DETAILED ACTION
PROSECUTION REOPENED
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 10/29/2024, PROSECUTION IS HEREBYREOPENED. See the rejection set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one ofthe following two options:
file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or areply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice ofappeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however,the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they werepreviously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increasedfees and the amount previously paid.
A Director has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/JONATHAN C TEIXEIRA MOFFAT/ Group Director TC 3700
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 is missing a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN201920723U) in view of Ford (US 20150207990 A1) and Farr (US 20100208054 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a magnetic resonance imaging magnet assembly configured for supporting a subject within an imaging zone ([0028] Figure 1 shows a cross-sectional view of a magnetic resonance equipment. The magnetic resonance equipment includes a magnetic resonance equipment main body 100; [0029] patients undergoing examination in the examination area 200 will not suffer from discomfort because the examination area 200 is narrow and closed)
a magnetic resonance imaging magnet wherein the magnetic resonance imaging magnet is configured for generating a main magnetic field with the imaging zone ([0028] The magnetic resonance equipment main body 100 is annular. Main magnets are arranged in sequence from the outside to the inside of the annular magnetic resonance equipment main body (not labeled in the figure)), gradient
coils (not labeled in the figure) and radio frequency coils (not labeled in the figure))
an optical image generator configured for generating a two-dimensional image ([0022] There is a host computer at one end of the control device, and the control device can quickly transmit the images generated by the host computer to the display screen in a timely manner, so that the patient can obtain imaging information at the same time; [0012] the control device generates an optical signal through the projection device, and transmitted to the display screen through optical fibers)
an optical waveguide bundle configured for coupling to the optical image generator ([0034] The optical fiber 400 is used to receive the optical signal from the projection device 500 and transmit the optical signal)
and a two-dimensional display comprising pixels (display screen 300), wherein each of the pixels is optically coupled to at least one optical waveguide selected from the optical waveguide bundle ([0029] , the display screen 300 is a fiber optic display screen or a display screen 300 made of electrochromic material, and is arranged on the top of the inspection area 200; [0036] The control device 600 generates light signals through the projection device 500 and transmits them to the display screen 300 through the optical fiber 400 to display colorful pictures and videos)
wherein the optical waveguide bundle and the two-dimensional display are configured for displaying the two-dimensional image ([0029] a magnetically compatible display screen 300 is provided on the inner wall of the detection area 200. In the magnetic resonance equipment, it has little impact on the distribution of the magnetic field. The magnetically compatible display screen 300 can play back self-stored pictures, videos, etc. Specifically, the display screen 300 is a fiber optic display screen or a display screen 300 made of electrochromic material, and is arranged on the top of the inspection area 200; [0031] Figure 2 shows a diagram of auxiliary equipment connected to the display screen. The magnetic resonance equipment also includes an optical fiber 400 connected to the display screen 300, a projection device 500 connected to the optical fiber 400, and a control device 600 connected to the projection device 500.; [0036] The control device 600 generates light signals through the projection device 500 and transmits them to the display screen 300 through the optical fiber 400 to display colorful pictures and videos).
Xie fails to teach wherein each of the pixels comprises a diffusor, wherein the diffusor is a diffusor plate, wherein each of the pixels is optically coupled to at least one optical waveguide selected from the optical waveguide bundle, wherein the at least one optical waveguide of each of the pixels is configured for illuminating the diffusor and thereby the pixel comprised by the diffuser for viewing within the imaging zone.
