Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 09/24/25.
The applicant submits that the previous rejection is improper as it does not teach the cross-linking agent in monomer form and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have made the proposed combination.
The examiner agrees that the previous rejection does not teach the cross-linking in monomer form. For this reason, the previous rejection is withdrawn. Regarding the arguments against the proposed combination, the examiner respectfully disagrees as detailed in the new basis for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 12, and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Liu, US20160149218A1, and Hendricks, US20200362181A1, and Kang, US20120189911A1.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a cathode for a lithium-sulfur cell [0001][0002],
the cathode comprising:
one or more cathode active materials, comprising sulfur and/or sulfur-based materials (sulfur based active material)[0017];
one or more conductive materials (conductive filler)[0017]; and,
at least one binder, wherein the binder comprises a polymeric material having ammonium functional groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046]
wherein the binder comprises a polymer of monomers and wherein the monomers comprise the ammonium functional groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046]
Liu does not teach a crosslinking agent, and wherein the cross-linking agent is ethylene glycol diacrylate.
Hendricks teaches a battery electrode [0003] comprising an electrode material comprising sulfur [0140] comprising a coating comprising a binder (polydiallyldimethylammonium chloride conductive polymer)[0014][0019] and a crosslinking agent (polyethylene glycol diacrylate crosslinking agent)[0071]. Further, Hendricks teaches that crosslinking the binder increases the binder’s adhesive strength [0070]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the crosslinking agent of Hendricks into the binder of Liu to improve the adhesive strength of the polymer binder.
Kang teaches a secondary battery [0003] comprising cathode material mixture comprising a binder [0037] wherein the binder is cross-linked using suitable methacrylate compounds such as polyethylene glycol diacrylate (PEGDA) or ethylene glycol diacrylate (EGDA)[0027][0072] to improve cycle characteristics and binder adhesiveness [0015] in a cathode mixture. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the teaching for suitable crosslinking agents including PEGDA and EDGA with the linked binder of Hendricks as a simple substitution of one known element for another yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the ammonium functional groups comprise ammonium chloride groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046].
Regarding claim 3, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 2.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the ammonium functional groups comprise trimethylammonium and/or dimethylammonium groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046].
Regarding claim 5, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the binder comprises: (ii) a polymer formed from diallyldimethylammonium chloride monomers (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046].
Regarding claim 6, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the binder comprises: (ii) a polymer formed from diallyldimethylammonium chloride monomers (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046]
Further, Hendricks teaches cross-linked with ethylene glycol diacrylate (polyethylene glycol diacrylate crosslinking agent)[0071].
Regarding claim 7, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 6.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more conductive materials comprise carbon and/or carbon-based materials [0047].
Regarding claim 8, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 6.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more conductive materials comprise carbon black, carbon spheres, and/or carbon nanotubes [0047].
Regarding claim 9, combined Liu teaches the lithium-sulfur battery comprising a lithium anode, an electrolyte, and a cathode according to claim 6 [0015].
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches a cathode composition for forming a cathode for a lithium-sulfur battery [0001][0002],
the cathode material comprising:
one or more cathode active materials, comprising sulfur and/or sulfur-based materials (sulfur based active material)[0017];
one or more conductive materials (conductive filler)[0017]; and,
at least one binder, wherein the binder comprises a polymeric material having ammonium functional groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046]
Liu does not teach a crosslinking agent, and wherein the cross-linking agent is ethylene glycol diacrylate.
Hendricks teaches a battery electrode [0003] comprising an electrode material comprising sulfur [0140] and conductive materials [0095] and a binder (polydiallyldimethylammonium chloride conductive polymer)[0014][0019] and a crosslinking agent (polyethylene glycol diacrylate crosslinking agent)[0071]. Further, Hendricks teaches that crosslinking the binder increases the binder’s adhesive strength. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the crosslinking agent of Hendricks into the binder of Liu to improve adhesive strength.
Regarding claim 11, combined Liu teaches the cathode composition of claim 10.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the ammonium functional groups comprise ammonium chloride groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046].
Regarding claim 12, combined Liu teaches the cathode composition of claim 11.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the ammonium functional groups comprise trimethylammonium and/or dimethylammonium groups (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046].
Regarding claim 14, combined Liu teaches the cathode composition of claim 10.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the binder comprises: (ii) a polymer formed from diallyldimethylammonium chloride monomers (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046]
Regarding claim 15, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 10.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the binder comprises: (ii) a polymer formed from diallyldimethylammonium chloride monomers (diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer binder)[0046]
Further, Hendricks teaches cross-linked with ethylene glycol diacrylate (polyethylene glycol diacrylate crosslinking agent)[0071].
Regarding claim 16, combined Liu teaches the cathode composition of claim 15.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more conductive materials comprise carbon and/or carbon-based materials [0047].
Regarding claim 17, combined Liu teaches the cathode composition of claim 15.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more conductive materials comprise carbon black, carbon spheres, and/or carbon nanotubes [0047].
Regarding claim 18, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more conductive materials comprise carbon and/or carbon-based materials [0047].
Regarding claim 19, combined Liu teaches the cathode of claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the one or more conductive materials comprise carbon black, carbon spheres, and/or carbon nanotubes [0047].
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the lithium-sulfur battery comprising a lithium anode, an electrolyte, and a cathode according to claim 1 [0015].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724