DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s Remarks, filed January 21, 2026. The remarks, filed January 21, 2026, is entered, wherein no claim is amended, claims 5 – 8, 26 – 27, and 30 are withdrawn, and claims 12 – 20 and 28 are canceled.
Claims 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 21 – 25, and 29 are currently examined.
Priority
3. This application is a national stage application of PCT/IB2020/055235, filed June 3, 2020, which claims benefit of domestic application 62/860,543, filed June 12, 2019.
The following are maintained grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s Remarks, filed January 21, 2026, wherein no claim is amended, claims 5 – 8, 26 – 27, and 30 are withdrawn, and claims 12 – 20 and 28 are canceled. Previously cited references have been used to establish the maintained grounds of rejection.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
ii. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
iii. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
iv. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 21 – 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerster et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2005, Vol. 48, Issue 10, page 3481 – 3491, cited in the previous Office Action mailed October 22, 2025).
a. Regarding claims 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 21 – 23, and 25, Gerster et al. teach 1H-Imidazo-[4,5-c]quinolines compounds are able to inhibit virus lesion development in an intravaginal guinea pig herpes simplex virus-2 assay. This antiviral activity can be attributed to the ability of these molecules to induce the production of cytokines, especially interferon (IFN) (Abstract). Gerster et al. further disclose that IFN is a potential treatment for viral infection (page 3481, Left Col., para. 1). Compound 38 has the chemical structure:
,
wherein R1 is CH2CH2Ph. Compound 24 teaches R1 to be CH(CH3)2 (page 3482, Figure 2). A single branching substituent at the α position of the carbon backbone, like compound 24, will also induce cytokines (page 3484, Right Col., para. 3). Gerster et al. disclose that the introduction of a phenyl group at the terminus of an alkyl chain shown in compound 38 gives active IFN inducer (page 3484, Right Col., para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 24 based on compound 38 as taught by Gerster et al. to arrive at the claim compound with the R1 that is an alkyl, such as C1-6alkyl because Gerster et al. suggest and demonstrate the addition of phenyl group to the terminus of an alkyl group will yield IFN induction effect. One would have been motivated to modify compound 24 based on compound 38 as taught by Gerster et al. for the same purpose because Gerster et al. teach that the introduction of a phenyl group at the terminus of an alkyl chain gives active IFN inducer, which is an advantage. Although Gerster et al. do not teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the claimed compound and a pharmaceutical acceptable carrier, it is known in the art that pharmaceutical acceptable carrier is used in formulating a drug. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify compound 24 based on compound 38 as taught by Gerster et al. to arrive at the claim compound with the R1 that is an alkyl, such as -C1-6alkyl because Gerster et al. teach the compound 24 and provide the beneficial effect of introducing a phenyl group to the terminus of an alkyl chain.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed January 21, 2026, have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive.
Regarding Gerster et al., Applicant argues that the added “bulk” near the imidazole nitrogen can cause a reduction in activity because compound 27 having R1 = -C(CH3)3 and compound 31 having R1 = -Ph show no activity. Therefore, in no way could a skilled artisan expect, with any reasonable amount of certainty, whether or not R1 = -CH(CH3)CH2Ph would be too bulky and shut down activity. However, the argument is not persuasive. Gerster et al. do not teach that increased substitution or “bulk” at R1 reduces activity. To the contrary, Gerster et al. explicitly evaluate the effect of R1 substitution on IFN induction and disclose numerous active compounds being different alkyl substituents at R1, including methyl, ethyl, propyl, isopropyl, butyl, and related alkyl groups, which retain IFN-inducing activity. Thus, Gerster et al. teach that R1 is a variable and provide specific guidance that a range of alkyl substituents is biologically active. The inactivity of some substituents does not negate the reasonable expectation of success for selecting from the working examples. Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but only a reasonable expectation of success. As Gerster et al. provide a list of active R1 examples, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select and modify the R1 substituents with a reasonable expectation of retaining activity.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 21 – 25, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 6 – 8, 12 – 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11370788B2 in view of Gerster et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2005, Vol. 48, Issue 10, page 3481 – 3491, cited in the previous Office Action mailed October 22, 2025).
a. Regarding claims 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 21 – 25, and 29, ‘788B2 teaches a compound of Formula (I):
,
wherein n is 0; R1 is -CH2OCH2CH3; and R2 is hydrogen (claims 1 and 6 – 8). ‘788B2 also teaches the enantiomers of Formula (I):
and
(claims 2 – 3).
The compound of Formula (I) is used as a vaccine adjuvant (claim 12). ‘788B2 further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I) in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the compound of Formula (I) will induce biosynthesis of IFN in a human or animal (claims 13 – 15).
However, ‘788B2 teaches
instead of CH2Ph.
Gerster et al. teach 1H-Imidazo-[4,5-c]quinolines compounds are able to inhibit virus lesion development in an intravaginal guinea pig herpes simplex virus-2 assay. This antiviral activity can be attributed to the ability of these molecules to induce the production of cytokines, especially interferon (IFN) (Abstract). Gerster et al. further disclose that IFN is a potential treatment for viral infection (page 3481, Left Col., para. 1). Compound 38 has the chemical structure:
,
wherein R1 is CH2CH2Ph (page 3482, Figure 2). Gerster et al. disclose that the introduction of a phenyl group at the terminus of an alkyl chain shown in compound 38 gives active IFN inducer (page 3484, Right Col., para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the
moiety of Formula (I) as taught by ‘788B2 with the CH2Ph in compound 38 in view of Gerster et al. because both reference teach imidazo[4,5-c]quinoline compounds that are used for inducing IFN cytokines. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to substitute
moiety with CH2Ph because Gerster et al. teach that compound 38 with the phenyl terminal will induce cytokines and ‘788B2 teaches the same core compound with the R1 substituent that also induce cytokines. It would have been obvious to combine because these substituents or moieties in the same core structure are known separately in the prior art for the purpose of inducing cytokine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to substitute the
moiety of Formula (I) as taught by ‘788B2 with the CH2Ph in compound 38 in view of Gerster et al. because these substituents or moieties in the same core structure when substitute or combined will yield predictable results.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed January 21, 2026, have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive.
Regarding Gerster et al., the arguments are addressed above.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's Remarks necessitated the maintained ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693