DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 23 and 64 are amended and claims 1-3 and 5-7 are cancelled, submitted on 10/2/2025. Claims 23-25, 27-28, 30-36, and 64-65 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 23, 28, 33-34 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021).
Regarding claim 23, Zeng discloses a battery ([0032] and FIG. 1) comprising: a housing (insulating frame 2, [0044]); a plurality of battery cells (8, [0043] and FIGs. 1-2) housed by the housing (FIG. 1), the plurality of battery cells including a battery cell having a cell terminal (electrodes 81, [0045] and FIG. 2); and an electrical conduction assembly (battery connection module 1, [0043] and FIG. 3) housed by the housing and electrically coupled to the plurality of battery cells (FIGs. 1-2).
Zeng further discloses the electrical conduction assembly comprising a circuit board 4 ([0047] and FIGs. 2-3) which comprises: a flexible layer (insulating substrate 41 is a flexible material, [0047]) having a first surface (upper face of 41, FIGs. 4 and 6) and a second surface (lower face of 41, FIG. 4) opposite the first surface, the second surface facing the plurality of battery cells (FIG. 1), a cell interface (conductive connecting tab 5, [0049]), and a terminal of an external electrical element (electrode (81), [0014] and FIG. 2). Zeng discloses busbar 3 is connected to the conductive connecting tab 5 ([0049]), and each busbar is used to electrically connect electrode (81) of at least two adjacent batteries ([0014]), which inherently discloses the claimed “a plurality of cell interfaces, each respective cell interface of the plurality of circuit traces being associated with and electrically coupled to respective cell terminals of the plurality of battery cells”; and a plurality of circuit traces (circuit traces 42, [0049] and FIG.6), each respective circuit trace of the plurality of circuit traces being supported by the first surface (upper face of 41, FIG. 6) of the flexible layer (a plurality of circuit trace provided to the insulating substrate, [0007]) and coupled to a respective cell interface (each conductive connecting tab 5 is connected with one of the circuit traces 42, [0049]) of the plurality of cell interfaces. Zeng further discloses the plurality of circuit traces 42 respectively electrically connected with the plurality of conductive connecting tabs 5 each are provided with a fuse unit 422 ([0047] and FIGs. 6 and 7) which anticipates the claimed “each respective circuit trace including a fuse as part of the trace, the fuse being associated with the respective cell interface and the fuse including a non-straight trace” because fuse unit 422 is associated with the conductive connecting tab 5 and the fuse includes a non-straight trace portion 423a and 424a as shown in FIG. 7.
Zeng further discloses the location of each one of the fuse units 422 associates to a respective cell interface within the trace, and the fuse locations are visible on the first surface of the flexible layer 41 (FIG. 6). While Zeng does not explicitly mention this configuration is designed to identify a fault in one of the plurality of battery cells, a skilled artisan would reasonably envisage Zeng’s each one of the fuse units 422 on the flexible layer 41 associates to a respective one of the plurality of battery cells through the respective cell interface 5 adjacent to the fuse unit 422, thus a faulty fuse unit would inherently direct to a faulty status of one of the plurality of battery cells connected through the respective cell interface 5 via contacting the busbar 3 and thus to one electrode of the respective cell ([0049] [0014] and FIGs. 2-3). Therefore, based on Zeng’s FIG. 6 layout further in view of FIGs. 2 and 5, a skilled artisan would reasonably envisage that Zeng not only discloses the fuse location within the trace being visible on the first surface of the flexible layer; but also inherently at least discloses to identify a fault in one of the plurality of battery cells.
Regarding claim 28, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Zeng further discloses at least one of the circuit traces is provided with a fuse unit, the fuse unit comprises a main fuse and at least one spare fuse ([0007]) and provides a multiply of fuse units 422 as part of the trace (FIG. 6), which reads on the claim limitation “wherein the fuse includes a plurality of fuses as part of the trace”.
Zeng further discloses the fuse unit comprises a plurality of spare fuses, and two of the plurality of spare fuses are defined as a first spare fuse and a second spare fuse; and the mechanism of the plurality of spare fuses are working in conjunction with the main fuse ([0010] and FIG. 7 and 8), which reads on the claim limitation “wherein the plurality of fuses work in conjunction”.
