Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [7 and 9-11] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20220240110 A1)] in view of Peng (US 11991651 B2) further in view of.
Regarding claim 7 and 10-11 Li teaches;
a transmitter that transmits, to a base station, [0244] Fields of Structure #4 are described in more detail below in Table 3: TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 3 UE-EUTRA-Capability field descriptions measurementEnhancements This field defines whether UE supports measurement enhancements in high speed scenario as specified in TS 36.133 [16]
a receiver that receives, from the base station, setting information related to the high-speed mobility; [0005] These and other implementations can include one or more of the following features. In a communication system including user equipment (UE) and a radio access network (RAN) including a plurality of cells, a process includes receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) information element (IE) indicating a high speed scenario (HST). The process includes monitoring, by the UE in response to receiving the RRC IE indicating HST, a first number of frequency carriers that is reduced relative to a second number of frequency carriers monitored by the UE during a non-HST.
and a processor that configures a period of cell detection and a measurement period in the high- speed mobility of the terminal in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) period specified for the high-speed mobility [0105] When DRX or eDRX_CONN is in use, the UE 101 is capable of performing RSRP, RSRQ, and RS-SINR measurements of at least 4 inter-frequency cells per FDD inter-frequency and the UE 101 PHY layer is capable of reporting RSRP, RSRQ, and RS-SINR measurements to higher layers with the measurement period T.sub.measure_inter, either measurement gaps are scheduled or the UE 101 supports capability of conducting such measurements without gaps. When DRX is used, T.sub.measure_inter is as defined in Table 8.1.2.3.1.2-2 of 3GPP TS 36.133, and when eDRX_CONN is in use, T.sub.measure_inter is as defined in Table 8.1.2.3.1.2-3 for GP0 and GP1. If the UE 101 is configured with nonUniform1-nonUniform4 T.sub.identify_inter is as defined in Table 8.1.2.3.1.2-4 of 3GPP TS 36.133 when the terminal is configured with the setting information [0254] Turning to FIG. 12, process 1200 for configuring UE for measurement capability in high speed scenarios is shown. Process 1200 can be performed in a communication system comprising UE and RAN described above in relation to FIGS. 1-9. In process 1200, the UE is configured to receive (1202), a radio resource control (RRC) information element IE) indicating a high speed scenario (HST). The UE is configured to monitor (1204), in response to receiving the RRC IE indicating HST, a first number of frequency carriers that is reduced relative to a second number of frequency carriers monitored by the UE during a non-HST.
Li does not teach an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) period specified for the high-speed mobility; information indicating terminal capability related to high-speed mobility including a supported moving speed of the terminal.
However, Peng does an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) period (Col 11 Row 63-65) A cell may be associated with a SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC) based on its configuration for SSB transmission specified for the high-speed mobility; (Col 11 Row 23-25) RRM measurements may be used, for example, for mobility decisions, link adaptation, scheduling, and/or other uses.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li and Peng before him or her, to modify the method of Li and Peng to include high speed train communication as taught by Peng.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved wireless communication. (Col 2 Row 9-12 by Peng).
Li and Peng do not teach information indicating terminal capability related to high-speed mobility including a supported moving speed of the terminal.
3GPP WG1 does teach information indicating terminal capability related to high-speed mobility including a supported moving speed of the terminal, [3GPP pg 2] gNB controlled threshold to support UE autonomous RRM measurement adaptation based on e.g., signal measurements (e.g., RSRP), UE mobility state (e.g., low/medium/high mobility) [3GPP pg 6] the UE can report its detailed velocity or channel conditions to the network and based on the reporting the network set proper RRM measurement configuration.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li, Peng and 3GPP before him or her, to modify the method of Li and Peng to include high speed train communication as taught by 3GPP.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved wireless communication. (Pg 4 by 3GPP).
Regarding claim 9 Li teaches a base station comprising:[0049] the RAN nodes 111 may be implemented as one or more of a dedicated physical device such as a macrocell base station a receiver that receives, from a terminal, [0244] Fields of Structure #4 are described in more detail below in Table 3: TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 3 UE-EUTRA-Capability field descriptions measurementEnhancements This field defines whether UE supports measurement enhancements in high speed scenario as specified in TS 36.133 and a transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, setting information related to the high-speed mobility, [0012] In some implementations, the UE is configured by a next generation (gNB) node of the RAN by the RCC Reconfiguration IE. In some implementations, the RCC IE comprises one of a highSpeedEnhancedMeasFlag or Secondary Component Carrier (SCC) measurementEnhancements for indicating HST wherein the receiver receives, from the terminal, a report of a measurement result of a measurement performed by the terminal using a period of cell detection and a measurement period in the high-speed mobility,[0065] A node (e.g., a next generation node gNB) of the NW may configure the UE 101 to perform the following types of measurements: NR measurements, LTE measurements, and inter-RAT measurements of NR/E-UTRA/UTRA frequencies. The gNB may configure the UE 101 to report the following measurement information based on SS/PBCH block(s): measurement results per SS/PBCH block; measurement results per cell based on SS/PBCH block(s); and/or SS/PBCH block(s) indexes and the period of cell detection and the measurement period are configured in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) period specified for the high-speed mobility [0105] When DRX or eDRX_CONN is in use, the UE 101 is capable of performing RSRP, RSRQ, and RS-SINR measurements of at least 4 inter-frequency cells per FDD inter-frequency and the UE 101 PHY layer is capable of reporting RSRP, RSRQ, and RS-SINR measurements to higher layers with the measurement period T.sub.measure_inter, either measurement gaps are scheduled or the UE 101 supports capability of conducting such measurements without gaps when the terminal is configured with the setting information [0246] Generally, the HST indicator can include a highSpeedEnhancedMeasFlag, or SCC measurement Enhancements, or any other IE which is used to indicate UE is in high speed scenario. Once UE supports increased UE carrier monitoring E-UTRA in the high speed scenario, the number of the frequency carriers that UE need to monitor can be reduced.
Li does not teach an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) period specified for the high-speed mobility;
However, Peng does an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) period (Col 11 Row 63-65) A cell may be associated with a SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC) based on its configuration for SSB transmission specified for the high-speed mobility (Col 11 Row 23-25) RRM measurements may be used, for example, for mobility decisions, link adaptation, scheduling, and/or other uses.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li and Peng before him or her, to modify the method of Li and Peng to include high speed train communication as taught by Peng.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved wireless communication. (Col 2 Row 9-12 by Peng).
Li and Peng do not teach information indicating terminal capability related to high-speed mobility including a supported moving speed of the terminal.
3GPP WG1 does teach information indicating terminal capability related to high-speed mobility including a supported moving speed of the terminal, [3GPP pg 2] gNB controlled threshold to support UE autonomous RRM measurement adaptation based on e.g., signal measurements (e.g., RSRP), UE mobility state (e.g., low/medium/high mobility) [3GPP pg 6] the UE can report its detailed velocity or channel conditions to the network and based on the reporting the network set proper RRM measurement configuration.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li, Peng and 3GPP before him or her, to modify the method of Li and Peng to include high speed train communication as taught by 3GPP.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved wireless communication. (Pg 4 by 3GPP).
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466