DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Per the Applicant’s response dated March 18, 2026, Claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16 are amended. Claims 22-25 are new. Claims 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-25 remain pending and are examined.
Status of Application
Rejections are provided below as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11, 13-14, 16, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corbin et al. CN205211805U, machine translation relied upon provided, hereinafter Corbin.
Regarding Claim 10, Corbin discloses a battery pack comprising [Corbin 0002, Fig. 1 and throughout]:
a housing including [Corbin 0051-0052, Fig. 1-2, 5 and throughout, housing 102 and upper portion connecting to handle 108];
an external surface [Corbin 0051-0052, Fig. 1-2, 5 and throughout, housing 102A/B and the external surface is the outside surface of housing 102A of pack 100, see annotated Fig. 5 below where external surface is marked];
a first lower portion; a second lower portion; an upper portion; and a handle arranged above the upper portion of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface [Corbin 0051-0052, Fig. 1-2, 5 and throughout, as marked in annotated Fig. 5 where the handle is the holding portion on the upper surface of the upper portion as marked below with gap between the handle portion arranged above the upper portion and the external surface on 102A as marked below];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Corbin 0052 and throughout, Figs. 6-7, batteries 104 in housing 102];
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports [Corbin 0051-0058; 0065-0068 and throughout, Figs. 1, 4, 5-6, 10-16, 17-20 , mating feature is the area circled in annotated Fig. 4 below with a plurality of battery pack connection terminals 106 as the claimed ports electrically connected to the battery cells which are configured to selectively connect pack 100 with a piece of power equipment through a receptacle (holder 112 for power equipment or a charging station 170)];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators, the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing underneath the handle so that the user interface is visible through the gap [Corbin 0056, Fig. 2, 5-6 and throughout, user interface is 102L which operates through battery management system controller 116 monitoring the status through lights 116L visible in interface 102L and visible through the gap as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below]; and
a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Corbin 0055-0057, Fig. 2, 5-6, battery management system is controlled and monitored by controller 116 within housing 102 between battery cells 104 and interface 102L].
Regarding Claim 11, Corbin disclose the battery pack of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of channels positioned on the housing, the plurality of channels configured to align the battery pack into a receptacle of at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station [Corbin 0055, Fig. 4, channels 130 as shown in annotated Fig. 4 above which align battery pack 100 with receptacle power equipment receptacle 112 (Fig. 12) or charging equipment receptacle 170 (Figs. 19) through receptacles 132; further, Corbin 0054, Fig. 11 teaches receptacle protrusions 122 on both receptacle 112 or 170 which align with channels 124. Both interpretations read on the limitations of the claim.].
Regarding Claim 13, Corbin discloses the battery pack of claim 10, where in the housing further comprises a first slot and second slot [Corbin 0055-0064 and throughout, Figs. 1-5, Sliding grooves 124 on each side of 102A as the first and second slots; Alternatively, any of the four slots 130 as first and second slots best shown in Fig. 4.], the first slot and second slot together forming an aligned slot configured to receive one of the plurality of protrusions of the receptacle [Corbin 0055-0064, Figs. 1-5, The two slots 124 mate with protrusions 122 on both sides of the receptacle battery holder 112 or receptacle charger 170 as the claimed protrusions of receptacles. Corbin teaches these slots are for alignment and together read on aligned slot as best seen in Fig. 4 of the underside of the battery pack. Alternatively, any of the four slots 130 are aligned as shown in Fig. 4 and read on the claimed aligned slot. The slots 130 are configured to receive protrusions 132 of the receptacle battery holder 112 or receptacle charger 170 as the claimed protrusions of receptacles. Both interpretations read on the limitations of the claim. ].
