Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie (US 2019/0072816).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a liquid crystal display device (Fig. 1-2 and 3C, [0032-0051]), comprising:
a first substrate (31 in Fig. 3C, [0043]);
a second substrate (32 in Fig. 3C, [0043]) disposed opposite to the first substrate (Fig. 3C);
a liquid crystal layer (33 in Fig. 3C, [0043]) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 3C); and
an upper polarizer (10 in Fig. 3C) disposed on a side of the second substrate (the top side of 32 in Fig. 3C) away from (Fig. 3C) the liquid crystal layer (33 in Fig. 3C, [0047, 0043]), wherein the upper polarizer comprises a polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) and a color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) and the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) is located on a side of the polarization layer (the top side of 112 in Fig. 2 and 3C) away from (Fig. 3C) the liquid crystal layer (33 in Fig. 3C, [0047, 0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Xie also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) the upper polarizer (10 in Fig. 3C) further comprises a first protective layer (113 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]), and the first protective layer (113 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) is located between (Fig. 2 and 3C) the polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) and the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Wang (US 2016/0370624).
Regarding claims 3-4, Xie teaches that the upper polarizer (10 in Fig. 3C) further comprises a protective film (14 in Fig. 3C, [0035]), and the protective film (14 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0035]) is located on a side of the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) away from the polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]), the upper polarizer (10 in Fig. 3C) further comprises a second protective layer (13 in Fig. 2 and 3C). Xie teaches that the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) is a color layer, Xie does not teach the following elements.
Wang teaches the following elements (Fig. 3 and 5, [0062-0069, 0090]):
(Claim 3) a touch-sensing wires (14/24 in Fig. 3 and 5) is provided between a protective film (11/21 in Fig. 3 and 5) and a color layer (16/26 in Fig. 3 and 5), and a first bonding layer (12/22 in Fig. 3 and 5) is located between the protective film (11/21 in Fig. 3 and 5) and the color layer (16/26 in Fig. 3 and 5).
(Claim 4) a second protective layer (13/23 in Fig. 3 and 5) is located between the color layer (16/26 in Fig. 3 and 5)and the first bonding layer (12/22 in Fig. 3 and 5).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Wang for the system of Xie such that in the system of Xie,
(Claim 3) a touch-sensing wires is provided between the protective film and the color conversion layer, the upper polarizer further comprises a first bonding layer, and the first bonding layer is located between the protective film and the color conversion layer.
(Claim 4) the second protective layer is located between the color conversion layer and the first bonding layer.
The motivation is to provide a touch display panel with a simple manufacturing process and low manufacturing cost (Wang, [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Xie also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 5) a third protective layer (111 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) and a second bonding layer (15 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0036]) are successively disposed on a side of the polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) away from the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots), and the third protective layer is disposed between the polarization layer and the second bonding layer (Fig. 2 and 3C).
Claims 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2018/0356677).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Xie teaches that the liquid crystal display device (Fig. 3C) comprises a plurality of pixel regions (Fig. 3C, [0050]), each of the pixel regions (Fig. 3C, [0050]) comprises a first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0050]), a second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]), and a third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]), the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) comprises a first color conversion portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), a second color conversion portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), and a third portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to B in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]) that are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3C), the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion are configured to convert light of different colors (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), the first color conversion portion is located in the first sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), the second color conversion portion is located in the a second sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), and the third portion is located in the third sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]); the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a red sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]), the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a green sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]), and the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to B in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a blue sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]). Xie does not teach the following elements.
Kim (US 2018/0356677) teaches the following elements (Fig. 2-3, [0016, 0032-0052]):
(Claim 6) a color conversion layer (Fig. 3) comprises a first color conversion portion (330R in Fig. 3), a second color conversion portion (330G in Fig. 3), and a third portion (330R in Fig. 3, [0033, 0049, 0052]), the third portion is a light transmissive portion (330R in Fig. 3, [0033, 0049, 0052]), and the light transmissive portion (330R in Fig. 3, [0033, 0049, 0052]) is located in the third sub-pixel region (Fig. 2-3).
