DETAILED ACTION
A second request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on March 12, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, 18, 22, 28, 29, 36 and 42 are pending.
Claims 7, 15, 17, 19-21, 23-27*, 30-35, 37 and 43-50 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 22 are currently amended.
Claims 28, 29, 36 and 42 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, 18 and 22 as filed on March 12, 2026 are under consideration.
Withdrawn Objections / Rejections
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14, 16, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2015/0366814, published December 24, 2015, of record) in view of Hassan et al. (US 2012/0301546, published November 29, 2012, IDS reference filed February 21, 2024) and Wu (CN 101461792 A, published June 24, 2009, as evidenced by the Google translation, of record).
Hu teaches enteric soft capsules comprising active ingredients (fill material) and a shell formed from a gel mass comprising (a) gelatin, (b) at least one anionic polymer inclusive of pectin (non-amidated), (c) at least one plasticizer inclusive of dextrose or/and glycerol or/and sorbitol, and (d) water (title; abstract; claims, in particular claim 1; paragraphs [0001]-[0264], in particular [0074]-[0076]; Tables 1, 9, 10, 17-19), as required by instant claims 2, 4, 11-13. Pectin is an enteric (pH dependent) polymer (paragraph [0075]). The capsules may be controlled or delayed release (paragraphs [0052]-[0053]). Enteric dosage forms do not dissolve or disintegrate in gastric acidity for a specified amount of time, usually two hours in 0.1 N hydrochloric acid (HCl), and must release their contents in the intestine in order to fulfill definition requirements for enteric preparations (paragraph [0006]). The enteric soft capsules readily dissolve in the intestinal environment (pH ca. 6.8) (paragraph [0072]) and Hu exemplifies an embodiment of 100% dissolution at 30 minutes (Figure 3), as required by instant claim 22.
The gelatin comprises type A gelatin (claim 3), as required by instant claim 9. The type A gelatin comprises bone, pig skin (hide) or fish (claim 4), as required by instant claim 10.
Hu further teaches (paragraph [0078], Table 1):
Regarding the ranges based on the dry weight recited in instant claims 5, 6, 8, 14, 16, 18, because the shell of Hu comprises 40 to 70 wt% water / solvent, Hu renders obvious aqueous compositions comprising for example 30 wt% gelatin, 5 wt% pectin and 10 wt% plasticizer or about 67 (~= 30/45) wt% gelatin, about 11 (5/45) wt% pectin and 22 (10/45) wt% plasticizer on a dry basis.
Hu does not specifically teach about 0.05 to about 0.15 wt% dextrose as required by claim 1.
This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Hassan and Wu.
Hassan teaches acid-resistant soft gel compositions comprising a) about 15 to 55 wt% water soluble film former inclusive of gelatin, b) about 0.5 to 30 wt% acid insoluble polymer inclusive of pectin, c) about 0.5 to 20 wt% reducing sugar inclusive of glucose (dextrose) and optionally d) about 5 to 30 wt% plasticizer inclusive of glycerol or/and sorbitol (title; abstract; claims, in particular 1-7, 10, 12). Hansen exemplifies the effect of the reducing sugar fructose in concentrations ranging from 0 to 15 wt% and demonstrates fructose improves elasticity in a dose-dependent manner (Example 1, paragraphs [0074]-[0075]; Example 2, paragraph [0085]; Figure 1). Efficacy of enteric soft gelatin capsules is primarily dependent upon elasticity; in general, the non-gelatin component(s) of the shell producing the acid resistance also reduce overall elasticity (paragraphs [0010], [0012]). The reducing sugars provide unexpected advantages in terms of elasticity and mechanical strength (paragraphs [0034], [0035]).
