Tar Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-17 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2016/0190650) in view of Teng (CN 110649312A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Seo discloses an electrolytic solution for an alkali metal ion secondary battery, the alkali metal ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode (13) and a negative electrode (11) containing simple lithium metal (as explicitly stated in paragraph 81 which states that the anode can contain lithium metal), wherein
the positive electrode comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal-containing transition metal composite oxide and an alkali metal-containing transition metal phosphate compound (see paragraph 80 which give several examples of an alkali metal-containing transition metal composite oxide such as LixCoO2), and
the electrolytic solution comprises a compound represented by the following formula (1) (see formula 2 in claim 2 of Seo) and/or a compound represented by the following formula (2) (see formula 3 in claim 2 of Seo).
Seo discloses the addition of an additive to the electrolyte to assist in forming an SEI layer (see paragraph 75). However, Seo does not teach the claimed composition (fluorinated chain carbonate) in the claimed amount.
Katou also discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (see abstract).
Katou, like Seo, teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte for use in a lithium ion battery (see abstract).
Katou goes on to disclose an electrolyte that includes a fluorinated chain carbonate in an amount (0.1 to 70vol% relative to the solvent, see lines 410-421) that overlaps the claimed range. Katou teaches this electrolytic solution in its proportions in order to generate an electrolyte solution that produces a lower viscosity and an increased conductivity electrolyte while also increasing the oxidation resistance of the electrolyte (lines 410-421).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the fluorinated chain carbonate additive in the amount disclosed by Katou, to the electrolyte of Seo in order to generate an electrolyte solution that produces a lower viscosity and an increased conductivity electrolyte while also increasing the oxidation resistance of the electrolyte. Furthermore, while modified Seo does not explicitly teach the claimed range, it does teach an overlapping range. As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Seo further discloses the alkali metal-containing transition metal composite oxide can be LixCoO2 (where 0.5<x<1.3, see paragraph 80) which reads on the claimed formula 3-4.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Seo further discloses the alkali metal-containing transition metal phosphate can be LixCoPO4 (where 0.5<x<1.3, see paragraph 80) which reads on the claimed formula 4.
Regarding claims 7, Seo further discloses a module containing the secondary battery (see casing 15 and 16 which form a module to house battery cell 12,13,14).
Regarding claims 20-23, Seo further discloses the alkali metal- containing transition metal composite oxide is LiNiO2 (see paragraph 80).
Regarding claims 10-17, Seo discloses that the concentration of the organic fluorinated ether compound is between 5-70wt% of the total weight of the electrolyte but does not explicitly disclose the exact claimed range of 20-50 volume% relative to the total solvent. Due to the large overlap of the two ranges (that disclosed and that claimed), even with the discrepancy between how the concentration is measured in Seo and in the claim, there exists an overlap in the claimed range.
As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Relevant Prior Art
US 2018/0151911 – Discloses a secondary battery with a electrolyte containing the claimed ether (see paragraph 13)
US 2016/0190646 – Discloses a secondary battery with an electrolyte containing the claimed ether (paragraph 84)
US 2016/0190644 – Discloses a secondary battery with an electrolyte containing the claimed ether (paragraph 82)
US 2016/0149265 - Discloses a secondary battery with an electrolyte containing the claimed ether (see claim 14)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-17 and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is also noted that the new grounds of rejection are a result of the newly amended claims which further limit, and add clarity, to the claimed amount of fluorinated chain carbonate in the electrolyte solution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725