This is action is in response to the amendment filed 4/7/2026. Claims 1, 10, 16, 22 have been amended. Claim 4-5, 20 has been canceled. Claims 1-3, 6-19, 21-23 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-19, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramfjord et al. (US 2020/0301036 A1) in view of O’Shea et al. (US 2019/0274108 A1) and further in view of Polehn (US 2017/0155476 A1) and Howard (US 8,396,079).
Claim 1. Ramfjord discloses a telemetry system, a telemetry system (P 0084), comprising:
a subsea transmitter communicatively coupled to oil and gas equipment disposed in a subsea environment, equipment includes communication circuitry to receive and to transmit information with respect to one or more networks (P 0040) in an offshore geological environment below level (P 0071) which may be land-based, sea-based (e.g., vessel, ocean bottom, etc.) or land and sea-based (P 0110) for example, a marine survey may be an ocean bottom survey, which may employ ocean bottom streamers or nodes using one or more types of receivers (P 0159) in a tomographic process a source transmits a signal for oil and gas explorations (P 0164), …
… representative of oil and gas operations performed by the oil and gas equipment, providing petroleum systems modeling via input of various data (P 0048) formation evaluation is performed for interpreting data acquired from a drilled borehole to provide information about the geological formations and/or in-situ fluid(s) (P 0120) a model provides more accurate guidance as to one or more field operations in the region, including a drilling operation to drill to a layer of a reservoir construct a well to produce fluid from the reservoir (P 0230),
a surface receiver disposed in a region above the subsea environment, wherein the surface receiver is configured to receive the analog signal and to convert the analog signal into output digital bits, energy received may be discretized by an analog-to-digital converter that operates at a sampling rate (P 0069) in an offshore geological environment below level (P 0071) which may be land-based, sea-based (e.g., vessel, ocean bottom, etc.) or land and sea-based (P 0110) for example, a marine survey may be an ocean bottom survey, which may employ ocean bottom streamers or nodes using one or more types of receivers (P 0159), wherein the surface receiver comprises one or more receiver components, a transmitter emits a signal and the signal is received by a receiver (P 0069) samples of seismic energy as acquired by one or more seismic energy receivers (P 0143),
comprising a neural network trained via machine learning, in embodiments, a computational imaging framework uses trained deep convolutional neural networks (CNN) to detect stratigraphic units in images of seismic sections (P 0148) seismic data from an ongoing seismic survey is received and interpreted via an interpreter, a ML system is trained using the interpreted seismic data to generate a trained ML system, and the trained ML system is applied to additional seismic data acquired by the ongoing seismic survey (P 0149).
Ramfjord does not disclose the subsea transmitter is configured to convert digital bits … into an analog signal, and to transmit the analog signal via a communications channel present in the subsea environment, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, O’Shea discloses a machine-learning encoder and a machine-language decoder including a digital to analog converter and an analog to digital converter (P 0103). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord and O’Shea, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the subsea transmitter is configured to convert digital bits … into an analog signal, and to transmit the analog signal via a communications channel present in the subsea environment with the teachings of Ramfjord with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003).
Ramfjord does not disclose receive observables comprising intermediately processed data by at least one receiver component of the one or more receiver components based upon the digital bits, as disclosed in the claims. New Claim 23 defines “observables” as “time traces of a constellation phase shift and/or soft symbols before and after error correcting codes. In the same field of invention, Polehn discloses binary data is determined based on signal constellation data corresponding to a modulation scheme, and symbols of a signal constellation are decoded (P 0016) where constellations pertaining to various modulation schemes, e.g. quadrature phase shift keying or binary phase shift key are used (P 0048) for the claimed observables. Polehn further discloses In Figure 5A discloses channel information is received and demodulated (P 0072) if the data is not error free, corrective service data that includes error is stored that includes bits with error (P 0074) and then retransmission of the segment of the data is requested and received (P 0075) and then a corrective signal constellation matrix is generated based on channel information and error vector magnitude data (P 0080). The initially received is analogous to the claimed intermediately processed data. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea and Polehn, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receive observables comprising intermediately processed data by at least one receiver component of the one or more receiver components based upon the digital bits with the teachings of Ramfjord and O’Shea with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide better error correction techniques (Polehn: P 0001).
