Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims 1-32, 35, and 38 are pending.
Lack of Unity of Invention
The requirement was made FINAL. Upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180368181 (Lee) in view of 11382142 US 11382142 (Dong) further in view of 2 Step RACH: RNTI for Receiving Network Response, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 107, R2-1908813 (Samsung).
Regarding claims 1 and 35, Lee teaches or suggests a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (¶ 135), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more memories; the processors configured to (¶¶ 123-125):
determine a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), associated with a random access channel (RACH) procedure (¶¶ 121-125), based at least in part on:
a radio frame index associated with a RACH occasion in which a RACH preamble is transmitted during the RACH procedure (¶ 84); and
receive a random access message based at least in part on the RA-RNTI (¶¶ 99, 132).
Lee does not expressly disclose determining a RA-RNTI, associated with a RACH procedure, based at least in part on: one or more parameters of a physical RACH (PRACH) occasion in a system frame, and a type of the RACH procedure
Dong teaches or suggests a UE for wireless communication (9:32-36), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more memories; the processors configured to (2:49-54) determine a RA-RNTI, associated with a RACH procedure, based at least in part on: one or more parameters of a PRACH occasion in a system frame, and a type of the RACH procedure (9:32-46) and receive a random access message based at least in part on the RA-RNTI (8:62-9:15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Lee’s system and Dong’s bases so a base station directs a response specifically to the UE that initiated a random-access request. Furthermore, combining Lee’s system and Dong’s bases would ensure that messages are correctly received.
Lee does not expressly disclose but Samsung teaches or suggests the type of the RACH procedure is a two- step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure; (Option 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Lee’s system, Dong’s bases, and Samsung’s types to use the optimum type of RACH procedure.
Claims 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180368181 (Lee) in view of in view of 11382142 US 11382142 (Dong) further in view of 2 Step RACH: RNTI for Receiving Network Response, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 107, R2-1908813 (Samsung) and US 11785648 (Xiong).
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not expressly disclose but Xiong teaches or suggests the RA-RNTI is determined based at least in part on a radio frame indicator value equal to a remainder of dividing a radio frame index by 2 (7:53-64). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Lee’s system, Dong’s bases, Samsung’s types, and Xiong’s basis to enhance the RA-RNTI.
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the RA-RNTI is determined further based at least in part on a type indicator value corresponding to the type of the RACH procedure (Dong 9:32-46). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not expressly disclose but Samsung teaches or suggests the type indicator value is 1 when the type of the RACH procedure is a two-step RACH procedure (Option 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Lee’s system, Dong’s bases, Samsung’s value, and Xiong’s basis to distinguish the type of RACH procedures.
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the type indicator value is 1 when the type of the RACH procedure is a four-step RACH procedure (Samsung Option 2). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 8.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180368181 (Lee) in view of in view of 11382142 US 11382142 (Dong) further in view of 2 Step RACH: RNTI for Receiving Network Response, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 107, R2-1908813 (Samsung), US 11785648 (Xiong), WO 2014000221 (Zhu).
Lee does not expressly disclose but Zhu teaches or suggests the radio frame indicator value is either 0 or 1 (¶ 57 1 bit = 0 or 1. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Lee’s system, Dong’s bases, Samsung’s types, Xiong’s basis, and Zhu’s values because 0 and 1 are well known remainders amounting to predictable results.
Claims 18 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200275491 (Ren) in view of US 20180368181 (Lee) further in view of US 11382142 (Dong) and 2 Step RACH: RNTI for Receiving Network Response, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 107, R2-1908813 (Samsung).
Ren teaches or suggests a base station for wireless communication (abs.), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more memories; the processors configured to (¶¶ 240-241):
determine a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), associated with a random access channel (RACH) procedure (abs.); and
transmit a random access message based at least in part on the RA-RNTI (abs.).
Ren does not expressly disclose but Lee teaches or suggests determine a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), associated with a random access channel (RACH) procedure, based at least in part on: a radio frame index associated with a RACH occasion in which a RACH preamble is transmitted during the RACH procedure (¶ 84). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ren’s system and Lee’s RA-RNTI to uniquely identify entities and allocate initial resources.
Ren does not expressly disclose but Dong teaches or suggests a UE for wireless communication (9:32-36), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more memories; the processors configured to (2:49-54) determine a RA-RNTI, associated with a RACH procedure, based at least in part on: one or more parameters of a PRACH occasion in a system frame, and a type of the RACH procedure (9:32-46) and receive a random access message based at least in part on the RA-RNTI (8:62-9:15). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ren’s system, Lee’s RA-RNTI, and Dong’s bases to employ well known bases to achieve predictable results.
Ren does not expressly disclose but Samsung teaches or suggests the type of the RACH procedure is a two- step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure (Option 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ren’s system, Lee’s RA-RNTI, Dong’s bases, and Samsung’s types to use the optimum type of RACH procedure.
Claims 22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200275491 (Ren) in view of US 20180368181 (Lee) further in view of US 11382142 (Dong), 2 Step RACH: RNTI for Receiving Network Response, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 107, R2-1908813 (Samsung), and US 11785648 (Xiong).
Regarding claim 22, Ren does not expressly disclose but Xiong teaches or suggests the RA-RNTI is determined based at least in part on a [sic] radio frame indicator value equal to a remainder of dividing a radio frame index by 2 (7:53-64). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ren’s system, Lee’s RA-RNTI, Dong’s bases, and Samsung’s types, and Xiong’s basis to enhance the RA-RNTI.
Regarding claim 24, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the RA-RNTI is determined further based at least in part on a type indicator value corresponding to the type of the RACH procedure (Dong 9:32-46). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 18.
Regarding claim 25, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the type indicator value is 1 when the type of the RACH procedure is a four-step RACH procedure (Samsung Option 2). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 24.
Regarding claim 26, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the type indicator value is 1 when the type of the RACH procedure is a four-step RACH procedure (Samsung Option 2). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 18.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200275491 (Ren) in view of US 20180368181 (Lee) further in view of US 11382142 (Dong), 2 Step RACH: RNTI for Receiving Network Response, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 107, R2-1908813 (Samsung), US 11785648 (Xiong), and WO 2014000221 (Zhu).
Ren does not expressly disclose but Zhu teaches or suggests the radio frame indicator value is either 0 or 1 (¶ 57 1 bit = 0 or 1. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Ren’s system, Lee’s RA-RNTI, Dong’s bases, Samsung’s types, Xiong’s basis, and Zhu’s values because 0 and 1 are well known remainders amounting to predictable results.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered. The applicant argues “none of the RA types described in DONG disclose "the type of the RACH procedure is a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).” (Resp. 12.) Samsung has been added, however, to teach or suggest the argued limitations.
Other Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the instant disclosure. For example, US 20210120581 controls the access of a terminal in a communication system (abs.).
Conclusion
/LANCE LEONARD BARRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457