DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Per the Applicant’s response dated October 8, 2025, Claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16 are amended. Claims 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-21 remain pending and are examined.
Status of Application
Rejections are provided below as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. [US20190044363], hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding Claim 10, Johnson discloses a battery assembly comprising:
a housing [Johnson 0087 and throughout, Fig. 1, housing 65];
a first lower portion coupled to the housing; a second lower portion coupled to the housing, wherein the second lower portion is located opposite to the first lower portion [Johnson 0096, Fig. 3, sides 159 as a first lower portion and second lower portion, coupled by screws];
an upper portion coupled to the housing [Johnson 0088, Fig. 4, saw 56 coupled via the terminal 70] and including a handle that is spaced from the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the housing [Johnson Fig. 4, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Johnson Fig. 4 is at least two handles read on the claimed gap between the handle and the housing 65];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Johnson 0006, 0089, Fig. 16, battery cells 80],
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports [Johnson 0084, 0091, 0159, and throughout, Figs, 1, 4-5, 7, 16, 24, Mating feature and ports shown in modified Fig. 7 below. Mating features mates with tool 56 (Figs. 4-5) or charger 60 shown in Fig. 24 for electrical power connection.];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators [Johnson 0096, Figs. 1-3, 15, 16 fuel gauge 155 on third portion face 157], the user interface being positioned on an external surface of the housing underneath the handle [Johnson Figs. 1, 4, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Fig. 4 is the user interface 155 is underneath the handle since the tool 56 can be used in any position.];
and a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Johnson 0092, Figs. 7, 13A, 13B, 13C, 16, Battery management system 145 is shown within the housing 65, between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface 155].
Regarding Claim 11, Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of channels positioned on the housing, the plurality of channels configured to align the battery assembly into a receptacle of at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station [Johnson 0084-0087, Figs. 2, 5, 24, Johnson discloses channels for terminal 70 as indicated in modified Figs. 2. Johnson discloses the battery is mounted on power tools 55 or battery chargers 60 by terminal 70 (see Figs. 4-5, 24) and a receptacle for a piece of power equipment is shown in Fig. 4 and the power equipment of Fig. 5 and the battery charger of Fig. 24 would inherently require a receptacle similar to the receptacle in Fig. 5 to receive the battery assembly.].
Regarding Claim 13, Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 10, wherein the housing further comprises a first slot and a second slot, the first slot and the second slot together forming an aligned slot configured to receive one of a plurality of protrusions of a receptacle [Johnson 0084-0087, Figs. 2, 5, 24, Johnson discloses a first and second slot forming an aligned slot for receiving with terminal 70 as indicated in modified Figs. 1-2. Johnson discloses the battery is mounted on power tools 55 or battery chargers 60 by terminal 70 (see Figs. 4-5, 24) and a receptacle for a piece of power equipment is shown in Fig. 4 and the power equipment of Fig. 5 and the battery charger of Fig. 24 would inherently require a receptacle similar to the receptacle in Fig. 5, to receive the battery assembly.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as provided in claim 10 above.
Regarding Claim 14, Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 10 and further discloses comprising a release mechanism configured to releasably couple the battery assembly to at least one of a piece of power equipment and or a charging station when the release mechanism is in a released position [Johnson 0210-0211, Figs 35-37]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Johnson’s embodiment with a locking assembly with or without biasing members with Johnson’s embodiment of claim 10 for the predictable result of a battery assembly that can be engaged and locked or unlocked and disengaged from the receptacle of a power tool or charging station for providing reliable electrical connections to power a tool or be charged [Johnson 0210-0211].