(Claim 9) light emitted by a backlight module (500 in Fig. 3) of the liquid crystal display device is blue light ([0017-0018]), a material of the first color conversion portion comprises a red fluorescent material ([0041]), a material of the second color conversion portion comprises a green fluorescent material ([0041]), and the polarizer (Fig. 3) further comprises a blue light absorption layer (325 in Fig. 3, [0035]), wherein the blue light absorption layer (325 in Fig. 3, [0035]) is located on sides of the first color conversion portion (330R in Fig. 3) and the second color conversion portion (330G in Fig. 3) away from (Fig. 3) the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kim (US 2018/0356677) for the system of Xie such that in the system of Xie,
(Claim 6) the third portion is a light transmissive portion; therefore, the color conversion layer comprises the first color conversion portion, the second color conversion portion, and a light transmissive portion that are spaced apart from each other, and the light transmissive portion is located in the third sub-pixel region
(Claim 9) light emitted by a backlight module of the liquid crystal display device is blue light, a material of the first color conversion portion comprises a red fluorescent material, a material of the second color conversion portion comprises a green fluorescent material, and the polarizer further comprises a blue light absorption layer, wherein the blue light absorption layer is located on sides of the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion away from the polarization layer.
The motivation is to prevent color reproducibility deterioration, color purity or color reproducibility may be improved, and prevent the emission of the undesired blue light without the conversion (Kim (US 2018/0356677), [0052, 0045, 0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Xie also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 13) the upper polarizer (10 in Fig. 3C) further comprises light-shielding portions (21 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0046]), and the light-shielding portions (21 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0046]) are respectively located between the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion (Fig. 2 and 3C), between the first color conversion portion and the light transmissive portion (Fig. 2 and 3C), and the second color conversion portion and the third portion (Fig. 2 and 3C). Xie in view of Kim (US 2018/0356677) already teaches that the third portion is the light transmissive portion as stated in the rejection of claim 6.
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Kim (US 2018/0006093).
Regarding claims 6-12, Xie teaches that the liquid crystal display device (Fig. 3C) comprises a plurality of pixel regions (Fig. 3C, [0050]), each of the pixel regions (Fig. 3C, [0050]) comprises a first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0050]), a second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]), and a third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]), the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) comprises a first color conversion portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), a second color conversion portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), and a third portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to B in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]) that are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3C), the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion are configured to convert light of different colors (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), the first color conversion portion is located in the first sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), the second color conversion portion is located in the a second sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), and the third portion is located in the third sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]); the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a red sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]), the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a green sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]), and the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to B in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a blue sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]). Xie does not teach the following elements.
Kim (US 2018/0006093) teaches the following elements (Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040-0057, 0079-0100]):
(Claim 6) a color conversion layer (Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a first color conversion portion (330R, or 330R and 230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13), a second color conversion portion (330G, or 330G and 230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13), and a third portion (330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]), the third portion is a light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G, or 330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062], a blue-color layer 330B or transmission layer 330B), and the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G, or 330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) is located in the third sub-pixel region (Fig. 1 and 11-13).
(Claim 7) light emitted by a backlight module (500 in Fig. 12-13, [0080-0081]) of the liquid crystal display device is blue light ([0084]), a material of the first color conversion portion (330R and 230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a red fluorescent material (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and a red filter material (230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13), a material of the second color conversion portion (330G and 230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a green fluorescent material (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and a green filter material (230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13), and the light transmissive portion (330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056]) comprises a blue filter material ([0040, 0054, 0056]).
(Claim 8) the red fluorescent material (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises red fluorescent powder or a red quantum dot ([0045-0052]), and the green fluorescent material (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises green fluorescent powder or a green quantum dot ([0045-0052]).
(Claim 9) light emitted by a backlight module (500 in Fig. 12-13, [0080-0081]) of the liquid crystal display device is blue light ([0084]), a material of the first color conversion portion (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a red fluorescent material ([0045-0052]), a material of the second color conversion portion (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a green fluorescent material ([0045-0052]), and the polarizer (Fig. 12 and 13) further comprises a blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 230G, which is inherently capable of absorbing blue light in Fig. 1 and 12-13), wherein the blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 240G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) is located on sides of the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion away from (Fig. 12-13) the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13).
(Claim 10) the blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 230G, which is inherently capable of absorbing blue light in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a red filter portion (230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and a green filter portion (230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13), wherein the red filter portion (230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) is located on a side of the first color conversion portion (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) away from the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13), and the green filter portion (230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) is located on a side of the second color conversion portion (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) away from the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13).
(Claim 11) a material of the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) comprises a blue filter material ([0040, 0054, 0056]), and the upper polarizer (Fig. 12-13) further comprises a blue filter portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 230R/230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]), wherein the blue filter portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 230R/230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) is disposed on a same layer (Fig. 12-13) as the blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 230G, which is inherently capable of absorbing blue light in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and located on a side of the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) away from (Fig. 12-13) the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13).
