DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in view of the amendments filed February 12th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Barnes describes two additive manufacture processes, wherein the second process describes no fusing agent is selected applied, rather a focused energy source (laser) is used to selectively fused build material. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Barnes recites in [0034] that “According to other examples, instead of or in addition to the agent delivery device 214, the apparatus 200 may include a melting device, such as a laser beam source, a laser sintering machine, etc.” As per [0024], the agent delivery device 214 selectively expels an agent onto a layer of build material particles 206, wherein the agent absorbs fusing radiation (e.g. in the form of light and/or heat) to cause the build material particles 206 upon which the agent has been deposited to fuse together when the fusing radiation is applied. Accordingly, Barnes teaches an additive manufacturing system using a fusing agent dispenser together with a focused energy source (laser).
Applicant argues Barnes does not teach an unfocused energy source to heat the layer to cause the build material where fusing agent has been selectively dispensed to fuse together, and a focused energy source to selective directly focused energy on a targeted portion of the layer where fusing agent has been selectively dispensed to improve part quality of the object being additively manufactured and/or to impart a property to the object at the targeted portion. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that the claims are directed to an apparatus/a system and therefore are only limited by positively recited elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it is well settled that the intended uses of and the particular material used in an apparatus have no significance in determining patentability of apparatus claims. A recitation with respect to manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims. See MPEP 2114 (II) and 2115 for further details. Limitations such as “to cause the build material…to fuse together” and “to improve part quality of the object…and/or to impart a property to the object…” are an intended use of the unfocused energy source and focused energy source claimed. As such, if the prior art , in this instance Barnes and Chidambaram, discloses the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it would necessarily be capable of performing the intended use. Furthermore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145 (IV). The rejection of claim 1 is based on a combination of Barnes and Chidambaram. Barnes discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1A and 2; [0011, 0021]; apparatus 100 and 200 are 3D printers) comprising a dispenser carriage ([0024]; the agent delivery device 214 may be supported on a common carriage) to selectively dispense fusing agent ([0024]; the agent may be a liquid that is to absorb fusing radiation (e.g., in the form of light and/or heat) to cause the build material particles 206 upon which the agent has been deposited to fuse together when the fusing radiation is applied) onto a layer of build material particles ([0024]; the agent delivery device 214 may include a plurality of orifices through which an agent may selectively be expelled for delivery onto a layer of build material particles 206) and any suitable number of energy sources ([0011]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) that may be used to heat and fuse build material particles ([0011]; 104 to sufficiently heat the build material particles 110, and particularly, fused build material particles). The any suitable number of energy sources may be unfocused, such as a heating lamp, or focused, such as a laser ([0013]) and are capable of heating the build material particles to above a melting temperature of the build material particles ([0013]; the energy source 104 may output energy at a level that causes the build material particles 110 to be heated to above a certain temperature, e.g. melting temperature). Barnes discloses heating from the energy source results in enhanced material properties for the 3D part being formed ([0017]). Barnes further teaches the fusing agent may be selectively applied to the build material particles ([0048]) and the energy sources may be applied broadly or selectively onto the build material particles with the selectively applied fusing agent ([0049]). From this disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that a finite number of configurations exists for the energy sources 104. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try selecting one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as an unfocused energy source (a heating lamp) and another one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as a focused energy source (laser) because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." See MPEP 2143 (IE). In the analogous art, the secondary reference of Chidambaram teaches an example of an additive manufacturing machine wherein an unfocused energy and a focused energy source are used together. As such, there would be a reasonable expectation of success in selecting such a configuration or selecting such a combination for the energy sources 104. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." See MPEP 2141 (I). This proposed modification of Barnes in view of Chidambaram provides all the positively recited structure of the claimed invention and as such would be capable of performing the intended use recited.