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. [US20190044363], hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding Claim 16, Johnson discloses a battery assembly comprising:
a battery pack [Johnson abstract and throughout] including:
a housing [Johnson 0087 and throughout, Figs. 1 and 45, housing 65];
a handle arranged above an external surface of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface [Johnson Fig. 4, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Johnson Fig. 4 is at least two handles read on the claimed gap between the handle and the external surface of housing 65. See modified Fig. 4 below.];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Johnson 0006, 0089, Fig. 16, battery cells 80],
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports and configured to selectively connect the battery assembly with a receptacle of at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station [Johnson 0084-0087, 0091, 0159, and throughout, Figs, 1, 2, 4-5, 7, 16, 24, Mating feature and ports shown in modified Fig. 7 below. Mating features mates with tool 56 (Figs. 4-5) or charger 60 shown in Fig. 24 for electrical power connection through a receptacle. A receptacle for a piece of power equipment is shown in Fig. 4 and the power equipment of Fig. 5 and the battery charger of Fig. 24 would inherently require a receptacle similar to the receptacle in Fig. 5 to receive the battery assembly.];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators[Johnson 0096, Figs. 1-3, 15, 16 fuel gauge 155 on third portion face 157], the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing [Johnson Figs. 1, 4.]; and
a battery management system positioned within the housing between the plurality of battery cells and a user interface [Johnson 0092, Figs. 7, 13A, 13B, 13C, 16, Battery management system 145 is shown within the housing 65, between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface 155];
wherein the housing comprises a plurality of channels configured to interface with a plurality of protrusions of the receptacle [Johnson 0084-0087, Figs. 2,4, 5, 24, Johnson discloses channels for terminal 70 as indicated in modified Fig. 2. The plurality of protrusions of the receptacle is shown Fig. 5 below. Johnson discloses the battery is mounted on power tools 55 or battery chargers 60 by terminal 70 (see Figs. 4-5, 24) and a receptacle for a piece of power equipment is shown in Fig. 4 and the power equipment of Fig. 5 and the battery charger of Fig. 24 would inherently require a receptacle similar to the receptacle in Fig. 5 to receive the battery assembly.]; and
a release mechanism configured to selectively disengage the battery pack from at least one of the piece of power equipment or the charging station when the release mechanism is in a released position [Johnson 0210-0211, Figs. 35-37, Johnson discloses an embodiment with a locking assembly for selective engagement or disengagement between the battery pack either with a biasing member or without a biasing member, both of which read on the claimed release mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Johnson’s embodiment with a release mechanism and locking assembly with or without biasing members (Figs. 35-37) with Johnson’s embodiment of Figs. 1-20 for the predictable result of a battery assembly that can be engaged and locked or unlocked and disengaged from the receptacle of a power tool or charging station for providing reliable electrical connections to power a tool or be charged [Johnson 0210-0211].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, further comprising:
a lower housing modular portion, and an upper housing modular portion, where a first slot it formed on the lower housing modular portion and a second slot is formed on the upper housing modular portion[Johnson 0096, Fig. 3, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Johnson is sides 159 as a lower modular portion and an upper modular portion read on upper and lower since the assembly can be used in any orientation.], the first slot and the second slot together forming an aligned slot configured to receive one of the plurality of protrusions of a receptacle [Johnson 0084-0087, Figs. 2, 5, 24, Johnson discloses a first and second slot forming an aligned slot for receiving with terminal 70 as indicated in modified Figs. 1-2. Johnson discloses the battery is mounted on power tools 55 or battery chargers 60 by terminal 70 (see Figs. 4-5, 24) and a receptacle for a piece of power equipment is shown in Fig. 4 and the power equipment of Fig. 5 and the battery charger of Fig. 24 would inherently require a receptacle similar to the receptacle in Fig. 5, to receive the battery assembly.]
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as provided in Claim 16 above in further view of Olsson et al. [US20140154535A1, dated Jun 5, 2014, as provided on the IDS dated November 4, 2021], hereinafter Olsson.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, wherein the battery management system configured to monitor a status of the battery assembly and control an operation of the battery assembly [Johnson 0092, 0118, 0134]. Johnson is silent to wireless communication with a server or computer as claimed. Olsson discloses a battery assembly wherein the battery management system [Olsson 0086, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142.)] includes a controller [Olsson 0090-0092, Fig. 1B] configured to monitor a status of the battery assembly [Olsson 0002, 0074, 0092] and control an operation of the battery assembly [Olsson 0002, 0074, 0086] configured to wirelessly communicate information [Olsson 0208-0219] with at least one of a remote server [Olsson 0211, 0208] and a personal computer [Olsson 0211, 0208], wherein the information communicated with at least one of the remote server and the personal computer is at least one of information regarding the status of the battery assembly [Olsson 0201] and a command [Olsson 0254]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Johnson’s teachings about a battery management system with wireless communication with a server or computer as described for the predictable result of a battery assembly capable of wireless communication of battery information [Olsson 0208-0219].