Wu teaches gelatin enteric capsule shell materials (title; abstract; claims). The shells materials may optionally further comprise 0 to 80 parts (wt%) plasticizer selected from inter alia glycerol, sorbitol or/and glucose (dextrose) (claims 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one plasticizer of the shell of the enteric soft capsules of Hu to comprise a combination of a reducing sugar inclusive of glucose (dextrose) with additional plasticizer(s) inclusive of glycerol or/and sorbitol as taught by Hassan because reducing sugars such as glucose provide unexpected advantages in terms of elasticity and mechanical strength in gelatin capsules having potentially compromised elasticity due to the presence of acid-resistant (enteric) polymers. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Hu embraces combinations of plasticizers inclusive of dextrose, glycerol and sorbitol. It would have been obvious to include the reducing sugar / glucose (dextrose) in the shell of the capsules of Hu in amounts ranging from about 0.5 to 20 wt% as taught by Hassan (where about 0.5 is broadly and reasonably construed as overlapping about 0.15 as instantly claimed because the qualifiers about permits some tolerance) or/and in amounts of 0 to 80 parts (wt%) as taught by Wu because these amounts are known in the art as suitable the inclusion of glucose (dextrose) within the shell of acid-resistant (enteric) gelatin capsules. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of the reducing sugar / glucose (dextrose) in the shell of the capsules of Hu in order to adjust elasticity as exemplified by Hassan. It is prima facie obvious to optimize such result-effective variables within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2015/0366814, published December 24, 2015, of record) in view of Hassan et al. (US 2012/0301546, published November 29, 2012, IDS reference filed February 21, 2024) and Wu (CN 101461792 A, published June 24, 2009, as evidenced by the Google translation, of record) as applied to claim 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14, 16, 18 and 22 above, and further in view of Scott et al. (US 2003/0175335, published September 18, 2003, of record).
The teachings of Hu, Hassan and Wu have been described supra.
They do not teach low methoxyl pectin as required by claim 3.
This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Scott.
Scott teaches pectin film compositions for use in predosed formulations like soft capsules (title; abstract; claims). Pectin has excellent enteric properties (paragraph [0012]). Low methoxyl pectins with a degree of esterification below 50% are especially preferred (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute pectins inclusive of low methoxyl pectins as taught by Scott for the pectin anionic polymer in the soft capsule shells of Hu or/and of Hu in view of Hassan and Wu because simple substitution of functionally equivalent elements yields predictable results, absent evidence to the contrary. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution because Scott teaches low methoxyl pectins are suitable for use in predosed formulations like soft capsules further comprising gelatin as the second film-forming polymer (e.g., claims 1-3).
Response to Arguments: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s maintained disagreement that the applied prior art renders obvious the dextrose concentrations claimed articulated at page 7 of the Remarks is unpersuasive. The argument that the range(s) of the prior art encompass a broad genus and the citation to MPEP 2144.08 misses the mark because “a prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). An overlapping range is sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing the criticality of the range. There is no evidence of record that the range of about 0.05 to about 0.15 wt% dextrose is critical, e.g., is drawn to a different invention than expected within the broader genus. See MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 716.02.
Applicant’s argument that Hassan fails to recognize that the amount of dextrose is result effective for the dissolution articulated at pages 7-8 is noted but is unpersuasive because the dissolution criteria claimed encompass the compendium definition requirements for an enteric dosage (e.g., Hu, paragraphs [0003]-[0006]). Applicant’s repeated citation to Table 2 of the specification in support of the allegation that the concentration of dextrose correlates with dissolution remains unpersuasive. At best, Table 2 shows the presence of dextrose per se has an effect on the zero day acid stability of some apparently undisclosed composition. And there is no apparent effect of dextrose on the 6 month stability. It is well known in the art that storage affects / prolongs the disintegration time of soft gelatin capsules. See Hakata et al. “Effect of storage temperature on the physicochemical properties of soft gelatin capsule shells,” Chemical and Pharmaceutical Bulletin 42(7):1496-1500, 1994, of record.
Applicant’s maintained argument that Hassan’s recognition of the effects of reducing sugars on shell elasticity articulated does not motivate optimization for dissolution at page 8 remains unpersuasive because the prior art need not motivate optimization for the same reason as alleged by Applicant. The citation to Ex parte Collison is noted but unpersuasive at least because Hassan recognizes the effect of the reducing sugar fructose in Examples 3 and 4. Hassan, as a whole, is drawn to acid resistant capsules which disintegrate at pH 6.8 within timeframes as instantly claimed (e.g., paragraph [0027]):
And Hassan also exemplifies the effect of the enteric polymer cellulose acetate phthalate (CAP), a pectin alternative (e.g., claim 10), and the effect of the reducing sugar fructose, a glucose alternative (e.g., claim 6), on dissolution in 0.1 N HCl (e.g., paragraph [0088]):
Only film 2B.1 comprising the fructose and the enteric polymer met the criteria for an enteric dosage of being acid resistant for 2 hours.
