DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7, 11, 13, 14, 16-20, 23, and 51-52 are pending and subject to this Office Action. Claims 52 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 8-13, filed 01/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-7, 11, 13, 14, 16-20, and 51 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Claim 52 was added to include the all the limitations of claim 1 and “wherein at least a portion of the chamber is hydrophobic, or comprises a hydrophobic coating, to encourage the liquid to flow towards the absorbent material.”
On page 9 to 10, with respect to the rejections of 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the heater of Naughton is in the device and the heating element of Frasier is in the article and as such it would not have been obvious to modify Naughton by incorporating the absorbent member as taught by Frasier.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Naughton is used to teach the structure of the device; a chamber positioned between a first and second opening that receives an aerosol generating substrate and a heater that can heat the aerosol generating substrate when the substrate is in the chamber. Naughton also teaches a need for the ability to open and clean the device between uses. Fraser also teaches the need to clean a device between uses and teaches a absorbent material located upstream of the aerosol generating material. Fraser was used to modify Naughton to show the benefit of adding an absorbent material to a device to aid in cleaning. As such, the heating element of Frasier was not a factor in the consideration of the prior art.
Naughton teaches that the aerosol generating material in the rod can be a solid but could also be a liquid, gel or wax. Fraser is used to modify Naughton by adding the absorbent member to the device of Naughton which has an opening that allows the user to clean the device when not in use. Frasier teaches that the absorbent member can be used to absorb and collect liquid that has leaked from a reservoir but also teaches that the absorbent member would collect “source liquid has followed the intended path from reservoir to heater for vaporization but which has then condensed back to liquid rather than being delivered as a vapor for inhalation.’ [0048] A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the addition of the absorbent material would not only prevent condensed liquid from the vaporized material from leaking but would also aid in the cleaning of the device.
Applicant’s arguments, specifically pages 10-11, with respect to the rejections of 51 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that there is no rational to combine Azzopardi and Rodgers.
Azzopardi teaches a device for heating a solid aerosol generating article that also comprises a second section that would hold a liquid material entrained in a porous material. Azzopardi teaches the porous material can comprise a flavor producing material inside a solid porous material which would require the porous material to have absorbed the flavor producing material. (p8 ln 18-20) Rogers teaches the use of a liquid barrier material in an aerosol generating device that is used to prevent liquid from traveling from one portion of the device to another portion of the device while still allowing for the aerosol to flow through the device. The art specifically notes the use of an upstream barrier and a downstream barrier. [0034] However, Rogers teaches that the barrier(s) can occur anywhere in the device the to provide a desired user experience. [0038-0039] Based on the teachings of Rodgers would be considered as the barrier taught by Rogers would improve the device of Azzopardi by preventing liquid from leaving or entering the portion of the device that contains the absorbent material while allowing air to flow through the barrier.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naughton, et al (US20180168224A1) and further in view of Fraser, et al (US20190208821A1, from IDS dated 09/19/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Naughton teaches an aerosol provision device, comprising:
• a housing delimiting a first opening at a first end of the housing, through which to receive aerosol generating material, and delimiting a second opening at a second end of the housing;
• a chamber positioned between the second opening and the first opening, wherein at least part of the chamber is configured to receive the aerosol generating material;
• at least one heater arranged within the housing and configured to heat aerosol generating material received within the chamber thereby to generate an aerosol;
Naughton teaches “The housing has a first opening at a first end through which smokable material can pass so as to be received within and removed from the apparatus in use. The housing has a second opening at a second end opposed from the first end. The housing further has a chamber between the first and second openings. At least one heater is arranged within the housing for heating smokable material removably received within the chamber in use.” (Abstract)
Naughton does not teach an absorbent material for absorbing liquid; and wherein the absorbent material is at least partially arranged within a section of the chamber.
Fraser, directed to the design of aerosol generating devices with an absorbent element, teaches the use of an absorbent material at the upstream end of an aerosol generating device. (Abstract) Frasier teaches that the absorbent element is located in the cartomizer housing where the material to be vaporized is located. ([0052], Fig 4) As such, the absorbent material is considered to be located in the chamber of the device.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton by using the absorbent material as taught by Fraser because both Naughton and Fraser are directed to smoking devices, Fraser teaches “The absorbent element may inhibit said escaped liquid from leaving the component” (p1 [0007]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
A modified Naughton teaches that in use, the aerosol is drawn along a flow path through the chamber towards the first opening and the absorbent material is at least partially positioned upstream of the at least part of the chamber configured to receive the aerosol generating material.