Regarding Claim 21, modified Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16 but is silent to spacers. Olsson discloses a battery assembly further comprising a plurality of spacers [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, screws 616] extending between a first body half of the housing [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, first body half 620 of housing part 600] and a second body half of the housing [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, second body half 610 of housing part 600], each of the plurality of spacers is surrounded by a bushing [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, bushings are case screw holes 706 and screw bosses 716]. Olsson’s disclosure reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed spacers and bushings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s teachings about spacers as described above in modified Johnson’s battery assembly since Johnson’s battery of Figs. 2-3 shows screws securing the cover to the housing for the predictable result of a battery assembly protected by a cover [Johnson 0096, Figs. 2-3; Olsson 0129, Fig. 7].
Claims 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. [US20140154535A1, dated Jun 5, 2014, as provided on the IDS dated November 4, 2021], hereinafter Olsson.
Regarding Claim 10, Olsson discloses a battery assembly [Olsson abstract and throughout] comprising:
a housing [Olsson 0114-0129 and throughout, Figs. 1A, 5-7, 10, and 14, housing 100];
a first lower portion coupled to the housing; a second lower portion coupled to the housing, wherein the second lower portion is located opposite to the first lower portion [Olsson 0115-0119 and throughout, Figs. 6 and 7, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Olsson is the first lower portion 620 and second lower portion 610 are located opposite to one another and are coupled to housing 100 with support of battery seating elements 212 and fins 500 as shown in Fig. 5 and other securing features such as silicone foam or flexible materials [0115].],
an upper portion coupled to the housing and including a handle that is spaced from the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the housing [Olsson 0165 and throughout, Figs. 7 and 19-20, (Olsson discloses an embodiment with battery pack system 1900 where portions 1910, 1914, and 1912 combined read on the claimed upper portion and are coupled to the housing through receiver module 1700, the first lower portion 620, and the second lower portion 610. Handle 1912 is spaced from the housing 100 so that a gap is formed between the handle and the housing. Olsson’s Figs. 19-20 read on the claimed gap in two ways. A gap is defined by Merriam Webster’s online dictionary as a separation in space. A separation in space, as the claimed gap, is shown in modified Fig. 19 below. Components between handle 1912 and housing 100 (such as the portion of shell 600, receiver module 1700, and upper portion part 1910) fill a portion of the space that is a gap. Additionally, there is an opening between the handle 1912 and housing 100 within shell 600 that reads on the claimed gap.];
a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Olsson 0076-0078 and throughout, Fig. 1A, cells are disposed within 100, which includes housing elements 110 and 120]; a mating feature [Olsson 0121, 0141-0145, and throughout, Figs. 7, 13-15, mating feature includes ports 132 (Fig. 13) and sliding contact seals 624 (Fig. 7) which mates with contacts 1516 in receiver module 1410 (Figs. 13-15)] comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports [Olsson 0141-0145 and throughout, embodiment 1400 in Figs. 1A, 3, 5, 6, 13-15, four ports 132 shown in Fig. 3, and four receiver ports 1516 shown in receptacle receiver module 1410, which is the receptacle of a power equipment/charging station (Olsson discloses in embodiment 1400 that battery pack module 600 mechanically couples to receiver module 1410. This mechanical coupling results in electrical coupling of receiver contact elements 1516 and battery contact elements 132 [0145].]; and
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators [Olsson 0105, 0143, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2, 4, 7, 10, 14-15, (Olsson’s user interface includes battery status indicators 1422 [Figs. 14-15] derived from LEDs 420 [Fig. 4] through apertures 218 [0105, Fig. 2], light pipe retainers 1000 [Fig. 10]and light pipes 700 [Figs. 7, 10.)], the user interface being positioned on an external surface of the housing underneath the handle [Olsson 0105, 0129, 0135-0136, 0143, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 4, 7, 10, and 14-15 (Olsson discloses the status indicators 1422 are derived from LEDs 420 surface mounted on PCB element of lid assembly 120 with apertures 218 in the bottom portion 110 of housing 100 [0105, 0129, Fig. 2] so that light from the LEDs can be directed through light pipes 700 [0129, Fig. 7], the lid 120 and apertures 218 are considered an external surface of housing 100. Further, the status indicators 1422 are on second lower portion 610 of shell 600, which would also be considered an external surface of the housing 100. Both would be considered to be underneath handle 1912.)]; and
a battery management system [Olsson 0086 and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142, which reads on battery management system.)] positioned within the housing [Olsson 0086 and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142, which reads on battery management system, as part of lid 120 of enclosure 100.)].