Applicant’s maintained argument that there is no reason to select gelatin, pectin and dextrose from the lists of Hu remain unpersuasive for reasons of record. Applicant is reminded that there is no need to make selections. “Disclos[ure of] a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation less obvious.” Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories, Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Stated differently, “[r]eading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put into the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle. It is not invention.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 335 (1945).
Applicant’s maintained, repeated argument that there is no motivation to select the amount of dextrose remains unpersuasive for reasons of record. Applicant is reminded there is no need to make a selection.
Therefore, the rejections over Hu are properly maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, 18 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable (1) over claims 1-9, 12-16 and 22 of copending Application No. 17/772,698; (2) over claims 1-7, 12, 22-24, 26, 27 and 48* of copending Application No. 17/928,955; (3) over claims 1-12, 15, 19, 29-31, 33, 34, 49 and 54 of copending Application No. 18/031,669; (4) over claims 1, 2, 4-9, 12-15, 30 and 37 of copending Application No. 18/036,207; (5) over claims 1, 2, 4-8, 12, 14-16, 33, 68, 70 and 75 of copending Application No. 18/036,209; (6) over claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 24, 25, 32-35 and 66 of copending Application No. 18/208,635; (7) over claims 1-11, 13-16, 19, 20 and 22 of copending Application No. 18/819,147; (8) over claims 1, 3-18, 20-22 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/819,242; (9) over claims 1-5, 8, 10-13, 15, 18, 24-26, 33-35, 44, 50, 65 and 66 of copending Application No. 18/819,296; (10) over claims 1-7, 11, 14, 17, 18, 20, 23, 29, 35 and 46 of copending Application No. 18/838,825; and (11) over claims 22-26, 30, 31, 34-38, 40-42, 44, 45 and 51 of copending Application No. 19/300,899 in view of Hu et al. (US 2015/0366814, published December 24, 2015, of record) and Scott et al. (US 2003/0175335, published September 18, 2003, of record).
* Claims were renumbered
Withdrawn composition claims of the copending Applications are included in this rejection because withdrawn claims are still pending
The instant claims are drawn to a delayed release softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient and (b) a pH dependent shell composition comprising gelatin, pectin and about 0.05 to 0.15 wt% dextrose, wherein the capsule dissolves in the intestine in less than about 45 minutes and wherein the capsule remains intact for at least 60 minutes in 0.1 N HCl. The shell may further comprise a plasticizer / glycerol from about 15 to 40 wt%. The pectin may be low methoxyl pectin or be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 40 to 80 wt% of the gelatin or about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin. The gelatin may be type A or/and type B or the gelatin may be sourced from fish, hide or/and bone. The shell may dissolve / disintegrate in less than about 30 minutes or less than about 5 minutes at pH 6.8.
The (1) copending ‘698 claims are drawn to various delayed release softgel capsules comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one active and (b) a shell composition comprising gelatin and a pH dependent polymer comprising pectin (non-amidated) and gellan gum, wherein the shell does not rupture in 0.1 N HCl acidic media. The shell may further comprise a plasticizer or/and dextrose. The shell may comprise about 40 to 80 wt% of the gelatin, about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin, about 0.01 to 2 wt% of the dextrose or about 15 to 40 wt% of the plasticizer. The copending ‘698 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the species of plasticizer, the species of pectin, the species and types of gelatin and with respect to the dissolution / disintegration properties.
The (2) copending ‘955 claims are drawn to various delayed release softgel capsules comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient and (b) a pH dependent shell composition comprising gelatin, pectin and dextrose, wherein the shell ruptures in the colon (intestine). The shell may further comprise a plasticizer / glycerol. The pectin may be low methoxyl pectin or be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 40 to 80 wt% of the gelatin, about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 4 wt% of the dextrose. The shell may dissolve / disintegrate in less than about 60 minutes or less than about 5 minutes at pH 6.8 or may dissolve / disintegrate in at least about 15 minutes or at least about five hours in 0.1 N HCl. The copending ‘955 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the amount of plasticizer and the species and types of gelatin.
