DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 06/23/2026, has been entered. Claim 1 is amended; claims 4-9 stand as originally or previously presented; and claims 2-3 are canceled. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.103 rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 03/24/2026 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly cited art and the originally cited art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US 20120009450 A1), as cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 06/11/2025, in view of Kim et al. (US 20170141363 A1, hereinafter Kim) and Fukasawa (US 20150086870 A1, hereinafter Fukasawa).
Regarding Claim 1, Chun discloses the limitations regarding a secondary battery comprising (Chun, a jelly-rolled electrode assembly structure and a rechargeable battery including the same, Title):
a rolled electrode assembly (Chun, a jelly-rolled electrode assembly structure, Title) comprising a positive electrode plate (Chun, first electrode may be a positive electrode, [0019]), a negative electrode plate (Chun, second electrode may be a negative electrode, [0040]), and a separator (Chun, separator, [0009]), wherein
the positive electrode plate has positive electrode uncoated portions provided at a rolled central portion thereof and a rolled end portion thereof (Chun, first uncoated regions separated from each other, [0009]), and
the negative electrode plate has negative electrode uncoated portions provided at a rolled central portion thereof and a rolled end portion thereof (Chun, the second electrode may include at least two second uncoated regions, [0020]);
a first positive electrode foil tab and a second positive electrode foil tab respectively coupled to the positive electrode uncoated portions on a same side of a region of the positive electrode plate to which at least a portion of a positive electrode active material is applied (Chun, a first tab coupled to one of the first uncoated regions and a second tab coupled to another of the first uncoated regions, [0009]);
a first negative electrode foil tab and a second negative electrode foil tab respectively coupled to the negative electrode uncoated portions on a same side of a region of the negative electrode plate to which at least a portion of a negative electrode active material is applied (Chun, a third tab on one of the second uncoated regions and a fourth tab on another of the second uncoated regions, [0020]);
a pouch-type case for accommodating the rolled electrode assembly (Chun, the electrode assembly of the jelly-roll structure may be accommodated in a case of pouch type, a cross-section of the electrode assembly of the jelly-roll structure may be oval, [0006]), wherein
the region of the positive electrode plate to which a positive electrode active material is applied is continuous and the positive electrode uncoated portions are only at both a left end and a right end of the positive electrode plate in a width direction (Chun, the positive electrode uncoated regions may be formed on end edges of the positive electrode, and the positive electrode is spiral wound along with the negative electrode and separator, [0052]), wherein
the region of the negative electrode plate to which a negative electrode active material is applied is continuous and the negative electrode uncoated portions are only at both a left end and a right end of the negative electrode plate in the width direction, and wherein the width direction is a width of the rolled electrode assembly (Chun, a structure of the positive electrode and the negative electrode may be similar to each other, so the negative electrode uncoated regions may be formed on end edges of the negative electrode, and the negative electrode is spiral wound along with the positive electrode and separator, [0051-0052]).
Chun is silent regarding a positive electrode current collection tab connected together to the first positive electrode foil tab and the second positive electrode foil tab; a negative electrode current collection tab connected together to the first negative electrode foil tab and the second negative electrode foil tab;
the first positive electrode foil tab and the second positive electrode foil tab have a thickness smaller than the region of the positive electrode plate to which the positive electrode active material is applied;
the first negative electrode foil tab and the second negative electrode foil tab have a thickness smaller than the region of the negative electrode plate to which the negative electrode active material is applied;
the positive electrode current collection tab has a thickness greater than the first positive electrode foil tab and the second positive electrode foil tab; and
the negative electrode current collection tab has a thickness greater than the first negative electrode foil tab and the second negative electrode foil tab.
Kim discloses a secondary battery (Kim, rechargeable battery, [0025]) wherein a positive electrode current collection tab connected together to the first positive electrode foil tab and the second positive electrode foil tab (Kim, the first external tab may include a welding part welded to the first base member tab, [0035]);
a negative electrode current collection tab connected together to the first negative electrode foil tab and the second negative electrode foil tab (Kim, the second electrode tab may be electrically connected to the second electrode plate, [0038]);
the positive electrode current collection tab has a thickness greater than the first positive electrode foil tab and the second positive electrode foil tab (Kim, a thickness of the first base member tab may be less than that of the first external tab, wherein the first base member tab has a thickness of 20 μm to 40 μm, and the first external tab has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm, or 100 μm to 200 μm, [0008]); and
the negative electrode current collection tab has a thickness greater than the first negative electrode foil tab and the second negative electrode foil tab (Kim, the second electrode tab may be substantially the same as the first electrode tab in view of configuration and shape, so the second base member tab has a thickness of 20 μm to 40 μm, and the second external tab has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm, or 100 μm to 200 μm, [0008, 0038]).
Kim teaches that the dispersion condition in which a portion welded to the first electrode plate of the electrode assembly protrudes compared to a non-welded portion may be reduced (Kim, [0036]).
Chun and Kim are analogous to the current invention as they are directed towards a secondary battery comprising tabs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs of Chun to the first and second external tabs of Kim, respectively, in order reduce the dispersion condition of the tabs.