Ramfjord does not disclose wherein the neural network comprises a machine learning agent configured to analyze the observables … and to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ramfjord discloses a workflow outputs rock properties based at least in part on processing of seismic data (P 0035) where a method executes during drilling, LWD measurements may be utilized to output formation parameters (e.g., formation parameter values) that may be utilized to guide the drilling (P 0119) the trained CNNS outputs output (stratigraphic) data (P 0193) once the neural network has been trained, it can be utilized for prediction on a desired seismic section and output segmented stratigraphic units from the input seismic section (P 0208) labeled stratigraphic units can be returned as output, which enhance a seismic image, overlaid on a seismic image to allow for visualization of stratigraphic units (P 0211) output from a solver can be implicit function values (P 0220) the accuracy of the output of the trained CNN as to stratigraphy can be enhanced (P 0221). O’Shea discloses a machine-learning model’s hyperparameters may be updated (P 0152) input information is chosen from a training set limited to a particular class of information so the system can be trained to learn communication near-optimal encoding and decoding techniques that are tuned to communicate that particular class of information for a particular scenario (P 0163). Polehn discloses the correction service may “learn” the interference patterns and compensate for errors that may be caused by various conditions, such as multipath fading, Doppler effect, interference, etc. (P 0018) an instance-based learning algorithm may be implemented, including a locally weighted learning algorithm (P 0040) the communication interface may adaptively change the modulation and demodulation scheme used (P 0068). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea and Polehn, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the neural network comprises a machine learning agent configured to analyze the observables … and to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea and Polehn with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide better error correction techniques (Polehn: P 0001).
Ramfjord does not disclose determine incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components; transmit hyperparameters to adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve recovery of the digital bits when incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined, as disclosed in the claims. However, Polehn discloses an attempt is made to recover bits from the symbols based on a signal constellation matrix (P 0049) without error (P 0052) to adapt the modulation and demodulation scheme of the signal constellation matrix (P 0068) a determination is made that a segment is not error free (P 0073, 0074) a request to retransmit the segment data is made and the data is received (P 0075) a determination is made that the received retransmitted data is error free (P 0077) a corrective signal constellation matrix is generated (P 0080). The adaptation of the signal constellation matrix is analogous to the tuning of the surface receiver. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea and Polehn, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine determine incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components; transmit hyperparameters to adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve recovery of the digital bits when incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea and Polehn with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide better error correction techniques (Polehn: P 0001).
Ramfjord does not disclose adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve correct recovery by the one or more receiver components of the digital bits when incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Howard discloses receiving a signal by a device and recovering at least one chip rate for synchronization in a multi-rate communication system (C 2 L 48-30) for any multi-bandwidth system (C 5 L 7-13) for signals with varying bandwidths (C 5 L 41-46) the device storing a wide array of device specific data such as, decoding/encoding functions, timing details, neighbor and serving cell information relating to timing, channels, power control and the like, as well as link quality measurement information to enable an optimal communication link to be selected (C 5 L 53-58) filtering algorithms of a receiver of the device may be adapted by reprogramming one or more processors (C 6 L 20-32) the filtering algorithm appropriate for the recovered information representing chip rate or bandwidth (Claim 12). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve correct recovery by the one or more receiver components of the digital bits when incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea and Polehn with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide better error correction techniques (Polehn: P 0001) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim 2. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and Ramfjord discloses wherein the neural network, received seismic image data is processed to generate stratigraphic information using a trained convolution neural network (P 0003). O’Shea discloses processed information may be in any suitable form that be communicated over a channel such as packets (P 0113) a preamble is imbedded into encoded information (P 0169) and the signal is converted from a digital signal to an analog signal and from an analog signal to a digital signal (P 0170). The encoded preamble in O’Shea need not serve the same function as the transmitted signals in Ramfjord because transmitting a preamble with a signal is well known in the art. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine configured to detect a data packet preamble transmitted via the communications channel or to provide a receiver pulse shape to filter the analog signal with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Claims 4-5 canceled.
