DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 13-14 in the reply filed on 9/1/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/1/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 13-14 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims 2-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 recites “the battery includes a connection part arranged at a face of the motor opposite to the output shaft in a state in which the battery is mounted on the placement member” in lines 15-16. It is unclear how the connection part can be arranged at a face of the motor if the connection part is included on the battery, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For compact prosecution purposes, this limitation will be interpreted to mean “the battery includes a connection part arranged on a face of the battery that is coplanar with a face of the motor opposite to the output shaft in a state in which the battery is mounted on the placement member”, in light of Figs. 2 and 3 of the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H08250089 to Saitama Nippon Denki (cited by Applicant, hereinafter “SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK”) in view of JP 63207049 to Matsushita Electric Works LTD. (cited by Applicant, hereinafter “MATSUSHITA”) further in view of US2012/0067608 to Heinzelmann et al. (hereinafter “HEINZELMANN”).
1: SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK Figures 1-4
Regarding claim 1, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK discloses an electric power unit [Abstract, “electronic equipment main unit and a battery unit”] comprising: a placement member, or lock structure, provided at an upper part of an electrical component, or main unit (1), [Figs. 1-4, Abstract, “lock structure between an electronic equipment main unit and a battery unit”]; and a battery, or battery unit (2), which is provided to be attachable and detachable relative to the placement member and drives the electrical component [Figs. 1-4, Abstract, “battery unit 2 can be removed”].
SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK is silent with respect to a connection member which extends from the electrical component to the battery and is capable of electrically connecting the electrical component and the battery.
MATSUSHITA discloses an electric power unit [Abstract, “attachment/detachment of a cell] with a locking mechanism, or lock piece (10) [Fig. 7a], and a connection member which extends from the electrical component, or case (3), to the battery, or cell pack (4), [Abstract, “ output terminals 7a and 7b connected to pack 4 are provided in the opening 32 so as to ease attachment/detachment of the pack 4 to/from case 3”] and is capable of electrically connecting the electrical component and the battery [Abstract].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK to comprise a connection member which extends from the electrical component to the battery and is capable of electrically connecting the electrical component and the battery. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate electrical connection between the device and battery as taught by MATSUSHITA.
SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK does not disclose wherein the electrical component includes a motor including an output shaft and a PDU that controls to distribute electric power from the battery to the motor,
the motor and the PDU are provided below the battery,
the PDU is provided on a lateral side of the motor,
the connection member is a harness including a connection terminal that introduces the electric power from the battery to the PDU,
the harness is provided on a side of the motor opposite to the output shaft, and extends toward the battery on the placement member through a front side of the PDU, and
the battery includes a connection part arranged at a face of the battery that is coplanar with a face of the motor opposite to the output shaft in a state in which the battery is mounted on the placement member, such that the connection terminal is connectable to the connection part in a state in which the battery is mounted on the placement member.
HEINZELMANN discloses an electric power unit, or power supply unit, for a handheld work apparatus [Abstract] having a motor and a PDU, or electronic controller, that controls to distribute electric power from the battery to the motor [0010, “The electrical components include preferably at least one electronic controller … The electronic controller provides for optimal operation of the electric motor”]. HEINZELMANN also teaches that the motor includes an output shaft, or motor shaft, [fixed on the motor shaft of the drive motor”]. HEINZELMANN also teaches a connection member, or electrical lines, with a connection terminal, or contact element (18), that introduces electric power from the battery to the PDU (included in electrical components) [0006, “The handheld work apparatus of the invention includes … a plurality of contact elements arranged on the system carrier and being configured to contact the battery pack; and, the electrical lines being configured to interconnect the electrical components and connect the same with the contact elements”]. The electric lines are bundled into a harness, [0035, “The electrical lines 20 are preferably combined to form a cable harness”] and the battery includes a connection part, or electrical connections, such that the connection terminal/contact elements are connectable to the connection part. [0032, “contact elements 18 which, in the inserted state of the battery pack 11 shown in FIG. 2, contact electrical connections arranged on the battery pack 11”]. HEINZELMANN teaches that when the battery is in a state of being mounted, or inserted, on the placement member, or battery compartment (6), the connection part (HEINZELMANN’S “electrical connections”) is connectable to the connection terminal (HEINZELMANN’S “contact elements”) [0032, “contact elements 18 which, in the inserted state of the battery pack 11 shown in FIG. 2, contact electrical connections arranged on the battery pack 11”].
