DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-17 are currently pending. Claims 1-3, 7-10, 12 are withdrawn. Claims 5,6,11 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 4 have been considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that the new limitations are not anticipated by Oorui, wherein the new limitations are:
wherein the pair of rollers include an upper roller configured to contact an electrode of the plurality of electrodes and a lower roller configured to contact the separator to press and seal only both of the ends of the electrode stack,
wherein the mixture of the ceramic material and the binder is located between the electrode
and the separator, and
wherein the upper roller is configured to press the electrode against the mixture and the lower roller is configured to press the separator against the mixture.
Examiner notes that limitations such as “upper roller configured to contact an electrode…, “lower roller configured to contact the separator…”, “the upper roller configured to press the electrode…”, and “the lower roller configured to press the separator…” are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Since Oorui discloses a transfer unit (conveyor belt 161) and a sealing unit comprising a pair of upper and lower rollers (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241 and an anvil 245 which are rotating metal disks [0110-0111]) that are each held by movable holding members 144R and 246R, respectively ([0111]; see Fig 10A,B), Oorui discloses all of the necessary roller structure capable of performing the intended use of contacting an electrode, contacting the separator, pressing the separator, and pressing the electrode, thus the limitations are considered met.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the mixture of the ceramic material and the binder is located between the electrode and the separator”, Examiner notes that the mixture of the ceramic material and the binder is not part of the lamination device, and the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
See rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oorui (US20170305129A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Oorui discloses a lamination device (“ultrasonic bonding device” in abstract) for manufacturing an electrode assembly (“bagged electrode” [0117-0119]; Fig 10A-B), wherein the lamination device comprises (in Fig 10 A,B) :
a transfer unit (conveyor belt 161) configured to transfer an electrode stack [0064], in which a plurality of electrodes (electrode 13) and a separator (separators 40) having a length longer than a width thereof are alternately stacked [0029]; and
a sealing unit (ultrasonic bonding device 200) configured to press and seal both ends of the electrode stack transferred by the transfer unit,
wherein a portion of the sealing unit (ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245) that overlaps each of both ends of the electrode stack is less than a full width of the sealing unit (i.e., the thickness of the disk of the ultrasonic horn 241 is less than a full width of the sealing unit 200)
wherein the portion of the sealing unit is configured to press and seal a portion of the electrode stack (see Fig 10B) that is coated with a coating material that includes a mixture of a ceramic material (i.e., positive electrode active material of the positive electrode including oxides such as LiMn2O4, manganese dioxide [0026]).
Even though the limitations (i.e., “the sealing unit is configured to press and seal…”)were mapped to the prior art, such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device (e.g., “the sealing unit is configured to press and seal…”) is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., a transfer unit, a sealing unit) of the claim that are required to carry out such an operation of the device and thus meets the claim limitation.
While Oorui does not disclose wherein the coating material further includes a binder as claimed, Examiner notes the instant claim is directed to a lamination device and the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
Regarding the limitation “so that the portion of the sealing unit presses the mixture including the ceramic material and the binder”, Examiner notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114-II). Since Oorui discloses all the claimed structural limitations (i.e., transfer unit, a sealing unit) that are required to carry out such an operation of lamination, the claimed limitation is considered met.
Oorui further discloses wherein the sealing unit is constituted by a pair of rollers (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241 and an anvil 245 which are rotating metal disks [0110-0111]; e.g., see Fig 10A) that are each held by holding members 144R and 246R, respectively [0111].
Since the horn 241 and anvil 245 are each individually held by holding members 144 and 246 and are physically separated (thus independent) and spun, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the “pair of rollers are spun independent from each other”, as claimed (note: the term “independent” is interpreted as “not requiring or relying on something else” per Merriam-Webster definition).
Oorui further discloses wherein the pair of rollers press and seal only both of the ends of the electrode stack, respectively (i.e., linear bonding portion 40 i in Fig 10A,B; [0109]). Even though the limitations were mapped to the prior art, Examiner further notes that the manner of operating the device (“press and seal”) does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art, and such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim (MPEP 2114 II). Since Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., sealing unit comprising a pair of rollers, transfer unit) necessary to carry out such an operation of the device, the claim limitation is considered met.