Applicant argues Chidambaram does not cure the deficiencies of Barnes as it does not describe selective deposition of a fusing agent on the layer where the build material is to be fused together and instead describes a SLS/SLM machine. Examiner respectfully disagrees. in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145 (IV). The rejection of claim 1 is based on a combination of Barnes and Chidambaram. Barnes discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1A and 2; [0011, 0021]; apparatus 100 and 200 are 3D printers) comprising a dispenser carriage ([0024]; the agent delivery device 214 may be supported on a common carriage) to selectively dispense fusing agent ([0024]; the agent may be a liquid that is to absorb fusing radiation (e.g., in the form of light and/or heat) to cause the build material particles 206 upon which the agent has been deposited to fuse together when the fusing radiation is applied) onto a layer of build material particles ([0024]; the agent delivery device 214 may include a plurality of orifices through which an agent may selectively be expelled for delivery onto a layer of build material particles 206) and any suitable number of energy sources ([0011]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) that may be used to heat and fuse build material particles ([0011]; 104 to sufficiently heat the build material particles 110, and particularly, fused build material particles). The any suitable number of energy sources may be unfocused, such as a heating lamp, or focused, such as a laser ([0013]) and are capable of heating the build material particles to above a melting temperature of the build material particles ([0013]; the energy source 104 may output energy at a level that causes the build material particles 110 to be heated to above a certain temperature, e.g. melting temperature). Barnes discloses heating from the energy source results in enhanced material properties for the 3D part being formed ([0017]). Barnes further teaches the fusing agent may be selectively applied to the build material particles ([0048]) and the energy sources may be applied broadly or selectively onto the build material particles with the selectively applied fusing agent ([0049]). From this disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that a finite number of configurations exists for the energy sources 104. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try selecting one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as an unfocused energy source (a heating lamp) and another one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as a focused energy source (laser) because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." See MPEP 2143 (IE). In the analogous art, the secondary reference of Chidambaram teaches an example of an additive manufacturing machine wherein an unfocused energy and a focused energy source are used together. Chidambaram is analogous to the claimed invention as it describes additive manufacturing by fusing build material together using fusing radiation. The use of a fusing agent does not relegate the additive manufacturing into a different category of manufacture as a fusing agent can be used together with fusing radiation to fuse build material together. As such, there would be a reasonable expectation of success in selecting such a configuration or selecting such a combination for the energy sources 104. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." See MPEP 2141 (I). This proposed modification of Barnes in view of Chidambaram provides all the positively recited structure of the claimed invention and as such would be capable of performing the intended use recited.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 16-25 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claims 16-20 and the originally elected claims lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these require the technical feature of a build bed; a spreader to spread a layer of build material across the build bed; a dispenser carriage to selectively dispense fusing agent on the layer at which the build material is to fuse together to form a corresponding layer of a three-dimensional object (3D) being additively manufactured, an unfocused energy source to heat the layer of build material and a focused energy source to selectively direct focused energy on a targeted portion of the layer of build material this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Barnes (WO 2018075087 A1) and Chidambaram (WO 2019217515 A1).
Barnes discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1A, 2; [0011, 0021]; apparatus 100 and 200 are 3D printers) comprising: a build bed ([0037]; print bed 202); a spreader ([0012, 0024]; recoater 102, 208 spreads build material particles 110, 206) to spread a layer of build material ([0012, 0024]; layers of build material particles 110, 206) across the build bed; a dispenser carriage ([0024]; agent delivery device 214) to selectively dispense ([0048]) fusing agent ([0024]; the agent may be a liquid that is to absorb fusing radiation (e.g., in the form of light and/or heat) to cause the build material particles 206 upon which the agent has been deposited to fuse together when the fusing radiation is applied) on the layer at which the build material is to fuse together to form a corresponding layer of a three-dimensional (3D) being additively manufactured ([0028]); an energy source (Fig. 1A; [0011, 0013]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) to selectively direct energy and/or heat the layer of build material on which the fusing agent has been selectively dispensed ([0049]; energy source maybe selectively applied to areas wherein the fusing agent was deposited). Barnes discloses the energy source maybe any suitable number of energy sources ([0011]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) that may be used to heat and fuse build material particles ([0011]; 104 to sufficiently heat the build material particles 110, and particularly, fused build material particles). The any suitable number of energy sources may be unfocused, such as a heating lamp, or focused, such as a laser ([0013]) and are capable of heating the build material particles to above a melting temperature of the build material particles ([0013]; the energy source 104 may output energy at a level that causes the build material particles 110 to be heated to above a certain temperature, e.g. melting temperature). From this disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that a finite number of configurations exists for the energy sources 104. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try selecting one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as an unfocused energy source (a heating lamp) and another one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as a focused energy source (laser) because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." See MPEP 2143 (IE). Furthermore, in the analogous art Chidambaram discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 3, Ln. 25-26; additive manufacturing apparatus 100) comprising: an unfocused energy source (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 24-26; inductive heater 112 or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps) and a focused energy source (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 9-13; energy source 114 forms light beam 115) in the additive manufacturing machine; the unfocused energy source to heat portions of a layer of build material (Pg. 5, Ln. 24-26; 112 heats a portion of the powder layer or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps that scan across the layer of powder) as the unfocused energy source moves across (Fig. 1, 2A; 112 moves in direction A across the powder layer or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps that scan across the layer of powder) the layer of build material during a build operation of a three-dimensional (3D) object (Pg. 3, Ln. 11-12; AM apparatus can form an object); and the focused energy source controllable to selectively direct focused energy (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 14-19; 114 selectively heats regions of the powder layer such that selective activation of 115 permits selective voxels to be fused) on the layer of build material during the build operation. From these teachings of Chidambaram, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there would be a reasonable expectation of success in selecting such a configuration or selecting such a combination for the energy sources 104 of Barnes. Barnes and Chidambaram are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing apparatuses using energy sources to fuse build material particles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Barnes with the teachings of Chidambaram to provide an unfocused energy source and a focused energy source in the additive manufacturing machine. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." See MPEP 2141 (I). Doing so would allow for the selective fusing of some particles when working with two or more types of build material (Chidambaram Pg. 7, Ln. 27-31) and therefore allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of objects.