HEINZELMANN discloses that a connection member in the form of a harness simplifies assembly of the apparatus [0011]. HEINZELMANN also discloses that the PDU, or controller, provides for optimal motor operation by being able to consider several parameters [0010].
HEINZELMANN does not specifically disclose that the motor and PDU are provided below the battery, the PDU provided on the lateral side of the motor, the harness provided on a side of the motor opposite to the output shaft, and extending toward the battery on the placement member through a front side of the PDU, or the connection part arranged at a face of the battery that is coplanar with a face of the motor opposite to the output shaft in a state in which the battery is mounted on the placement member. However, If the orientation position of Fig. 6 is rotated 90° clockwise, the motor and PDU would be provided below the battery, and the PDU would be provided on the lateral side of the motor.
2: HEINZELMANN Fig. 6, rotated and annotated by Examiner
HEINZELMANN does not specifically disclose where or on what face the output shaft is arranged. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Here, rotating the orientation of the electric power unit would have been obvious and does not change the operation of the unit in a substantial way. Furthermore, arranging the harness and connection part on a face of the motor and battery, respectively, that is on a plane opposite the plane on which a face of the motor comprising the output shaft is, would be within the ability of a person having ordinary skill in the art, since the arrangement of those elements does not yield any new or unexpected results.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the electronic power unit taught by SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK to comprise the claimed structure wherein the electrical component includes a motor with an output shaft and a PDU that controls to distribute electric power from the battery to the motor, the connection member is a harness including a connection terminal that introduces the electric power from the battery to the PDU, and the battery includes a connection part that is connectable to the connection terminal. The motivation for doing so would have been to configure the electric power unit for a handheld work apparatus, as in HEINZELMANN, such that the battery within the electric power unit can be easily electrically coupled to the electrical components by simplifying the assembly and to optimize the operation of the motor, as taught by HEINZELMANN.
Further regarding claim 2, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK further discloses the battery has an engaged part [Figs. 1-4, Abstract, such as engagement hole 21 of battery unit 2], and wherein the placement member has an engaging member which engages with the engaged part to fix the battery on the placement member [Fig. 1-4, such as moveable lock part 31, lock member 3, engaging claw 32].
Further regarding claim 3, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK further discloses the engaging member has a pressing part which can apply a load towards the placement member on the battery [Figs. 1-4, Abstract, lock member having moveable lock part 31, lock member 3, engaging claw 32], in an engaged state with the battery, and wherein an elastic member [portion of moveable lock part 31 of lock member] is disposed between the placement member and the battery [Abstract, “a lock movable part 31 of the lock member 3, fixedly fitted to an engaging hole of the main unit 1, is distorted by elasticity, and a tapered protrusive part 31a and a lock inserting recessed part 21 are engaged to be locked, to fix the battery unit 2"].
Further regarding claim 4, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK further discloses the engaging member [lock member 3] has a movable part which is mounted to the placement member [lock movable part 31a], and the pressing part [including claws 32] is provided continuously to the movable part, and wherein the engaged part is disposed on a top face of the battery [as shown by Figures 1-4].
Further regarding claim 5, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK is silent with respect to the movable part is swingably mounted to the placement member, and wherein the placement member has a resistance member which causes resistance during swinging of the movable part.
MATSUSHITA discloses a lock piece 10 is slidably provided and protrudes from the surface of the case body 31 toward the vicinity of the lower end of the hanging tool 33, and the lock piece 10 is biased outward. A spring 11 is interposed between the lock piece 10 and the inner wall 36 of the main body 31. Due to the bias of the spring 11, the lock piece 10 is normally positioned so as to close the opening 12 formed between the lower end of the hanging tool 33 and the case body 1. MATSUSHITA accordingly discloses a battery mounting structure having a movable part (tool main body having lock piece 10), wherein the movable part is swingably mounted to the placement member (lock piece 10 is swingable mounted because it slides to engage the battery), and wherein the placement member has a resistance member which causes resistance during swinging of the movable part (spring of MATSUSHITA is a resistance member as claimed and provides resistance to the sliding lock piece while it slides).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK’s moveable part to be swingably mounted to the placement member, and wherein the placement member has a resistance member which causes resistance during swinging of the movable part. The motivation for doing so would be to facilitate engagement of the lock portion with the engagement portion of the battery and to provide a resistance to inhibit disconnection of the battery from the connection mechanism as taught by MATSUSHITA.
