The Examiner of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Examiner Andriae M. Holt.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 36-50 and 52-55 are pending in the application. Claims 51 has been canceled. Claims 36, 47, 49, and 55 have been amended. Claims 36-50 and 52-55 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-50 and 52-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "buffered aqueous solution" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites “wherein in step c) the ratio of the volume of the buffered aqueous solution to the volume of the organic solution is at least 1, or from 2 to 20 or from 3 to 10, respectively”. Step c) does not recite “buffered aqueous solution”. Step c) specifically recites mixing the organic solution with the “aqueous solution”….in the form of a first fluid stream, the “aqueous solution” is provided in the form of a second fluid stream...wherein the fluid streams are directed to impinge on one another”. The newly added “wherein clause” does recite “the aqueous solution is a buffered aqueous solution”. However, step c) as claimed does not recite “buffered aqueous solution”. Therefore, there is lack of antecedent basis.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 36, lines 14 and 15 recites the broad recitation at least 1, and the claim also recites “from 2 to 20” and “from 3 to 10” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The recitation of “at least 1” indicates an infinite number higher than 1. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 37-50 and 52-55 are dependent from claim 36 and are, therefore, also rejected.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 41 recites the broad recitation 100 to 900 nm in line 2, and the claim also recites “150 to 750 nm” and “100 to 600 nm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 41 recites the broad recitation 0.1 to 0.8 in line 4, and the claim also recites “0.1 to 0.5” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-47 and 52-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyerinck et al. (WO 2008/065506, pub. 06/05/2008) as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication (2025, Allinno.com) in view of Baumstuemmler et al. (US 2013/0012551, pub. 01/10/2013). Beyerinck et al. cited by Applicant on the IDS dated 11/16/2021.
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a method for producing nanoparticles comprising an active ingredient and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), the method comprising the steps of: a) providing an organic solution of the active ingredient and the HPMCAS in an organic solvent; b) providing an aqueous solution having a pH of 3 to 9; and c) mixing the organic solution with the aqueous solution to precipitate the nanoparticles; wherein the organic solution is provided in the form of a first fluid stream, the aqueous solution is provided in the form of a second fluid stream, wherein the mixing includes directing the first and second fluid stream to contact one another; wherein each of the first and second stream is ejected from a nozzle, and wherein the fluid streams are directed to impinge on one another; wherein the aqueous solution is a buffered aqueous solution and wherein in step c) the ratio of the volume of the buffered aqueous solution to the volume of the organic solution is at least 1, or from 2 to 20, or from 3 to 10, respectively.
Determination of the scope of the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claim 36, Beyerinck et al. teach a process for forming nanoparticles, comprising a) forming an organic solution comprising the compound (2R)-3-[[3-(4-chloro-3-ethylphenoxy)phenyl][[3-(1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethoxy)phenyl]methyl]amino]-1,1,1-trifluoro-2-propanol (Compound A) and an enteric polymer dissolved in a solvent; (b) forming an aqueous solution; (c) mixing said organic solution with said aqueous solution to form a first mixture; (d) removing said solvent from said first mixture to form a suspension comprising said nanoparticles and said aqueous solution (pg. 1, line 26; pg. 18, claim 15).
Regarding claim 36, Beyerinck et al. teach that once the organic solution is formed, it is then mixed with the aqueous solution and homogenized to form an emulsion of fine droplets of the water immiscible solvent distributed throughout the aqueous phase. The volume ratio of organic solvent to aqueous solvent used in the process will generally range from 1:100 (organic solvent:aqueous solution) to 2:3 (organic solvent: aqueous solution). Preferably, the organic solvent:aqueous solution volume ratio ranges from 1:9 to 1:2 (organic solvent:aqueous solution)(pg. 7, lines 39-41-pg. 8, lines 1-3; pg. 9, lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 42, Beyerinck et al. teach the nanoparticles are small particles of Compound A and the polymer, with each particle containing Compound A and the enteric polymer (page 2, lines 31-32).
Regarding claim 40, Beyerinck et al. teach compound A is present in the nanoparticles in non-crystalline form, wherein another term form non-crystalline form of a material is the “amorphous” form (page 4, lines 3-10).
Regarding claim 41, Beyerinck et al. teach the average size of the nanoparticles is less than 400 nm…most preferably less than 200 nm (page 2, lines 36-37).
Regarding claim 41,Beyerinck et al. teach the polydispersity of the nanoparticles is less than 0.5…more preferably less than about 0.3 (page 3, lines 1-4).