Naughton teaches that an aerosol generating device is inserted in the heating cavity for heating and consumption. The device is designed so that air flows through the aerosol generating device and chamber and towards the first opening for consumption. Frasier, used to modify Naughton, teaches “the absorbent element located so as to be upstream of the atomizer with respect to an air flow direction along the air flow path when the component is assembled into the electronic vapor provision device.”(p1 [0006]) Thus a modified Naughton would contain the absorbent material at the second end of the cavity in or near the hollow tube and the second opening and upstream of the aerosol generating device and the second opening.
Naughton further teaches the aerosol generating material is in the form of a solid.
Naughton teaches that the aerosol generating material that is contained in the rod designed to be used with the heat-not-burn device can be in the form of a solid, a liquid, a gel, or a wax. [0024]
Annotated Figure 1.
Regarding claim 2, Naughton teaches that the device has a cover movable between a first position in which the second opening is blocked by the cover, and a second position in which the second opening is not blocked by the cover.
Naughton teaches the door of the device has an opening at the distal end that is covered by a door that is “movable between a first position in which the second opening is closed by the door and a second position in which the second opening is open.” (p1 [0006])
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Naughton fails to teach that the cover comprises a recess; and the absorbent material is arranged at least partially in the recess. or that in use, the absorbent material is at least partially positioned between the aerosol generating material and the cover.
Fraser, directed to the design of aerosol generating devices with an absorbent element, teaches that the end cap connector that closes the bottom of the cartomizer where the heater is located. Fraser teaches that the absorbent material is inserted into a recess in the end cap connector before the end cap connector is attached to the cartomizer (p5 [0058]) in order to use the aerosol generating device. As such, the absorbent material would be between the aerosol generating material and the cover when in use.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton by using a recessed portion in the cover as taught by Fraser because both Naughton and Fraser are directed to smoking devices, Fraser teaches the recess is used to “receive and hold the absorbent element” (p6 [0063]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Naughton teaches that the device has a cover on the second opening and that the cover is detachable from the aerosol provision device.
Naughton teaches the cover is a separate piece that is connected to the housing via a hinge to affix the door to the chassis (housing). (p 3 [0032]) Naughton teaches that the door can have various opening mechanisms such as a barrel hinge that uses a pivot pin to attach the door to the chassis. Naughton teaches that the door is a separate part that can be attached to the aerosol generating device.
Regarding claim 6, Fraser teaches that the absorbent material may be made from any absorbent materials including paper, sponge, cellulose acetate filter material, and foamed plastic polymers. (p6 [0067])
Regarding claim 7, Frasier, directed to the design of aerosol generating devices with an absorbent element, teaches that the absorbent material can include “cellulose acetate filter material, cotton wadding, polyester wadding, absorbent materials used in nappies and sanitary towels, rayon, polyurethane, cellulose sponge, and so-called “post office sponge” (a natural, open cell sponge rubber).” (p6 [0067]) While Frasier does not explicitly disclose the absorption capacity of the absorbent material, the Examiner notes that Frasier teaches the same or similar absorbent materials as the Applicant (see specification page 9-10). It follows that the same absorbent material would have similar absorption capacity, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Naughton does not teach wherein at least a portion of the absorbent material is gas permeable nor that the absorbent material comprises a through-hole for air to pass through.
Fraser teaches that the absorbent material may have a central opening, air flow hole, or may have no central opening at all. Fraser teaches the absorbent material may be made with a “sufficiently open structure that air can pass through the absorbent element with little or no impediment to the inhalation air flow rate. (p5-6 [0059])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton by using an absorbent material with an open structure as taught by Fraser because both Naughton and Fraser are directed to smoking devices, Fraser teaches by using either a hole or an open structure absorbent material the absorbent element does not significantly increase the resistance to draw in the device (p5-6 [0059]), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 14, Naughton does not teach a device further comprising an absorbent member which comprises the absorbent material supported by a substrate. or that an absorbent material supported by a substrate, wherein the absorbent material is configured to be at least partially received in a chamber or a door of the aerosol provision device adjacent aerosol generating material.
Fraser teaches supports that may be used to hold the absorbent material in a position.(p6 [0063]) The supports used to hold the absorbent material as taught by Fraser are considered to read on the substrate of the instant claim as Frasier teaches the supports are used to provide support and hold the absorbent material in place in the device. As discussed in claims 3 and 4 above, Frasier teaches that the absorbent material can be positioned inside the cartomizer against or near the inner surface of an end wall component.(p6 [0063]) Frasier teaches the location of the absorbent material held in place with a support would either be located inside the cartomizer or the modified door of Naughton.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton by using the supports to hold the absorbent material as taught by Fraser because both Naughton and Fraser are directed to smoking devices, Fraser teaches the supports hold the absorbent element in place so that it does not shift or move in the device (p6 [0063]), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way
Regarding claim 17, Naughton teaches the chamber of the device comprises a barrier to separate the aerosol generating material from the absorbent material.
