DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 16, 29, 30, and 32 have been amended.
Claim 33 has been newly added.
Claims 25 and 31 have been previously cancelled.
Claims 1-24, 26-30, and 32-33 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-24, 28-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. (US20200245373A1), hereafter Xiong.
Regarding claims 1 and 29,
Xiong discloses a base station (Fig. 1, 3; AN 110) comprising a processor (Fig. 1, processing circuitry 120), memory and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Fig. 8; paragraph 127-131) to cause a method comprising transmitting an indication of configuration information (higher layer/RRC signaling from AN to UE) for a random access message of a random access procedure (Fig. 3).
Xiong further shows mapping, based at least in part on the configuration information, at least some of the aggregated set of preamble sequences to the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions in accordance with a mapping of a first group of preamble occasions associated with the aggregated set of preambles to a second group of PUSCH occasions associated with the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions (Fig. 3, 4A-C, 5A-C; paragraph 53-54, 63-69, 94-95; one-to-many associations or mappings between PRACH and MsgA PUSCH and correspondence to DMRS as a function of PRACH preamble index), wherein a quantity of the second group PUSCH occasions is based at least in part on a quantity of payload configurations of the random access message for the one or more PUSCH occasions (paragraph 98-100; determining number of PRACH/payload occasions, PUSCH occasions and total number of DMRS APs for one PUSCH occasion, equally dividing by the number of preamble sequences, including new parameters in higher layer signaling/RRC indicated how many PRACH occasions are associated with PUSCH occasions).
Xiong further shows transmitting, to a user equipment, an indication of the mapping rule between the preamble sequences and the DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions for the payloads of the random access message (paragraph 95-101; when more than one PRACH occasion associated with PUSCH occasion, groups of PRACH preamble indexes are associated/mapped with subset of DMRS for PUSCH transmission, explicitly configured by higher layers via dedicated RRC).
Regarding claims 16 and 30,
Xiong discloses a User Equipment (Fig. 1, 3; UE 105) comprising a processor (Fig. 1, processing circuitry 120), memory and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Fig. 8; paragraph 127-131) to cause a method comprising receiving, from a base station (Fig. 1, 3; AN 110) an indication (via higher layer dedicated RRC signaling) of a mapping of an aggregated set of preamble sequences to an aggregated set of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasions for a random access message of a random access procedure (Fig. 3), the mapping in accordance with a mapping of a first group of preamble occasions associated with the aggregated set of preambles to a second group of PUSCH occasions associated with the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions (Fig. 3, 4A-C, 5A-C; paragraph 53-54, 63-69, 94-101; one-to-many associations or mappings between PRACH and MsgA PUSCH and correspondence to DMRS as a function of PRACH preamble index; when more than one PRACH occasion associated with PUSCH occasion, groups of PRACH preamble indexes are associated/mapped with subset of DMRS for PUSCH transmission, explicitly configured by higher layers via dedicated RRC signaling), wherein a quantity of the second group PUSCH occasions is based at least in part on a quantity of payload configurations of the random access message for the one or more PUSCH occasions (paragraph 98-100; determining number of PRACH/payload occasions, PUSCH occasions and total number of DMRS APs for one PUSCH occasion, equally dividing by the number of preamble sequences, including new parameters in higher layer signaling/RRC indicated how many PRACH occasions are associated with PUSCH occasions).
Xiong further shows transmitting in accordance with the mapping, at least one preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences in a preamble occasion of the first group of preamble occasions and at least one DMRS sequence of the aggregated set of DMRS sequences in a PUSCH occasion of the second group of PUSCH occasions (Fig. 3, step 305 MsgA: PRACH + PUSCH based on signaled mapping).
Regarding claim 2,
Xiong discloses mapping the aggregated set of preamble sequences and the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions comprises selecting a preamble sequence from the aggregated set of preamble sequences and a DMRS sequence and a PUSCH occasion from the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions, wherein a payload portion of the random access message is mapped to the PUSCH occasion and the DMRS sequence is used for demodulating the payload portion of the random access message (paragraph 95-98; more than one DMRS used/defined for the MsgA PUSCH transmission, defined as a function of PRACH preamble or occasion indexes).
Regarding claims 3-6 and 20-22,
Xiong discloses wherein the first group of preamble occasions is in accordance with a first quantity of preamble sequences for the one or more preamble occasions and mapping the aggregated set of preamble sequences and the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions comprises mapping each/plurality of preamble sequences of the aggregated set of preamble sequences to a respective DMRS sequence and PUSCH occasion of the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions (paragraph 98-100; determining number of PRACH occasions, PUSCH occasions and total number of DMRS APs for one PUSCH occasion, equally dividing by the number of preamble sequences, including new parameters in higher layer signaling/RRC indicated how many PRACH occasions are associated with PUSCH occasions).