Regarding claims 36 and 43, Beyerinck et al. teach in Example 1 the nanoparticles were made containing Compound A, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate and sodium caseinate as a surface stabilizer. First, Compound A and HPMCAS was dissolved in ethyl acetate:methylene chloride to form an organic solvent. Next sodium caseinate was added to deionized water to form an aqueous solution. Sodium caseinate has a neutral pH of approximately 7.0, as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication (pg. 1, PH section). The organic solution was then poured into the aqueous solution and emulsified using a Kinematica Polytron rotor/stator.
Regarding claim 38, the solution was further emulsified using a Microfluidizer (Microfluidics) (pg. 11, lines 33-41).
Regarding claim 52, the nanoparticle suspension of Example 1 was spray-dried (pg. 12, lines 17-33).
Regarding claims 44 and 45, Beyerinck et al. teach the composition of the invention comprises nanoparticles, wherein the nanoparticles comprise at least 20 wt.% Compound A, at least 45 wt.% of the enteric polymer, and at least 20 wt.% sodium caseinate, wherein the enteric polymer is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (pg. 10, lines 21-24).
Regarding claim 46, Beyerinck et al. teach exemplary solvents include acetone, tetrahydrofuran, ethanol, and methanol (page 8, lines 27-29).
Beyerinck et al. teach the aqueous solution is preferably water (pg. 8, lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 50, Beyerinck et al. teach that non-ionic surfactants can be surface stabilizers (pg. 7, lines 1-11). Beyerinck et al. teach polyoxyethylene sorbitan fatty acid esters (polysorbates) as a surface stabilizer (pg. 7, line 19; claims 11-12).
Regarding claim 52, Beyerinck et al. teach the precipitation process result in the formation of a suspension of the nanoparticles in the aqueous solution. Exemplary processes for removing at least a portion of the liquids include spray drying (pg. 9, lines 26-29).
Beyerinck et al. teach the solvent solution and aqueous solution are combined under conditions that cause solids to precipitate as nanoparticles. The mixing can be by addition of a stream of organic solvent to a container of stirred aqueous solution. Alternatively, a stream or jet of organic solvent can be mixed with a moving stream of aqueous solution. In either case, the precipitation results in the formation of a suspension of nanoparticles in the aqueous solution (pg. 8, lines 35-39).
Beyerinck et al. teach in Example 4, nanoparticles containing Compound A were prepared using a precipitation method as follows. First , a water-miscible organic solvent was formed using Compound A, HPMCAS-L and methanol. The methanol solution was pumped through a tube. The tube was located inside another tube through which was fed purified water. This resulted in the formation of a suspension of nanoparticles in the water/methanol liquid. An aqueous solution containing sodium caseinate was added to this suspension to form a Compound A/polymer/sodium caseinate nanoparticle suspension. The pH of the suspension was adjusted to a pH of 7 with an aqueous solution containing sodium hydroxide (pg. 14, lines 28-28-pg. 15, lines 1-2)
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Beyerinck et al. do not specifically disclose the aqueous solution having a pH of 3 to 9, as claimed in claim 36 or pH of 5 to 8, as claimed in claim 47; the method steps of claim 36 c), claims 38, 39, 53, 54, and 55. It is for this reason Baumstuemmler et al. and the Sodium Caseinate Publication are added as secondary references.
Baumstuemmler et al. teach a method for producing microparticles or nanoparticles of water-soluble and water-insoluble substances by controlled precipitation, co-precipitation and self-organization processes in microjet reactors, a solvent, which contains at least one target molecule, and a nonsolvent being mixed as jets that collide with each other in a microjet reactor at defined pressures and flow rates to effect very rapid precipitation, co-precipitation or a chemical reaction, during the course of which microparticles or nanoparticles are formed (abstract, pg. 1, paragraph [0001], pg. 5, claim 1).
Regarding claim 36, element claim c) and claim 38, Baumstuemmler et al. teach a device for producing microparticles or nanoparticles of water-soluble and water-insoluble substances, said device having at least two nozzles each of which has its own pump and feed line for injecting one liquid medium in each case into a reactor chamber enclosed in a reactor housing and on to a shared collision point, the reactor housing being provided with a first opening through which a gas can be introduced so as to maintain the gaseous atmosphere within the reactor, notably at the collision point of the two impinging liquid jets, and to cool the resulting products, and a further opening for removing the resulting products and excess gas out of the reactor housing (pg. 1, paragraph [0002], pg. 2, paragraphs [0030-0032]).