Regarding Claim 14, Corbin discloses the battery pack of claim 10, further comprising a release mechanism configured to releasably couple the battery pack to at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station when the release mechanism is in a released position [Corbin 0064, 0068, release mechanism (tongue 126 with spring 144A and locking groove 128 released through actuator button 142A of actuator 142 placing tongue 126 in release position) allows the battery pack 100 to be released or locked (releasably coupled) onto receptacle charger 170 or receptacle holder 112 for a piece of power equipment (power tool [Corbin 0064]) [Corbin 0068] ].
Regarding Claim 16, Corbin discloses a battery assembly [Corbin 0002, Fig. 1 and throughout] comprising:
a battery pack [Corbin 0051 and throughout, Fig. 1, pack 100] including:
a housing including an external surface [Corbin 0051, Fig. 1 and throughout, housing 102 and outside surface of housing 102 of pack 100 as an external surface; for example, upper surface of 102A as an external surface];
a handle arranged above the external surface of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface [Corbin 0051, Fig. 1, 2, 5 and throughout, handle 108 above the external surface of the upper portion of housing 102A with the gap most evident in Fig. 5];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Corbin 0052 and throughout, Figs. 6-7, batteries 104;
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports and configured to selectively connect the battery pack assembly with a receptacle of at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station [Corbin 0051-0058; 0065-0068 and throughout, Figs. 1, 4, 5-6, 10-16, 17-20 , mating feature is the area circled in annotated Fig. 4 below channels 130 having a plurality of battery pack connection terminals 106 as the claimed ports electrically connected to the battery cells which are configured to selectively connect pack 100 with a piece of power equipment through a receptacle (holder 112 for power equipment or a charging station 170)];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators, the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing so that the user interface is visible through the gap [Corbin 0056, Fig. 2, 5-6 and throughout, user interface is 102L which operates through battery control board 116 monitoring the status through lights 116L visible in interface 102L and visible through the gap as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below]; and
a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Corbin 0055-0057, Fig. 2, 5-6, battery management system is controlled and monitored by controller 116 within housing 102 between battery cells 104 and interface 102L]; and
a release mechanism configured to selectively disengage the battery pack from the receptacle when the release mechanism is in a released position [Corbin 0068, release mechanism (tongue 126 with spring 144A and locking groove 128 released through actuator button 142A of actuator 142 placing tongue 126 in release position) the allows the battery pack 100 to be released or locked (selectively disengaged) onto receptacle charger 170 or receptacle holder 112 ];
wherein the housing comprises a plurality of channels configured to interface with a plurality of protrusions of the receptacle [Corbin 0055, Fig. 4, channels 130 as shown below interface with the protrusions 132 in receptacle 112 (Fig. 12) or 170 (Figs. 19); further Corbin 0054, Fig. 11 teaches receptacle protrusions 122 on both receptacle 112 or 170 ].
Regarding Claim 20, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, the battery assembly further comprising:
a cell assembly positioned within the housing [Corbin 0052-0057, Figs. 5-9, assembly 120] , the cell assembly comprising:
the plurality of battery cells[Corbin 0052-0057, Figs. 5-9, cells 104]; and
a first collector plate and a second collector plate, wherein the plurality of battery cells are electrically coupled together by the first collector plate and the second collector plate [Corbin 0052-0057, plates 134A-134-C read on the claimed first and second collector plate];
wherein the plurality of battery cells is positioned between the first collector plate and the second collector plate [Corbin 0052-0057, Figs. 5-9, and throughout, where collector plates 134A-D overlap the battery cells 104 and, further, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Corbin is the plates 134A-D are connected to both the anode and cathode sides of the batteries to provide the taught series and or parallel connections].
Regarding Claim 21, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, further comprising a plurality of spacers extending between a first body half of the housing and a second body half of the housing [Corbin 0052 and throughout, Fig. 5, screws 102C perform as spacers extending between first and second half bodies 102A and 102B of housing 102], each of the plurality of spacers is surrounded by a bushing [Corbin 0052 Fig. 5, Corbin’s disclosure reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed spacers and bushings where Corbin Fig. 5 shows spacers 102C are each surrounded by bushings (screw bosses with the screw holes for receiving 102C screws).].