Regarding claims 7 and 23,
Xiong discloses applying a first mapping for a first preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences and a second mapping for a second preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences within a mapping period of the random access message, the first mapping and the second mapping being different (paragraphs 103-107, Table 1 and 2; options 1 and 2 define different mapping rules for different preamble sequences).
Regarding claim 8,
Xiong discloses the mapping period of the random access message is associated with the two-step random access procedure (Title; throughout disclosure) and a SSB to PRACH occasion association pattern period (paragraph 67, 79-80, 115).
Regarding claims 9 and 24,
Xiong discloses ordering preamble sequences for the first group of preamble occasions based at least in part on preamble sequence identifiers; and ordering DMRS sequences for the second group of PUSCH occasions based at least in part on DMRS sequence identifiers and random access payload identifiers (paragraphs 106-107, Tables 1 and 2, options 1 and 2 define ordering of preamble identifiers to DMRS identifiers and corresponding PUSCH occasions).
Regarding claim 10,
Xiong discloses the indication of the mapping is indicated via a system information block or a radio resource control message (paragraphs 63, 80, 101-104, 114, 134, 148).
Regarding claim 12,
Xiong discloses resource sizes of a preamble occasion for at least one preamble sequence of the random access message and resource sizes for at least one DMRS sequence and at least one PUSCH occasion of the random access message are based at least in part on the configuration information (paragraphs 103-107; configured by higher layers/RRC signaling).
Regarding claims 13 and 28,
Xiong discloses a payload of the random access message corresponding to the second group of PUSCH occasions comprise a DMRS sequence and a PUSCH symbol (paragraphs 27, 32, 114).
Regarding claim 14,
Xiong where the indication comprises an indication of the configuration information for the random access message of the random access procedure (via higher layer/RRC signaling; paragraphs 63, 80, 101-104, 114, 134).
Regarding claims 15 and 18,
Xiong discloses receiving the configuration information for the random access message from a network device, the configuration information being based at least in part on a cell deployment, a duplexing mode, or a potential radio resource control state of the user equipment, or any combination thereof, wherein identifying the configuration information is based at least in part on receiving the configuration information (i.e. via higher layer/RRC signaling; paragraphs 23, 63, 80, 101-104, 114, 134).
Regarding claim 17,
Xiong discloses configuration information for the random access message is associated with the aggregated set of preamble sequences and the aggregated set of DMRS sequences and PUSCH occasions of the random access message, wherein the mapping of the first group of preamble occasions to the second group of PUSCH occasions is based at least in part on the configuration information (Fig. 3, 4A-C, 5A-C; paragraph 53-54, 63-69, 94-95; one-to-many associations or mappings between PRACH and MsgA PUSCH and correspondence to DMRS as a function of PRACH preamble index).
Regarding claim 19,
Xiong discloses accessing stored mapping configuration information comprising the mapping in memory of the user equipment based at least in part on the indication of the mapping (Fig. 2, memory 204G; Fig. 8, memory 820; paragraph 41, 66, 169).
Regarding claim 32,
Xiong discloses a respective random access preamble and respective random access channel resources associated with a transmission of a respective random access preamble and wherein both the respective random access preamble and the respective resources are associated with the two-step and four-step procedure (Fig. 14-15; paragraphs 166-178; selecting RA preamble sequences from a particular set of preambles, including fallback from two- to four-step using the same preamble over respective resources, conveyed through configuration information/higher layer signaling).
To the extent that the combination of Xiong and Li do not expressly disclose a respective random access preamble and respective random access channel resources associated with a transmission of a respective random access preamble and wherein both the respective random access preamble and the respective resources are associated with the two-step and four-step procedure, further prior art to Wang discloses Random Access Method and Apparatus (Title) including a respective random access preamble and respective random access channel resources associated with a transmission of a respective random access preamble and wherein both the respective random access preamble and the respective resources are associated with the two-step and four-step procedure (paragraph 17; network configuring a respective preamble and a respective PRACH resource for the two-step and four-step procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Xiong and Li by configuring a respective random access preamble and respective random access channel resources associated with a transmission of a respective random access preamble and wherein both the respective random access preamble and the respective resources are associated with the two-step and four-step procedure, as shown by Wang, thereby determining the format of RAR according to whether MSG3 is received so as to send MSG2 to the terminal correctly and enable the random access procedure to be performed correctly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Lin et al. (US20190297577A1), hereafter Lin.
Regarding claims 11, 26, and 27,
Xiong discloses mapping based at least in part on a first size of the first group of preamble occasions, a second size of the second group of PUSCH occasions (paragraphs 106-107 mapping based on total number of PRACH/PUSCH/DMRS occasions), a type of the random access procedure (i.e. two-step), a traffic load for the base station, or any combination thereof and applied to at least one preamble sequence and the at least one DMRS sequence and PUSCH occasion for the payload of the random access message is based at least in part on a first or second/different type of random access procedure for a first preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences (paragraphs 106-107, options 1 and 2) but does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication for a mapping adaptation.
