DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 26, 27, 29, 30, 31, 34, 35, 40, 46 of 6/24/2025 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, para. 4, filed 6/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 26 under USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kucharski.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, para. 3-4, filed 11/17/2025, with respect to claim 46 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The USC 112 rejection of 9/11/2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-34, 37, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truckai (US 20180184892 A1) in view of Kucharski (US-20170035277-A1) and Ouyang (US 20160367119 A1).
Regarding Claim 26, Truckai teaches an endoscopic system, comprising:
a re-usable portion comprising a display (fig. 1, element 122; [0031]);
and a disposable portion configured to be attached to the re-usable portion ([0007 teaches that the assembly may be disposable]), the disposable portion comprising
a housing (fig. 1, element 106) configured to be attached to the re-usable portion ([0031]) and providing
a connection hub (fig. 1, element 106)
a cannula having a proximal end (fig. 1, element 112) attached to the housing through the connection hub ([0031], fig. 1, element 148 is a tool channel, which is in fluid communication with the lumen of the cannula and disposed through the entire handle portion 106),
the cannula having a lumen (fig. 1, element 145) that extends from the proximal end of the cannula to a distal end of the cannula, wherein the cannula is configured to be inserted into a body cavity ([0034]),
an imaging system (fig. 1, element 112) arranged at the distal end of the cannula ([0031]),
the imaging system comprising a camera (fig. 1, element 120),
and one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (fig. 2, element 155) configured to provide light for the camera,
and a flexible printed circuit (FPC) (fig. 3, 4, element 158) that extends within the lumen (fig. 3, 4 element 160) of the cannula and electrically connects the camera and the LEDs to electrical components of the housing ([0036] discloses a flex circuit that runs through the channel 160),
wherein the disposable portion further comprises a connection port (fig. 1, element 123) that electrically connects the electrical components of the housing to electrical components of the re-usable portion when the disposable portion is attached to the re-usable portion so that one or more still images and/or one or more videos captured by the camera can be transmitted to the display ([0031]),
Wherein the connection hub includes a camera actuator (fig. 1, element 136, [0053], fig. 9, element 626a/b, 628, 640, 645 are all actuators) configured to control an operation of the camera.
Truckai does not explicitly teach a device wherein the lumen is a single lumen that is configured to allow passage of a fluid, a working tool, and an electronic cable;
the connection port is positioned within the housing, exposed at an exterior surface of the housing for connection to the display of the re-usable portion, and positioned distally to a proximal end of the housing such that the display is connectable to the housing at a position that is distal to the proximal end of the housing.
However, Kucharski teaches wherein the lumen is a single lumen (fig. 2c, element 21, [0067], outer cover 21 comprises an inner surface that is a singular lumen) that is configured to allow passage of a fluid (fig. 2c, element 24, [0067], flushing channel 24), a working tool (fig. 2c, element 23, [0067], working channel 23), and an electronic cable (fig. 2c, element 22, [0067], camera 22, which would require electrical connections, fig. 3 shows the channels are separated from the singular outer lumen);
However, Ouyang teaches a device wherein the connection port (fig. 2/3, element 252, [0047-48], connector 252 removably mounts the display module 150 to the handle portion 140) is positioned within the housing, exposed at an exterior surface of the housing for connection to the display of the re-usable portion, and positioned distally to a proximal end of the housing such that the display is connectable to the housing at a position that is distal to the proximal end of the housing (fig. 2/3, element 252, connector 252 is distal to the proximal end of the endoscope).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Truckai to include an outer cover layer as taught in Kucharski in order to protect and sterilize the insertion portion (Kucharski [0071]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Truckai to include an electrical connection distal to the proximal end as taught in Ouyang in order to maintain sterility of the reusable portion (Ouyang [0048]).
Regarding Claim 27, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the housing includes a fluid port (fig. 1, element 140; fig. 2, 162) for receiving the fluid ([0037]),
and a tool opening (fig. 1, element 146) for receiving the working tool ([0034]),
wherein the fluid port is separate from the tool opening (fig. 1 shows these two elements as being separate and distinct).
Regarding Claim 28, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the electrical components of the housing includes a camera actuator configured to actuate the camera through the FPC ([0032] discloses a means by which an operator can orient the camera).
Regarding Claim 29, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the cannula defines a proximal opening (fig. 1, element 146)
and a distal opening (fig. 3, element 188),
the proximal and the distal openings being configured to allow the working tool to enter the single lumen via the proximal opening and exit the single lumen via the distal opening ([0039]).
Further, Kucharski teaches the shaft defining the single lumen of the cannula (fig. 2c, element 21).
Regarding Claim 30, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the FPC is shaped to conform with an inner surface of the single lumen ([0036] discloses that the flex circuit conforms to the curves of passageway 160).