Claim 7. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, but Ramfjord does not disclose one or more transmitter components trained via machine learning to process transmitter information, wherein the one or more transmitter components, the one or more receiver components, or any combination thereof, are trained via a dataset created by a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN), as disclosed in the claims. However, O’Shea discloses the encoder and decoder implement encoding and decoding techniques that are learned from one or more machine-learning networks that have been trained to learn suitable input-output encoding and decoding mappings based on one or more objective criteria wherein the machine-learning networks may be artificial neural networks (P 0096) impairments may be in a transmitted signal (P 0116) the channel machine-learning network of the approximated channel may be trained (P 0117) the system includes a real-world channel an approximated channel, and a discriminator, the approximated channel has a machine-learning network (“channel network”) and the discriminator has a machine-learning network (“discriminator network”), the approximated channel and the discriminator may form a generative an adversarial network (GAN) (P 0207). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine one or more transmitter components trained via machine learning to process transmitter information, wherein the one or more transmitter components, the one or more receiver components, or any combination thereof, are trained via a dataset created by a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN) with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim 8. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and Ramfjord discloses a loop may be created whereby a model is iteratively revised based on output of stratigraphic units from a trained machine model and where synthetic seismic data are generated from the model and compared to actual seismic data and/or input to the trained machine model to compare stratigraphic units based on synthetic seismic data to stratigraphic units based at least in part on actual seismic data (P 0229). O’Shea discloses the channel machine-learning network training may be designed to account for communications channel impairment effects, wherein the encoder machine-learning network and/or decoder machine-learning network may be trained to encode information as a signal that is transmitted over a radio transmission channel (P 0089) the approximated channel includes effects of transmitter and receiver components, a simulated channel is used for training, an analytic channel impairment model may be utilized that fits a specific set of hardware/software and wireless deployment conditions, the encoder network and the decoder network may be trained to operate under different channel conditions, as well as for different real-world transmitter and receiver scenarios (P 0227). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine comprising one or more transmitter components trained via machine learning to process transmitter information, wherein the one or more transmitter components, the one or more receiver components, or any combination thereof, are trained via an autoencoder neural network that accounts for system-in-the- loop data transmissions with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim 9. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and O’Shea discloses the training of the encoder machine-learning network and/or decoder machine-learning network achieves particular spectral properties, to perform well in particular regimes such as at a low signal to noise (SNR) ratio (P 0089) the first operations and the second operations may include filtering, tuning, etc. in order to account for noise (P 0107) performance metrics may be incorporated into training, as part of the distance loss functions, including bit error rate (BER) as a function of the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and spectral efficiency (P 0165). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the one or more receiver components are trained to provide for spectrum sensing that classifies noise and provide indications noise-free regions in the communications channel with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim(s) 10 is/are directed to method for telemetry claim(s) similar to the telemetry system claim(s) of Claim(s) 1, and Ramfjord further discloses the medium can be water (P 0046, 0064, 0163), and Claim 10 is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Regarding the further amended limitation wherein adaptively tuning the surface receiver comprises selecting one or more communication channels on a receiver array of the surface receiver, and wherein the one or more communication channels is selected based on physical locations of the transmitter, a type of noise sources, coherence of the noise, spatial coherence of the one or more communication channels, or a combination thereof, O’Shea discloses channel machine-learning network is conditioned on one or more locations of one or more radios transceiving (P 0029 Claim 20) channel impairments may include thermal noise, such as Gaussian-like noise, impulse noise, interference, distortion (P 0095) and Howard discloses digital filtering operations may be carried out by various components distributed at different locations or entities within any suitable network or system (C 5 L 3-6). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein adaptively tuning the surface receiver comprises selecting one or more communication channels on a receiver array of the surface receiver, and wherein the one or more communication channels is selected based on physical locations of the transmitter, a type of noise sources, coherence of the noise, spatial coherence of the one or more communication channels, or a combination thereof with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim(s) 11 is/are directed to method for telemetry claim(s) similar to the telemetry system claim(s) of Claim(s) 2 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 12. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and Ramfjord discloses, a workflow outputs rock properties based at least in part on processing of seismic data (P 0035) where a method executes during drilling, LWD measurements may be utilized to output formation parameters (e.g., formation parameter values) that may be utilized to guide the drilling (P 0119) the trained CNNS outputs output (stratigraphic) data (P 0193) once the neural network has been trained, it can be utilized for prediction on a desired seismic section and output segmented stratigraphic units from the input seismic section (P 0208) labeled stratigraphic units can be returned as output, which enhance a seismic image, overlaid on a seismic image to allow for visualization of stratigraphic units (P 0211) output from a solver can be implicit function values (P 0220) the accuracy of the output of the trained CNN as to stratigraphy can be enhanced (P 0221). O’Shea discloses a machine-learning model’s hyperparameters may be updated (P 0152) input information is chosen from a training set limited to a particular class of information so the system can be trained to learn communication near-optimal encoding and decoding techniques that are tuned to communicate that particular class of information for a particular scenario (P 0163). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the machine learning agent is configured to generate the hyperparameters to adaptively tune the surface receiver with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim(s) 13 is/are directed to method for telemetry claim(s) similar to the telemetry system claim(s) of Claim(s) 7, and Ramfjord discloses , a signal may be discretized by an analog-to-digital converter (P 0069) the U-Net can be applied as part of a deep network training method where annotated (e.g., labeled) training samples are utilized to train an NNS (P 0172), that is, the neural network is trained and then discretizes an analog signal with an analog-to-digital converter, and Claim 13 is rejected with rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 14. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the method of claim 13, and Ramfjord discloses wherein the one or more transmitter components, the one or more receiver components, or a combination thereof, are trained via supervised training, via semi-supervised training, via unsupervised training, or a combination thereof, the neural network may be trained using supervised learning (P 0146, 0208).
Claim 15. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the method of claim 11, and Ramfjord discloses generating a training dataset via machine learning for training of the one or more receiver components, training a NNS or NNSs on available training data (P 0153) training data is selected (P 0161) additional training data is generated (P 0172).
Claim(s) 16 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable media claim similar to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale. Claim 16 has been further amended as follows: analyze the observables to determine incorrect receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components; and transmit hyperparameters to adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components when incorrect receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined. Howard discloses a controller is operably coupled to scanning front-end circuitry so that the receiver can calculate receive bit-error-rate (BER) or frame-error-rate (PER) or similar link-quality measurement data from recovered information via a received signal strength indication (RSSI) function (C 5 L 47-51). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine analyze the observables to determine incorrect receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components; and transmit hyperparameters to adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components when incorrect receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claims 17, 18, is/are directed to non-transitory computer readable media claim(s) similar to the method claim(s) of Claim(s) 11, 12 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 19. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, Ramfjord discloses the neural network may be trained using supervised learning (P 0146, 0208) a neural network such as a convolution neural network (CNN) may be trained by passing in seismic sections (e.g., as tiles) along with labeled stratigraphic units (e.g., training information) (P 0208). O’Shea discloses the approximated channel and the discriminator may form a generative adversarial network (GAN) (P 0207). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein one or more receiver components comprising the machine learning agent, one or more transmitter components of the subsea transmitter, or a combination thereof, are trained via supervised training, via semi-supervised training, via unsupervised training, or a combination thereof, and wherein unsupervised training comprises executing an autoencoder neural network, a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN), or a combination thereof with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim 20. canceled.
Claim 21. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and Ramfjort discloses wherein the communications channel comprises a pipe, sensors are operatively coupled to portion of a standpipe (P 0101).
Claim 23. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and Ramfjord discloses the model may optionally be updated in response to model output, changes in time (P 0045) modeling may also model geometry with respect to time (P 0047) a period of time (P 0058) time information, as associated with sensed energy, may allow for understanding spatial relations of layers, interfaces, structures, etc. in a geologic environment (P 0065). Polehn discloses binary data is determined based on signal constellation data corresponding to a modulation scheme, and symbols of a signal constellation are decoded (P 0016) where constellations pertaining to various modulation schemes, e.g. quadrature phase shift keying or binary phase shift key are used (P 0048) Figure 5A discloses channel information is received and demodulated (P 0072) if the data is not error free, corrective service data that includes error is stored that includes bits with error (P 0074) and then retransmission of the segment of the data is requested and received (P 0075) and then a corrective signal constellation matrix is generated based on channel information and error vector magnitude data (P 0080). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the observables comprise time traces of a constellation phase shift, soft symbols before and after error correcting codes, or both with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramfjord et al. (US 2020/0301036 A1) in view of O’Shea et al. (US 2019/0274108 A1) and Polehn (US 2017/0155476 A1) and Howard (US 8,396,079) and further in view of Sumi et al. (US 2019/0129026 A1).