The (3) copending ‘669 claims are drawn to various modified release softgel capsules comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one active and (b) a pH dependent shell composition comprising about 45 to 75 wt% gelatin, pectin (non-amidated) and about 0.005 to 4 wt% dextrose. The shell may further comprise a plasticizer. The shell may comprise about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin. The copending ‘669 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the species and amount of plasticizer, the species of pectin, the species and types of gelatin and with respect to the dissolution / disintegration properties.
The (4) copending ‘207 claims are drawn to various delayed release softgel capsules comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one active and (b) a pH dependent shell composition comprising gelatin, pectin, dextrose, glycerin and sorbitol, wherein the shell comprises about 5 to 40 wt% glycerin and the weight ratio glycerin to sorbitol is about 1:1.5 to 1:7. The pectin may be low methoxyl pectin or be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 40 to 80 wt% of the gelatin, about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 4 wt% of the dextrose. The gelatin may be type A or/and type B. The shell may dissolve / disintegrate in less than about 60 minutes or less than about 5 minutes at pH 6.8 and does not dissolve in 0.1 N HCl for at least about 15 minutes or at least about 120 minutes. The copending ‘207 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the sources of gelatin and with the respect to the intestinal dissolution property.
The (5) copending ‘209 claims are drawn to various delayed release softgel capsules comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one active and (b) a pH dependent shell composition comprising gelatin, pectin and dextrose. The shell may further comprise a plasticizer / glycerol from about 15 to 40 wt%. The pectin may be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 40 to 80 wt% of the gelatin, about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 4 wt% of the dextrose. The shell may dissolve / disintegrate in less than about 60 minutes or less than about 5 minutes at pH 6.8 and does not dissolve / disintegrate in 0.1 N HCl for at least about 15 minutes or at least about 120 minutes. The (5) copending ‘209 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the species of pectin and the species and types of gelatin and with the respect to the intestinal dissolution property.
The (6) copending ‘635 claims are drawn to a softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising bisacodyl (active) and (b) a shell composition comprising a film forming material and an enteric polymer (pH dependent, delayed release). The film forming material may comprise gelatin. The enteric polymer may comprise pectin. The shell may further comprise dextrose or a plasticizer. The plasticizer may comprise from about 2 to 40 wt% of the shell. The pectin may be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 30 to 80 wt% of the gelatin, about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 4 wt% of the dextrose. The copending ‘635 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to species of plasticizer, the species of pectin, the species and types of gelatin and with respect to the dissolution / disintegration properties.
The (7) copending ‘147 claims are drawn to a delayed release softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising at least one active and (b) a shell composition comprising about 60 to 80 wt% type A or/and type B gelatin and comprising a pH dependent polymer comprising pectin and gellan gum, wherein the shell does not rupture in 0.1 N HCl at 60 minutes or at 120 minutes. The shell may further comprise a plasticizer / glycerol from about 15 to 40 wt% or may further comprise dextrose. The pectin may be low methoxyl pectin or be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 0.1 to 10 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 2 wt% of the dextrose. The copending ‘147 claims differ from the instant claims with respect the sources of gelatin and with respect to the dissolution / disintegration properties.
The (8) copending ‘242 claims are drawn to a delayed release softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising an active, (b) a shell composition comprising about 2.5 to 20 wt% pectin (pH dependent, non-amidated), and a coating comprising an enteric polymer (pH dependent), wherein the shell does not rupture in 0.1 N HCl at 15 minutes. The shell may further comprise a plasticizer / glycerol from about 5 to 60 wt% or may further comprise gelatin or may further comprise dextrose. The pectin may be low methoxy pectin. The shell may comprise about 15 to 60 wt% of the gelatin or about 0.001 to 5 wt% of the dextrose. The gelatin may be type A or/and type B or the gelatin may be sourced from fish, hide or/and bone. The copending ‘242 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the dissolution / disintegration properties.