However, Ford teaches wherein each of the pixels comprises a diffusor ([0111] The diagram 592 shows a conventional FSI pixel with an exemplary lightguide designed to collect all the light incident on the pixel lenslet surface. The diagram 593 shows an exemplary modified focal plane pixel, which is configured to absorb large-angle (stray) light. For example, some manufacturers use an internal waveguide to increase light collection in each pixel).
wherein each of the pixels is optically coupled to at least one optical waveguide selected from the optical waveguide bundle ([0111] CMOS image sensors can be fabricated using lenslets over each pixel, e.g., to concentrate light. For example, the disclosed technology can employ light filtering techniques including light-guided CMOS pixels, which can be modified to introduce absorption of stray light. FIG. 5C shows exemplary diagrams 591, 592, and 593 depicting light filtering into light guided CMOS pixels, modified to introduce absorption of stray light, e.g., showing front-side illuminated (FSI) vs. back-side illuminated (BSI) focal planes. The diagram 591 shows a conventional FSI pixel. The diagram 592 shows a conventional FSI pixel with an exemplary lightguide designed to collect all the light incident on the pixel lenslet surface. The diagram 593 shows an exemplary modified focal plane pixel, which is configured to absorb large-angle (stray) light. For example, some manufacturers use an internal waveguide to increase light collection in each pixel)
wherein the at least one optical waveguide of each of the pixels is configured for illuminating the diffusor and thereby the pixel comprised by the diffuser for viewing within the imaging zone ([0262] the image forming optical system is modified to direct light to couple into the waveguides over a wider range of angles using a uniform two-dimensional light angle diffusor structure. For example, an output surface of the monocentric optical surface and/or the spherical intermediate image surface can include light directing structures to optically couple the light into the waveguides. In some examples, a light diffusor can be implemented.
Xie and Ford are considered analogous because both disclose imaging methods that involve an optical waveguide. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement light filtering means such as light diffusion in each pixel of a display and further to couple the display and the optical waveguide with a diffuser in order to direct light to couple into the waveguides over a wider range of angles (Ford [0262]).
Xie in view of Ford fails to teach wherein the diffusor is a diffusor plate.
However, Farr teaches wherein the diffusor is a diffusor plate ([0043] Multiple and various illuminators can be used within the disposable microscope, where the independent VCSELS or LEDs can be turned on concurrently or sequentially, for best observable imaging. FIG. 3 represents a diffuse back illumination, where light from one or more LED or VCSELs 102a is coupled into a diffusing plate or cup shaped illumination diffuser 302a, with diffusing elements 302b).
Xie as modified and Farr are considered analogous because both disclose display systems for medical imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to incorporate a diffusor plate so that LEDs can be turned on concurrently or sequentially (Farr [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Xie teaches wherein the magnetic resonance imaging magnet assembly further comprises a subject support, wherein the optical waveguide bundle is integrated into the subject support ([0034] The optical fiber 400 is used to receive the optical signal from the projection device 500 and transmit the optical signal. Specifically, the optical fiber 400 includes an optical fiber bundle head 410, and the optical fiber bundle head 410 receives optical signals. The optical fiber 400 is mainly composed of glass fiber, has magnetic compatibility, and can be set in the area of the magnetic resonance equipment).
Regarding claim 3, Xie teaches wherein the subject support comprises a display support (slide rail 210), wherein the two-dimensional display is attached to the display support ([0030] a slide rail 210 is provided on the inner wall of the detection area 200, and the display screen 300 is provided on the slide rail 210 and can slide along the slide rail 210. Adjust the position of the display screen 300 to achieve the best viewing position for the patient and improve comfort).
Regarding claim 7, Xie fails to teach wherein the optical waveguide bundle is a three-dimensional printed optical waveguide bundle or formed from lithographically structured foils.
However, Ford teaches wherein the optical waveguide bundle is a three-dimensional printed optical waveguide bundle or formed from lithographically structured foils ([0133] a thin conformal layer 1701, e.g., patterned with micro optics along peripheral optical fibers of the concave input face to deflect the input light at optical angles similar to that of those of optical fibers aligned along the center field, as shown in FIG. 17. FIG. 17 shows a diagram depicting light coupling into and out of an exemplary straight fiber bundle 1700 with a concave input face, in which the concave surface has been modified with beam-deflecting features (e.g., holographic or lithographic input structure) to improve uniformity of output divergence).