Claim 3. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, and Ramfjord discloses, a workflow outputs rock properties based at least in part on processing of seismic data (P 0035) where a method executes during drilling, LWD measurements may be utilized to output formation parameters (e.g., formation parameter values) that may be utilized to guide the drilling (P 0119) the trained CNNS outputs output (stratigraphic) data (P 0193) once the neural network has been trained, it can be utilized for prediction on a desired seismic section and output segmented stratigraphic units from the input seismic section (P 0208) labeled stratigraphic units can be returned as output, which enhance a seismic image, overlaid on a seismic image to allow for visualization of stratigraphic units (P 0211) output from a solver can be implicit function values (P 0220) the accuracy of the output of the trained CNN as to stratigraphy can be enhanced (P 0221). O’Shea discloses a machine-learning model’s hyperparameters may be updated (P 0152) input information is chosen from a training set limited to a particular class of information so the system can be trained to learn communication near-optimal encoding and decoding techniques that are tuned to communicate that particular class of information for a particular scenario (P 0163). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the machine learning agent is configured to generate the hyperparameters to adaptively tune the surface receiver with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Ramfjord does not disclose wherein the hyperparameters comprise parameters of an allocation of feedforward and feedback filters to compensate the communications channel, parameters of tracking loops to compensate for variation in propagation speed, or a combination thereof, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ramfjord discloses as survey data becomes available, interpretation tasks may be performed for building, adjusting, etc., one or more models (P 0130) the CNNS is trained by determining values of weights using backpropagation (P 0206) a model is iteratively revised based on output of stratigraphic units from a trained machine model and where synthetic seismic data are generated from the model and compared to actual seismic data and/or input to the trained machine model to compare stratigraphic units based on synthetic seismic data to stratigraphic units based at least in part on actual seismic data (P 0229). O’Shea discloses the channel network models the impairments which occur to a radio signal sent over a channel based radio propagation effects of the channel (P 0108) the encoder and/or decoder is updated during deployment based on real-time performance results such as propagation characteristics, delay, etc (P 0111) the machine learning model includes collections of operations arranged in a feed-forward or in a manner with feedback (P 0123). Both Ramfjord and O’Shea disclose adjusting models based on at least feedback of output data and training data, and O’Shea uses both feedforward and feedback operations. Furthermore, O’Shea discloses that impairments of communications channels are modeled based on propagation characteristics, such as delay, and the encoder/decoder are updated based on the propagation characteristics of the channel. That is, the combination of Ramfjord and O’Shea disclose updating a model based on propagation characteristics of a communications channel using feedforward and feedback of data. In the same field of invention, Sumi discloses command signals from a control unit to transmitters can be expressed as the information of wave shapes of drive signals to be generated by the transmitters (P 0245) a wave shape can be optimized for driving signals that generate waves (P 0616) and the wave geometry can be used as a target for an optimization (linear or nonlinear optimizations, linear programming) (P 0617) a signal generator generates a drive signal according to a trigger signal provided by the control unit that controls the wave shape or geometry of a pulse wave (P 0927) spectra of the reception signals are obtained on the basis of the spectral analysis, the properties of filterings, or beams or waves can be controlled such as a shape, a beam geometry (P 0941). Sumi further discloses for superpostions, phase aberrations are corrected by compensating for an inhomogeneity in a speed or a wave propagation speed (P 0640, 0768). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn, Howard and Sumi, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the hyperparameters comprise parameters of an allocation of feedforward and feedback filters to compensate the communications channel, parameters of tracking loops to compensate for variation in propagation speed, or a combination thereof with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide highly accurate signal processing (Sumi: P 0012).