The (9) copending ‘296 claims are drawn to a softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising bisacodyl (active) and (b) a shell composition comprising a film former / gelatin, a plasticizer comprising sorbitol and sorbitan, and an enteric polymer comprising pectin (pH dependent, delayed release, non-amidated), wherein the capsule remains intact for at least 15 minutes in pH 1.2 media. The shell may further comprise dextrose. The shell may comprise about 30 to 80 wt% of the gelatin, about 2 to 20 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 4 wt% of the dextrose. The gelatin may be type A or/and type B. The shell may disintegrate in less than about 60 minutes at pH 6.8. The copending ‘296 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the species of pectin, the species of gelatin and the amount / type of plasticizer and with the respect to the intestinal dissolution property.
The (10) copending ‘825 claims are drawn to a softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising valproic acid (active) and (b) a shell composition comprising gelatin, a plasticizer / glycerol and an enteric polymer / pectin (pH dependent, delayed release). The shell may further comprise dextrose. The pectin may be optionally amidated. The shell may comprise about 25 to 55 wt% of the gelatin, about 3 to 22 w% of the pectin or about 0.01 to 1 wt% of the dextrose. The copending ‘825 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the plasticizer and types and amounts thereof, the species of pectin, the species and types of gelatin and with respect to the dissolution / disintegration properties.
The (11) copending ‘899 claims are drawn to a softgel capsule comprising (a) a fill material comprising an active agent and (b) a shell. The shell comprises pectin (pH dependent, delayed release, non-amidated) that is low methoxy pectin in an amount of about 1 to 25 wt%, or the shell comprises a plasticizer in an amount of about 5 to 60 wt%, or the shell comprises gelatin in an amount of about 15 to 60 wt%, or the shell comprises dextrose in an amount of about 0.001 to 5 wt%. The copending ‘899 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the species of plasticizer / glycerol, the species and types of gelatin and with respect to the dissolution properties.
However, the differences between the gelatin / pectin / dextrose shells of the capsules of the conflicting, copending claims and the instant claims are obvious in view of the teachings of Hu and of Scott as elaborated supra. In view of Hu it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute plasticizers inclusive of glycerol or/and sorbitol for the generic plasticizer of the copending claims because it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06 II) or/and it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the capsule shell composition of the copending claims to comprise such plasticizers inclusive of glycerol in amounts from 8 to 30 wt% and to optimize the amounts in order to plasticize the capsule shell composition. In view of Hu it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute gelatins inclusive of type A gelatin sourced from bone, pig or fish for the gelatin of the copending claims because it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06 II). In view of Scott it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute low methoxyl pectins with a degree of esterification below 50% for the pectin of the copending claims because it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06 II). Regarding the dissolution / disintegration properties and dissolution in the intestine, such is considered to be latent to the compositions of the copending claims in view of Hu and Scott. In further support of this presumption, Hu teaches enteric soft capsules by definition do not dissolve or disintegrate in gastric acidity such as for 2 hours in 0.1 N HCl and readily dissolve in the intestinal environment (pH ca. 6.8) (paragraph [0072]) and exemplifies an embodiment of 100% dissolution at 30 minutes (Figure 3) and Scott evidences pectin confers enteric properties to capsules, meaning the capsules have pH dependent solubility and are readily soluble under intestinal conditions (simulated by a pH of 6.8) (e.g., paragraphs [0002], [0004], [0012]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments: Double Patenting
Applicant’s repeated statement that the instant application has an earlier filing date than 17/772,698 and repeated reference to MPEP 804 at page 9 of the Remarks is acknowledged. However, this is not the only rejection remaining and there is no basis for withdrawing the rejection.
Applicant’s repeated statement that the remaining applications differ with respect to amount of dextrose and with respect to dissolution in the intestines and in acid at pages 9-10 is acknowledged. However, all of the remaining applications embrace dextrose in amounts which overlap and fully encompass the newly claimed range, and all of the remaining applications are drawn to capsules comprising gelatin and pectin which are enteric capsules which would have the definitional properties of enteric capsules of non-dissolution in the stomach (acidic pH) and dissolution in the intestines (pH 6.8). Applicant’s repeated statement at page 10 that there is no motivation to arrive at the claimed invention based on Hu is unpersuasive as re-iterated infra because all of the copending Applications are drawn to gelatin-pectin capsules as already possessed by Hu.
Conclusion
/ALISSA PROSSER/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600