Oorui discloses wherein the pair of rollers include an upper roller (ultrasonic horn 241; [0110-0114]) and a lower roller (anvil 245; [0110-0114]), wherein the upper and lower roller contact the separators to press and seal only both ends of the electrode stack (see Fig A,B; [0110-0114]).
While Oorui does not disclose wherein the “upper roller is configured to contact an electrode of the plurality of electrodes”, such limitation is not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device (e.g., “configured to contact”) is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Since Oorui discloses the upper roller (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241; i.e., rotating disk along the transport path [0110]) held by a movable holding member 144R [0086, 0110], Oorui discloses all the necessary structure capable of performing the claimed function of contacting an electrode, thus the claim limitation is considered met.
Further, while Oorui does not disclose wherein “the mixture of the ceramic material and the binder is located between the electrode and the separator”, the instant claim is directed to a lamination device. The inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
Oorui further does not disclose “wherein the upper roller is configured to press the electrode against the mixture and the lower roller is configured to press the separator against the mixture.” However, such limitation is not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device (e.g., “wherein the upper roller is configured to press … and the lower roller is configured to press …”) is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Since Oorui discloses the upper roller and the lower roller (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245; i.e., rotating disk [0110]) each held by a movable holding members 144 and 246, respectively [0086, 0110], wherein the anvil biases the ultrasonic horn [0111], Oorui discloses all the necessary structure capable of performing the claimed function of “to press the electrode against the mixture” and “to press the separator against the mixture”, thus the claim limitation is considered met.
Regarding claim 13, Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4, wherein the separator is rectangular (see separator 40 in Fig 2,3).
Regarding claim 14, Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4,
wherein the pair of rollers (ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245) are opposing to each other so that the ends of the electrode stack (i.e., linear bonding portion 40 i in Fig 10A,B) are interposed between the pair of rollers,
wherein the portion of the electrode stack is provided as a plurality of sealing parts (i.e., bonding portions 40 h located between separator 13 and the outer edge of the electrode 20 in Fig 3) interposed between the plurality of electrodes and the separator, and
the pair of rollers is configured to form the plurality of sealing parts (see linear bonding portion 40 h in Fig 3 or bonding portion 40 i in Fig 10A,B) so that inner ends of the plurality of sealing parts are aligned.
Even though the limitations were mapped to the prior art, such limitations of operating the device are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 II. Oorui discloses all the claimed structures (i.e., a pair of rollers, a transfer unit, a sealing unit) necessary to operate the device, thus the claimed limitations are considered met. Further, inclusion of the material or article (e.g., electrode stack, electrodes, separator) worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims in accordance to MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 15, Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4, wherein an overlap of each of both ends of the electrode stack and the pair of rollers is in an axial direction (i.e., thickness of the disk of ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245 in Fig 10A,10B) of the pair of rollers.
Regarding claim 16, Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 14, wherein each sealing part is provided at each of both sides of the electrode stack on which an electrode tab (positive electrode terminal 21a or negative electrode terminal 31a; Fig 3; [0025, 0027]) is disposed, as claimed.
Oorui further discloses wherein the sealing part presses and seals both ends of the electrode stack (i.e., bonding portion 40h in Fig 3 or 40i in Fig 10A,B are on both ends of the electrode stack).
Even though the limitations were mapped to the prior art, Examiner further notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art, and such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim (MPEP 2114 II). Since Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., sealing unit with rollers, transfer unit) necessary to carry out such an operation of the device, the claim limitation is considered met. Further, inclusion of the material or article (e.g., electrode tab) worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims in accordance to MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 17, Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4. Regarding the limitation “the pair of rollers are further configured to pass the separator…”, Examiner notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art, and such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim (MPEP 2114 II). Since Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., sealing unit with rollers, transfer unit) necessary to carry out such an operation of the device, the claim limitation is considered met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oorui (US20170305129A1, previously cited) in view of Kim (KR20160028730A, translation attached).