Olsson is silent to the battery management system [Olsson 0086 and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2-4, battery control element 142] being between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Olsson 0105, 0143, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2, 4, 7, 10, 14-15, (Olsson’s user interface includes battery status indicators 1422 [Figs. 14-15] derived from LEDs 420 [Fig. 4] through apertures 218 [0105, Fig. 2], light pipe retainers 1000 [Fig. 10]and light pipes 700 [Figs. 7, 10.)]. Olsson uses light pipes 700 to provide status indicators 1422 as a user interface element. Choosing the location of the user interface 1422 would depend on a number of factors including the shape of the battery compartment and the orientation of the housing so that the user interface is positioned such that a user may conveniently interact with the interface. Further, Olsson’s system of using light pipes 700 to provide the LED 420 through light pipes 700 would permit the location of the status indicator 1422 to be varied based on user convenience. Therefore, such placement would be considered a design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes, or would merely require the rearrangement of parts, per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts, since the user interface would perform the same function regardless of placement relative to the battery management system and plurality of batteries. Likewise, the positioning of the battery management would be considered a design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes, or would merely require the rearrangement of parts, per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts, since the battery management system would perform the same function in a different location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the prior art of Olsson such the battery management system is between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface as a matter of aesthetic design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes or per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts based on the needed design of the battery assembly. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s embodiments as described above for the predictable result of a battery assembly with a modular housing system for usage with a power device or for charging [Olsson abstract and throughout].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Olsson discloses the battery assembly of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of channels positioned on the housing [Olsson 0120-0121, 0145, and throughout, Fig. 6, Cleats 612 and contact seals 624 are positioned one the first lower portion 620 which would be considered to be positioned on the housing 100 within shell 600, therefore the cleats 612 and contact seals 624 are also on the housing 100 within shell 600.]], the plurality of channels configured to align the battery assembly [Olsson 0120-0121, 0145, and throughout, Fig. 6, (Cleats 612 support alignment of the battery assembly with the receptacle through providing gripping support [0120]. Contact seals 624 support alignment of the battery assembly with the receptacle through mechanically mating with the receiver [0145].)] into a receptacle of at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station [Olsson 0141-0145 and throughout, embodiment 1400 in Figs. 1A, 3, 5, 6, 13-15, receptacle receiver module 1410, which is the receptacle of both a piece of power equipment or charging station (Olsson discloses in embodiment 1400 that battery pack module 600 mechanically couples to receiver module 1410. This mechanical coupling results in electrical coupling of receiver contact elements 1516 and battery contact elements 132 [0145]. Module 1410 may serve as a charging interface and or a device interface for a portable device [0141]).]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s embodiments as described above for the predictable result of a battery assembly that can be mounted for both providing power to a piece of power equipment and to a charging station for recharging [Olsson abstract, 0141, and throughout].