Xie and Ford are considered analogous because both disclose imaging methods that involve an optical waveguide. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the optical waveguide out of a lithographic structure in order to improve uniformity of output divergence (Ford [0133]).
Regarding claim 8, Xie teaches wherein the optical waveguide bundle is formed from multiple optical fibers ([0034] the optical fiber 400 includes an optical fiber bundle head 410, and the optical fiber bundle head 410 receives optical signals. The optical fiber 400 is mainly composed of glass fiber, has magnetic compatibility, and can be set in the area of the magnetic resonance equipment).
Regarding claim 9, Xie teaches wherein optical waveguides of the optical wave guide bundle are configured for any one of the following: forming an optical coupling surface that abuts the optical wave guide ([0034] the optical fiber 400 includes an optical fiber bundle head 410, and the optical fiber bundle head 410 receives optical signals. The optical fiber 400 is mainly composed of glass fiber, has magnetic compatibility, and can be set in the area of the magnetic resonance equipment)
Xie fails to teach the diffusor of each voxel and forming the diffusor on an end surface.
However, Ford teaches the diffusor of each voxel ([0262] the image forming optical system is modified to direct light to couple into the waveguides over a wider range of angles using a uniform two-dimensional light angle diffusor structure) forming the diffusor on an end surface ([0263] the light diffusor can be structured to include substantially concentric grooves or ridges on the waveguide input surface and/or the spherical intermediate image surface of the image forming optical system).
Xie and Ford are considered analogous because both disclose imaging methods that involve an optical waveguide. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a diffusor that works over a wide range of angles on the input surface of the device in order to direct light to couple into the waveguides over a wider range of angles (Ford [0262])
Regarding claim 10, Xie teaches wherein the optical waveguides of the optical wave guide bundle comprise a reflective end surface, wherein the optical waveguides of the optical wave guide bundle are configured to couple to the diffusor using the reflective end surface ([0038] A reflector 710 is also provided in the darkroom 700, which can change the propagation direction of the light path and adjust the position between the projection device 500 and the optical fiber 400 in a certain manner).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Ford and Farr as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20140125337 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Xie fails to teach wherein the magnetic resonance imaging magnet assembly comprises a gradient coil assembly, wherein the magnetic resonance imaging magnet assembly comprises a magnet cover encasing the magnetic resonance imaging magnet and the gradient coil assembly, wherein the two- dimensional display is any one of the following: integrated into the magnet cover and attached to the magnet cover, and wherein the optical waveguide bundle is attached to the magnet cover, wherein the optical waveguide bundle is between the gradient coil assembly and the magnet cover.
However, Lee teaches wherein the magnetic resonance imaging (MRI apparatus 100) magnet assembly comprises a gradient coil assembly ([0081] gradient coil which is used to apply a gradient magnetic field), wherein the magnetic resonance imaging magnet assembly comprises a magnet cover (housing 110) encasing the magnetic resonance imaging magnet and the gradient coil assembly ([0081] the magnetic field generation unit which is accommodated within the housing 110 includes a main magnet which is used to apply a strong magnetic field to a human body, a gradient coil which is used to apply a gradient magnetic field to provide location information which relates to a magnetic field, and a radio frequency (RF) coil which is used to apply an electromagnetic wave to a human body so that a magnetization vector resonates within the human body and to receive a magnetic resonance signal from the human body. The magnetic field generation unit for performing MRI is well known in the art, and does not limit exemplary embodiments)
wherein the two- dimensional display ([0036] video unit) is any one of the following: integrated into the magnet cover and attached to the magnet cover, and wherein the optical waveguide bundle ([0036] optical fiber cable unit) is attached to the magnet cover, wherein the optical waveguide bundle is between the gradient coil assembly and the magnet cover ([0036] The projector may include an optical fiber projector, the optical fiber objector including a video unit which is disposed outside of the bore of the housing, an optical fiber cable unit which is configured to transmit a light beam of an image produced by the video unit, and a projection lens unit which is configured to project the light beam of the image received via the optical fiber cable unit onto the inner wall that at least partially forms the bore of the housing).