Regarding Claim 22, Corbin discloses a battery pack comprising [Corbin 0002, Fig. 1 and throughout]:
a housing including an external surface [Corbin 0051-0052, Fig. 1-2, 5 and throughout, housing 102A/B and the external surface is the outside surface of housing 102A of pack 100, see annotated Fig. 5 below where external surface is marked];
a handle arranged above the external surface of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface [Corbin 0051-0052, Fig. 1-2, 5 and throughout, as marked in annotated Fig. 5 below with gap between handle 108 and the external surface on 102A];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Corbin 0052 and throughout, Figs. 6-7, batteries 104 in housing 102];
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports [Corbin 0051-0058; 0065-0068 and throughout, Figs. 1, 4, 5-6, 10-16, 17-20 , mating feature is the area circled in annotated Fig. 4 below with a plurality of battery pack connection terminals 106 as the claimed ports electrically connected to the battery cells which are configured to selectively connect pack 100 with a piece of power equipment through a receptacle (holder 112 for power equipment or a charging station 170)];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators, the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing so that the user interface is visible through the gap [Corbin 0056, Fig. 2, 5-6 and throughout, user interface is 102L which operates through battery management system controller 116 monitoring the status through lights 116L visible in interface 102L and visible through the gap as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below]; and
a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Corbin 0055-0057, Fig. 2, 5-6, battery management system is controlled and monitored by controller 116 within housing 102 between battery cells 104 and interface 102L].
Regarding Claim 23, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 10, wherein the gap defines an opening between the handle and the external surface [Corbin Fig. 1 as described in claim 10].
Regarding Claim 24, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, wherein the gap defines an opening between the handle and the external surface [Corbin Fig. 1 as described in claim 16].
Regarding Claim 25, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 22, wherein the gap defines an opening between the handle and the external surface [Corbin Fig. 1 as described in claim 22].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corbin as provided for claim 16 above.
Regarding Claim 17, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, further comprising:
a lower housing modular portion [Corbin see annotated Fig. 2 below with lower portion of housing 102]; and
an upper housing modular portion [Corbin see annotated Fig. 2 below with upper portion of housing 102];
wherein a first slot is formed on the lower housing modular portion [Corbin 0054-0068, see annotated Fig. 2 below, first slot is the lower portion of 124 on each side] and a second slot is formed on the upper housing modular portion [Corbin 0054-0068, see annotated Fig. 2 below, second slot is the upper portion of 124 on each side], the first slot and the second slot together forming an aligned slot configured to receive one of the plurality of protrusions of the receptacle [Corbin Figs. 1-2, aligned slot 124 mates with protrusions 122 on both sides of battery holder 112 or charger 170 as the claimed receptacles].
Corbin does not explicitly teach separate upper and lower modular portions as claimed; however, Corbin’s invention would be considered modular since the battery pack 100 since it has the multi-functional properties of attachment with either a charger 170 or a battery holder 112 for a tool [Corbin 0002]. Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Corbin’s battery pack housing 102 can be separated into an upper and lower modular portion as a design choice per 2144.04I or by making the upper and lower portions of the battery pack housing 102 separable per 2144.04V, C without changing the function of the case 102.
Claims 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corbin, as provided for claim 16 above, and in further view of Olsson et al. [US20140154535A1, provided on the IDS dated November 4, 2021], hereinafter Olsson.