Regarding claim 39, Baumstuemmler et al. teach the term “precipitation reactor” or “microjet reactor” include all of geometries of EP1165224 (pg. 3, paragraph [0039]). Baumstuemmler et al. teach a microjet reactor of this kind has at least two nozzles each of which has its own pump and feed line for injecting one liquid medium in each case into a reactor chamber enclosed in a reactor housing and on to a shared collision point, the reactor housing being provided with a first opening through which a gas, an evaporating liquid, a cooling liquid or a cooling gas can be introduced so as to maintain the gaseous atmosphere within the reactor, notably at the collision point of the two liquid jets, and to cool the resulting products, and a further opening for removing the resulting products and excess gas out of the reactor housing...with excess gas are removed from the reactor housing through an opening by positive pressure on the gas input side or negative pressure on the product and gas discharge side (pg. 1, paragraph [0018]; pg. 6, claim 6).
Regarding claim 41, Baumstuemmler et al. teach auxiliary agents or surface modifiers, the resulting particles with polydisperse indices generally below 2.0, preferably below 1.0 and most preferably below 0.4 (pg. 4, paragraph [0064]). Baumstuemmler provides examples where the PDI ranges from 0.100 to 0.182 (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 46, Baumstuemmler et al. teach suitable organic solvents include, readily water-miscible substances such as ethanol, methanol, tetrahydrofuran (pg. 4, paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 53, Baumstuemmler teaches that solvent and nonsolvent streams with flow rates exceeding 0.1 mL/min collide as impinging jets at a speed preferably greater than 1 m/s, more preferably greater than 50 m/s, and a Reynolds number of more than 100, preferably more than 500 (pg. 3, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 54, Baumstuemmler et al. teach solvent and nonsolvent are formed in nozzles to jets which are preferably smaller than 1,000 µm, more preferably smaller than 500 µm and best of all smaller than 300 µm and have pressures generally of 1 bar, preferably in excess of 10 bar and even more preferably in excess of 50 bar, the pressure being controlled in this method by a pressure regulator (pg. 3, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 55, Baumstuemmler et al. teach that in the disc-edge area, very rapid mixing occurs at mixing speeds generally below 1 millisecond, frequently below 0.5 ms and mostly below 0.1 ms ( pg. 4, paragraph [0060]).
Finding a prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Beyerinck et al., as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication, and Baumstuemmler et al. and know that the pH of the aqueous solution has a pH of 3 to 9 or 5 to 8, as claimed in claims 36 and 47, respectively. Beyerinck et al. teach in Example 1 the nanoparticles were made containing Compound A, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate and sodium caseinate as a surface stabilizer. First, Compound A and HPMCAS was dissolved in ethyl acetate:methylene chloride to form an organic solvent. Next sodium caseinate was added to deionized water to form an aqueous solution. Sodium caseinate has a neutral pH of approximately 7.0, as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art that the sodium caseinate in an aqueous solution has a pH of 7, which falls within the pH range of claims 36 and 47.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Beyerinck et al., as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication, and Baumstuemmler et al. and use the method steps of claim 36 c), claims 38, 39, 53, 54, and 55. Beyerinck et al. teach a process for forming nanoparticles, comprising a) forming an organic solution comprising the compound (2R)-3-[[3-(4-chloro-3-ethylphenoxy)phenyl][[3-(1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethoxy)phenyl]methyl]amino]-1,1,1-trifluoro-2-propanol (Compound A) and an enteric polymer dissolved in a solvent; (b) forming an aqueous solution; (c) mixing said organic solution with said aqueous solution to form a first mixture; (d) removing said solvent from said first mixture to form a suspension comprising said nanoparticles and said aqueous solution. Beyerinck et al. teach that HPMCAS is the preferred enteric polymer, as taught in the examples. Beyerinck et al. teach the precipitation process result in the formation of a suspension of the nanoparticles in the aqueous solution. Beyerinck et al. teach the solvent solution and aqueous solution are combined under conditions that cause solids to precipitate as nanoparticles. Baumstuemmler et al. teach a device for producing microparticles or nanoparticles of water-soluble and water-insoluble substances, said device having at least two nozzles each of which has its own pump and feed line for injecting one liquid medium in each case into a reactor chamber enclosed in a reactor housing and on to a shared collision point, the reactor housing being provided with a first opening through which a gas can be introduced so as to maintain the gaseous atmosphere within the reactor, notably at the collision point of the two impinging liquid jets, and to cool the resulting products, and a further opening for removing the resulting products and excess gas out of the reactor housing. Since Beyerinck et al. teach that a stream or jet of organic solvent can be mixed with a moving stream of aqueous solution and that the precipitation results in the formation of a suspension of nanoparticles in the aqueous solution, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the precipitation process taught by Baumstuemmler et al. to form the nanoparticles taught in Beyerinck et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because every element of the invention has been fairly suggested by the cited references.