(Claim 12) the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) and the blue filter portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 230R/230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) are integrally formed (Fig. 12-13).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kim (US 2018/0006093) for the system of Xie such that in the system of Xie,
(Claim 6) the third portion is a light transmissive portion; therefore, the color conversion layer comprises the first color conversion portion, the second color conversion portion, and a light transmissive portion that are spaced apart from each other, and the light transmissive portion is located in the third sub-pixel region.
(Claim 7) light emitted by a backlight module of the liquid crystal display device is blue light, a material of the first color conversion portion comprises a red fluorescent material and a red filter material, a material of the second color conversion portion comprises a green fluorescent material and a green filter material, and the light transmissive portion comprises a blue filter material.
(Claim 8) the red fluorescent material comprises red fluorescent powder or a red quantum dot, and the green fluorescent material comprises green fluorescent powder or a green quantum dot.
(Claim 9) light emitted by a backlight module of the liquid crystal display device is blue light, a material of the first color conversion portion comprises a red fluorescent material, a material of the second color conversion portion comprises a green fluorescent material, and the polarizer further comprises a blue light absorption layer, wherein the blue light absorption layer is located on sides of the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion away from the polarization layer.
(Claim 10) the blue light absorption layer comprises a red filter portion and a green filter portion, wherein the red filter portion is located on a side of the first color conversion portion away from the polarization layer, and the green filter portion is located on a side of the second color conversion portion away from the polarization layer.
(Claim 11) a material of the light transmissive portion comprises a blue filter material, and the upper polarizer further comprises a blue filter portion, wherein the blue filter portion is disposed on a same layer as the blue light absorption layer and located on a side of the light transmissive portion away from the polarization layer.
(Claim 12) the light transmissive portion and the blue filter portion are integrally formed.
The motivation is to enable satisfactory contrast ratios associated with display images (Kim (US 2018/0006093), [0005]).
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 2019/0072816) in view of Wang (US 2016/0370624).
Regarding claim 14, Xie teaches a liquid crystal display device (Fig. 1-2 and 3C, [0032-0051]), comprising:
a first substrate (31 in Fig. 3C, [0043]);
a second substrate (32 in Fig. 3C, [0043]) disposed opposite to the first substrate (Fig. 3C);
a liquid crystal layer (33 in Fig. 3C, [0043]) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 3C); and
an upper polarizer (10 in Fig. 3C) disposed on a side of the second substrate (the top side of 32 in Fig. 3C) away from (Fig. 3C) the liquid crystal layer (33 in Fig. 3C, [0047, 0043]), wherein the upper polarizer comprises a polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]), a color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots), a first protective layer (113 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]), and a protective film (14 in Fig. 3C, [0035]), the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) is located on a side of the polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) away from the liquid crystal layer (33 in Fig. 3C, [0043]), the first protective layer is (113 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) located between the polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) and the color conversion layer, (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) the protective film (14 in Fig. 3C, [0035]) is located on a side of the color conversion layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]) away from the polarization layer (112 in Fig. 2 and 3C, [0033]).
Xie teaches that the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) is a color layer, Xie does not teach the upper polarizer comprises a first bonding layer, and the first bonding layer is located between the protective film and the color conversion layer.
Wang teaches that (Fig. 3 and 5, [0062-0069, 0090]) a touch-sensing wires (14/24 in Fig. 3 and 5) is provided between a protective film (11/21 in Fig. 3 and 5) and a color layer (16/26 in Fig. 3 and 5), and a first bonding layer (12/22 in Fig. 3 and 5) is provided and located between the protective film (11/21 in Fig. 3 and 5) and the color layer (16/26 in Fig. 3 and 5).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Wang for the system of Xie such that in the system of Xie, a touch-sensing wires is provided between the protective film and the color conversion layer, the upper polarizer further comprises a first bonding layer, and the first bonding layer is located between the protective film and the color conversion layer. The motivation is to provide a touch display panel with a simple manufacturing process and low manufacturing cost (Wang, [0007]).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2018/0006093).
Regarding claims 15-20, Xie teaches that the liquid crystal display device (Fig. 3C) comprises a plurality of pixel regions (Fig. 3C, [0050]), each of the pixel regions (Fig. 3C, [0050]) comprises a first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0050]), a second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]), and a third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]), the color conversion layer (12 in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037], the color filter layer 12 includes quantum dots) comprises a first color conversion portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), a second color conversion portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), and a third portion (the portion of 12 corresponding to B in Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]) that are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3C), the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion are configured to convert light of different colors (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), the first color conversion portion is located in the first sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), the second color conversion portion is located in the a second sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]), and the third portion is located in the third sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0032, 0037]); the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to R in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a red sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]), the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to G in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a green sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]), and the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to B in Fig. 3C, [0050]) is a blue sub-pixel region (Fig. 3C, [0050]). Xie does not teach the following elements.