Regarding claim 4, Oorui discloses a lamination device (“ultrasonic bonding device” in abstract) for manufacturing an electrode assembly (“bagged electrode” [0117-0119]; Fig 10A-B).
Oorui discloses wherein the lamination device comprises (in Fig 10 A,B) :
a transfer unit (conveyor belt 161) configured to transfer an electrode stack [0064], in which a plurality of electrodes (electrode 13) and a separator (separators 40) having a length longer than a width thereof are alternately stacked [0029]; and
a sealing unit (ultrasonic bonding device 200) configured to press and seal both ends of the electrode stack transferred by the transfer unit,
wherein a portion of the sealing unit (ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245) that overlaps each of both ends of the electrode stack is less than a full width of the sealing unit (i.e., the thickness of the disk of the ultrasonic horn 241 is less than a full width of the sealing unit 200)
wherein the portion of the sealing unit is configured to press and seal a portion of the electrode stack (see Fig 10B) that is coated with a coating material that includes a mixture of a ceramic material (i.e., positive electrode active material of the positive electrode including oxides such as LiMn2O4, manganese dioxide [0026]).
Even though the limitations (i.e., “the sealing unit is configured to press and seal…”) were mapped to the prior art, such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device (i.e., “the sealing unit is configured to press and seal…”) is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., a transfer unit, a sealing unit discussed above) of the claim that are required to carry out such an operation of the device and thus meets the claim limitation.
While Oorui does not disclose wherein the coating material further includes a binder as claimed, Examiner notes the instant claim is directed to a lamination device and the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
Regarding the limitation “so that the portion of the sealing unit presses the mixture including the ceramic material and the binder”, Examiner notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114-II). Since Oorui discloses all the claimed structural limitations (i.e., transfer unit, a sealing unit) that are required to carry out such an operation of lamination, the claimed limitation is considered met.
Oorui further discloses wherein the sealing unit is constituted by a pair of rollers (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241 and an anvil 245 which are rotating metal disks [0110-0111]; e.g., see Fig 10A) that are each held by holding members 144R and 246R, respectively [0111]. Since the horn 241 and anvil 245 are each individually held by holding members 144 and 246 and are physically separated (thus independent) and spun, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the “pair of rollers are spun independent from each other”, as claimed (note: “independent” is interpreted as “not requiring or relying on something else” per Merriam-Webster definition).
Oorui further discloses wherein the pair of rollers press and seal only both of the ends of the electrode stack, respectively (i.e., in linear bonding portion 40 i in Fig 10A,B; [0109]). Even though the limitations were mapped to the prior art, Examiner further notes that the manner of operating the device (i.e., “press and seal”) does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art, and such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim (MPEP 2114 II). Since Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., sealing unit comprising a pair of rollers, transfer unit) necessary to carry out such an operation of the device, the claim limitation is considered met.
Oorui further discloses wherein the pair of rollers include an upper roller (ultrasonic horn 241; [0110-0114]) and a lower roller (anvil 245; [0110-0114]), wherein the upper and lower roller contact the separators to press and seal only both ends of the electrode stack (see Fig A,B; [0110-0114]).
While Oorui does not disclose wherein the “upper roller is configured to contact an electrode of the plurality of electrodes”, such limitation is not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device (i.e., “configured to contact”) is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Since Oorui discloses an upper roller (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241; i.e., rotating disk [0110]) that is rotatably disposed along the transport path and held by a movable holding member 144R [0086, 0110], Oorui discloses all the structure capable of performing the claimed function of contacting an electrode, thus the claim limitation is considered met.
While Oorui further does not disclose wherein “the mixture of the ceramic material and the binder is located between the electrode and the separator”, Examiner notes that the instant claim is directed to a lamination device and that the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (MPEP 2115).
