DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 45, 54, 56-57, 66, 68, 71, and 92-100 are pending. Claims 77 and 84 were canceled; claims 98-100 were newly added; and claims 1 and 57 were amended in the Reply filed 4/10/2026 and entered 5/11/2026. Claims 45, 57, 66, 94-95, and 97-100 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 54, 56, 68, 71, 92-93, and 96 are presently considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (original claims 1-2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 22, 28, 32, 36, 42, 45, 54, 56, 57, 66, 68, and 71) and the species without traverse of Example 2 (p. 24-25) and Figure 1, namely a composition comprising (MOA)1155K55 at 5 wt%, (MOA)155E55 at 5 wt%, (MOA)200L30 at 6 wt%, and water in the reply filed on 7/25/2025 was previously acknowledged. The traversal was found not persuasive for reasons of record (see Action mailed 9/25/2025 at 2-3), and the requirement was deemed proper and made Final.
The originally elected species is understood to read upon amended claim 1 wherein (MOA)155K552 is Substructure I having an m of 155 and a p of 55; (MOA)155E553 is Substructure II having an n of 155 and a q of 55; and (MOA)200L304 is Substructure III having an r of 200 and a t of 30.
The elected species is understood to read upon amended claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 54, 56-57, 68, 71, 92-93, 96, and 99-100. However, the elected species does not read upon amended claim 45, which now recites static values rather than ranges, and the static values shown are not present in the originally elected species. The elected species does not read upon claims 94-95 as n and m are 155 in the elected species. The elected species does not read upon claims 97-98 as p and q are 55 in the elected species. Claim 66 remains withdrawn for reasons of record. Upon inspection, claims 57 and 99-100 are withdrawn as not reading upon the originally elected species, because SEQ ID NOs: 14-16 as set forth in the sequence listing filed 12-24-2025 are excluded from the scope of instant claim 1, and do not correspond to the originally elected species because “MOA” in the elected species is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine (see, e.g., Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at 2 at lines 17-30). However, claims 57 and 99-100 do not identify that (MOA) is intended to be L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine, but instead the referenced SEQ ID NOs unambiguously identify that claims 57 and 99-100 are directed to structures comprising alternating L-methionine sulfoxide and alanine residues, which are distinct from the originally elected species and excluded by the scope of claim 1 because such sequences do not comprise “at least 85 mol%” methionine sulfoxide, but rather only 50% (compare instant claim 1 with instant SEQ ID NOs: 14-16). Therefore, the originally elected species does not read upon instant claims 45, 57, 66, 77, 84, 94-95, or 97-100.
Following extensive search and examination, the originally elected species has again been deemed anticipated and/or obvious in view of the prior art as applied below. Per MPEP § 803.02(III)(A), claims directed to non-elected species are withdrawn.
Claims 45, 57, 66, 94-95, and 97-100 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/25/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 54, 56, 68, 71, 92-93, and 96 are presently considered.
Priority
The priority claim to Provisional US Application 62/824,571 as filed 3/27/2019 is acknowledged. However, Examiner notes that the instant Specification as filed 9/27/2021 appears to differ substantially from the provisional at pages 6-14 of the instant Specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS was filed in the Response filed 4/10/2026 or 5/11/2026.
Specification
Sequence Listing: The instant disclosure is objected to for not complying with 37 C.F.R. 1.821 as detailed in MPEP §§ 2421–2424. Specifically, the instant application does not comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.821(b)-(e). The instant claims and/or disclosure contain references or disclosures of amino acid sequences that should be accompanied by a sequence listing and identified using "SEQ ID NOs” as prescribed (see, MPEP §§ 2421–2424).
Specific deficiency – The sequence listing filed 12/24/2025 recites 19 sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 1-19), but the sequence listing does not properly identify the sequences referenced in the Specification. For example, the clean Specification filed 12/24/2025 refers to (MOA)150L30 as SEQ ID NO: 1, (MOA)155E55 as SEQ ID NO: 2, and (MOA)155K55 as SEQ ID NO: 3 (see Spec. filed 12/24/2025, clean copy, at p. 2 at lines 24-26, p. 3 at lines 1-2), but the Sequence Listing incorrectly identifies the structure and length of these polypeptides in the sequence listing for SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, and 3, which are erroneously identified as a 320-mer, a 355-mer, and a 355-mer, respectively, wherein (MOA)150 or (MOA)155 is treated as an repeated, alternating series of MetO-Ala. However, “MOA” is L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine (see, e.g., Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at 2 at lines 17-30), which means that (MOA)155 and (MOA)200 do not refer to sequences containing 310 or 400 total residues corresponding to 1:1 alternating MetO and Ala residues, but instead refers to a 155 or 200 amino acid polypeptide comprising a statistical distribution of MetO and Ala residues as shown at Figure 1 (see, e.g., instant Fig. 1, noting that (MOA)155 refers to a statistically distributed sequence wherein MetO is present at 0.88 mol% and Ala is present at 0.12 mol% (see, e.g., Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at Figure 1; see also Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at 9 at lines 25-30, 10 at lines 10-14, 11 at lines 7-10). Accordingly, the sequences set forth at SEQ ID NOs: 1-19 in the sequence listing do not match or correspond to the structures and sequences of the originally filed disclosure.