Claims 21-25 and the originally elected claims lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these require the technical feature of a build bed; a spreader to spread a layer of build material across the build bed; a dispenser carriage to selectively dispense fusing agent on the layer at which the build material is to fuse together to form a corresponding layer of a three-dimensional object (3D) being additively manufactured, an unfocused energy source to heat the layer of build material and a focused energy source to selectively direct focused energy on a targeted portion of the layer of build material this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Barnes (WO 2018075087 A1) and Chidambaram (WO 2019217515 A1).
Barnes discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1A, 2; [0011, 0021]; apparatus 100 and 200 are 3D printers) comprising: a build bed ([0037]; print bed 202); a spreader ([0012, 0024]; recoater 102, 208 spreads build material particles 110, 206) to spread a layer of build material ([0012, 0024]; layers of build material particles 110, 206) across the build bed; a dispenser carriage ([0024]; agent delivery device 214) to selectively dispense ([0048]) fusing agent ([0024]; the agent may be a liquid that is to absorb fusing radiation (e.g., in the form of light and/or heat) to cause the build material particles 206 upon which the agent has been deposited to fuse together when the fusing radiation is applied) on the layer at which the build material is to fuse together to form a corresponding layer of a three-dimensional (3D) being additively manufactured ([0028]); an energy source (Fig. 1A; [0011, 0013]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) to selectively direct energy and/or heat the layer of build material on which the fusing agent has been selectively dispensed ([0049]; energy source maybe selectively applied to areas wherein the fusing agent was deposited). Barnes discloses the energy source maybe any suitable number of energy sources ([0011]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) that may be used to heat and fuse build material particles ([0011]; 104 to sufficiently heat the build material particles 110, and particularly, fused build material particles). The any suitable number of energy sources may be unfocused, such as a heating lamp, or focused, such as a laser ([0013]) and are capable of heating the build material particles to above a melting temperature of the build material particles ([0013]; the energy source 104 may output energy at a level that causes the build material particles 110 to be heated to above a certain temperature, e.g. melting temperature). From this disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that a finite number of configurations exists for the energy sources 104. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try selecting one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as an unfocused energy source (a heating lamp) and another one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as a focused energy source (laser) because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." See MPEP 2143 (IE). Furthermore, in the analogous art Chidambaram discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 3, Ln. 25-26; additive manufacturing apparatus 100) comprising: an unfocused energy source (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 24-26; inductive heater 112 or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps) and a focused energy source (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 9-13; energy source 114 forms light beam 115) in the additive manufacturing machine; the unfocused energy source to heat portions of a layer of build material (Pg. 5, Ln. 24-26; 112 heats a portion of the powder layer or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps that scan across the layer of powder) as the unfocused energy source moves across (Fig. 1, 2A; 112 moves in direction A across the powder layer or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps that scan across the layer of powder) the layer of build material during a build operation of a three-dimensional (3D) object (Pg. 3, Ln. 11-12; AM apparatus can form an object); and the focused energy source controllable to selectively direct focused energy (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 14-19; 114 selectively heats regions of the powder layer such that selective activation of 115 permits selective voxels to be fused) on the layer of build material during the build operation. From these teachings of Chidambaram, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there would be a reasonable expectation of success in selecting such a configuration or selecting such a combination for the energy sources 104 of Barnes. Barnes and Chidambaram are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing apparatuses using energy sources to fuse build material particles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Barnes with the teachings of Chidambaram to provide an unfocused energy source and a focused energy source in the additive manufacturing machine. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." See MPEP 2141 (I). Doing so would allow for the selective fusing of some particles when working with two or more types of build material (Chidambaram Pg. 7, Ln. 27-31) and therefore allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of objects.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 16-25 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that the claims are directed to an apparatus/a system and therefore are only limited by positively recited elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it is well settled that the intended uses of and the particular material used in an apparatus have no significance in determining patentability of apparatus claims. A recitation with respect to manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims. See MPEP 2114 (II) and 2115 for further details. Limitations such as “to cause the build material…to fuse together” and “to improve part quality of the object…and/or to impart a property to the object…” are an intended use of the unfocused energy source and focused energy source claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (WO 2018075087 A1), in view of Chidambaram (WO 2019217515 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barnes discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1A, 2; [0011, 0021]; apparatus 100 and 200 are 3D printers) comprising:
a build bed ([0037]; print bed 202);
a spreader ([0012, 0024]; recoater 102, 208 spreads build material particles 110, 206) to spread a layer of build material ([0012, 0024]; layers of build material particles 110, 206) across the build bed;
a dispenser carriage ([0024]; agent delivery device 214) to selectively dispense ([0048]) fusing agent ([0024]; the agent may be a liquid that is to absorb fusing radiation (e.g., in the form of light and/or heat) to cause the build material particles 206 upon which the agent has been deposited to fuse together when the fusing radiation is applied) on the layer at which the build material is to fuse together to form a corresponding layer of a three-dimensional (3D) being additively manufactured ([0028]);
an energy source (Fig. 1A; [0011, 0013]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) to selectively direct energy and/or heat the layer of build material on which the fusing agent has been selectively dispensed ([0049]; energy source maybe selectively applied to areas wherein the fusing agent was deposited).
Barnes discloses the energy source maybe any suitable number of energy sources ([0011]; any suitable number of energy sources 104) that may be used to heat and fuse build material particles ([0011]; 104 to sufficiently heat the build material particles 110, and particularly, fused build material particles). The any suitable number of energy sources may be unfocused, such as a heating lamp, or focused, such as a laser ([0013]) and are capable of heating the build material particles to above a melting temperature of the build material particles ([0013]; the energy source 104 may output energy at a level that causes the build material particles 110 to be heated to above a certain temperature, e.g. melting temperature). Barnes also discloses heating from the energy source results in enhanced material properties for the 3D part being formed ([0017]). From this disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that a finite number of configurations exists for the energy sources 104. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try selecting one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as an unfocused energy source (a heating lamp) and another one of the any number of suitable energy sources 104 as a focused energy source (laser) because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." See MPEP 2143 (IE).
Furthermore, in the analogous art Chidambaram discloses an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 3, Ln. 25-26; additive manufacturing apparatus 100) comprising: an unfocused energy source (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 24-26; inductive heater 112 or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps) and a focused energy source (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 9-13; energy source 114 forms light beam 115) in the additive manufacturing machine; the unfocused energy source to heat portions of a layer of build material (Pg. 5, Ln. 24-26; 112 heats a portion of the powder layer or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps that scan across the layer of powder) as the unfocused energy source moves across (Fig. 1, 2A; 112 moves in direction A across the powder layer or alternatively Pg. 10, Ln. 29 to Pg. 11, Ln. 2; heat lamps that scan across the layer of powder) the layer of build material during a build operation of a three-dimensional (3D) object (Pg. 3, Ln. 11-12; AM apparatus can form an object); and the focused energy source controllable to selectively direct focused energy (Fig. 1, 2A; Pg. 5, Ln. 14-19; 114 selectively heats regions of the powder layer such that selective activation of 115 permits selective voxels to be fused) on the layer of build material during the build operation. From these teachings of Chidambaram, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there would be a reasonable expectation of success in selecting such a configuration or selecting such a combination for the energy sources 104 of Barnes.
Barnes and Chidambaram are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing apparatuses using energy sources to fuse build material particles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Barnes with the teachings of Chidambaram to provide an unfocused energy source and a focused energy source in the additive manufacturing machine. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." See MPEP 2141 (I). Doing so would allow for the selective fusing of some particles when working with two or more types of build material (Chidambaram Pg. 7, Ln. 27-31) and therefore allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of objects.
The combination of Barnes, in view of Chidambaram, provided above provides all the positively recited structures of the claimed invention and as such would be capable of performing the intended use recited.
Regarding claim 2, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein Barnes further discloses the focused energy source is to direct the focused energy on the targeted portion of the layer of build material, and is to not direct energy at a portion of the build material other than the targeted portion (Fig. 1A; [0013, 0046, 0049]; laser 104 is controlled by processor to selectively apply laser energy to portions of the layer of build material particles, wherein the laser can be applied to portions with the fusing agent dispensed).