Oorui further does not disclose “wherein the upper roller is configured to press the electrode against the mixture and the lower roller is configured to press the separator against the mixture”, however, such limitation is not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 (II), where the manner of operating the device (e.g., “wherein the upper roller is configured to press … and the lower roller is configured to press …”) is not considered to further limit the structure of the claimed lamination device. Since Oorui discloses the upper roller and the lower roller (i.e., ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245; i.e., rotating disk [0110]) held by a movable holding members 144 and 246 [0086, 0110], Oorui discloses all the structure capable of performing the claimed function of pressing, thus the claim limitation is considered met.
Alternatively, Kim also teaches a lamination apparatus for making basic unit comprising a first electrode material 121 and second separator material 124 as the uppermost layer and the lowermost layer, respectively (see Fig 1,4). Kim further teaches wherein the separator and the electrode are bonded to each other via an adhesive or an adhesive coating layer comprising inorganic particles and a binder polymer (i.e., the claimed mixture) [0033-0034], wherein the bonding process further involves using laminator (upper and lower laminator; see L1, L2 in Fig 4) for applying pressure or pressure and heat for bonding and better alignment of basic units [0029].
It therefore would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have added the adhesive coating layer (i.e., inorganic particles and binder polymer) of Kim between the separator and the electrode of Oorui, such that the upper roller presses the electrode against the mixture and the lower roller presses the separator against the mixture with a reasonable expectation to improve the alignment of the electrode, further allowing easy packaging [Kim 0029].
Regarding claim 13, modified Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4, wherein the separator is rectangular (see separator 40 in Fig 2,3).
Regarding claim 14, modified Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4,
wherein the pair of rollers (ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245) are opposing to each other so that the ends of the electrode stack (i.e., linear bonding portion 40 i in Fig 10A,B) are interposed between the pair of rollers,
wherein the portion of the electrode stack is provided as a plurality of sealing parts (i.e., bonding portions 40 h located between separator 13 and the outer edge of the electrode 20 in Fig 3) interposed between the plurality of electrodes and the separator, and
the pair of rollers is configured to form the plurality of sealing parts (see linear bonding portion 40 h in Fig 3 or bonding portion 40 i in Fig 10A,B) so that inner ends of the plurality of sealing parts are aligned.
Even though the limitations were mapped to the prior art, such limitations of operating the device are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim in accordance to MPEP 2114 II. Oorui discloses all the claimed structures (i.e., a pair of rollers, a transfer unit, a sealing unit) necessary to operate the device, thus the claimed limitations are considered met. Further, inclusion of the material or article (e.g., electrode stack, electrodes, separator) worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims in accordance to MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 15, modified Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4, wherein an overlap of each of both ends of the electrode stack and the pair of rollers is in an axial direction (i.e., thickness of the disk of ultrasonic horn 241 and anvil 245 in Fig 10A,10B) of the pair of rollers.
Regarding claim 16, modified Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 14, wherein each sealing part is provided at each of both sides of the electrode stack on which an electrode tab (positive electrode terminal 21a or negative electrode terminal 31a; Fig 3; [0025, 0027]) is disposed, as claimed.
Oorui further discloses wherein the sealing part presses and seals both ends of the electrode stack (i.e., bonding portion 40h in Fig 3 or 40i in Fig 10A,B are on both ends of the electrode stack). Even though the limitations were mapped to the prior art, Examiner further notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art, and such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim (MPEP 2114 II). Since Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., sealing unit with rollers, transfer unit) necessary to carry out such an operation of the device, the claim limitation is considered met. Further, inclusion of the material or article (e.g., electrode tab) worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims in accordance to MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 17, modified Oorui discloses the lamination device of claim 4. Regarding the limitation “the pair of rollers are further configured to pass the separator…”, Examiner notes that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate this apparatus claim from the prior art, and such limitations are not considered to further limit the structure of the claim (MPEP 2114 II). Since Oorui discloses all the structural limitations (i.e., sealing unit with rollers, transfer unit) necessary to carry out such an operation of the device, the claim limitation is considered met.
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/21/2026