DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claims 1 and 4 recite “a message receiving unit configured to receive at least one selected…” It is unclear to what “one” is referring. It appears that “one” may be referring to a message. Clarification via clearer claim language is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a message receiving unit”, “an information registration unit”, “a risk signal generation unit”, “a risk alarm generation unit” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite.
Claims 1-7 are directed to method of determining a manager. As described in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S._, 134 S. Cr. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014), a two-step analysis is required in considering the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter. The first step requires determining if the claimed subject matter is directed to a judicial exception. The instant claims require the determining a manager according to a risk signal in claims 1 and 4, and determining a recipient group of the risk alarm message in claim 6. These steps are drawn to mental steps as both steps may be performed in the human mind. Mental steps are a judicial exception. Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The instant claims do not recite an element that reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, an element that applies the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, an element that implements the judicial exception with a particular machine, or an element that effects a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing. The instant claims recite receiving data, receiving risk alarm information, receiving a risk signal, receiving device state message, receiving a payment link, and transmitting a risk alarm. However, these steps are extra solution data gathering steps. Extra solution data gathering steps do not impart a practical application to the judicial exception. The instant claims also recite a user terminal, message receiving unit, information registration unit, risk signal generation unit, and a risk alarm generation unit. However, the instant claims do not recite any structural limitations of these elements, and they are not drawn to a particular machine. The instant claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The second part of the analysis requires determining if the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The instant claims recite the additional elements of receiving data, receiving risk alarm information, receiving a risk signal, receiving device state message, receiving a payment link, and transmitting a risk alarm. However, the courts have found receiving and transmitting data to be well-understood, conventional and routine (MPEP §2106(d)(II)). The instant claims also recite a user terminal, message receiving unit, information registration unit, risk signal generation unit, and a risk alarm generation unit. However, these elements are well-known, conventional, and routine (Specification, pages 25-26). The steps of receiving information and retrieving information from a database are well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering steps. Reciting such well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering steps do not transform a judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. In addition, the recitation of the specific types of data, as in instant claims 2 and 5, to be used in the judicial exception does not transform the abstract idea into a non-abstract idea. (See buySAFE, Inc. v Google, Inc. 765 F.3d 1350, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1093 (Fed.Cir.2014)). Furthermore, the elements taken as a combination are also well-understood, routine, and conventional, since the elements are merely specifying the types of data for a data gathering step. Thus, the instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Starr et al. (US 9,807,174 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Starr et al. teach installing a drug injection program received from a management server (column 1, line 66 – column 2, line 29; column 4, lines 33-47)); receiving biometric value measurement, drug injection message, device state message, or data of the drug injection device (column 4, lines 48-53; column 6, lines 55-65); receiving an input of a risk alarm setting information from a user and transmitting the risk alarm setting information to the controller (column 5, lines 7-32); receiving a risk signal corresponding to the risk alarm setting information from the controller (column 5, lines 7-32); determining a manager according to the risk signal and transmitting a risk alarm message to a terminal of the manager according to the risk signal or risk management center (column 5, lines 7-32).
Regarding claim 2, Starr et al. teach where the alarm message includes location information (column 4, lines 54-65; column 6, lines 4-23) and an additional alarm is implemented to be generated at a preset time (column 4, lines 54-65; column 9, lines 1-19).
Regarding claim 4, Starr et al. teach a message receiving unit configured to receive at least one selected from the group consisting of biometric value measurement, drug injection message, device state message, or data of the drug injection device (column 4, lines 48-53; column 6, lines 55-65); an information registration unit configured to register a risk alarm setting information (column 5, lines 7-32); a risk signal generation unit configured to receive a risk signal corresponding to the risk alarm setting information determined from biometric value measurement, drug injection message, device state message, or data of the drug injection device (column 4, lines 48-53; column 6, lines 55-65). (column 5, lines 7-32); determining a manager according to the risk signal and transmitting a risk alarm message to a terminal of the manager according to the risk signal or risk management center (column 5, lines 7-32).
Regarding claim 5, Starr et al. teach where the alarm message includes location information (column 4, lines 54-65; column 6, lines 4-23) and an additional alarm is implemented to be generated at a preset time (column 4, lines 54-65; column 9, lines 1-19).
Regarding claim 6, Starr et al. teach where the risk alarm generation unit determines a recipient group of the risk alarm message according to a risk code of a risky situation and kind of risk (column 11, lines 48-56).
Regarding claim 7, Starr et al. teach where the program is stored in a computer readable storage medium (column 10, lines 50-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starr et al. (US 9,807,174 B2) as applied to claims 1-2, and 4-7 above, and further in view of Binier et al. (US 2011/0021140 A1).
Starr et al. is applied as above.
While Starr et al. teach receiving a device state message and usage data of the drug injection device to the management during a drug non-injection period (column 5, lines 7-23; column 9, lines 1-31), Starr et al. does not teach a payment link of usage fee.
Binier et al. teach receiving a payment link of a usage fee corresponding to the usage data and executing the drug injection program on completing payment and approval of the usage fee (paragraphs [0039], [0042], and [0050]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to combine the reference of Binier et al. with Starr et al. Binier et al. teaches that their method offers the advantage of managing automated sensors into a network (paragraphs [0003] and [0025]). One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to integrate the sensors and drug injection devices of Starr et al. into a healthcare network, would have been motivated to integrate the system of Starr et al. into the teachings of Binier et al. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since Biner et al. teach that sensors may be readily paired into their system (paragraph [0027]).
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685