Further regarding claim 13, modified SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK further discloses the electric power unit according to claim 2, wherein the engaged part is provided from a lateral face toward atop face of the battery in a front view while the engaged part is engaged with the engaging member [Fig. 1-4, Abstract, lock member having moveable lock part 31, lock member 3, engaging claw 32].
Further regarding claim 14, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK is silent with respect to a placement member includes a harness drawing part from which the harness is drawn, and the harness drawing part is arranged at a position biased to a side where the PDU is located in a front view relative to the PDU, at the front side of the PDU.
HEINZELMANN discloses a harness drawing part, or recess, included in the placement member, or system carrier (5) [0011, “Furthermore, it is advantageous that the electrical lines are bundled to form a cable harness which is at least partially arranged in recesses in the system carrier”]. Heinzelmann does not specifically teach that the harness drawing part is arranged at a position biased to a side where the PDU is located in a front view relative to the PDU, at the front side of the PDU. However, using the same orientation of Fig. 6 as in the rejection for instant claim 1, the harness drawing part is arranged at a front side of the PDU.
3: HEINZELMANN Fig. 6, rotated and annotated by Examiner
The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Here, rotating the orientation of the electric power unit would have been obvious and does not change the operation of the unit in a substantial way.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK such that placement member includes a harness drawing part from which the harness is drawn, and the harness drawing part is arranged at a position biased to a side where the PDU is located in a front view relative to the PDU, at the front side of the PDU as taught by HEINZELMANN. The motivation for doing so would be to facilitate connection of the PDU and motor by assisting wiring placement and direction of the harness.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK in view of MATSUSHITA further in view of HEINZELMANN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP H0636207 to OKI Electric Industry Co., LTD. (cited by Applicant, hereinafter "OKI ELECTRIC").
Regarding claim 6, SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK further discloses the placement member has a retaining part which retains the battery [Abstract, locked portion comprising of stop part 12 and stopped part 22].
SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK is silent with respect to the retaining part is provided to be capable of attaching and detaching to the placement member.
OKI ELECTRIC discloses a battery mounting structure and detachment mechanism for a battery pack, wherein tabs 10a and 10b are inserted into or removed from recessed portions 11 provided to a battery pack 5 so to retain or release battery pack 5 [Fig. 1, Abstract].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have modified SAITAMA NIPPON DENKI KK to comprise a detachable battery connection configuration, as taught by OKI ELECTRIC, resulting in the claimed structure where the retaining part is provided to be capable of attaching and detaching to the placement member. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate connection of the battery to the main unit structure and permit easy replacement of the retaining part.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Applicant’s argument states that “the connection terminal 18 at the tip of the harness (the electrical lines 20) of HEINZELMANN is not connectable to the battery pack in a state of being disposed in the battery chamber 6” [Remarks, page 6]. However, as stated in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, HEINZELMANN teaches that when the battery is in a state of being mounted, or inserted, on the placement member, or battery compartment (6), the connection part (HEINZELMANN’S “electrical connections”) is connectable to the connection terminal (HEINZELMANN’S “contact elements”) [0032, “contact elements 18 which, in the inserted state of the battery pack 11 shown in FIG. 2, contact electrical connections arranged on the battery pack 11”]. It is unclear how the inserted state of HEINZELMANN is different from the “state of being mounted” as recited in instant claim 1. Furthermore, it is unclear how the connection terminal of HEINZELMANN is not connectable to the connection part of HEINZELMANN, since HEINZELMANN teaches that they are contacting when the battery is inserted [0032]. If Applicant’s argument is regarding when the connection of the connection terminal and connection part occurs, or the terminals for electrical connection with the battery not being “fixedly disposed”, it is noted that these features are not recited in the rejected claim. Therefore, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729