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Olsson discloses the battery assembly of claim 10, where in the housing further comprises a first slot [Olsson 0129 and throughout, Fig. 7, first slot is screw holes 706 in portion 620] and a second slot [Olsson 0129 and throughout, Fig. 7, second slot is screw bosses 716 in portion 610], the first slot and the second slot together forming an aligned slot [Olsson 0027 and throughout, Figs. 5, 9 (Modified Fig. 9 below shows alignment slots, indicated by arrows, including parts 134 [Fig. 5], which houses parts 132, and sliding contact seal 624. The alignment slots are formed when first and second lower portions 610/620 are connected through slots 706 and 716 by screw 616 to form one unit.)] configured to receive one of a plurality of protrusions of a receptacle [Olsson 0145 and throughout, Fig. 15, plurality of protrusions 1516 of a receptacle 1410 (Olsson discloses receiver contact elements 1516 (protrusions) electrically connect battery contact elements 132.)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s embodiments as described above for the predictable result of a battery assembly that can be mounted for both providing power to a piece of power equipment and to a charging station for recharging [Olsson abstract, 0141, and throughout].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Olsson discloses the battery assembly of claim 10, further comprising a release mechanism [Olsson 0139 and throughout, Figs. 6-8A, 9, release mechanism latch 630] configured to releasably couple the battery assembly to at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station when the release mechanism is in a released position [Olsson 0011, 0139, 0141 and throughout (Olsson discloses the release latch element is configured to release the battery pack from the receiver module [0139]. The receiver module 1410 serves as a charging interface and/or a device interface for the battery assembly [0139, 0141]. Actuation of the latch mechanically releases the battery assembly from the connected device [0011].)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s embodiments as described above for the predictable result of a battery assembly that can be mounted for both providing power to a piece of power equipment and to a charging station for recharging [Olsson abstract, 0141, and throughout].
Regarding Claim 16, Olsson discloses the battery assembly [Olsson abstract, 0011, and throughout] comprising: a battery pack [Olsson 0002, 0011, and throughout, battery packs and battery pack system embodiments are described throughout] including:
a housing [Olsson 0114-0129, Figs. 1A, 5-7, 10, and 14, housing includes enclosures 100 and 600];
a handle arranged above an external surface of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface housing [Olsson 0165 and throughout, Figs. 7 and 19-20, Olsson discloses an embodiment with battery pack system 1900 with handle 1912 where 1910 is coupled to the housing portion 600 through receiver module 1700. Any portion of shell 600 reads on the external surface of the housing 600/100. Handle 1912 is spaced from the housing 600 so that a gap is formed between the handle 1912 and the external surface of housing 600. Olsson’s Figs. 19-20 read on the claimed gap in two ways. A gap is defined by Merriam Webster’s online dictionary as a separation in space. A separation in space, as the claimed gap, is shown in modified Fig. 19 below. Components between handle 1912 and external portion of housing 600 (receiver module 1700 and part 1910) fill a portion of the space that is a gap between the handle 1912 and the external surface of housing 600. Additionally, there is an opening between the handle 1912 and 600 that reads on the claimed gap.] a plurality of battery cells disposed within the housing [Olsson 0076-0078, Figs. 1A, 7, (The plurality of battery cells are disposed within 100, which includes housing elements 110 and 120, which is within battery holder 600 per Fig. 7.)];
a mating feature comprising a plurality of ports electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells [Olsson 0141-0145, 0165 Figs. 6-9, 17A, 19-20 The mating feature includes ports 132 (Fig. 13, 0145) and sliding contact seals 624 (Fig. 7, 0145) which mates with contacts 1516 in receiver module 1500 (Fig. 17A)] and configured to supply power from the plurality of battery cells through the ports and configured to selectively connect the battery assembly with a receptacle of at least one of a piece of power equipment or a charging station [Olsson 0141-0145, 0148 embodiment 1900 in Figs. 1A, 3, 5, 6, 17A, 19-20, four ports 132 shown in Fig. 3, and receiver ports 1516 shown in receptacle receiver module 1500 in 17A, which is the receptacle of a power equipment (Olsson discloses in embodiment 1700/1500 that battery holder 600 mechanically couples to the receiver module. This mechanical coupling results in electrical coupling of receiver contact elements 1516 and battery contact elements 132 [0145]. Module 1500 may serve as a charging interface [0149] and or a device interface for a portable device [0148]).];