For example, Applicant may update the sequence listing to incorporate the correct structures for each sequence, wherein the corrected sequences should reflect the actual length and actual composition of such structures. For example, each “MOA” portion of each structure may be written using “X” residues, wherein the X residues may be collectively identified with single note (i.e., <220>-<223> for each X position) identifying that the X residues collectively correspond to an L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine sequence with 0.88 mol% L-methionine sulfoxide and 0.12 mol% L-alanine.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
For purposes of examination, unless otherwise stated, the claim scope has been interpreted as set forth below per the guidance set forth at MPEP § 2111.
Amended claim 1 is representative of the pending claim scope. Applicable claim interpretations are provided below.
“Comprising” is an open-ended transitional term (see, e.g., MPEP § 2111.03(I)), wherein additional steps or components are not excluded. However, “‘[c]omprising’ is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential” (see, e.g., id.; see also Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
Substructures I, II, and III do not identify orientation (N to C or C to N), length of the total copolypeptide, nor limit additional structures that may be present in the copolypeptide (e.g., small molecules, PEG moieties, branching, etc.). Furthermore, Substructure I, II, and III are reasonably understood to broadly encompass branched and dendritic polypeptides.
The term “MO” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide (see, e.g., Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at 2 at lines 15-20).
The term “about” is given its ordinary meaning in view of the biochemical arts; however, no set meaning exists. More specifically “‘about’ can mean within 1 or more than 1 standard deviations” (see US 2012/0178676 at ¶[0277]); “about” can mean “within an order of magnitude” or “within 5-fold” of a value (see US 20130261065 at ¶[0031]); and can also mean “within 20 percent” (see, e.g., US 2009/0028832 A1 at ¶[0111]; see also US 2009/0105341 A1 at ¶[0049]). Accordingly, the metes and bounds of “about” in the instant usage is unspecified. For purposes of applying prior art, the term is understood to mean “within 5-fold” of a value.
Additional claim interpretations are set forth below.
Maintained or Revised Claim Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 54, 56, 68, 71, 92-93, and 96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deming et al.5 in view of Wollenberg et al.6.
Claim Interpretation: The applicable claim interpretation has been set forth in a separate section above, which is incorporated herein. Additional claim interpretations are set forth below.
Deming pertains to diblock copolypeptide hydrogels that form by the polyion complexation of a first and second copolypeptide (see, e.g., Deming at title, abs). Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 92-93, substructure I of (MOA)7155K55, and substructure II of (MOA)155E55, Deming teaches and discloses polyion complexes (PIC) diblock copolypeptide hydrogel (DCHPIC) forming sequences (see, e.g., Deming at 15115 at col I-II at introduction, Fig. 1 on 15115, scheme 1 on 15116, Fig. 2 on 15117, Supp. at S2 at Table S1). Deming explicitly teaches and discloses (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx, wherein x is between 30-120 (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 1 on 15114, 15115 at col II at final ¶, Fig. 2 at 15117, Supp. at S2 at Table S1) (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144.05(I), noting that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists). Accordingly, compounds of form (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx are prior art elements, that would be predicted and expected to form hydrogels (see, e.g., Deming at title, abs, 15120 at col I). Regarding instant claim 1 and a concentration of “about 1% to about 15%”, Demining discloses and exemplifies compositions wherein compounds of form (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx are present at between 2 wt% and 15 wt% (see Deming at Fig. 2 on 15117) (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144.05(I), noting that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists). Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 12, and substructures of I and II wherein X and Y’ are selected from methionine sulfoxide and alanine, Deming explicitly teaches and discloses (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx, wherein x is between 30-120 (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 1 on 15114, 15115 at col II at final ¶, Fig. 2 at 15117, Supp. at S2 at Table S1), wherein MOA” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine (see, e.g., Deming at 15115 at col II at final ¶, S3, S6, S8). Regarding instant claims 1, 4, 12, 32, and substructures I and II, wherein “at least 85 mol% of” X and Y’ are methionine sulfoxide, Deming explains that MOA” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine (see, e.g., Deming at 15115 at col II at final ¶, S3, S6, S8), and that the alanine comprises “ca. 12 mol %” of the MOA polymer (see, e.g., Deming at 15115 at col II at § Results), and indicates that the Methionine sulfoxide comprises ~88 mol %(see, e.g., id.; see also id. at Scheme 1 on 15116, reproduced in part, below):