Claims 43, 48, 49, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyerinck et al. (WO 2008/065506, pub. 06/05/2008) as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication (2025, Allinno.com) in view of Baumstuemmler et al. (US 2013/0012551, pub. 01/10/2013) as applied to claims 36-47 and 52-55 above, and further in view of Lorenz (US 2020/0060976, filed 04/01/2019, equivalent to WO 2014/043208, cited on IDS).
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a method for producing nanoparticles comprising an active ingredient and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), the method comprising the steps of: a) providing an organic solution of the active ingredient and the HPMCAS in an organic solvent; b) providing an aqueous solution having a pH of 3 to 9; and c) mixing the organic solution with the aqueous solution to precipitate the nanoparticles; wherein the organic solution is provided in the form of a first fluid stream, the aqueous solution is provided in the form of a second fluid stream, wherein the mixing includes directing the first and second fluid stream to contact one another; wherein each of the first and second stream is ejected from a nozzle, and wherein the fluid streams are directed to impinge on one another; wherein the aqueous solution is a buffered aqueous solution and wherein in step c) the ratio of the volume of the buffered aqueous solution to the volume of the organic solution is at least 1, or from 2 to 20, or from 3 to 10, respectively.
Determination of the scope of the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
The teachings of Beyerinck et al, the Sodium Caseinate Publication and Baumstuemmler et al. with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is hereby incorporated and are therefore applied in the instant rejection as discussed above.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Beyerinck et al, the Sodium Caseinate Publication and Baumstuemmler et al. do not specifically disclose the elected active ingredient, enzalutamide, the buffered aqueous solution comprises acetate buffer, as claimed in claim 48 and dependent claims 49 and 50. It is for this reason Lorenz is added as a secondary reference.
Lorenz et al. teach formulations of enzalutamide and their use for treating hyperproliferative disorders (abstract). Lorenz discloses a solid dispersion having the properties such as improvement solubility and absorption of enzalutamide, and a pharmaceutical composition containing the solid dispersion which has dissolution stability (pg. 2, paragraph [0016], pg. 28, claims 83 and 92). Lorenz et al. teach that the amorphous (i.e., in a non-crystalline state) enzalutamide may be prepared by any known means, including spray-drying, hot melt extrusion, and precipitation from solution on addition of a non-solvent (pg. 2, paragraphs [0020-0022], [0030], pg. 3, paragraph [0032]). Lorenz teaches enzalutamide amorphous enzalutamide particles (pg. 3, paragraph [0034]). Lorenz et al. provide examples with 2-fluid spray nozzle feeds with HPMCAS (pg. 16, [0181], Table 2.1).
Lorenz et al. teach HPMCAS as an exemplary cellulosic polymer that is at least partially ionized at physiologically relevant pH(s) (pg. 6, paragraph [0064]). Lorenz et al. focus on HPMCAS as one out of three hydrophobic polymers showing the best performance in vitro dissolution values (pg. 7, paragraphs [0067-0068], [0071-0072]). Lorenz et al. teach that dispersions comprise greater than 20wt % and less than 75wt % enzalutamide (pg. 2, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 45 (i.e., active in the organic solution does not exceed HPMCAS), Lorenz et al. teach spray solution was prepared by dissolving 1 wt.% enzalutamide and 3 wt.% HPMCAS-M in acetone (pg. 16, paragraph [0180] Example 2).
Regarding claim 46, Lorenz et al. teach acetone (page 16, paragraph [0180] Example 2).
Regarding claim 48, Lorenz et al. teach sodium acetate as an additional pH modifier to enhance the rate of dissolution (pg. 12, paragraph [0122]). Lorenz et al. teach polysorbate as a surfactant (pg. 12, paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claims 49 and 50, Lorenz et al. teach suitable surfactants include polysorbate-80 and polysorbate-20 and phospholipids (pg. 11, paragraph [0121]).