Further, Kucharski teaches the shaft defining the single lumen of the cannula (fig. 2c, element 21).
Regarding Claim 31, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the FPC is positioned within an upper third portion of the single lumen (per fig. 4a, the fpc is sequestered into channel 160, which may be defined as the upper third by orienting the page such that Arabic numerals are upright).
Further, Kucharski teaches the shaft defining the single lumen of the cannula (fig. 2c, element 21).
Regarding Claim 32, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises a tip element (fig. 4a/b, element 121) that holds the camera and the one or more LEDs at the distal end of the cannula ([0038]),
the tip element being configured to:
allow a sensor of the camera to sense reflected LED lights ([0038] states the tip is transparent, allowing light to pass through to the imager),
and block other light from entering the sensor of the camera (fig. 2 shows that the LEDs are placed adjacent and parallel to the imager, preventing detection of illumination light. Further, distal portion 115 houses the imager so as to block light sources incident from side angles).
Regarding Claim 33, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 32,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the tip element includes a partitioning wall (fig. 3, element 115 abuts the imager 120) that separates the camera from the one or more LEDs, the partitioning wall extending from a lens of the camera to a proximal end of the camera where the camera connects to the FPC.
Regarding Claim 34, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 32,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the tip element forms at least a portion of a tool channel configured to guide the working tool to exit the single lumen (fig. 4a/b, element 180, 188),
the tool channel having a curved inner surface that projects outward towards the camera ([0039] discloses the curved working channel).
Further, Kucharski teaches the shaft defining the single lumen of the cannula (fig. 2c, element 21).
Regarding Claim 37, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises:
a tip element (fig. 4a/b, element 121) that holds the camera at the distal end of the cannula,
the tip element being in contact with the FPC through a ramp-shaped element configured to protect electrical contacts of the camera to the FPC from potential impacts caused by the working tool passing through the cannula towards the distal end of the cannula (fig. 3 shows the ramp section 188 in contact with channel 160).
Regarding Claim 40, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 37,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the ramp-shaped element comprises a molded element (fig. 4a/b, element 188) that is positioned between the tip element and a distal end of a shaft of the cannula,
Further, Kucharski teaches the shaft defining the single lumen of the cannula (fig. 2c, element 21).
Regarding claim 46, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches The system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the connection hub includes two push buttons located 180 degrees apart with respect to the connection hub such that the two push buttons are respectively disposed on two opposite lateral sides of the connection hub, and wherein the two push buttons are configured to control capture of the one or more still images and/or the one or more videos by the camera (fig. 9, element 626a/b, 645a/b are two pairs of opposite buttons in function and arrangement disposed on opposite sides of the lateral plane, using first actuator 625 as a center point for a line of symmetry [0053]. The connection hub, whose shell is shaped symmetrically, have the buttons disposed on either side of it with a 180 degree difference).
Claim(s) 35, 36, 38, 39, 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang as applied to claim 26 in further view of Boulais (US 20070249907 A1).
Regarding Claim 35, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 26,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises:
a tip element (fig. 2, element 121) that holds the camera and the one or more LEDs at the distal end of the cannula;
and a coupler located between the tip element and a shaft that forms the single lumen (fig. 4a/b, element 115; [0038] teaches the coupling of the distal tip and the proximal shaft portion),
Further, Kucharski teaches the shaft defining the single lumen of the cannula (fig. 2c, element 21).
Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang does not explicitly teach the coupler having a coupler notch that fits into a notch of a distal tip of the shaft to prevent the coupler from rotating relative to the distal tip.
However, Boulais teaches the coupler (fig. 1, element 36) having a coupler notch (fig. 1, element 38) that fits into a notch (fig. 1, element 104) of a distal tip of the shaft to prevent the coupler from rotating relative to the distal tip ([0023]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal cap of Truckai to have securing notches as taught in Boulais in order to secure the joint (Boulais [0023]) while the imager rotates (Truckai [0032]).
Regarding Claim 36, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang and Boulais teach the system of claim 35,
Further, Boulais teaches one wherein the coupler has a thread formed by a bulge (fig. 1, element 104) in an inner surface of the coupler,
the thread being arranged at a location where the coupler meets the distal tip of the shaft (see fig. 1 for the bulged section of tab 104 within the inner surface).
Regarding Claim 38, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 37,
Truckai in view of Ouyang does not explicitly teach one wherein the ramp-shaped element comprises an adhesive material that secures the ramp-shaped element to the FPC.
However, Boulais teaches one wherein the ramp-shaped element comprises an adhesive material that secures the ramp-shaped element to the FPC ([0036] teaches the circuit board bonded to the channel element via adhesive).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal cap of Truckai to have adhesive securing the circuit board as taught in Boulais in order to form a more compact distal tip (Boulais [0036] teaches a compact arrangement is possible with the lumens in close proximity to circuit boards).
