor /applicant with the reference patent application. Furthermore, the instant application is not divisional application from the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claim 1, 5-6, 13-14 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. patent No. 10899724 B2, in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019173665 A1) (maintained).
US 10899724 B2 is a family member of Stierli WO 2017055473 A1 in preceding 103 rejection.
Reference claims are directed to 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole compounds of Formula I that read on instantly claimed 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole component (B).
Reference claim 10 explicitly recites compounds species that read on instantly elected component (B)
.
Reference claim 12 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient and/or an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier.
Reference claims are silent about picolinamide component (A).
The collective teachings of Loy is elaborated in preceding 102 and 103 rejection and applied as before. Loy collectively teaches fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 278), in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be usefuI for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 {CCPA 1980) See MPEP 2144.06.
It would have been obvious to combine Loy’s picolinamide fungicidal compound with reference oxadiazole compounds to form a fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide and oxadiazole fungicidal compound as active ingredients. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the elements because both Loy and reference claims teach combination with other fungicides to form fungicidal mixtures thereof. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing instant claims based on the combined teachings of reference claims, Loy’s , and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor /applicant with the reference patent application. Furthermore, the instant application is not divisional application from the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claim 1, 5-6, 13-14 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 19 of U.S. patent No. 11066375 B2 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) (maintained).
Reference claims are directed to 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole compounds of Formula I that are encompassed or very similar to instantly claimed 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole component (B).
Reference claim 6 explicitly recites compounds species that read on instantly elected and non-elected component (B). Reference claim 19 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient and/or an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier.
Reference claims are silent about picolinamide component (A).
The collective teachings of Loy is elaborated in preceding 102 and 103 rejection and applied as before. Loy collectively teaches fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide compound of Formula I (e.g. compound 278), in combination with other fungicide as component (B) (e.g. inpyrfluxam, benzovindiflupyr, pydiflumetofen, etc.), and additional pesticides, including insecticides and bactericide.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be usefuI for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 {CCPA 1980) See MPEP 2144.06.
It would have been obvious to combine Loy’s picolinamide fungicidal compound with reference oxadiazole compounds to form a fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide and oxadiazole fungicidal compound as active ingredients. The person of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the elements because both Loy and reference claims teach combination with other fungicides to form fungicidal mixtures thereof. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing instant claims based on the combined teachings of reference claims, Loy’s , and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor /applicant with the reference patent application. Furthermore, the instant application is not divisional application from the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claim 1, 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. patent No. 10,501,425 B2 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) (maintained).
Reference claims are directed to 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole compounds of Formula, and N-oxide thereof, that are encompassed or very similar to instantly claimed 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole component (B). Reference claim 15 explicitly recites compounds species that read on instantly non-elected component (B).
Reference claim 13 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient and/or an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier.
The rationale of combining reference claims and Loy’s picolinamide fungicidal compound is similar as elaborated in preceding double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. patent No. 11,180,462 B2 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) (maintained).
Reference claims are directed to 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole compounds of Formula that are encompassed or very similar to instantly claimed 1, 2, 4-oxadiazole component (B). Reference claim 6 explicitly recites compounds species that are very similar to instantly non-elected component (B).
The rationale of combining reference claims and Loy’s picolinamide fungicidal compound is similar as elaborated in preceding double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 5-6, 13-14 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8--13 of U.S. patent No. 11291205 B2, in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017055473 A1, family member of US 10899724 B2/ US 20180273494 A1) (maintained).
Reference claims are directed to picolinamide compound of Formula I that read on instantly claimed component (A) wherein instant R3 and R4 together with the carbon atom to which they are attached form a cyclopropyl, cyclobutyl or cyclohexyl ring.
Reference claim 6 recite R5 are each independently hydrogen or C1-C4alkyl.
Reference claim 8 recites R6 is hydrogen, C1-C4alkyl, C1-C4haloalkyl, C2-C4alkenyl, C2-C4haloalkenyl, C3-C6cycloalkyl, etc.
Reference claim 13 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient and/or an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier.
Reference claims are silent about instantly claimed component (B).
The collective teachings of Stierli is elaborated in previous 103 rejection and applied as before. Stierli teaches 1,2,4-oxadiazole compound species that are encompassed or very similar to oxadiazole component(B) species recited in claim 1, 5-6, 22 and 28. Stierli explicitly teaches compound 1. 2 which is the elected component (B).
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be usefuI for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 {CCPA 1980) See MPEP 2144.06.
It would have been obvious to combine reference picolinamide fungicidal compound with Stierli‘s oxadiazole compounds to form a fungicidal composition comprising picolinamide and oxadiazole fungicidal compound as active ingredients. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the elements because both Stierli and reference claims teach combination with other fungicides to form fungicidal mixtures thereof. It’s noted instant claims do not recite specific combination of specific component(A) and component (B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing instant claims based on the combined teachings of reference claims, Stierli , and optimization based on general knowledge of fungicidal /pesticidal composition.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor /applicant with the reference patent application. Furthermore, the instant application is not divisional application from the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claim 1, 5-6, 13-14, 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 14 of U.S. patent No. 11395489 B2, in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017055473 A1, family member of US 10899724 B2/ US 20180273494 A1) (maintained).
Reference claims are directed to picolinamide compound of Formula I that read on instantly claimed component (A).
Reference claim 12 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient. The rationale of combining reference claims and Stierli’s 1,2,4-oxazole fungicidal compound is similar as elaborated in preceding double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 5-6, 13-14 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. patent No. 11535594 B2, in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017055473 A1, family member of US 10899724 B2/ US 20180273494 A1)(maintained).
Reference claims are directed to picolinamide compound of Formula I that read on instantly claimed component (A).
Reference claim 13 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient and/or an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier. The rationale of combining reference claims and Stierli’s 1,2,4-oxazole fungicidal compound is similar as elaborated in preceding double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 5-6, 13-14, 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. patent No. 11629138 B2, in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017055473 A1, family member of US 10899724 B2/ US 20180273494 A1).
Reference claims are directed to picolinamide compound of Formula I that read on instantly claimed component (A). Reference claim 14 explicitly recites compound species encompassed by instantly claimed component (A)
Reference claim 12 refers to composition further comprising at least one additional active ingredient and/or an agrochemically-acceptable diluent or carrier. The rationale of combining reference claims and Stierli’s 1,2,4-oxazole fungicidal compound is similar as elaborated in preceding double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIYUAN MOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/AMY L CLARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1628