Accordingly, the primary reference teaches the limitations pertaining to mol % of methionine sulfoxide present in both (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx (see, e.g., id.; see also Deming at S3, S6, S8). Regarding instant claim 1, and wherein each instance of C’ is lysine, Deming explicitly teaches and discloses (MOA)155Kx, wherein x is between 30-120 (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 1 on 15114, 15115 at col II at final ¶, Fig. 2 at 15117, Supp. at S2 at Table S1), wherein such structure satisfies instant claim 22 because each instance of C’ is lysine. Regarding instant claim 1 and wherein each instance of A’ is glutamic acid, Deming explicitly teaches and discloses (MOA)155Ex, wherein x is between 30-120 (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 1 on 15114, 15115 at col II at final ¶, Fig. 2 at 15117, Supp. at S2 at Table S1), wherein such structure satisfies instant claim 22 because each instance of A’ is glutamic acid. Regarding instant claim 54 and polydispersity of the first and second polypeptide of “less than 1.5”, Deming explicitly teaches and discloses compounds of form (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx, wherein x is between 30-120 (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 1 on 15114, 15115 at col II at final ¶, Fig. 2 at 15117, Supp. at S2 at Table S1), and explicitly discloses that the dispersity of each polypeptide (Mw/Mn) is under 1.5 (see id. at S2 at Table S1). Regarding instant claim 56, and wherein the number of amino acids residues in the first polypeptide is ~90 to ~110% of the number in the second polypeptide, Deming explicitly teaches and discloses hydrogel compositions formed from stoichiometric (MOA)155E/Kx with different ionic segment lengths (i.e., x is 30, 60, 90, or 120) (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 2 at 15117), including a 1:1 ratio of (MOA)155E60 and (MOA)155K60 (see id at Fig. 2(B), (C)). Such sequences are reasonably understood to be “about” (MOA)155E55 and (MOA)155K55. Regarding instant claim 71 and a composition comprising a salt or buffer, Deming explicitly teaches and discloses hydrogel compositions having a 1:1 ratio of (MOA)155E60 and (MOA)155K60, wherein the hydrogels form in the presence of a buffer (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 2 at 15117; see esp. id. at Fig. 2(C)).
The primary reference differs from the instantly claimed invention as follows: Demining does not exemplify a combination of (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx, wherein a third copolypeptide comprising substructure III (“- Zr-D’t -”) is present at “about 1% to about 10%” as presently required by instant claim 1.
Wollenberg identifies that the diblock copolypeptide of (MOA)170Ln8 is a prior art element, wherein n is 12-39 (a.k.a., “DCHMO”) (see, e.g., Wollenberg at 532 at col II at § 3.1.2, 533 at Scheme 2, 534 at Table 2, 534 at Fig. 1(A)-(B), 536 at col I at 1st full ¶, S1 at § Chemical Abbreviations. Supp Figs. 5 and 10). Furthermore, the structure of (MOA)170L24 satisfies the structural requirements of instant claims 1, 32, 92-93, and 96 (compare id. with instant claims 1, 32, 92-93, and 96 regarding Z, D, r, t). Regarding instant claims 1 and concentrations, Wollenberg discloses that such sequences can be utilized at 2 wt% to 9 wt% (see, e.g., Wollenberg at Table 2 on 534, Fig. 5(b) on 537). (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144.05(I), noting that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists). Regarding ranges of concentrations, Demining discloses and exemplifies compositions wherein compounds of form (MOA)155Ex and (MOA)155Kx are present at between 2 wt% and 15 wt% (see Deming at Fig. 2 on 15117); and Wollenberg discloses that (MOA)170L24 can be utilized at 2 wt% to 9 wt% (see, e.g., Wollenberg at Table 2 on 534, Fig. 5(b) on 537). Accordingly, claim 66 is directed to a composition falling within the ranges taught and suggested for use by the prior art (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144.05(I), noting that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists). Regarding instant claim 68, 92-93, and molar ratios, it is noted that (MOA)155E60 and (MOA)155K60 would have a C’ to A’ ratio of 1:1 and an X to Y’ ratio of 1:1. Furthermore, (MOA)170L12-39 and (MOA)170L24 are understood to have a D’ to A’ ratio of approximately 24/60 or 0.4. In sum, compounds of substructures I, II, and III were prior art elements as taught by Deming and Wollenberg, which were taught and disclosed for use at the concentrations presently claimed.
Regarding the elected species, (MOA)170L12-39 and (MOA)170L24 are understood to be “about” (MOA)200L30, because (MOA)170Ln is a prior art element, wherein n is 12-39 (a.k.a., “DCHMO”) (see, e.g., Wollenberg at 532 at col II at § 3.1.2, 533 at Scheme 2, 534 at Table 2, 534 at Fig. 1(A)-(B), 536 at col I at 1st full ¶, S1 at § Chemical Abbreviations. Supp Figs. 5 and 10). Furthermore, 170 is “about” 200, and such prior art only differs from the elected species by the successive addition of the same chemical group (i.e., MOA)) (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144.09(II)).