Regarding Claim 39, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang and Boulais teaches the system of claim 38,
And Boulais further teaches one wherein the ramp-shaped element is cured by UV light ([0041] discloses UV light curing).
Regarding Claim 41, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 40,
Further, Truckai teaches the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises a coupler element (fig. 1-3, element 115) located between the distal end of the shaft and the tip element,
Truckai in view of Ouyang does not explicitly teach the coupler element extending along the FPC and surrounding a distal portion of the FPC and the molded element.
However, Boulais teaches the coupler element (fig. 1, element 36) extending along the FPC and surrounding a distal portion of the FPC and the molded element ([0023]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal cap of Truckai to cover the FPC as taught in Boulais in order to electrically shield it (Boulais [0023]).
Regarding Claim 42, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang and Boulais teaches the system of claim 41,
Further, Boulais teaches one wherein the molded element has an outer surface that includes one or more groves (fig. 1, element 104) configured to receive one or more ribs (fig. 1, element 38) of an inner surface of the coupler element ([0023] discloses a system of tabs and notches that receive them).
Regarding Claim 43, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang and Boulais teaches the system of claim 41,
Further, Boulais teaches the system wherein the coupler element has an inner surface that includes one or more grooves (fig. 1, element 104) configured to receive disposed in one or more ribs (fig. 1, element 38) of an outer surface of the molded element ([0023] discloses a system of tabs and notches that receive them).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang as applied to claim 37 in further view of Wilder (US 20200221931 A1).
Regarding Claim 45, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang teaches the system of claim 37,
Truckai in view of Ouyang does not explicitly teach one wherein the molded element has an inner surface that drafts down in diameter as the molded element extends towards the tip element.
However, Wilder teaches one wherein the molded element (fig. 2, element 112) has an inner surface that drafts down in diameter as the molded element extends towards the tip element ([0030] teaches a channel that tapers in the radial dimension toward the proximal end).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool channel of Truckai to taper as taught in Wilder in order to direct the treatment tool (Wilder [0030]).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang as applied to claim 41 in further view of Wilder.
Regarding Claim 44, Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang and Boulais teach the system of claim 41,
Truckai in view of Kucharski and Ouyang and Boulais do not explicitly teach one wherein the coupler element has an inner surface that drafts down in diameter as the coupler element extends towards the tip element.
However, Wilder teaches one wherein the coupler element (fig. 2, element 112) has an inner surface that drafts down in diameter as the coupler element extends towards the tip element ([0030] teaches a channel that tapers in the radial dimension toward the proximal end).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool channel of Truckai to taper as taught in Wilder in order to direct the treatment tool (Wilder [0030]).
Double Patenting
Claims 26, 29-37, 40-45 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1, 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12082783 in view of Truckai and Ouyang.
Regarding Claim 26, 12082783 teaches an endoscopic system, comprising:
a re-usable portion comprising a display (clm. 3, ln. 2);
and a disposable portion configured to be attached to the re-usable portion (clm. 2, ln. 3),
the disposable portion comprising a housing configured to be attached to the re-usable portion, (clm. 1, ln. 2),
a cannula having a proximal end attached to the housing (clm. 1, ln. 5),
the cannula having a lumen that extends from the proximal end of the cannula to a distal end of the cannula, wherein the cannula is configured to be inserted into a body cavity (clm. 1, ln. 3-4),
an imaging system arranged at the distal end of the cannula (clm. 1, ln. 7),
the imaging system comprising a camera (clm. 1, ln. 9),
and one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) configured to provide light for the camera (clm. 1, ln. 10),
and a flexible printed circuit (FPC) that extends within the lumen of the cannula and electrically connects the camera and the LEDs to electrical components of the housing (clm. 1, ln. 12-14),
wherein the housing comprises a connection port that is attached to the re-usable portion, electrically connects the electrical components of the housing to electrical components of the re-usable portion when the disposable portion is attached to the re-usable portion so that one or more still images and/or one or more videos captured by the camera can be transmitted to the display (clm. 3, ln. 2-3),
and wherein the lumen is configured to provide a passage for a working tool (clm. 1, ln. 6).
12082783 does not explicitly teach wherein the lumen is a single lumen that is configured to allow passage of a fluid, a working tool, and an electronic cable;
a system including:
A connection hub,
Wherein the connection hub includes a camera actuator configured to control an operation of the camera.
wherein the connection port is positioned within the housing, exposed at an exterior surface of the housing for connection to the display of the re-usable portion, and positioned distally to a proximal end of the housing such that the display is connectable to the housing at a position that is distal to the proximal end of the housing.