Xie and Lee are considered analogous because they both disclose MRI apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a housing to encase both the MR magnet as well as gradient coils with the optical waveguide on the outside of the housing in order to reduce boredom of the inspection target (Lee [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Xie teaches wherein the magnetic resonance imaging magnet is a cylindrical magnet with a bore for receiving the subject, wherein the two-dimensional display is within the bore ([0004] magnetic resonance imaging system is characterized by a cylindrical tubular closed space; [0029] The main body 100 of the magnetic resonance equipment is concave to form an inspection area 200, and a magnetically compatible display screen 300 is provided on the inner wall of the detection area 200).
Regarding claim 6, Xie teaches wherein the optical image generator is attached to the magnetic resonance imaging magnet assembly, wherein the optical image generator is outside of bore ([0031] Figure 2 shows a diagram of auxiliary equipment connected to the display screen. The magnetic resonance equipment also includes ...a control device 600 connected to the projection device 500; [0032] Because the data signals provided by the control device 600 are electrical signals, they should be installed in an area far away from the magnetic resonance equipment).
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Ford and Farr as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of St. Hilaire (US 20190011722 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Xie as modified fails to teach the diffuser of each pixel has one side contacting one of the optical waveguides and an opposite side projecting into the imaging zone.
However, St. Hilaire teaches the diffuser of each pixel (diffuser 703) has one side contacting one of the optical waveguides (Laser Diode 701) and an opposite side projecting into the imaging zone (Lens 705) ([0059] A laser from the laser diode 701, which is driven by the modulator 705, passes through the first diffuser 703. The light beams passing through the first diffuser 703 also pass through a separate condensing lens 705 before entering a multimode fiber 707 and propagating therethrough. The lens 705 helps to couple light into the multimode fiber 707.)
Xie as modified and St. Hilaire are considered analogous because both involve medical imaging devices that focus on how light is directed in the imaging process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to connect a light diffusing element between a waveguide such as a laser diode and an imaging zone in order to reduce laser speckling (St. Hilaire [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Xie as modified fails to teach the optical waveguide coupled to each pixel flares outwardly and contacts the diffuser.
However, St. Hilaire teaches the optical waveguide coupled to each pixel flares outwardly and contacts the diffuser ([0058] FIG. 7A shows a pseudo-random first diffuser 703 that causes a reflected ray 709 to reflect back into a laser diode 701. The photons from the light beam 708 bounce back from each part of the first diffuser 703 to cause a number of reflected rays 709 to scatter the light).
Xie as modified and St. Hilaire are considered analogous because both involve medical imaging devices that focus on how light is directed in the imaging process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have a waveguide such as a laser diode emit light in an outward direction toward the diffusing element in order to reduce laser speckling (St. Hilaire [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Patent Trial and Appeal Board Decision, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly cited Farr reference.
In response to the applicant’s appeal, it was found that the prior rejection failed to address every limitation of independent claim 1, particularly with regard to the limitations regarding the configuration of the pixels in the two-dimensional display. In response to this, examiner has cited additional sections from the previously cited Ford reference in order to better describe how the pixel configuration in that reference is analogous to that in independent claim 1 as drafted. Specifically the limitation reading ‘wherein each of the pixels comprises a diffusor’ is considered to be found in this reference and depicted in fig. 5C. Furthermore, the newly cited Farr reference is applied to teach the limitation ‘wherein the diffusor is a diffusor plate’ through the teachings in paragraph [0043] which are also depicted in fig. 3 regarding the illumination of a microscope plate through light diffusion in a manner deemed to be analogous to the process in the claims as currently drafted.
In light of the updated rejection, every limitation of the independent claim is obviated by the prior art combination and as a result, the claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/ANNE M KOZAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797