Claim 6. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 2, but Ramfjord does not disclose a transmitter component trained via machine learning to provide a transmitter pulse shape for transmitting the analog signal, wherein the transmitter pulse shape and the receiver pulse shape cooperate to improve receipt of the analog signal, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ramfjord discloses seismic data from an ongoing seismic survey is received and interpreted via an interpreter, a ML system is trained using the interpreted seismic data to generate a trained ML system, and the trained ML system is applied to additional seismic data acquired by the ongoing seismic survey (P 0149) and O’Shea discloses the encoder and decoder implement encoding and decoding techniques that are learned from one or more machine-learning networks that have been trained to learn suitable input-output encoding and decoding mappings based on one or more objective criteria wherein the machine-learning networks may be artificial neural networks (P 0096) impairments may be in a transmitted signal (P 0116) the channel machine-learning network of the approximated channel may be trained (P 0117). In the same field of invention, Sumi discloses command signals from a control unit to transmitters can be expressed as the information of wave shapes of drive signals to be generated by the transmitters (P 0245) a wave shape can be optimized for driving signals that generate waves (P 0616) and the wave geometry can be used as a target for an optimization (linear or nonlinear optimizations, linear programming) (P 0617) a signal generator generates a drive signal according to a trigger signal provided by the control unit that controls the wave shape or geometry of a pulse wave (P 0927) spectra of the reception signals are obtained on the basis of the spectral analysis, the properties of filterings, or beams or waves can be controlled such as a shape, a beam geometry (P 0941). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn, Howard and Sumi, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine a transmitter component trained via machine learning to provide a transmitter pulse shape for transmitting the analog signal, wherein the transmitter pulse shape and the receiver pulse shape cooperate to improve receipt of the analog signal with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide highly accurate signal processing (Sumi: P 0012).
Claim 22. Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard disclose the system of claim 1, but Ramfjord does not disclose wherein the machine learning agent is configured to generate the hyperparameters to adaptively tune the surface receiver, as disclosed in the claims. However, However, Ramfjord discloses a workflow outputs rock properties based at least in part on processing of seismic data (P 0035) where a method executes during drilling, LWD measurements may be utilized to output formation parameters (e.g., formation parameter values) that may be utilized to guide the drilling (P 0119) the trained CNNS outputs output (stratigraphic) data (P 0193) once the neural network has been trained, it can be utilized for prediction on a desired seismic section and output segmented stratigraphic units from the input seismic section (P 0208) labeled stratigraphic units can be returned as output, which enhance a seismic image, overlaid on a seismic image to allow for visualization of stratigraphic units (P 0211) output from a solver can be implicit function values (P 0220) the accuracy of the output of the trained CNN as to stratigraphy can be enhanced (P 0221). O’Shea discloses a machine-learning model’s hyperparameters may be updated (P 0152) input information is chosen from a training set limited to a particular class of information so the system can be trained to learn communication near-optimal encoding and decoding techniques that are tuned to communicate that particular class of information for a particular scenario (P 0163). Polehn discloses the correction service may “learn” the interference patterns and compensate for errors that may be caused by various conditions, such as multipath fading, Doppler effect, interference, etc. (P 0018) an instance-based learning algorithm may be implemented, including a locally weighted learning algorithm (P 0040) the communication interface may adaptively change the modulation and demodulation scheme used (P 0068). Polehn further discloses an attempt is made to recover bits from the symbols based on a signal constellation matrix (P 0049) without error (P 0052) to adapt the modulation and demodulation scheme of the signal constellation matrix (P 0068) a determination is made that a segment is not error free (P 0073, 0074) a request to retransmit the segment data is made and the data is received (P 0075) a determination is made that the received retransmitted data is error free (P 0077) a corrective signal constellation matrix is generated (P 0080). The adaptation of the signal constellation matrix is analogous to the tuning of the surface receiver. Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the machine learning agent is configured to generate the hyperparameters to adaptively tune the surface receiver with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide better error correction techniques (Polehn: P 0001) for proper correction of reception parameters of a receiver (Howard: C 1 L 50-67).