Regarding claims 33 and 34, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Zeng further discloses the electrical conduction assembly further comprises a holder (6, FIG. 10) supporting the flexible layer (4, FIGs. 10 and 11) and the plurality of cell interfaces (5, FIGs. 10 and 11) (claim 33); and wherein the holder further includes a bus bar (3, FIG. 10) coupling the respective cell terminals (81, FIG. 2) to the respective cell interfaces (FIGs. 1, 2 and 11) (claim 34).
Regarding claim 64, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Since Zeng discloses fuses 422 are located with certain distances between each other, Zeng necessarily discloses fuse location being configured to prevent exposure to debris or smoke from a faulted fuse to some extent.
Zeng further discloses the fuse unit 422 comprises a main fuse 423 and a first spare fuse 424 ([0047]) and FIGs. 6 and 7), and in a varied embodiment, the fuse unit further comprises a second spare fuse 425 ([0048] and FIG. 8); after the main fuse 423 forms an electrical disconnection, the first spare fuse 424 is enabled to start work ([0047]), and one more chance of repair can be added by additionally providing the second spare fuse 425 ([0048]), which inherently anticipates “fuse location being configured to prevent secondary faults while in a failure state”.
5. Claims 24-25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021) ) as applied to claim 23, in view of Yang (WO 2005086196 A1).
Regarding claims 24-25 and 30, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While Zeng discloses the object to provide a circuit board, which has a fuse unit used for safety protection ([0003]) in a simple circuit and in which the operation procedure at the time of the repair is more simple and convenient ([0005]), Zeng does not explicitly disclose the electrical conduction assembly further comprises a fuse coating encapsulating the fuse (claim 24); having fuse coating includes a plurality of layers of polyimide (claim 25); or the flexible layer includes a flexible film dielectric (claim 30).
Yang teaches for the flexible type power fuse circuit (Ln18/P4) with various choices of fuse shapes (Ln22-30/P2 and FIGs. 1-3); and a fuse comprising a composite structure of three dielectric layers and a fuse element, wherein the dielectric layers are comprised of a material selected from the group consisting of polyimides (Ln22-24/P2), and wherein the dielectric layers each have a chemically etched portion that are aligned to form a cavity around the fuse element (Ln26-27/P2), which inherently reads on “the electrical conduction assembly further comprises a fuse coating encapsulating the fuse” (claim 24) because the dielectric layers each have a chemically etched portion that are aligned to form a cavity around the fuse element; and “having fuse coating includes a plurality of layers of polyimide” (claim 25) because the dielectric layers are comprised of a material selected from the group consisting of polyimides.
Yang further teaches the fuse circuit 100 may contain a single conductive fuse element 110 between dielectric layers 120 as shown in Fig. 1 (Ln11-12/P5), which reads on the claimed “the flexible layer includes a flexible film dielectric” (claim 30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a skilled artisan to modify the flexible fuse circuit trace of Zeng as taught by Yang as follows: 1) chemically etch a portion of the dielectric layers aligned to form a cavity around the fuse element and arrive at the claimed “the electrical conduction assembly further comprises a fuse coating encapsulating the fuse”(claim 24); 2) use polyimide as the material for dielectric layers and thus arrive at the claimed “having fuse coating includes a plurality of layers of polyimide” (claim 25), and the claimed “the flexible layer includes a flexible film dielectric” (claim 30), in order to mitigate the detrimental effect of high fuse resistance to the functioning of active circuit components within the circuits.
6. Claims 27 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021) as applied to claim 23, in view of Zhou’491 (CN 203968491 U, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 27, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While Zeng discloses the object to provide a circuit board, which has a fuse unit used for safety protection ([0003]) in a simple circuit and in which the operation procedure at the time of the repair is simpler and more convenient ([0005]), Zeng does not explicitly disclose the fuse includes a sinusoidal-shaped trace.
Zhou’491 teaches a similar concern about a flexible printed circuit board which has a fuse module provided in the circuit of the flexible printed circuit board ([0009]), is when repair is required, the repair process is relatively complicated and difficult to implement ([0006]). Zhou’491 teaches the flexible printed circuit board comprises a substrate, and the circuit is formed on the substrate ([0025]) and preferably, the fuse is wavy in shape ([0023]) and by adopting this type of fusible link 24, the space occupied by the fusible link 24 can be reduced ([0054]), and the fuses 24 in FIGs. 4, 5 and 7 appear to be sinusoidal-shaped. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the fuse unit of Yang including a sinusoidal-shaped trace in order to reduce the space occupied by the fuses, as taught by Zhou’491, thus arriving at the claimed “the fuse includes a non-straight trace”.
