DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the arguments filed on 8/15/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 6-17 and 19 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/15/2025 overcome the rejection of claims 1, 4, 6-17 and 19 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Fletcher et al. (US 2017/0339907) in view of Schmidt et al. (US 2003/0017216), Caulkins (Drug Policy Research Center, 2010) and Civantos (“Preparing for Outdoor Cannabis Cultivation Season”, 2017). This rejection has been withdrawn as the references do not teach planting of cannabis seed directly outdoors wherein the seed itself is planted at a rate greater than 14 pounds per acre.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher et al. (US 2017/0339907; of record) in view of Schmidt et al. (US 2003/0017216; of record) and Hernandez (Leafbuyer, https://www.leafbuyer.com/blog/how-to-grow-hemp-a-practical-guide-to-hemp-farming/, 14 pages, 2019).
Fletcher describes an industrial hemp cannabis cultivar having stable cannabinoid profiles. Fletcher teaches that the female plants are responsible for cannabinoid synthesis (see [0007]). Fletcher teaches that their female cultivar possesses a THC content of less than 0.2% and a CBD content greater than 1% with 2.54% and 2.83% CBD content being specifically described (see abstract and Tables 2 and 4) (see instant claims 1, 4 and 6). The cultivar of Fletcher possesses a CBD:THC ratio of up to about 56:1 (see [0010]). Fletcher’s method provides ovules and pollens of plants (see [0037]) which would naturally occur as a result of the plant growing (see instant claim 1).
It is taught that the plants are allowed to grow (from seeds) and the flowers/buds and seeds are harvested when plants produce female buds (see [0015, 0079, 0083, 0086, 0088]) (see instant claim 1). Fletcher teaches that their cultivars may be subject to extraction (see [0012]) such as steam extraction to isolated the terpenoid compounds. Although Fletcher’s cultivar contains THC, the plant is cultivated in a way that reduces the content of THC such that the plants consistently and reproducible have nearly zero THC while having elevated CBD (see [0008]) (see instant claim 7). The plant having nearly zero THC is considered sufficiently close to zero to be considered obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The reference is silent regarding the seed being feminized and so it is expected that it would not possess this property (see instant claim 1).
The cultivars described by Fletcher include NWG331 and NWG452 (see [0076] and [0080]) (see instant claims 16 and 17). NWG331 is described as having a medium height (e.g. 170-190 cm), middle third of plant characterized by medium internode length and medium branching (considered ‘reduced branching’ relative to high branching) (see [0078]) (see instant claims 10-14).
Regarding instant claim 19, the property of the plant variety having trichomes resistant to damage from physical contact, heat, light and/or oxygen, these are properties that would necessarily occur in the cultivars identified by the reference as the cultivars of the reference are the same to the cultivars being currently claimed, e.g. NG331, NWG452, and so the plants physical properties would be expected overlap, absent evidence otherwise.
Although Fletcher suggests using steam as an extraction vehicle, Fletcher fails to teach their extraction process as being capable of extracting CBD from the harvested plant material.
Schmidt is directed to the isolation of cannabinoid compounds wherein Cannabis plant matter, such as flowers, are harvested and subject to steam distillation (extraction) wherein the process enriches the cannabinoid fraction, e.g. CBD, in the extracted portion (see [0018]) (see instant claims 1 and 8). Thus, it would have been obvious to use steam distillation to enrich the cannabinoid components, e.g. CBD, of Fletchers CBD enriched cultivar with a reasonable expectation for success especially given that a) Fletcher describes using steam distillation to produce extracts of their Cannabis cultivars and b) Fletcher contemplates cannabinoid extracts of their cultivars.
Regarding the limitation that the extraction does not require THC separation, this would be expected from the cultivars taught by Fletcher as they are cultivated to contain essentially zero THC (see instant claim 9) thereby mitigating the need to perform any separation process.
Fletcher fails to teach growing the cannabis plants outdoors in a row crop production wherein the seeds are planted at a rate greater than 14 pounds per acre.
Hernandez teaches that cannabis can be planted outdoors such hat the seeds are to be planted 0.75-1.25 inches deep into the soil in 6 to 7 inch rows (i.e. row crop production). The cannabis seeds may be planted at a rate of between 20-60 pounds per acre (see page 6) (which is greater than the 14 pounds/acer claimed). Modifying Fletcher’s method such that the cannabis seeds were a) planted outdoors and b) planted at a rate greater than 14 pounds per acre would have been obvious as the location of growing the plants would be an obvious selection as would be the planting rate are known and optimizable parameter based on the needs/desires of the grower.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611