Finding a prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Beyerinck et al., as evidenced by the Sodium Caseinate Publication, Baumstuemmler et al., and Lorenz et al. and formulate a composition comprising enzalutamide as the active ingredient. Beyerinck et al. teach a process for forming nanoparticles, comprising a) forming an organic solution comprising the Compound A and an enteric polymer dissolved in a solvent; (b) forming an aqueous solution; (c) mixing said organic solution with said aqueous solution to form a first mixture; (d) removing said solvent from said first mixture to form a suspension comprising said nanoparticles and said aqueous solution. Beyerinck et al. teach that HPMCAS is the preferred enteric polymer, as taught in the examples. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try a different pharmaceutical active in the methods taught by Beyerinck et al., as modified by the Sodium Caseinate Publication and Baumstuemmler et al. Lorenz et al. teach that enzalutamide is a sparingly soluble compound. Lorenz et al. further teach preparing compositions comprising enzalutamide with the same enteric polymer used in the formulations of Beyerinck et al., HPMCAS, in an organic acid that has dissolution stability. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to use a different sparingly soluble compound in the methods taught by Beyerinck et al. and Baumstuemmler et al. to form nanoparticles of enzalutamide with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use acetate buffer as the buffered aqueous solution in the compositions taught by Beyerinck et al, as modified by the Sodium Caseinate Publication and Baumstuemmler et al. Beyerinck et al. teach a process for forming nanoparticles, comprising a) forming an organic solution comprising the Compound A and an enteric polymer dissolved in a solvent; (b) forming an aqueous solution; (c) mixing said organic solution with said aqueous solution to form a first mixture; (d) removing said solvent from said first mixture to form a suspension comprising said nanoparticles and said aqueous solution. Beyerinck et al. teach various methods of producing the nanoparticles with different aqueous solutions including an aqueous solution containing sodium caseinate which was added to this suspension to form a Compound A/polymer/sodium caseinate nanoparticle suspension. The pH of the suspension was adjusted to a pH of 7 with an aqueous solution containing sodium hydroxide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use a known pH modifier in the compositions, such as sodium acetate to enhance the dissolution of the composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a combination of an acetate buffer and the claimed surfactants in claims 49 and 50 in the nanoparticles. Beyerinck et al. teach polyoxyethylene sorbitan fatty acid esters (polysorbates) as a surface stabilizer. Lorenz et al. teach the same surfactants, polysorbates, are used in the composition. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known surfactants in the nanoparticle compositions.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because every element of the invention has been fairly suggested by the cited references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-10, filed May 12, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 36-50 and 52-55 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as indicated herein above.
The examiner will address Applicant’s argument that as discussed on pgs. 10-11 and Examples 1-8, pgs.16-18 of the application as filed, the combination of the claimed features including the ratios of the buffered aqueous solution to the volume of the organic solution and the pH range produces surprisingly good results in terms of particle formation and properties, especially given that the solubility of HPMCAS increases as pH increases. HPMCAS was dissolved in acetone in order to obtain an organic solution. The organic solution was quickly mixed under intensive stirring with water to precipitate the nanoparticles in order to obtain precipitated nanoparticles and a mixed liquid phase. The concentration of HPMCAS in the organic solution was 15 mg/mL. The ratio by volume of the organic solution to water was 1 to 5. The data in Examples 1 to 5 contain no active ingredients. Examples 6 to 8 comprise enzalutamide dissolved in acetone and HPMCAS. The data is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicant claims a method for producing nanoparticles comprising an active ingredient and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), the method comprising the steps of: a) providing an organic solution of the active ingredient and the HPMCAS in an organic solvent; b) providing an aqueous solution having a pH of 3 to 9; and c) mixing the organic solution with the aqueous solution to precipitate the nanoparticles; wherein the organic solution is provided in the form of a first fluid stream, the aqueous solution is provided in the form of a second fluid stream, wherein the mixing includes directing the first and second fluid stream to contact one another; wherein each of the first and second stream is ejected from a nozzle, and wherein the fluid streams are directed to impinge on one another; wherein the aqueous solution is a buffered aqueous solution and wherein in step c) the ratio of the volume of the buffered aqueous solution to the volume of the organic solution is at least 1, or from 2 to 20, or from 3 to 10, respectively. The process used to formulate the nanoparticles in Examples 1 to 8 is not the same as the process currently claimed. Examples 7 and 8 indicate the compositions with a pH of 6 and 7 have a particle size of 423nm and 582nm, respectively. In addition the PDI is 0.244 and 0.557, respectively. However, only one active ingredient and one organic solvent are used in the compositions. In addition, only one buffered aqueous solution was used. It cannot be determined if any active ingredient, any organic solvent, and any buffered aqueous solution used in the process will provide the same results as enzalutamide and acetone mixed with HPMCAS when mixed with acetic acid and/or acetate in water. Evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter. Applicant has not established nonobvious evidence that is commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
/ANDRIAE M HOLT/Examiner, Art Unit 1614 /ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614