Motivation to combine and predicted and expected results: A remaining question pertinent to a determination of obviousness may be simply stated as, “why would an artisan combine these sequences?” and “what would be the predicted and expected results?”. Deming explains that (MOA)155E60 and (MOA)155K60 form PIC hydrogels and are generally useful for the encapsulation of primary neural stem progenitor cells (NSPCs), and would generally be useful “as cell carriers” (see, e.g., Deming at 15119 at col II to 15120 at col I at bridging ¶). Similarly, Wollenberg identifies that (MOA)170Ln (a.k.a., “DCHMO”) can be utilized to encapsulate NSPCs (see, e.g., Wollenberg at Fig. 5), wherein “DCHMO may prove to be useful for ensuring robust survival and integration of transplanted NSPC within CNS injury microenvironments” (see, e.g., Wollenberg at 539 at col I at 1st partial ¶), and that “DCHMO is a suitable hydrogel carrier for neural stem cell transplantation applications and warrants further investigation as a therapeutic tool in CNS injury studies” (see, e.g., Wollenberg at 543 at col II at final ¶). Accordingly, an artisan would readily appreciate that (MOA)155E60, (MOA)155K60, and (MOA)170Ln (a.k.a., “DCHMO”) may each be utilized to form hydrogels useful as cell carriers, and in particular NSPCs. Therefore, an artisan would readily appreciate that, absent evidence to the contrary, such sequences in combination would continue to form hydrogels useful as a cell carrier, and in particular a carrier for NSPCs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, either before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) or otherwise at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ), to arrive at the instantly claimed invention in view of the prior art for at least the following reason(s):The claimed invention is the combination of prior art polypeptides (e.g., (MOA)155E60, (MOA)155K60, and (MOA)170Ln), individually taught for use in the formation of hydrogels suitable for use in the encapsulation of primary neural stem progenitor cells (NSPCs) by the prior art; per MPEP § 2144.06(I), "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Accordingly, it would be obvious to combine the prior art sequences of (MOA)155E60, (MOA)155K60, and (MOA)170Ln) (or their obvious variants) in order to predictably and expectedly obtain a third composition that would predictably form a hydrogel suitable for use in the encapsulation of NSPCs, exactly as taught and suggested by the prior art.
Furthermore, there would be a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art is presumed fully enabled (see, e.g., MPEP § 2121(I)) for all that it discloses (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 2123(I)-(II)). Furthermore, it is well-within the ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements, at known concentrations, in order to obtain results taught and disclosed by the prior art.
Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 12, 32, 54, 56, 68, 71, 92-93, and 96 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 and entered 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments directed to withdrawn objections or rejections are moot. Remaining applicable arguments are addressed below.
As an initial issue, in view of the maintained and revised rejection under 35 USC 103, the Examiner’s prior responses of record are pertinent and are incorporated herein.
Recited case law is undisputed: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant provides a summary of case law and MPEP sections pertinent to a determination of obviousness (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 8 at §§ “Legal Standard”). The holdings of the cited cases and disclosures of the MPEP sections are not disputed.
Applicant mischaracterizes the invention by alleging that the claim “requires” unclaimed features: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant alleges that
Claim 1 requires two distinct structural features: (i) a specific dual network hydrogel formed by distinct assembled domains (interpenetrated polyion complexes of Substructures I and II, and hydrophobically assembled domains of Substructure III interpenetrate), and (ii) a synergistic mechanical property where the stiffness exceeds what would be expected from a linear combination of the individual components.
(see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 9 at final ¶; see also id. at 9 at penultimate ¶, alleging that “The claims are direct to compositions… at concentrations and stoichiometries that form a dual network hydrogel which exhibits greater mechanical strength compared to the linear combination of the assembled components”; see also id. at 10 at 1st ¶, referring to “self-sorting”, “assembl[y] via different process”, “spontaneous self-sorting rather than co-assembly into a single mixed network”, “remaining entirely physically crosslinked and self-healing”). Such limitations are not actually present in the pending and examined claims. Therefore, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the limitations identified above) are not recited in the rejected claims, and therefore such unclaimed limitations do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant alleges that the described properties are inherently present in all claimed compositions: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant admits that “the properties the Applicant pointed to in the previous response are inherent to the claimed composition” (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 9 at 1st full ¶ to 10 at 1st ¶, referring to MPEP § 2112.01). If correct, this admission would not distinguish the invention as claimed over the prior art combination of (MOA)155E60, (MOA)155K60, and (MOA)170Ln, as suggested and rendered obvious in view of the prior art of record, because such properties would necessarily and inherently be