Regarding claim 65, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While Zeng discloses the object to provide a circuit board, which has a fuse unit used for safety protection ([0003]) in a simple circuit and in which the operation procedure at the time of the repair is simpler and more convenient ([0005]), Zeng does not explicitly disclose the fuse shape is configured to concentrate heat in a middle of the fuse and to isolate heat from a trace adjacent to the fuse.
Zhou’491 teaches a similar concern about a flexible printed circuit board which has a fuse module provided in the circuit of the flexible printed circuit board ([0009]), is when repair is required, the repair process is relatively complicated and difficult to implement ([0006]). Zhou’491 teaches the flexible printed circuit board comprises a substrate, and the circuit is formed on the substrate ([0025]) and preferably, the fuse is wavy in shape ([0023]) and by adopting this type of fusible link 24, the space occupied by the fusible link 24 can be reduced ([0054]), and the fuses 24 in FIGs. 4, 5 and 7 appear to be sinusoidal-shaped. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the fuse unit of Yang including a sinusoidal-shaped trace in order to reduce the space occupied by the fuses, as taught by Zhou’491.
As established above, modified Zeng includes fuses of a sinusoidal-shaped trace, therefore, the claimed limitation “the fuse shape is configured to concentrate heat in a middle of the fuse and to isolate heat from a trace adjacent to the fuse” is met, as being an inherent property of a sinusoidal-shaped fuse because the heat generated from a resistor is proportional to the length of the resistor and a sinusoidal-shaped fuse means compacting the length in the middle portion of the fuse. Therefore, the heat generated by the sinusoidal-shaped fuse is thereby concentrated in the compacted middle portion, which translates to the heat generated by a trace adjacent to the fuse has to be concentrated in the compacted middle portion of the sinusoidal-shaped fuse first before transmitting to the other side of the fuse. Thus, limitation “isolating heat from a trace adjacent to the fuse” is also met, because the heat generated by the trace on the other side of the fuse can barely come across the fuse for being concentrated (or trapped) in the middle portion of the sinusoidal-shaped fuse as well.
7. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021) as applied to claim 23, in view of Takeuchi (US 20180009195 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Zeng further discloses the circuit board is a flexible circuit board ([0047]); the battery connection module further comprises a cover covered to the insulating frame to cover the plurality of busbars, the circuit board, the plurality of conductive connecting tabs and the plurality of auxiliary connecting tabs ([0029]), which reads on the claimed “the electrical conduction assembly further comprises a trace cover layer” because the trace is on the circuit board. However, Zeng does not explicitly disclose the trace cover layer covered to the insulating frame is flexible.
Takeuchi teaches a flexible printed circuit board includes an insulating substrate having a conductive pattern, and a resin layer provided on at least one surface of the insulating substrate ([0119]) to form a coverlay film ([0114]), which includes a heat-resistant film 13 covering the resin film 11 ([0115] and FIG. 2); and the coverlay film can be manufactured by selecting the heat-resistant film as the support substrate for manufacturing a resin film ([0115]), which inherently teaches the heat resistant film can be flexible as the resin film. Since as established above, Zeng includes a flexible insulating substrate 41 ([0047]), a skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to prepare the trace cover layer covered to the insulating frame using the same flexible resin as the flexible insulating substrate of Zeng for both insulating and heat-resistant purposes, as taught by Takeuchi, thus arrive at the claimed “the electrical conduction assembly further comprises a flexible trace cover layer” as a heat-resistant film without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
8. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021) as applied to claim 23, in view of Zhou’639 (CN 206611639 U, see machine translation for citation) and Sugiyama (US 20160365562 A1, IDS 9/27/2021).
Regarding claim 32, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While Zeng further discloses a battery connection module, which is used to connect a plurality of batteries arranges side by side ([0006]) and an electrical connector 10 provided on the circuit board 4 used to externally connect with a plug ([0050] and FIG. 4), Zeng is silent about the electrical conduction assembly further includes a control module interface coupled to the plurality of circuit traces, and wherein the control module interface electrically couples the plurality of circuit traces to the battery control module.