Kim (US 2018/0006093) teaches the following elements (Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040-0057, 0079-0100]):
(Claim 15) a color conversion layer (Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a first color conversion portion (330R, or 330R and 230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13), a second color conversion portion (330G, or 330G and 230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13), and a third portion (330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]), the third portion is a light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G, or 330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062], a blue-color layer 330B or transmission layer 330B), and the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G, or 330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) is located in the third sub-pixel region (Fig. 1 and 11-13).
(Claim 16) light emitted by a backlight module (500 in Fig. 12-13, [0080-0081]) of the liquid crystal display device is blue light ([0084]), a material of the first color conversion portion (330R and 230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a red fluorescent material (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and a red filter material (230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13), a material of the second color conversion portion (330G and 230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a green fluorescent material (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and a green filter material (230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13), and the light transmissive portion (330B in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056]) comprises a blue filter material ([0040, 0054, 0056]).
(Claim 17) the red fluorescent material (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises red fluorescent powder or a red quantum dot ([0045-0052]), and the green fluorescent material (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises green fluorescent powder or a green quantum dot ([0045-0052]).
(Claim 18) light emitted by a backlight module (500 in Fig. 12-13, [0080-0081]) of the liquid crystal display device is blue light ([0084]), a material of the first color conversion portion (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a red fluorescent material ([0045-0052]), a material of the second color conversion portion (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a green fluorescent material ([0045-0052]), and the polarizer (Fig. 12 and 13) further comprises a blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 230G, which is inherently capable of absorbing blue light in Fig. 1 and 12-13), wherein the blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 240G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) is located on sides of the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion away from (Fig. 12-13) the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13).
(Claim 19) the blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 230G, which is inherently capable of absorbing blue light in Fig. 1 and 12-13) comprises a red filter portion (230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and a green filter portion (230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13), wherein the red filter portion (230R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) is located on a side of the first color conversion portion (330R in Fig. 1 and 12-13) away from the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13), and the green filter portion (230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) is located on a side of the second color conversion portion (330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13) away from the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13).
(Claim 20) a material of the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) comprises a blue filter material ([0040, 0054, 0056]), and the upper polarizer (Fig. 12-13) further comprises a blue filter portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 230R/230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]), wherein the blue filter portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 230R/230G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) is disposed on a same layer (Fig. 12-13) as the blue light absorption layer (the layer corresponding to 230R and 230G, which is inherently capable of absorbing blue light in Fig. 1 and 12-13) and located on a side of the light transmissive portion (the portions of 330B at the same level of 330R/330G in Fig. 1 and 12-13, [0040, 0054, 0056, 0062]) away from (Fig. 12-13) the polarization layer (22 in Fig. 12-13).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kim (US 2018/0006093) for the system of Xie such that in the system of Xie,
(Claim 15) the third portion is a light transmissive portion; therefore, the color conversion layer comprises the first color conversion portion, the second color conversion portion, and a light transmissive portion that are spaced apart from each other, and the light transmissive portion is located in the third sub-pixel region.
(Claim 16) light emitted by a backlight module of the liquid crystal display device is blue light, a material of the first color conversion portion comprises a red fluorescent material and a red filter material, a material of the second color conversion portion comprises a green fluorescent material and a green filter material, and the light transmissive portion comprises a blue filter material.
(Claim 17) the red fluorescent material comprises red fluorescent powder or a red quantum dot, and the green fluorescent material comprises green fluorescent powder or a green quantum dot.
(Claim 18) light emitted by a backlight module of the liquid crystal display device is blue light, a material of the first color conversion portion comprises a red fluorescent material, a material of the second color conversion portion comprises a green fluorescent material, and the polarizer further comprises a blue light absorption layer, wherein the blue light absorption layer is located on sides of the first color conversion portion and the second color conversion portion away from the polarization layer.
(Claim 19) the blue light absorption layer comprises a red filter portion and a green filter portion, wherein the red filter portion is located on a side of the first color conversion portion away from the polarization layer, and the green filter portion is located on a side of the second color conversion portion away from the polarization layer.
(Claim 20) a material of the light transmissive portion comprises a blue filter material, and the upper polarizer further comprises a blue filter portion, wherein the blue filter portion is disposed on a same layer as the blue light absorption layer and located on a side of the light transmissive portion away from the polarization layer.
The motivation is to enable satisfactory contrast ratios associated with display images (Kim (US 2018/0006093), [0005]).
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871