present in the resulting hydrogel. At which point, the alleged differences amount to results obtained that were not directly contemplated by the prior art, which is addressed at MPEP §§ 707.07(f) and 2145(II), which explains that “Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention”, and further identifies that the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Here, (MOA)155E60, (MOA)155K60, and (MOA)170Ln are all prior art components, taught for use in the in the formation of hydrogels suitable for use in the encapsulation of primary neural stem progenitor cells (NSPCs) by the prior art; per MPEP § 2144.06(I), "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine the known prior art elements (or their obvious variants) in order to predictably and expectedly obtain a third composition that would predictably form a hydrogel suitable for use in the encapsulation of NSPCs, exactly as taught and suggested by the prior art. Accordingly, if the properties identified by the Applicant are inherent as admitted, then such properties would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art, and therefore cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant’s assertion that the alleged properties are inherently present in the claimed compositions is not actually supported by evidence commensurate in scope with the instant claim scope and is incongruent with expectations in the hydrogel arts: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant admits that “the properties the Applicant pointed to in the previous response are inherent to the claimed composition” (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 9 at 1st full ¶ to 10 at 1st ¶, referring to MPEP § 2112.01), but it is unclear what supporting evidence Applicant is relying upon for this assertion. Here, the pending claim scope is vast and highly varied. For example, the lower concentration range is less than 1 wt.% in total of all three copolypeptides because “about” is undefined on record but reasonably means “within 5-fold”, which means “about 1 wt.%” includes 0.2 wt.%; however, zero evidence that such low concentration ranges form hydrogels or dual network hydrogel at all has been identified on record. As a second example, zero evidence of record shows that C’, A’, and D’ comprising less than 100 mol% of lysine, glutamic acid, and leucine, respectively, form dual network hydrogels having the claimed properties. As a third example, m, n, and r may be “about 100”, which is a range including 20 amino acids (i.e., “about” is understood to mean “within 5-fold” as explained in the claim interpretation section), wherein p, q, and t may be “about 200” (see claim 1). However, zero evidence of record supports a conclusion that such structures having substructures wherein X, Y’, and Z are substantially smaller than C’, A’, and D’ would “inherently” have the properties described and alleged by Applicant. In the absence of actual evidence of inherency commensurate in scope with the pending claim scope, such arguments are not credible. Furthermore, in the absence of objective evidence, an artisan would not reasonably conclude that the alleged properties were inherently present commensurate in scope with the vast and highly varied claim scope, at least because gel formation is well-known to depend upon temperature, pH, and ionic strength, among other factors (see, e.g., US 20050084534 A1 at ¶[0013], noting that “gel formation is influenced by several factors including the DM, ionic strength, pH, and molecular weight….”; see, e.g., US 20120277199 A1 at ¶[0334], noting that “liquid state-to-gel state phrase transition (gelation temperature) is dependent on polymer concentration, buffer concentration and ingredients in the solution”). Accordingly, an artisan would readily appreciate that instant claim 1 is wholly unbounded by pH, ionic strength, and temperature limitations, and encompasses a vast and highly varied genus of copolypeptide structures; therefore, absent objective supporting evidence, one of ordinary skill in the hydrogel arts would not reasonably extend results obtained by a very narrow set of conditions (e.g., limited sequences, limited temperature, limited pH, limited ionic strength) to the full scope of instant claim 1. In sum, the evidence of record does not support a determination that the alleged properties are inherently present and shared by all compositions within the scope of instant claim 1, and a reasonably artisan would not reasonably conclude that the claimed compositions of instant claim 1 necessarily shared the alleged inherent properties commensurate in scope the vast and highly varied genus recited at the instant claims. Accordingly, assertions that such properties are inherent, in the absence of supporting, objective evidence commensurate in scope with the claims, amounts to unsupported arguments of counsel.
Notes regarding functional limitations: Examiner notes that if the claims are subsequently amended to expressly recite the limitations now alleged to be inherent (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 9 at 1st full ¶ to 10 at 1st ¶, referring to MPEP § 2112.01), that such limitations may be interpreted as functional limitations that further limit the scope of instant claim 1 in some manner corresponding to structure/function relationships of record or otherwise known in the prior art. Applicant is advised that such functional limitations may be interpreted to limit the scope of the claims with respect to pH, temperature, concentrations, sequence compositions, ionic strength, etc., in accordance with the structure/function relationships of record or known in the art, but that such functional limitations may necessitate rejections under 35 USC 112(b) and/or 112(a) if the limitation does not correspond to a clear, unambiguous structure/function relationship of record or otherwise known in the prior art.
No evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the requirements of MPEP §§ 716, 716.01, and 716.02 has been placed on record to date: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is again alleging the existence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the requirements set forth at MPEP § 716.02 (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 9 at 1st full ¶ to 11 at 1st fill ¶, referring to “evidence of secondary considerations (e.g., unexpected results) associated with the claimed composition”, and referring to Figs. 1, 3A-3B, 7, 9A-F, and Exhibit A; see also Reply filed 12/24/2025 at 14 at 1st full ¶ to 15 at 3rd full ¶, referring to Figures and data of record.). However, to establish unexpected results, the allegations must be timely and supported by objective evidence (see, e.g., 37 C.F.R. 1.132; see MPEP §§ 716.01, 716.01(a), 716.01(c)); to be of probative value the proffered evidence must be related to the claimed invention (see MPEP §§ 716.01(b), discussing nexus requirement and noting that "[w]here the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention"); the evidence must establish that the expected results occur to an unexpected extent (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(a)(I)), on the basis of statistically and practically significant evidence (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(b)(I)), which is fully explained (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(b)(II)), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(d)), and wherein a comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art of record is provided (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(e)). Furthermore, even if evidence satisfying MPEP §§ 716.02, 716.02(a), 716.02(b), 716.02(d), and 716.02(e) is set forth on record, such evidence may not be sufficient to rebut prima facie obviousness because the evidence of expected and unexpected results must be weighed (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(c)(I)) and the totality of the record considered (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 716.01(d), 716.02(f)), including teachings in the prior art and evidence of expected results which weigh in favor of a determination of obviousness (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(c)(II)). In the present case, no evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the requirements of MPEP § 716.02 have been placed on record to date at last because: No evidence commensurate in scope with the claimed invention has been placed on record (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(d); note that no evidence commensurate in scope with the unbounded temperature, pH, or ranges of “about” the concentration ranges, or ranges of structural variability has been placed on record at all, and as discussed above, such parameters would be reasonably expected and predicted to impact hydrogel formation and properties), no statistically and practically significant evidence showing an advantage over the closest prior art of record has been provided (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(e), noting that equally close prior art compositions already existed, but not tested, and no practically significant difference in cell culture has been identified), and the limited data of record suggests that the claimed invention merely achieves the predicted and expected result suggested in view of the prior art (i.e., the null hypothesis that hydrogel-forming compounds would simply form hydrogels as expected), which weighs in favor of a determination of obviousness (see, e.g., MPEP § 716.02(c)(II)). Furthermore, no averred statements have been placed on record, and Applicant appears to have admitted that such properties would arise inherently upon mixing the prior art components (see discussion above). Accordingly, no evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the requirements of MPEP §§ 716, 716.01, and 716.02 has been placed on record to date.
Applicant has a different rationale for arriving at the instant invention, which is not the same rationale utilized to support a determination of obviousness by the Examiner: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant identifies that their rationale for arriving at the claimed invention differs from the rationale relied upon by the Examiner to establish obviousness (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 9 at 2nd full ¶ to 11 at 2nd full ¶, alleging that an artisan “would not have been able to predict that the claimed combination would have had such superior mechanical properties” ; see, e.g., Reply filed 12/24/2025 at 14 at 1st full ¶ to 15 at 3rd full ¶, referring to storage modulus, viscoelastic behavior, gel-like behavior, delayed crossover, strain-induced softening, strain sweep data, self-healing, large-amplitude shear, gel integrity in physiologic media, etc., etc.).. Examiner notes that this is not persuasive because an examiner may support a determination of obviousness by relying upon a rationale that differs from the Applicant’s rationale (see, e.g., MPEP § 2144(IV)). Here, the Examiner’s rationales are explicitly identified in the rejection (i.e., MPEP § 2144.06(I)), but Applicant fails to address or specifically dispute these rationales supporting a determination of obviousness. Accordingly, it is neither disputed nor dispositive of obviousness that the Examiner did not support the Applicant’s rationale, because the determination of prima facie obviousness was properly based upon a different rationale supporting prima facie obviousness.
Allegations suggesting improper or impermissible hindsight: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is suggesting that the Examiner’s position fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness because the prior art does not lead an artisan to the instant invention (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 11 at 2nd full ¶, alleging “absent hindsight based on the instant application”). If Applicant means to suggest that the Examiner arrived at the instantly claimed invention via the use of improper hindsight, this is not persuasive because any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Here, Applicant fails to identify a single aspect of the claimed invention that was not explicitly taught, disclosed, or suggested by the prior art relied upon by the Examiner, and merely performs anything other than its art-recognized function. More specifically, all components are prior art elements, having known utility and applications, and the combination of such elements would predictably and expectedly yield a third composite composition that would predictably form a hydrogel suitable for use in the encapsulation of NSPCs, exactly as taught and suggested by the prior art.
Alleged “teaching away”: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is alleging that the art teaches away from combining the prior art elements, presumably on the assumption that an artisan would equate K180L20 with (MOA)170Ln, and conclude that mixing (MOA)155E/K60 with (MOA)170Ln would yield “a low-viscosity liquid” rather than a gel (see, e.g., Reply filed 12/24/2025 at 13-14 at bridging ¶). This is not persuasive for the following reasons: First, Applicant provides no basis for extrapolating data obtained with K180L20 to (MOA)170Ln, and the validity of this assumption does not appear credible in the absence of an unambiguous explanation. Second, although the Applicant alleges that Deming discloses
…a 5.0 wt.% PIC hydrogel ((M0A)155E/K60) mixed with K180L20 amphiphilic MO (chosen to match stiffness) failed to gel and produced only a liquid at 5.0 wt.%.