Regarding claim 3, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein Barnes further discloses:
a translatable carriage (Fig. 1A; [0011]; carriage 106) to carry the unfocused energy source (Fig. 1A; [0011, 0013]; carriage 106 supports heating lamp 104) across the build bed as the carriage moves along a direction of travel (Fig. 1A,B; [0011]; carriage 106 can move in directions 116 and 132).
Regarding claim 4, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 3, wherein Barnes further discloses the spreader ([0024]; recoater 102, 208 spreads build material particles) is coupled to the translatable carriage ([0046]; the recoater may be supported by the carriage) to move with the translatable carriage to spread the build material onto the build bed ([0046]; the recoater may move concurrently with the carriage).
Regarding claim 5, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 3, wherein Barnes further discloses the focused energy source is part of the translatable carriage (Fig. 1A; [0011, 0013]; the carriage 106 may support laser 104).
Regarding claim 6, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein Barnes further discloses a controller ([0011, 0036]; controller 108/processor 302) to:
determine, based on data representing the 3D object ([0044]; computer aided design information indicative of the object to be formed), the property of a feature to be formed in the layer of build material, the property selected from among a size of the feature or a location of the feature ([0033, 0044]; computer aided design information may identify the physical characteristics of the parts, for instance, the shapes and dimensions of the part and the locations of build material layers),
wherein the focused energy source is to selectively direct the focused energy on the targeted portion of the layer of build material based on the determined property ([0039-0040, 0049]; processor 302 uses computer aided design information to generate and execute instructions to fuse the powder, wherein the energy source maybe applied selectively).
Regarding claim 7, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein Barnes further discloses the focused energy source selectively directs focused energy in a form of electromagnetic light ([0013, 0049]; laser 104 applies energy 120 in the form or radiation and/or light, wherein the laser energy source maybe applied selectively).
Regarding claim 11, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein Barnes further discloses the build material is non-white build material build material ([0023]; build material particles can be metal, therefore non-white).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (WO 2018075087 A1), in view of Chidambaram (WO 2019217515 A1) as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Ge et al. (WO 2017200534 A1; hereafter Ge).
Regarding claim 8, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 6.
Modified Barnes does not disclose a controller to: select a first wavelength from the different wavelengths based on a property of a first liquid agent applied to the layer of build material, and control the focused energy source to emit the focused energy at the selected first wavelength.
However, Ge teaches an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 4) wherein a focused energy source ([0066]; fusing radiation generator 134) is controlled to selectively emit focused energy at a wavelength based on a property of a first liquid agent applied to a layer of build material (Fig. 4; [0065-0066]; controller 140 may tune a wavelength of 134 based on a radiation absorbing property of a first liquid applied on build material layer 160).
Barnes and Ge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Barnes with the teachings of Ge to provide a controller to: select a first wavelength from the different wavelengths based on a property of a first liquid agent applied to the layer of build material, and control the focused energy source to emit the focused energy at the selected first wavelength. Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(D). Doing so would enable the time and amount of focused energy required to fuse the build materials together to be minimized substantially (Ge [0011]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Barnes discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 8.
Modified Barnes does not disclose a controller to: select a second wavelength from different wavelengths based on a property of a second liquid agent applied to the layer of build material, and control the focused energy source to emit the focused energy at the selected second wavelength.
However, Ge teaches an additive manufacturing machine (Fig. 4) wherein a focused energy source ([0066]; fusing radiation generator 134) is controlled to selectively emit focused energy at a wavelength based on a property of a first liquid agent applied to a layer of build material (Fig. 4; [0065-0066]; controller 140 may tune a wavelength of 134 based on a radiation absorbing property of a first liquid applied on build material layer 160) and select a second wavelength from different wavelengths based on a property of a second liquid agent applied to the layer of build material (Fig. 5; 508 determine fusing radiation absorbing property of a next fluid, then 504 choose a range of wavelengths of fusing radiation to be emitted onto a section containing the next fluid), and control the focused energy source to emit the focused energy at the selected second wavelength (Fig. 5; 514 selectively emit fusing radiation at chosen range of wavelength(s)).
Barnes and Ge are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Barnes with the teachings of Ge to provide a controller to: select a second wavelength from the different wavelengths based on a property of a second liquid agent applied to the layer of build material, and control the focused energy source to emit the focused energy at the selected second wavelength. Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(D). Doing so would enable the time and amount of focused energy required to fuse the build materials together to be minimized substantially (Ge [0011]).
Conclusion
/V.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754