However, Kucharski teaches wherein the lumen is a single lumen (fig. 2c, element 21, [0067], outer cover 21 comprises an inner surface that is a singular lumen) that is configured to allow passage of a fluid (fig. 2c, element 24, [0067], flushing channel 24), a working tool (fig. 2c, element 23, [0067], working channel 23), and an electronic cable (fig. 2c, element 22, [0067], camera 22, which would require electrical connections, fig. 3 shows the channels are separated from the singular outer lumen);
However, Truckai teaches
A connection hub (fig. 1, element 106),
Wherein the connection hub includes a camera actuator (fig. 1, element 136, [0053], fig. 9, element 626a/b, 628, 640, 645 are all actuators) configured to control an operation of the camera.
However, Ouyang teaches a device wherein the connection port (fig. 2/3, element 252, [0047-48], connector 252 removably mounts the display module 150 to the handle portion 140) is positioned within the housing, exposed at an exterior surface of the housing for connection to the display of the re-usable portion, and positioned distally to a proximal end of the housing such that the display is connectable to the housing at a position that is distal to the proximal end of the housing (fig. 2/3, element 252, connector 252 is distal to the proximal end of the endoscope).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of 12082783 to include a connection hub with control actuators as taught in Truckai in order to allow a user to control operations of the imager using the hand gripped to the endoscope (Truckai [0031]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of 12082783 to include an outer cover layer as taught in Kucharski in order to protect and sterilize the insertion portion (Kucharski [0071]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of 12082783 to include an electrical connection distal to the proximal end as taught in Ouyang in order to maintain sterility of the reusable portion (Ouyang [0048]).
Regarding Claim 29, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 26, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the cannula defines a proximal opening and a distal opening, the proximal and the distal openings being configured to allow the working tool to enter the lumen via the proximal opening and exit the lumen via the distal opening (clm. 2, ln. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 30, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 26, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the FPC is shaped to conform with an inner surface of the lumen (clm. 4, ln. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 31, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 26, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the FPC is positioned within an upper third portion of the lumen (clm. 5, ln. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 32, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 26, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises a tip element that holds the camera and the one or more LEDs at the distal end of the cannula, the tip element being configured to: allow a sensor of the camera to sense reflected LED lights, and block other light from entering the sensor of the camera (clm. 7, ln. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 33, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 32, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the tip element includes a partitioning wall that separates the camera from the one or more LEDs (clm. 8, ln. 1-2), the partitioning wall extending from a lens of the camera to a proximal end of the camera where the camera connects to the FPC (clm. 9, ln. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 34, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 32, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the tip element forms at least a portion of a tool channel configured to guide the working tool to exit the lumen (clm. 11, ln. 1-2), the tool channel having a curved inner surface that projects outward towards the camera (clm. 12, ln. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 35, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 26, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises: a tip element that holds the camera and the one or more LEDs at the distal end of the cannula (clm. 13, ln. 1-2); and a coupler located between the tip element and a shaft that forms the lumen, the coupler having a coupler notch that fits into a notch of a distal tip of the shaft to prevent the coupler from rotating relative to the distal tip (clm. 13, ln. 3-5).
Regarding Claim 36, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 35, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the coupler has a thread formed by a bulge in an inner surface of the coupler, the thread being arranged at about a location where the coupler meets the distal tip of the shaft (clm. 14, ln. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 37, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 26, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises: a tip element that holds the camera at the distal end of the cannula (clm. 1, ln. 15), the tip element being in contact with the FPC through a ramp-shaped element (clm. 1, ln. 21-26) configured to protect electrical contacts of the camera to the FPC from potential impacts caused by the working tool passing through the cannula towards the distal end of the cannula.
Regarding Claim 40, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 37, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the ramp-shaped element comprises a molded element that is positioned between the tip element and a distal end of a shaft of the cannula, the shaft defining the lumen of the cannula (clm. 18, ln. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 41, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 40, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the disposable portion further comprises a coupler element located between the distal end of the shaft and the tip element, the coupler element extending along the FPC and surrounding a distal portion of the FPC and the molded element (clm. 19, ln. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 42, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 41, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the molded element has an outer surface that includes one or more groves configured to receive one or more ribs of an inner surface of the coupler element (clm. 20, ln. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 43, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 41, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the coupler element has an inner surface that includes one or more grooves configured to receive disposed in one or more ribs of an outer surface of the molded element (clm. 21, ln. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 44, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 41, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the coupler element has an inner surface that drafts down in diameter as the coupler element extends towards the tip element (clm. 23, ln. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 45, 12082783 in view of Truckai, Kucharski, and Ouyang claims The system of claim 37, further, 12082783 claims the system wherein the molded element has an inner surface that drafts down in diameter as the molded element extends towards the tip element (clm. 22, ln. 1-2).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795