(see, e.g., Reply filed 12/24/2025 at 13-14 at bridging ¶, 16-17 at bridging ¶), Applicant fails to provide any citation for such a disclosure. Upon review, Applicant appears to have confused the image at Figure 4 and the disclosure at 15119 of Deming (see, e.g., Deming at Fig. 4 on 15118, 15119 at col I-II at bridging ¶), which discloses that 2.0% wt K180L20, in the absence of any (MOA)155E/K60, did not maintain a gel state after 3 days (see id). Accordingly, following review of Deming, Examiner is unaware, where exactly, Deming provides the alleged teaching relied upon by the Applicant. Accordingly, in the absence of such evidence, the basis for the alleged “teaching away” allegation appears non-existent. Third, Examiner notes that any suggestion of a “teaching away” is not persuasive because none of prior art references at issue “teach away” from the claimed invention since they do not actually “criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed” (see, e.g., MPEP § 2141.02(VI)). Applicant has not identified any disclosure that “criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the solution claimed”. Accordingly, no “teaching away” has been identified on record.
Allegations suggesting “lack of predictability” or “lack of reasonable expectation of success”: It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is alleging a lack of predictability or otherwise a lack of reasonable expectation of success (see, e.g., Reply filed 4/10/2026 at 11 at 2nd full ¶, alleging what an artisan would or would not have predicted; see also Reply filed 12/24/2025 at 14 at 1st full ¶ to 15 at 3rd full ¶). This is not persuasive because the Applicant’s assertions do not reflect the proper legal standards for evaluating predictability. MPEP § 2143.02(II) explains that “[o]bviousness does not require absolute predictability”, but instead clarifies that only “at least some degree of predictability is required” (see, e.g., MPEP § 2143.02(II)). Here, the rejection explicitly addresses predictability and reasonable expectation of success, but Applicant fails to address the explicitly identified predicted and expected results set forth in the rejection. Here, the Examiner’s basis for “predictability” is merely based upon the presumption that the prior art is fully enabled (see, e.g., MPEP § 2121(I)) for all that it discloses (see, e.g., MPEP §§ 2123(I)-(II)). As explained at MPEP § 2143.02, predictability and reasonable expectation of success are satisfied when “all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art”. Here zero evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the requirements of MPEP 716.02 have been set forth on record, all elements of the claimed invention were known in the prior art, one of ordinary skill was fully enabled to combined each component using routine methods in the biochemical arts per the guidance of the primary reference, and the elements would have merely performed their art-recognized, respective functions (see Rejection, above). Accordingly, such arguments are not persuasive.
Accordingly, all applicable arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained as revised above.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2007/0157967 A19 (Jul. 12, 2007; Mershin et al) discloses a product comprising surfactant peptides (plural), selected from a group consisting of Formulas 1-10, which includes sequences of form (ϕ)m(+)n and (ϕ)m(-)n, wherein (ϕ) may be alanine; (+) may be lysine or arginine; (-) may be aspartic acid or glutamic acid; m is ≥5; and n is ≥1 (see, e.g., US’967 at claims 1-3). All amino acids disclosed are understood to encompass L-amino acids.
US 7846445 B210 (Dec. 7, 2010; Schellenberger et al.) teaches and discloses a peptide-based PEG alternative. Specifically, US’445 identifies the utility and shortcomings of PEG and PEGylation in the protein arts (see, e.g., US’445 at col. 1 at line 56 to col 2 at lines 60, col 38 at lines 45-50), and additionally discloses a protein “module” that can be utilized as a peptide-based recombinant PEG (“rPEG”) (see, e.g., US’445 at col 77 at lines 1-25, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, col 17 at lines 18-55, col 32 at lines 50-61,SEQ ID NOs: 96 and 107), including modules comprised of only glycine and serine (see id.; see esp id. at SEQ ID NO: 107).
US 12,226,54611 (Feb. 18, 2026) claims related embodiments that lack Substructure III (see, e.g., US’546 at claims).
US 20130202711 A112 (Aug. 8, 2013; Kataoka et al.) pertains to vesicles formed by combining two different diblock polymers, wherein each polymer comprises a hydrophilic portion and charged portion (see, e.g., US’711 at title, abs, Fig. 3, claims 1-26).
US 2014/028686513 (Sep. 25, 2014; Deming et al.) pertains to the usage of amphiphilic diblock copolypeptide hydrogels, which are referred to as “DCH” (see, e.g., US’865 at ¶[0006]), and US’865 discloses the use of “DCH” as gels and scaffolds, including in CNS applications (see, e.g., US’865 at ¶¶[0006]-[0007], [0025], [0029]-[0033]). Such disclosures are pertinent because US’865 explicitly identifies that the phrase “a DCH” or “the DCH” may “include[] multiple DCH, e.g., 2, 3, 4, 5 or more DCH, which can be the same or different” (see, e.g., US’865 at ¶[0057]).
US 20150258219 A114 (Sep. 17, 2015; Kataoka et al.) pertains to vesicles formed by combining two different diblock polymers, wherein each polymer comprises a hydrophilic portion and charged portion (see, e.g., US’219 at title, abs, claims 15-27).
US2016/000240515 (Jan. 7, 2016) discloses MO65(L0.5F0.5)20 and similar sequences (see, e.g., US’405 at ¶[0019]).
