DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed July 13, 2026 are acknowledged.
Any rejections not explicitly maintained herein are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
3. In accordance with the MPEP 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended (see MPEP 803.02). If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1 and 3-15 are pending in the instant application. Claims 3-9 and 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species. Therefore, claims 1, 10, and 14-15 read on an elected invention and species and are therefore under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number: RN 2181966-84-5. [Database Registry Chemical Abstracts Service, Columbus, Ohio, Accession No. RN 2181966-84-5, Entered STN: 01 Mar 2018].
Registry number 2181966-84-5 is available as prior art as of 01 Mar 2018, the date it was indexed into the CAS database. Registry number 2181966-84-5 anticipates compounds of formula 1 wherein X is CH, R1 is H, R2 is aryl/phenyl, and R3 is piperidine.
Regarding the compositions of claims 14-15, comprising the anticipatory compounds and an excipient, the Registry entry for Registry no. 2181966-84-5 discloses a mass solubility of 0 g/L, in unbuffered water at pH 7.008. This teaching of water anticipates the claimed composition, wherein the compounds are present with an excipient (i.e., water).
Regarding the limitations “for preventing or treating a Sirt6-related disease” “wherein the sirt6-related disease is selected from the grop consisting of a cancer, fatty liver…”– it is noted that these claims merely recite properties of the anticipated compositions. “Products of an identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties, these limitations are also anticipated. Since the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties and no additional components are claimed (such as an excipient, adjuvant, carrier, etc.), these limitations are also anticipated. The claimed compositions are anticipated by the prior art with no additional components. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the aforementioned compositions, capable of being used with the claimed intended uses of as described herein.
MPEP 2111.02(II) provides the following instruction for interpreting the preamble of a claim: “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim.” If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Since the compositions taught by the prior art do not have any structural difference from the claimed compositions and the prior art compositions are capable of the intended uses, those limitations are also anticipated, as discussed herein.
See MPEP 2128: ELECTRONIC PUBLICATIONS AS PRIOR ART Status as a "Printed Publication" An electronic publication, including an on-line database or Internet publication, is considered to be a “printed publication” within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and (b) provided the publication was accessible to persons concerned with the art to which the document relates. See In re Wyer, 655 F.2d 221, 227, 210 USPQ 790, 795 (CCPA 1981) Since this date represents the date that each compound entered the CAPlus database on STN, this represents the date that each compound was made accessible to the public.
The aforementioned compounds anticipate the instantly claimed compounds: It is further noted that for the purposes of determining if a reference is a “printed publication” for the purposes of 102(b), MPEP 2128 states the following:
where “prior art disclosures…on an on-line database are considered to be publicly available as of the date the item was publicly posted.” Since each of the database entries above lists the date that each compound was entered into the on-line database, the compounds were made publicly available as of that date in each citation, and the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
8. No claims allowed.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623