Zhou’639 teaches a data connection port 7 is installed on the end of the lower flexible circuit board 2. One end of the fuse 5 is connected to the temperature sensor 4, and the other end is connected to the data connection port 7 through a copper foil connection wire 6 etched on the upper flexible circuit board 1, the lower flexible circuit board 2 and the connection flexible circuit board 3, so that data is transmitted to the outside through the data connection port 7 ([0018] and FIG. 1). While a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify Zeng with a data connection port included in the circuit trace coupled to the flexible layer, in order to transmit data to the outside through the data connection port, as taught by Zhou’639, modified Zeng in view of Zhou’639 does not explicitly disclose a battery control module housed by the housing, and wherein the electrical conduction assembly further includes a control module interface coupled to the plurality of circuit traces, and wherein the control module interface electrically couples plurality of circuit traces to the battery control module.
Sugiyama teaches it is possible to further simplify assembly work of a wiring component which is necessary for a battery assembly ([0010]) and since the fuse pattern can be assembled to a part of the voltage detection wiring pattern, it is possible to further contribute to space saving, and a reduction in the weight and cost of the wiring ([0030]). Sugiyama further teaches voltage detection wiring pattern 5, in which the fuse pattern 4 is interposed, detects a voltage of the battery 11, and is formed to extend along a side in the longitudinal direction of the wiring module 1 which is opposite to the terminal pattern 3; the other end of the voltage detection wiring pattern 5 (the second voltage detection wiring pattern 5b) is connected to a battery controller through a connector and the like ([0026]).
Since modified Zeng includes a housing (insulating frame 2, Zeng [0044]) as set forth above, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have a battery controller that is connected to the fuse pattern interposed in the flexible circuit of modified Zeng via the data connection port to transmit data, and to further configure the battery control module to be housed by the housing in order to further simplify assembly work of a wiring component of the battery controller, as taught by Sugiyama, thus arriving at the claimed limitation “a battery control module housed by the housing, and wherein the electrical conduction assembly further includes a control module interface coupled to the circuit trace, and wherein the control module interface electrically couples the circuit trace to the battery control module” without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success. {Examiner notes: the battery controller of Sugiyama corresponds to a battery control module of the instant claim 32.}
9. Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021) as applied to claim 23, in view of Farmer (US 20130101869 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While Zeng discloses a battery connection module, which is used to connect a plurality of batteries arranges side by side ([0006]), Zeng does not explicitly disclose the plurality of battery cells includes a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells.
Farmer teaches lithium-ion batteries, including fusing to mitigate the effects of short-circuiting ([0001]) having an internal overcurrent protection device within the sealed battery cell, where the device protects a sensing lead running to battery monitoring system ([0007]), and in some embodiments, the overcurrent protective devices 160, 165 each includes a fuse that can be a surface mountable part or fusible trace on a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) ([0031]). It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use lithium-ion battery for the plurality of batteries of Zeng, as taught by Farmer in order to protect a lithium -ion battery, the most commonly used battery nowadays.
10. Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021) as applied to claim 23, in view of Zhou’639 (CN 206611639 U, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 36, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While Zeng discloses a battery connection module, which is used to connect a plurality of batteries arranges side by side ([0006]), Zeng does not explicitly disclose a vehicle having the battery.
Zhou’639 teaches the circuit board used for protecting new energy vehicles ([0002]), in the use of electric new energy vehicles, batteries are prone to overheating during use and cause safety accidents, so corresponding monitoring devices need to be set up for real-time monitoring and protection; but now there is no circuit with high integration that can monitor and protect the temperature in real time ([0004]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a skilled artisan to use the battery of Zeng in a new energy vehicle, as taught by Zhou’639, in order to achieve a new energy vehicle with fuse protection.
11. Claim 64 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20180198110 A1, IDS of 9/27/2021), as applied to claim 23, further in view of Dawley (US 20170003349 A1).
Regarding claim 64, Zeng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Since Zeng discloses fuses 422 are located with certain distances between each other, Zeng necessarily discloses fuse location being configured to prevent exposure to debris or smoke from a faulted fuse to some extent. Zeng further discloses the fuse unit 422 comprises a main fuse 423 and a first spare fuse 424 ([0047]) and FIGs. 6 and 7), and in a varied embodiment, the fuse unit further comprises a second spare fuse 425 ([0048] and FIG. 8); after the main fuse 423 forms an electrical disconnection, the first spare fuse 424 is enabled to start work ([0047]), and one more chance of repair can be added by additionally providing the second spare fuse 425 ([0048]), which inherently anticipates “fuse location being configured to prevent secondary faults while in a failure state”.