Harada et al. (Formation of Polyion Complex Micelles in an Aqueous Milieu from a Pair of Oppositely-Charged Block Copolymers with Poly(ethylene glycol) Segments, Macromolecules, vol. 28:5294-5299 (1995); hereafter “Harada”; cited in IDS filed 04/05/2022 as cite no. CB) discloses the complexation of oppositely-charged block copolymers, namely PEG-polylysine and PEG-polyaspartic acid (see, e.g., Harada at title, abs, Fig. 8 on 5298). Harada concludes
Mixing of oppositely charged block copolymers in an aqueous milieu led to the spontaneous formation of polyion complex micelles having a spherical shape with a considerably narrow distribution. As for other block copolymer micelles, these polyion complex micelles may have a corona of hydrophilic PEG segments which surround the core of the polyion complex of cationic and anionic segments. It is well-known that various charged substances such as ions, proteins, and nucleic acids are selectively concentrated in polyion complex coacervates through electrostatic interaction. This feature is quite feasible for utilizing the polyion complex micelles made from block copolymers as vehicles for charged compounds in the field of drug discovery.
(see, e.g., Harada at 5298-5299 at bridging ¶)
Accordingly, mixing oppositely charged block copolymers to predictably form polyion complexes is not a point of novelty.
Insua et al. (Polyion complex (PIC) particles: Preparation and biomedical applications, European Polymer Journal, vol. 81:198-215 (June 2016), doi: 10.1016/j.eurpolymj.2016.06.003. PMID: 27524831; PMCID: PMC4973809. (IDS filed 04/05/2022 as cite no. CC; hereafter “Insua”) discloses that “[o]ppositely charged polyions can self-assemble in solution” and form “polyion complex (PIC) particles” (see, e.g., Insua at abs), and that such polyions may include proteins (see, e.g., id. at 198 at § 1). The PIC assembly is illustrated generically for any anionic and cationic polymers at figure 3 (see, e.g., Insua at Fig. 3 on 201).
Srivastava et al. (Gel phase formation in dilute triblock copolyelectrolyte complexes, Nature Communications, vol 8:14131. doi: 10.1038/ncomms14131, 9 pages (Feb 23, 2017); hereafter “Srivastava”; IDS filed 04/05/2022 as cite no. CF) discusses gel formation using diblock and triblock copolyelectrolytes (see, e.g., Srivastava at title, abs, Fig. 2 on 4, reproduced in part below):
Accordingly, the formation of gels using diblock or triblock copolyelectrolytes is not novel or surprising, but is instead the expected and predicted result.
Captain et al (Methionine sulfoxide and phosphonate containing double hydrophilic block copolypeptides and their mineralization of calcium carbonate. J. Polym. Sci. Part A: Polym. Chem., 54: 3707-3712 (2016), https://doi.org/10.1002/pola.28264 (IDS filed 9/28/2021 as cite no. CK) discloses diblock copolypeptides (see, e.g., id. at title, abs, Table 1 on 3709).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RANDALL L BEANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
1 In the originally elected species, “MOA” was understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine 0.88/0.12 mol% (see, e.g., Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at 2 at lines 17-30). This is pertinent because (MOA)155 and (MOA)200 were understood to refer to sequences containing 155 or 200 amino acids, not 310 or 400 total residues. (see, e.g., instant Fig. 1, noting that (MOA)155 refers to a statistically distributed sequence wherein MetO is present at 0.88 mol% and Ala is present at 0.12 mol% (see, e.g., Spec. filed 9/27/2021 at Figure 1)
2“MOA” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine, as explained in a previous footnote, therefore (MOA)155K55 is not SEQ ID NO: 14.
3 “MOA” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine, as explained in a previous footnote, therefore (MOA)155E55 is not SEQ ID NO: 15.
4 “MOA” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine, as explained in a previous footnote, therefore (MOA)200L30 is not SEQ ID NO: 16.
5 Deming et al., Conformation-Directed Formation of Self-Healing Diblock Copolypeptide Hydrogels via Polyion Complexation, Journal of the American Chemical Society 2017 139 (42), 15114-15121, DOI: 10.1021/jacs.7b08190 (hereafter “Demining”, published Oct. 4, 2017).
6 Wollenberg et al., Injectable polypeptide hydrogels via methionine modification for neural stem cell delivery. Biomaterials. 2018 Sep;178:527-545. doi: 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2018.03.057. Epub 2018 Apr 5. PMID: 29657091; PMCID: PMC6054810; hereafter “Wollenberg”.
7 “MOA” is understood to refer to L-methionine sulfoxide-stat-L-alanine
8 poly(L-methionine sulfoxide0.9-stat-L-alanine0.1)170-b-poly(L-leucine)n
9 Cited in previous action
10 Cited in previous action
11 Cited in previous action
12 Cited in previous action
13 Cited in previous action
14 Cited in previous action
15 Cited in previous action