Lin discloses analogous art pertaining to power saving in NR (Title) and DMRS/preamble mapping in random access procedure (i.e. paragraphs 125-134) including transmitting an indication for a mapping rule adaptation to the user equipment (paragraphs 592-603; DMRS-based power saving signal triggers dynamic adaptation in UE mapping between candidate sequence and adaptation option).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Xiong by transmitting an indication for a mapping rule adaptation to the user equipment, as shown by Lin, thereby enabling efficient power saving and dynamic adaptation for the UE in mapping RACH resources.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US20200245373A1), hereafter Xiong, in view of Li et al. (US20190075598A1), hereafter Li, and further in view of Wang (US20210176781A1).
Regarding claim 33,
Xiong discloses both two-step and four-step RA procedures (paragraph 5, 20, 51-52) but does not expressly disclose both the at least one preamble occasion comprising random access channel resources of the first group of preamble occasions as well as at least one preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences are the same for both a two-step and a four-step RA procedure.
Li discloses an analogous method and apparatus for random access in a wireless communication system (Title) including both the at least one preamble occasion comprising random access channel resources of the first group of preamble occasions as well as at least one preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences are the same for both a two-step and a four-step RA procedure (Fig. 10B; paragraph 78, 134; both a common/shared set of PRACH preamble sequences as well as common/shared resource configuration provided for both 2-step and 4-step RA, where the type of RA may be identified based on whether or not a message following the preamble is detected, as opposed to identifying the type of RA based on a resource used for transmitted the preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Xiong by providing both at least one preamble occasion comprising random access channel resources of the first group of preamble occasions as well as at least one preamble sequence of the aggregated set of preamble sequences are the same for both a two-step and a four-step RA procedure, as shown by Li, thereby accommodating both UEs capable of performing both two-step and four-step RA with common/shared set of preambles and resources.
The combination of Xiong and Li at least suggests both preamble occasion and preamble sequence associated with two-step and four-step procedures in accordance with the configuration information indicating whether the aggregated set of preamble sequences and one or more preamble occasions are shared for at least one of the two-step or four-step procedure (Fig. 14-15; paragraphs 166-178; selecting preamble from a particular set of shared preambles as well as shared RA time-frequency resources (i.e. PUSCH), including fallback from two- to four-step, conveyed through configuration information/higher layer signaling).
To the extent that the combination of Xiong and Li do not expressly disclose both preamble occasion and preamble sequence associated with two-step and four-step procedures in accordance with the configuration information indicating that the aggregated set of preamble sequences and one or more preamble occasions are shared for at least one of the two-step or four-step procedure, further prior art to Wang discloses Random Access Method and Apparatus (Title) including both preamble occasion and preamble sequence associated with two-step and four-step procedures in accordance with the configuration information indicating whether the aggregated set of preamble sequences and one or more preamble occasions are shared for at least one of the two-step or four-step procedure (paragraph 17; network configuring a shared preamble and a shared PRACH resource for the two-step and four-step procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Xiong and Li by configuring both preamble occasion and preamble sequence associated with two-step and four-step procedures in accordance with the configuration information indicating whether the aggregated set of preamble sequences and one or more preamble occasions are shared for at least one of the two-step or four-step procedure, as shown by Wang, thereby determining the format of RAR according to whether MSG3 is received so as to send MSG2 to the terminal correctly and enable the random access procedure to be performed correctly.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 12-14 of the Amendment, Applicant characterizes various cited disclosures of Xiong as failing to show the second group of PUSCH occasions in accordance with a second quantity of payload configurations of the random access message.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is initially noted that the present amendments considerably broaden the claims by deleting all language related to two-step/four-step procedures and sharing aggregated preamble sequences and preamble occasions for the two-step and four-step procedures. Further, as noted in the rejection, primary reference to Xiong discloses scenarios in paragraphs 89-100 of various examples of determining a number of PRACH occasions, a number of PUSCH occasions and a total number of DMRS APs for one PUSCH occasion, equally dividing by the number of preamble sequences, and including new parameters in higher layer signaling/RRC indicating how many PRACH occasions are associated with PUSCH occasions, thereby meeting the contested claim language given a broadest reasonable interpretation without reading limitations in from the Specification. For example, the “first group” and “second group” as well as the “first quantity” (of preamble sequences) and “second quantity” (of payload configurations) could all be reasonably construed as one or more. Further, Xiong shows consideration of “payload size” of MsgA corresponding with PUSCH resource selection (paragraphs 89, 93) as well as predefined or higher layer configuration of preamble index mapping scenarios including multiple preamble indices and multiple PRACH occasions (paragraphs 97-100). in accordance with configuration information. Therefore, the rejections based on Xiong are proper given a broadest reasonable interpretation of the express claim language without improperly reading limitations in from the instant disclosure/specification.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477