Regarding Claim 19, Corbin discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, wherein the battery management system includes a controller configured to monitor a status of the battery assembly and control an operation of the battery assembly [Corbin 0055-0057, battery management system is controlled and monitored by controller 116]. Corbin is silent to the battery management system is configured to wirelessly communicate information with at least one of a remote server and a personal computer, wherein the information communicated with at least one of the remote server and the personal computer is at least one of information regarding the status of the battery assembly and a command. Olsson discloses a battery assembly wherein the battery management system [Olsson 0086, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142.)] includes a controller [Olsson 0090-0092, Fig. 1B] configured to monitor a status of the battery assembly [Olsson 0002, 0074, 0092] and control an operation of the battery assembly [Olsson 0002, 0074, 0086] configured to wirelessly communicate information [Olsson 0208-0219] with at least one of a remote server [Olsson 0211, 0208] and a personal computer [Olsson 0211, 0208], wherein the information communicated with at least one of the remote server and the personal computer is at least one of information regarding the status of the battery assembly [Olsson 0201] and a command [Olsson 0254]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s teachings about a battery management system with wireless communication with a server or computer as described with Corbin’s battery pack 100’s battery management system using controller 116 for the predictable result of a battery assembly capable of wireless communication of battery information [Olsson 0208-0219].
For purpose of compact prosecution additional rejections are provided below over Fry.
Claims 10, 14, 22-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry et al. US20180323621A1, hereinafter Fry.
Regarding Claim 10, Fry discloses a battery pack [Fry 0033 and throughout, power device 10] comprising:
a housing including [Fry 0033 and throughout, Fig. 1, housing 22 with handle 30]:
an external surface [Fry Fig. 1 and throughout, all of the outside portions of power device 10];
a first lower portion [Fry 0033-0034 and throughout, Fig. 3 and others, first lower portion as either the lower portion of 50 or 54];
a second lower portion located opposite to the first lower portion [Fry 0033-0034 and throughout, Fig. 3 and others, Per Merriam-Webster online dictionary, the definition 1c of opposite is located across from something. The second lower portion is the other of lower portions of 50 or 54, which would be considered opposite.];
an upper portion [Fry 0033-0034 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 9 and throughout, lid 62]; and
a handle arranged above the upper portion of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface [Fry 0033 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 9 and throughout, handle 30 with holding member 46, tube 38/42, where the gap is between the two tube portions 38/42 on the left and right sides and between the holding member 46 and the lid 62 both in the open [Fig. 3] and closed positions [Fig. 1, 2];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Fry 0032-0033 cells 14; 0035-0040 cells 86, 90 all read on cells disposed within the housing];
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports [Fry teaches multiple mating features reading on the claimed structure. Fry 0033-0034, Fig. 3 and others, power output 18; 0049- 0051, Fig. 8 and others, terminals 186, can provide power from batteries 14; 0040 and throughout, Figs. 4,5, ports 70,72 can provide or receive power from cells 86, 90];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators, the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing underneath the handle so that the user interface is visible through the gap [Fry 0033-0036, Figs. 1, 3, 5 Fry does not explicitly teach visibility of the user interface through the gap; however, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Fry Figs. 1,5 is that display 34 [Fry 0033] as the claimed user interface, displays battery status indicators (Fig. 5) and would be inherently visible through the gap with an extended handle (Fig. 1) depending on the angle of viewing. Further, Fry discloses LED indicators 73 [Fry 0034-0036, Fig. 5], which also read on the claimed user interface. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Figs. 3, 5 is that LED indicators 73 would be inherently visible through the gap with an extended handle when the lid 62 is open depending on the angle of viewing. See MPEP 2112. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.]; and
a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Fry 0003-0004, 0040, 0049, 0050, Figs. 9, 10-13 and throughout, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Fry’s diagram in Fig. 13 and teachings in the recited paragraphs is that the battery management system is shown in Fig. 13 and the “circuitry” is provided in top portion 54 behind plate 179 and supports all the user interfaces [34, 73] as described above, which reads on battery management system positioned within the housing as claimed. Fry does not explicitly teach the battery management system is positioned between the battery cells [cells 14 or cells 86, 90] and the user interface [34, 73]; however, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to position the battery management system between the battery cells and the user interface since the positioning of the battery management would be considered a design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes, or would merely require the rearrangement of parts, per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts. Such modification would be obvious since the battery management system would perform the same function in a different location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fry such the battery management system is between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface as a matter of aesthetic design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes or per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts based on the needed design of the battery assembly for the predictable result of a battery pack managed by a battery management system.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Fry discloses the battery pack of claim 10, further comprising a release mechanism configured to releasably couple the battery pack to at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station when the release mechanism is in a released position [Fry 0045-0047, locking mechanism 154 with latches 158 as the release mechanism for releasing top portion 54, which provides access to terminals 15 of battery 14 for connection to a vehicle; or Fry 0043-0044; 0047, Fig. 6-7, quick-connection terminals 102/106 with pivot clamps locking the first conducting portion 110 with the second conduction portion 114 with actuating member 124 pivotable between open and closed as the release mechanism.].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Fry discloses the battery pack of claim 10, wherein the gap defines an opening between the handle and the external surface [Fry Fig. 1].