Naughton teaches the aerosol generating device contains an area of reduced diameter at the second end of the chamber that provides a stop for the smokable material inserted into the first opening. (p1 [0010]) The use of a tube with a reduced internal diameter to block the smokable material from coming in contact with the cover region of the device is considered to read on the barrier of the instant claim.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naughton, et al (US20180168224A1) and Fraser, et al (US20190208821A1, from IDS dated 09/19/2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ruscio, et al (US20210112878A1).
Regarding claim 16, Naughton does not teach a device that has a brush which comprises the absorbent material.
Fraser teaches the absorbent element may have a flat planar shape or in a device with a bore “it is useful for the absorbent element to fill the bore where it is installed” (p7 [0072]). However, Fraser does not teach that the shape would be that of a brush.
Ruscio, directed to the design of electrically heated smoking devices, teaches “It is known to insert a brush into the heating chamber, between uses, to dislodge and remove accumulated residue.” (p1 [0005])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton and Fraser by making the absorbent material into a brush as taught by Ruscio because Naughton, Fraser, and Ruscio are directed to smoking devices, Ruscio teaches that a brush can more easily reach difficult to clean areas such as angled intersections. (p5 [0045]) which also would allow the absorbent material to more easily reach and absorb any liquid that gathered in these locations, and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naughton, et al (US20180168224A1) and Fraser, et al (US20190208821A1, from IDS dated 09/19/2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bessant, et al (US20180070640A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, neither Naughton nor Fraser teach an aerosol device comprising a hydrophobic material arranged within the housing to substantially prevent liquid from leaking out of the aerosol provision device. nor do they teach that at least a portion of the chamber is hydrophobic, or comprises a hydrophobic coating, to encourage the liquid to flow towards the absorbent material.
Naughton teaches the device has a collar around where the smoking article is inserted which would help prevent condensed liquid from escaping through the insertion opening. However, Naughton does not teach the use of a hydrophobic material in the housing to prevent liquid from leaking from the device.
Bessant, directed to the design of aerosol generating devices, teaches that the device comprises a main body which includes “the heating region may comprise a tubular-shaped extractor, wherein an inner surface and an outer surface of the extractor is a hydrophobic or super-hydrophobic surface.” (p4-5 [0075])
Further, the coating of Bessant would encourage any liquid in the heating region to flow to either the insertion hole, where it would be blocked by the collar, or to the distal end where the absorbent material is located. Thus the coating of Bessant is considered to read on the limitations of instant claim 19.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton and Fraser by using the internal hydrophobic coating as taught by Bessant because both Naughton, Fraser, and Bessant are directed to smoking devices, Bessant teaches that using a hydrophobic coating inside the main body reduces the “formation of residues and condensation on these surfaces” and can reduce the or eliminate the need for cleaning the heating cavity and improve user experience(p2 [0035]; p6 [0094]), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naughton, et al (US20180168224A1) and Fraser, et al (US20190208821A1, from IDS dated 09/19/2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schultz, et al (US3370592).
Regarding claim 20 neither Naughton nor Fraser teach a device that has at least a portion of the absorbent material is configured to provide a visual indication to indicate that the absorbent material is ready to be replaced or cleaned.
Schultz, directed to the design of cigarettes, teaches the use of an absorptive material that has an indicator that changes color as the material absorbs unwanted components.(cl1 ln33-34) Schultz further teaches that the absorptive medium may be visible through a window or opening. (cl1 ln39)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton and Fraser by using both an indicator in the absorbent material that changes color when the unwanted component (moisture) is absorbed and a window in the cover to be able to observe the color change as taught by Shultz because both Naughton, Fraser, and Shultz are directed to smoking products, Shultz teaches the use of a color changing absorbent material and a window to be able to see the material allows the user to see if the material is removing unwanted components (cl1 ln27-29), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azzopardi, et al (WO2019101946A1) and further in view of Rogers, et al (US20190124983A1)
Regarding claim 51, Azzopardi teaches an aerosol generating apparatus having a housing defining a flow path through the apparatus. (p1 ln 25-26) The apparatus has a first receptacle and a second receptacle that are positioned in the device. The second chamber (receptacle) is designed for the insertion of an aerosol generating article (substrate). (p8 ln 4-5) The second chamber has a second heater, located inside the housing, that is used to heat a second substrate. (p9 ln 9-10) The prior art teaches that the flow path through the device includes both the first and second receptacles; where the heated products of the first substrate pass through the second receptacle/substrate producing an inhalable medium. (p 11 ln 14-19) Azzopardi teaches that the first substrate can be solid or gel substrates. (p 8 ln 4) The prior art further teaches that the solid substrate can be in the form of a flavor pouch comprising a flavor producing material inside a porous material. (p 8 ln 19-20) Azzopardi teaches that the receptacles can be tubes open at both ends allowing the substrate to be inserted and that these tubes can have end walls with through holes that allow the heated products to pass from one receptacle to the other. (p 9 ln 30 – p10 ln 3) The end walls of the tubes separating the first receptacle from the second receptacle. The features noted above are shown in annotated figure 2 below.