a user interface configured to display battery status indicators [Olsson 0105, 0143, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2, 4, 7, 10, 14-15, (Olsson’s user interface includes battery status indicators 1422 [Figs. 14-15] derived from LEDs 420 [Fig. 4] through apertures 218 [0105, Fig. 2], light pipe retainers 1000 [Fig. 10]and light pipes 700 [Figs. 7, 10.)], the user interface being positioned on the external surface of the housing [Olsson 0105, 0129, 0135-0136, 0143, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 4, 7, 10, and 14-15 (Olsson discloses the status indicators 1422 are derived from LEDs 420 surface mounted on PCB element of lid assembly 120 with apertures 218 in the bottom portion 110 of housing 100 [0105, 0129, Fig. 2] so that light from the LEDs can be directed through light pipes 700 [0129, Fig. 7]. The status indicators 1422 portions of the user interfaces as described above are on the outside of portion 610 of shell 600, which would also be considered an external surface of the housing 600.)];
a battery management system [Olsson 0086, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142, which reads on battery management system.)] positioned within the housing [Olsson 0086, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142 as part of lid 120 of enclosure 100 within the shell 600.)];
a release mechanism [Olsson 0139, Figs. 6-8A, 9, release mechanism latch 630] configured to selectively disengage the battery pack from at least one of the piece of power equipment or the charging station when the release mechanism is in a released position [Olsson 0011, 0139, 0141, 0148, 0165 (Olsson discloses the release latch element is configured to release the battery pack from the receiver module [0139]. The receiver module 1700/1500 serves as a charging interface and/or a device interface for the battery assembly [0148], thus Olsson reads on both the piece or power equipment and the charging station. Actuation of the latch mechanically releases the battery pack from the connected device [0011]. Olsson’s embodiment 1900 includes housing 600, therefore, the skilled artisan would know the embodiment shown in Fig. 20 includes the release mechanism 630, shown in Fig. 20.)]; and
wherein the housing comprises a plurality of channels [Olsson 0027, Figs. 5, 9 (Modified Fig. 9 shows two channels including parts 134 [Fig. 5], which houses parts 132, and sliding contact seal 624 and as indicated by arrows.)] configured to interface with a plurality of protrusions of the receptacle [Olsson 0165, 0145, Fig. 17A, plurality of protrusions 1516 of the receptacle 1500 [0165] (Olsson discloses receiver contact elements 1516 (protrusions) electrically connect battery contact elements 132. [0145])].
Olsson is silent to the battery management system [Olsson 0086 and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2-4, battery control element 142] being between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface [Olsson 0105, 0143, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2, 4, 7, 10, 14-15, (Olsson’s user interface includes battery status indicators 1422 [Figs. 14-15] derived from LEDs 420 [Fig. 4] through apertures 218 [0105, Fig. 2], light pipe retainers 1000 [Fig. 10]and light pipes 700 [Figs. 7, 10.)]. Olsson uses light pipes 700 to provide status indicators 1422 as a user interface element. Choosing the location of the user interface 1422 would depend on a number of factors including the shape of the battery compartment and the orientation of the housing so that the user interface is positioned such that a user may conveniently interact with the interface. Further, Olsson’s system of using light pipes 700 to provide the LED 420 through light pipes 700 would permit the location of the status indicator 1422 to be varied based on user convenience. Therefore, such placement would be considered a design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes, or would merely require the rearrangement of parts, per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts, since the user interface would perform the same function regardless of placement relative to the battery management system and plurality of batteries. Likewise, the positioning of the battery management would be considered a design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes, or would merely require the rearrangement of parts, per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts, since the battery management system would perform the same function in a different location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the prior art of Olsson such the battery management system is between the plurality of battery cells and the user interface as a matter of aesthetic design choice per MPEP 2144.04 I aesthetic design changes or per MPEP 2144.04 VI rearrangement of parts based on the needed design of the battery assembly. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Olsson’s embodiments as described above for the predictable result of a battery assembly with a modular housing system for usage with a power device or for charging [Olsson abstract and throughout].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Olsson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, further comprising:
a lower housing modular portion [Olsson 0119, Figs. 6 and 7, 610 as lower portion of 600]; and
an upper housing modular portion [Olsson 0119, Figs. 6 and 7, 620 as upper portion of 600 (Regarding the claim limitation modular, Olsson discloses a modular battery pack [Olsson 0063-0071] that for example including its use with various electronic devices [0063], the housing design [0064, 0067], and other features [0063-0071];
wherein a first slot is formed on the lower housing modular portion [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, first slot is hole in screw bosses 716 in portion 610]], and a second slot is formed on the upper housing modular portion [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, second slot is screw holes 706 in portion 620] the first slot and the second slot together forming an aligned slot [Olsson 0027, Figs. 5, 9 (Modified Fig. 9 above shows alignment slots including parts 134 [Fig. 5], which houses parts 132, and sliding contact seal 624 and as indicated by arrows. The alignment slots are formed with the upper and lower housing modular portions are connected through slots holes 706 and 716 by screw 616.)] configured to receive one of the plurality of protrusions of the receptacle [Olsson 0145-0148, Fig. 17A, plurality of protrusions 1516 of the receptacle 1500 (Olsson discloses receiver contact elements 1516 (protrusions) electrically connect battery contact elements 132.)].Regarding Claim 19, modified Olsson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, wherein the battery management system [Olsson 0086, Figs. 1A, 2-4 (Olsson discloses battery control element 142.)] includes a controller [Olsson 0090-0092, Fig. 1B] configured to monitor a status of the battery assembly [Olsson 0002, 0074, 0092] and control an operation of the battery assembly [Olsson 0002, 0074, 0086] and further configured to wirelessly communicate information [Olsson 0208] with at least one of a remote server [Olsson 0211, 0208] and a personal computer [Olsson 0211, 0208], wherein the information communicated with at least one of the remote server and the personal computer is at least one of information regarding the status of the battery assembly [Olsson 0201] and a command [Olsson 0254].
Regarding Claim 21, modified Olsson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16, further comprising a plurality of spacers [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, screws 616] extending between a first body half of the housing [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, first body half 620 of housing part 600] and a second body half of the housing [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, second body half 610 of housing part 600], each of the plurality of spacers is surrounded by a bushing [Olsson 0129, Fig. 7, bushings are case screw holes 706 and screw bosses 716]. Olsson’s disclosure reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed spacers and bushings and further performs the same function as the spacers and bushings in the instant specification. Specifically, In the instant specification, the spacers and bushings allow for the separation of the cell assembly from the housing [0066]. Olsson’s screws 616 and screw bosses 716 and holes 706 serve the same purpose as Olsson’s cell assembly positioned within 100 is kept separate from the housing 600 as shown in Olsson Fig. 7.].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson or Johnson as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Matthews et al. [US20190312251A1, dated October 10, 2019], hereinafter Matthews.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Olsson or Johnson discloses the battery assembly of claim 16 but is silent to the contact components of the cell assembly.