Fukasawa discloses a secondary battery (Fukasawa, nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, Abstract), a thickness of the region of the positive electrode plate to which the positive electrode active material is applied (Fukasawa, the thickness of the positive electrode active material is from 30 to 120 µm, [0067]) and the region of the negative electrode plate to which the negative electrode active material is applied (Fukasawa, the thickness of the negative electrode active material is from 30 to 100 µm, [0078]).
Fukasawa teaches that if the thickness falls within this range, the large current discharge characteristics and the cycle life are remarkably improved. (Fukasawa, [0067, 0078]).
Fukasawa teaches the thickness in ranges which overlap and encompass the instantly claimed ranges.
Modified Chun and Fukasawa are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a secondary battery having a coated positive and negative electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the positive electrode and negative electrode coated electrode material layers of modified Chun to have a thickness of 30 to 120 µm and 30 to 100 µm, respectively, as taught by Fukasawa, in order to improve the large current discharge characteristics and the cycle life.
Further, while modified Chun does disclose a tab thickness above the claimed range, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be obvious to try to utilize a tab having a thinner thickness, of Kim, as doing so would amount of nothing more than to use a known component for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result, i.e. providing an electrical pathway (See MPEP 2143 B).
Modified Chun discloses the first positive electrode tab and the second positive electrode have a thickness smaller (Kim, the first base member tab has a thickness of 20 μm to 40 μm, [0008]) than the region of the positive electrode plate to which the positive electrode active material is applied (Fukasawa, the thickness of the positive electrode active material is from 30 to 120 µm, [0067]) and
the first negative electrode foil tab and second electrode foil tab have a thickness smaller (Kim, the second base member tab has a thickness of 20 μm to 40 μm, [0008, 0038]) than the region of the negative electrode plate to which the negative electrode active material is (Fukasawa, the thickness of the negative electrode active material is from 30 to 100 µm, [0078]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Chun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chun discloses the limitations for a secondary battery (Chun, a jelly-rolled electrode assembly structure and a rechargeable battery including the same, Title), wherein the first positive electrode foil tab and the second positive electrode foil tab have a thickness of 25 to 35 µm (Kim, the first base member tab has a thickness of 20 μm to 40 μm, [0008]; the disclosed positive electrode base member tab thickness of 20 µm to 40 µm overlaps the claimed positive electrode foil tab thickness of 25 to 35 µm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed to reduce the dispersion conditions of the tabs, and selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Chun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chun discloses the limitations for a secondary battery (Chun, a jelly-rolled electrode assembly structure and a rechargeable battery including the same, Title), wherein the region of the positive electrode plate to which the positive electrode active material is applied has a thickness of 90 to 110 µm (Fukasawa, the thickness of the positive electrode active material is from 30 to 120 µm, [0067]; the disclosed positive electrode active material thickness range of 30 to 120 µm overlaps the claimed positive electrode plate range of 90 to 110 µm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed to improve the large current discharge characteristics and the cycle life, and selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 6 and 9, Chun discloses the limitations for a secondary battery (Chun, secondary battery, Title), wherein the positive electrode (Claim 6) and negative electrode (Claim 9) current collection tab has a thickness of 80 to 100 µm (Kim, the first and second external tab has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm, or 100 μm to 200 μm, [0008, 0038], [0082]; the disclosed cathode external tab (Claim 6) and anode external tab (Claim 9) thickness range of 100 to 200 µm overlaps with the claimed positive electrode (Claim 6) and negative electrode (Claim 9) current collection tab thickness range of 80 to 100 µm).
Kim teaches that the dispersion condition in which a portion welded to the first electrode plate of the electrode assembly protrudes compared to a non-welded portion may be reduced (Kim, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed to reduce the dispersion conditions of the tabs, and selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chun discloses the limitations for a secondary battery (Chun, a jelly-rolled electrode assembly structure and a rechargeable battery including the same, Title), wherein the first negative electrode foil tab and the second negative electrode foil tab have a thickness of 25 to 35 µm (Kim, the second base member tab has a thickness of 20 μm to 40 μm, [0008, 0038]; the disclosed second base member tab thickness of 20 µm to 40 µm overlaps the claimed negative electrode foil tab thickness of 25 to 35 µm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed to reduce the dispersion conditions of the tabs, and selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Chun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Chun discloses the limitations for a secondary battery (Chun, a jelly-rolled electrode assembly structure and a rechargeable battery including the same, Title), wherein the region of the negative electrode plate to which the negative electrode active material is applied has a thickness of 100 to 130 µm (Fukasawa, the thickness of the negative electrode active material is from 30 to 100 µm, [0078]; the disclosed positive electrode active material thickness range of 30 to 100 µm overlaps the claimed positive electrode plate range of 90 to 110 µm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed to improve the large current discharge characteristics and the cycle life, and selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 06/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chun (US 20120009450 A1), as cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 06/11/2025, in view of Kim et al. (US 20170141363 A1, hereinafter Kim) and Fukasawa (US 20150086870 A1, hereinafter Fukasawa).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752