Regarding Claim 22, Fry discloses a battery pack [Fry 0033 and throughout, power device 10] comprising:
a housing including an external surface [Fry 0033 and throughout, Fig. 1, housing 22 with handle 30 where the external surface is all of the outside portions of power device 10]:
[Fry Fig. 1 and throughout, all of the outside portions of power device 10];
a handle arranged above the external surface of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface [Fry 0033 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 9 and throughout, handle 30 with holding member 46, tube 38/42, where the gap is between the two tube portions 38/42 on the left and right sides and between the holding member 46 and the lid 62 both in the open [Fig. 3] and closed positions [Fig. 1, 2];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Fry 0032-0033 cells 14; or 0035-0040 cells 86, 90, both types read on cells disposed within the housing];
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports [Fry teaches multiple mating features reading on the claimed structure: Fry 0033-0034, Fig. 3 and others, power output 18; 0049- 0051, Fig. 8 and others, terminals 186, can provide power from batteries 14; 0040 and throughout, Figs. 4,5, ports 70,72 can provide or receive power from cells 86, 90];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators, the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing underneath the handle so that the user interface is visible through the gap [Fry 0033-0036, Figs. 1, 3, 5 Fry does not explicitly teach visibility of the user interface through the gap; however, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Fry Figs. 1,5 is that display 34 [Fry 0033] as the claimed user interface, displays battery status indicators (Fig. 5) and would be inherently visible through the gap with an extended handle (Fig. 1) depending on the angle of viewing. Further, Fry discloses LED indicators 73 [Fry 0034-0036, Fig. 5], which also read on the claimed user interface. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Figs. 3, 5 is that LED indicators 73 would be inherently visible through the gap with an extended handle when the lid 62 is open depending on the angle of viewing. See MPEP 2112. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.]; and
a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Fry 0003-0004, 0040, 0049, 0050, Figs. 9, 10-13 and throughout, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Fry’s diagram in Fig. 13 and teachings in the recited paragraphs is that the battery management system is shown in Fig. 13 and the “circuitry” is provided in top portion 54 behind plate 179 and supports all the user interfaces [34, 73] as described above, which reads on battery management system positioned within the housing as claimed. Fry does not explicitly teach the battery management system is positioned between the battery cells [cells 14 or cells 86, 90] and the user interface [34, 73]; however, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to position the battery management system between the battery cells and the user interface since the positioning of the battery management would be considered a design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes, or would merely require the rearrangement of parts, per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts. Such modification would be obvious since the battery management system would perform the same function in a different location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fry such the battery management system is between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface as a matter of aesthetic design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes or per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts based on the needed design of the battery assembly for the predictable result of a battery pack managed by a battery management system.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Fry discloses the battery pack of claim 22, wherein the gap defines an opening between the handle and the external surface [Fry Fig. 1, as described above].
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant amendments to claims 10-11, 13-14, 16, and new claims 22-25, the previous rejections provided in the Office Action dated December 18, 2025 are withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-21 on pgs. 7-13 of Applicant’s Response have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Rejections of claims 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-21 and new claims 22-25 are provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724