Annotated Figure 2.
Azzopardi teaches the first and second chambers (receptacles) can have end walls separating the first receptacle from the second receptacle. are considered to read on the limitation of sealing the aerosol generating material from the absorbent material.
Rogers, directed to the design of vaporizers, teaches a downstream barrier that can be used to inhibit passage of liquid while allowing a desired air flow/ vapor transmissibility through the air flow channel. ([0035], [0044]) A person having ordinary sill would recognize that the barrier taught by Rogers would seal and isolate the absorbent wick structure from the other portions of the vaporizer.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Azzopardi by barrier in the airflow channel as taught by Rogers because both Azzopardi and Rogers are directed to smoking products, Rogers teaches the barrier is used to prevent the vaporizable liquid (or other target liquid) from flowing out through the air inlets or channel when the vaporizer is not in use. [0044], and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claims 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naughton, et al (US20180168224A1) and further in view of Fraser, et al (US20190208821A1, from IDS dated 09/19/2024) and Robinson, et al (US20170347713A1)
Regarding claim 52, Naughton teaches an aerosol provision device, comprising:
• a housing delimiting a first opening at a first end of the housing, through which to receive aerosol generating material, and delimiting a second opening at a second end of the housing;
• a chamber positioned between the second opening and the first opening, wherein at least part of the chamber is configured to receive the aerosol generating material;
• at least one heater arranged within the housing and configured to heat aerosol generating material received within the chamber thereby to generate an aerosol;
Naughton teaches “The housing has a first opening at a first end through which smokable material can pass so as to be received within and removed from the apparatus in use. The housing has a second opening at a second end opposed from the first end. The housing further has a chamber between the first and second openings. At least one heater is arranged within the housing for heating smokable material removably received within the chamber in use.” (Abstract)
Naughton does not teach an absorbent material for absorbing liquid; and wherein the absorbent material is at least partially arranged within a section of the chamber.
Fraser, directed to the design of aerosol generating devices with an absorbent element, teaches the use of an absorbent material at the upstream end of an aerosol generating device. (Abstract) Frasier teaches that the absorbent element is located in the cartomizer housing where the material to be vaporized is located. ([0052], Fig 4) As such, the absorbent material is considered to be located in the chamber of the device.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton by using the absorbent material as taught by Fraser because both Naughton and Fraser are directed to smoking devices, Fraser teaches “The absorbent element may inhibit said escaped liquid from leaving the component” (p1 [0007]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
A modified Naughton teaches that in use, the aerosol is drawn along a flow path through the chamber towards the first opening and the absorbent material is at least partially positioned upstream of the at least part of the chamber configured to receive the aerosol generating material.
Naughton teaches that an aerosol generating device is inserted in the heating cavity for heating and consumption. The device is designed so that air flows through the aerosol generating device and chamber and towards the first opening for consumption. Frasier, used to modify Naughton, teaches “the absorbent element located so as to be upstream of the atomizer with respect to an air flow direction along the air flow path when the component is assembled into the electronic vapor provision device.”(p1 [0006]) Thus a modified Naughton would contain the absorbent material at the second end of the cavity in or near the hollow tube and the second opening and upstream of the aerosol generating device and the second opening.
Naughton further teaches the aerosol generating material is in the form of a solid.
Naughton teaches that the aerosol generating material that is contained in the rod designed to be used with the heat-not-burn device can be in the form of a solid, a liquid, a gel, or a wax. [0024]
Naughton teaches that the hollow cylindrical tube of the heater forms the chamber to hold the aerosol generating article. Naughton teaches that the heating tube can be formed from various materials including polyimide heater that forms the chamber. [0029] However, Naughton does not explicitly teach that the polyimide heater and chamber would be hydrophobic.
Robinson, directed to the design of heating devices for heating a smokable material, teaches a heating element can comprise polyimide that is on the inside of the heating element. (Abstract) Robinson teaches that the heating element is comprised of an electrically conductive material that is surrounded by layers of polyimide material that is designed to come in contact with the an adhesive and the smokable/ aerosol generating material. ([0120],[0133]) Robinson teaches that polyimide materials used in conjunction with the heating element may be hydrophobic. ([0078], [0133])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naughton and Fraser by using a hydrophobic polyimide material as taught by Robinson because Naughton, Fraser, and Robinson are directed to smoking devices, Robinson teaches polyimide is able to withstand the heating of the electrically-conductive material during use of the device [0120], and this involves using a known technique of covering the heating element with a hydrophobic polyimide material to improve similar devices in the same way.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755