Ramfjord does not disclose wherein the hyperparameters comprise a syncword detection configured to adjust to background noise level, an allocation of feedforward filters and feedback filters, parameters of tracking loops configured to compensate for a variation in propagation speed, or a combination thereof, as disclosed in the claims. However, Ramfjord discloses as survey data becomes available, interpretation tasks may be performed for building, adjusting, etc., one or more models (P 0130) the CNNS is trained by determining values of weights using backpropagation (P 0206) a model is iteratively revised based on output of stratigraphic units from a trained machine model and where synthetic seismic data are generated from the model and compared to actual seismic data and/or input to the trained machine model to compare stratigraphic units based on synthetic seismic data to stratigraphic units based at least in part on actual seismic data (P 0229). O’Shea discloses the channel network models the impairments which occur to a radio signal sent over a channel based radio propagation effects of the channel (P 0108) the encoder and/or decoder is updated during deployment based on real-time performance results such as propagation characteristics, delay, etc (P 0111) the machine learning model includes collections of operations arranged in a feed-forward or in a manner with feedback (P 0123) a machine-learning model’s hyperparameters may be updated (P 0152) input information is chosen from a training set limited to a particular class of information so the system can be trained to learn communication near-optimal encoding and decoding techniques that are tuned to communicate that particular class of information for a particular scenario (P 0163). Both Ramfjord and O’Shea disclose adjusting models based on at least feedback of output data and training data, and O’Shea uses both feedforward and feedback operations. Furthermore, O’Shea discloses that impairments of communications channels are modeled based on propagation characteristics, such as delay, and the encoder/decoder are updated based on the propagation characteristics of the channel. That is, the combination of Ramfjord and O’Shea disclose updating a model based on propagation characteristics of a communications channel using feedforward and feedback of data. In the same field of invention, Sumi discloses command signals from a control unit to transmitters can be expressed as the information of wave shapes of drive signals to be generated by the transmitters (P 0245) a wave shape can be optimized for driving signals that generate waves (P 0616) and the wave geometry can be used as a target for an optimization (linear or nonlinear optimizations, linear programming) (P 0617) a signal generator generates a drive signal according to a trigger signal provided by the control unit that controls the wave shape or geometry of a pulse wave (P 0927) spectra of the reception signals are obtained on the basis of the spectral analysis, the properties of filterings, or beams or waves can be controlled such as a shape, a beam geometry (P 0941). Sumi further discloses for superpostions, phase aberrations are corrected by compensating for an inhomogeneity in a speed or a wave propagation speed (P 0640, 0768). Therefore, considering the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn, Howard and Sumi, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the hyperparameters comprise a syncword detection configured to adjust to the background noise level, an allocation of feedforward filters and feedback filters, parameters of tracking loops configured to compensate for a variation in propagation speed, or a combination thereof with the teachings of Ramfjord, O’Shea, Polehn and Howard with the motivation to provide an efficient system for analyzing real-world communications (O’Shea: P 0003) and provide highly accurate signal processing (Sumi: P 0012).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner rejected amendments directed to adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve correct recovery by the one or more receiver components of the digital bits when incorrect recovery of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined with new prior art reference Howard. Howard discloses receiving a signal by a device and recovering at least one chip rate for synchronization in a multi-rate communication system (C 2 L 48-30) for any multi-bandwidth system (C 5 L 7-13) for signals with varying bandwidths (C 5 L 41-46) the device storing a wide array of device specific data such as, decoding/encoding functions, timing details, neighbor and serving cell information relating to timing, channels, power control and the like, as well as link quality measurement information to enable an optimal communication link to be selected (C 5 L 53-58) filtering algorithms of a receiver of the device may be adapted by reprogramming one or more processors (C 6 L 20-32) the filtering algorithm appropriate for the recovered information representing chip rate or bandwidth (Claim 12).
The applicant argues:
Likewise, Ramfjord does not appear to teach or suggest "transmit hyperparameters to adjust operating parameters of the one or more receiver components to adaptively tune the surface receiver based on the observables to improve receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components when incorrect receipt of the digital bits by the one or more receiver components is determined," as recited in the independent claim 16.
Howard further discloses a controller is operably coupled to scanning front-end circuitry so that the receiver can calculate receive bit-error-rate (BER) or frame-error-rate (PER) or similar link-quality measurement data from recovered information via a received signal strength indication (RSSI) function (C 5 L 47-51).
Regarding amendments to Claim 10 directed to wherein adaptively tuning the surface receiver comprises selecting one or more communication channels on a receiver array of the surface receiver, and wherein the one or more communication channels is selected based on physical locations of the transmitter, a type of noise sources, coherence of the noise, spatial coherence of the one or more communication channels, or a combination thereof, O’Shea discloses channel machine-learning network is conditioned on one or more locations of one or more radios transceiving (P 0029 Claim 20) channel impairments may include thermal noise, such as Gaussian-like noise, impulse noise, interference, distortion (P 0095) and Howard discloses digital filtering operations may be carried out by various components distributed at different locations or entities within any suitable network or system (C 5 L 3-6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 6/12/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145