Matthews discloses a cell assembly [Matthews 0029, Fig. 4, cell assembly 100] positioned within the housing [Matthews 0032, Fig. 5, container 502], the cell assembly comprising:
the plurality of battery cells [Matthews 0029-0031, Fig. 4, cells 102]; and
a first collector plate [Matthews 0029-0031, Fig. 4, first collector plate 104] and a second collector plate [Matthews 0029-0031, Fig. 4, second collector plate 402], wherein the plurality of battery cells are electrically coupled together by the first collector plate and the second collector plate [Matthews 0029-0030 (Matthews discloses the first collector electrically connects with the cathodes of cells 102 and the second collector plate electrically connects with anodes of the respective cells 102.)];
wherein the plurality of battery cells is positioned between the first collector plate and the second collector plate [Matthews 0029-0031, Fig. 4, cells 102 are between first collector plate 104 and second collector plate 402]. Matthews’ disclosed cell assembly with first and second collector plates makes it art recognized as a cell assembly for modularity for purposes of making battery packs with a variety of capacities supporting economies of scale [Matthews 0050]. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to incorporate Matthews’ cell assembly within Olsson’s enclosure 100 [Olsson Fig. 2] by wiring Matthew’s first and second collector plates with collecting element 208 [Olsson Fig. 2] or Johnson’s battery assembly [Olsson Figs. 1-20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Matthew’s art recognized cell assembly with first and second collector plates in the battery assembly of since Matthew’s disclosed structure allows for connections in series or parallel with other battery groupings [Matthews 0030] and facilitates providing both low-end and high-end cell assemblies with a range of capacities [Matthews 0050].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 10 and 16 in coordination with Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 6-7, filed October 8, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Olsson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections in the Office Action dated July 8, 2025 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Olsson as provided above. Further, the prior art of Johnson (provided as pertinent art in the Office Action dated July 8, 2025) anticipates amended claims 10-11, 13 as provided above. Claims 14, 16, and 17 are obvious over Johnson as provided above. Claims 19 and 21 are obvious over Johnson in view of Olsson as provided above. Claim 22 is obvious over Johnson in view of Matthews as provided above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments regarding distinction of amended claim 10 over Olsson due to amendments reciting a handle that is spaced from the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the housing, the Examiner has reconsidered Olsson for all that it teaches. Olsson was found to read on a handle 1912 spaced apart from housing 100 as described above. Further, regarding Applicant’s arguments regarding distinction over Olsson due to amendments reciting a user interface positioned on an external surface of the housing underneath the handle, the Examiner has reconsidered Olsson for all that it teaches. Olsson was found to read on status indicators 1422 of the user interface as described above being positioned on shell 600, which would be considered an external surface of the housing 100, and, further, apertures 218 as part of the user interface as described above on the outside of housing 100, which is also considered an external surface of the housing 100. Further, both status indicators 1422 and apertures 218 would be considered as underneath handle 1912 as shown in Olsson Figs. 19-20. For the reasons provided above, evidence of obviousness of the broadly claimed invention of claim 10 over Olsson outweighs evidences of novelty and nonobviousness.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments regarding distinction of amended claim 16 over Olsson due to amendments reciting a handle arranged above an external surface of the housing so that a gap is formed between the handle and the external surface, the Examiner has reconsidered Olsson for all that it teaches. Olsson was found to read on a handle 1912 spaced apart from the external surface of housing 600 as described above. For the reasons provided above, evidence of obviousness of the broadly claimed invention of claim 16 over Olsson outweighs evidences of novelty and nonobviousness.
For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided below additional pertinent art in reference to Applicant’s amendments and arguments regarding the claimed handles spaced apart from battery assembly/battery pack housing features. Such art would be considered evidence that the claimed structure is a known battery assembly/pack handle structure in the battery art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harvey et al. US20180340683A1 Fig. 1 and throughout, discloses a device pertinent to at least claims 10 and 16 but like Olsson, Harvey’s battery management system is not between the battery cells and the user interface.
Mueckl et al. US20190356147A1, Fig. 1l and throughout, discloses a device pertinent to at least claims 10 and 16 but the location of Mueckl’s battery management system is not taught.
Fry et al. US20150171632A1, multiple embodiments such as Figs. 1, 14, 18, and 22 and throughout, discloses a device pertinent to at least claims 10 and 16. Harvey does not disclose the specific location of the battery management system.
Honda JP2016038983A, as provided on the IDS dated 11/04/2021, discloses a device pertinent to at least claims 10 and 16. Honda does not disclose a user interface.
Nook et al. US20190249637A1 Fig. 1 and throughout, discloses a device pertinent to at least claims 10 and 16 but Nook does not disclose the housing, first lower portion, second lower portion, and upper portions.
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724