Assuming, arguendo, that Zeng, for some reason, is not considered to render obvious the claim 64 as set forth above, the following obviousness rejections are also presented.
Zeng discloses the object to provide a circuit board, which has a fuse unit used for safety protection ([0003]) in a simple circuit and in which the operation procedure at the time of the repair is more simple and convenient ([0005]).
Dawley teaches a battery pack includes numerous voltage sensing circuits with patterned sense line trace fuses and an encapsulant formed around each of the fuses to provide environmental isolation of the patterned fuse such that the tendency of the fuse to form short-circuit connections to adjacent circuits is avoided under both normal battery pack operation and after a circuit-breaking episode where the fuse blows (Abstract). Dawley further teaches that fuse location (fuse 445 E, FIG. 4) with fuse length (Dimension B) and width (Dimension C) ([0023-0024] Table on P5 and FIGs. 4 and 5) and with the placement of the encapsulant 445G both above and below the fuse 445E, the various dimension of encapsulant 445G may be tailored to the particular circuit-breaking and packaging needs ([0023] and FIG. 4), which teaches fuse location being configured to prevent exposure to debris or smoke from a faulted fuse through the inclusion of the encapsulant 445G around the fuse 445E, and also prevent secondary faults while in a failure state due to the encapsulant 445G.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a skilled artisan to adopt fuse encapsulant as taught by Dawley in order to provide environmental isolation of the patterned fuse such that the tendency of the fuse to form short-circuit connections to adjacent circuits is avoided under both normal battery pack operation and after a circuit-breaking episode where the fuse blows for safety protection as desired by Zeng, and thus arrive at the claimed “fuse location being configured to prevent exposure to debris or smoke from a faulted fuse and prevent secondary faults while in a failure state” without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claim 23 filed on 10/2/2025 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Zeng does not disclose or teach the emphasized limitations based on the following two assertions: 1) Zeng does not teach fuse location within the trace being visible on the first surface of the flexible layer to identify a fault in one of the plurality of battery cells because not all interfaces and circuit traces appear to have a fuse, referring to un-matched numbers of fuse unit 422 and battery cells/interfaces 5 shown in FIGs. 2 and 6; and 2) Zeng’s traces (42) and fuses (422) appear to be on a surface of circuit (4) facing the battery cell. (Remarks on P7-8).
The Examiner respectfully submits as follows:
Regarding the first assertion from Applicant, the claim does not require a 1 to 1 number matching regarding fuse units 422 to the battery cells/interfaces 5. Rather, the claim only requires the fuse being associated with the respective cell interface and the fuse location to identify a fault in one (Examiner-added emphasis) of the plurality of battery cells, which FIG. 6 shows the fuse being associated with the respective cell interface due to fuse number being less than interface number; and the at least one (7) of the plurality of battery cells/interfaces associated with a respective fuse unit 422. Thus this argument is irrelevant to the claim and moot. Examiner further notes that FIGs. 2 and 6 of Zeng appear to be non-limiting embodiments, thus they are not considered as teaching away from the argued scenario with a 1 to 1 number matching regarding fuse units to the battery cells/interfaces. Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive either.
Regarding the second assertion from Applicant, Zeng discloses an object that the operation procedure at the time of the repair is more simple and convenient ([0005]). A skilled artisan would reasonably envisage the traces (42) and fuses (422) are located at the first surface (upper surface of 41, FIG. 4) due to the desired easy access and visibility, as mapped in claim 1, in order to have simple and convenient repair when a faulty fuse occurs. Further, Examiner has reviewed Zeng’s disclosure and have not found any evidence to support Applicant’s standing on this assertion. To the contrary, Zeng’s FIG. 5 provides busbars 3 positioned underneath the circuit board 4, facing the battery cell. If the traces and fuses were mounted to the second surface (lower surface of 41) facing the plurality of battery cells, as Applicant asserted, which means the traces and fuses would be in direct contact with the busbars 3 as shown in FIG.5, it would necessarily result in a malfunction of the circuit board 4 by short-circuiting the traces and fuses on the circuit board 4 through the direct contacting with busbars 3 , rendering Zeng’s design inoperable. Thus, the Applicant’s assertion 2 is not found persuasive for lacking of support with evidence or logic.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
1/8/2026
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/9/2026