Detailed Action
2. Claims 1,3-6,8,10-13,16,18 and 19 are currently pending.
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Amendment
4. This action is in response to the RCE filed on 08/03/2026. Claims 1,3-6,8,10-13,16,18 and 19 have been previously presented. Claims 1,3-6,8,10-13,16,18 and 19 are pending, with claims 1 and 16 being independent in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's Arguments/Remarks filed on 08/03/2026 page 6-13 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered and are found persuasive in view of the amended claims and presented Arguments/Remarks by the Applicants. However, a new ground of rejections is necessitated by Applicant's claim amendments.
Therefore, the previous rejections regarding 35 U.S.C.103 are being amended in this current office action. (See analysis below Claim Rejections-35 U.S.C. 103).
Examiner Notes
6. Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7.1 Claims 1,3,8,10-12,16,18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey et al. (Pub. No. US2018/0054376A1) (IDS provided dated 1/10/2023) and in view of a thesis paper “Localization and Proximity Detection in the Internet of Things Based on an Augmented UHF RFID System” by Majed Rostamian (hereinafter Rostamian, thesis published on 2014).
Regarding claim 1, Hershey teaches a system for constructing a dynamic digital twin, (Hershey disclosed in page 4 para [0051]: “Referring again to FIG. 2B, the inputs to the digital twin 250 may include conditions that include environmental data, such as weather-related quantities, and operational controls such as requirements for the twinned physical system to achieve specific operations as would be the case for example for aircraft controls. Inputs may also include data from sensors that are placed on and within the twinned physical system. The sensor suite embedded within the twinned physical system may provide an information bridge to the digital twin software. Other inputs may include tolerance envelopes (that specify time and magnitude regions that are acceptable regions of differences between actual sensor values and their predictions by the digital twin), maintenance inspection data, manufacturing design data, …”).
the system comprising: wherein Hershey teaches the sensor data comprises interpolated values calculated between discrete sensor readings via a simulation engine configured to continuously interpolate between discrete data states produced by the sensor data; (Hershey disclosed in page 4 para [0051-0052]: “Referring again to FIG. 2B, the inputs to the digital twin 250 may include conditions that include environmental data, … Inputs may also include data from sensors that are placed on and within the twinned physical system. The sensor suite embedded within the twinned physical system may provide an information bridge to the digital twin software. … The outputs from the digital twin 250 may include a continually updated estimate of the twinned physical system's Remaining Useful Life (“RUL”). The RUL estimate at time = t is for input conditions up through time = t-τ where τ is the digital twin's update interval. The outputs might further include a continually updated estimate of the twinned physical system's efficiency.”
In page 5 para [0053]: “some embodiments is illustrated in FIG. 3. Sensor data and tolerance envelopes 310 from one or more sensors and conditions data 320, which includes operational commands, environmental data, economic data, etc., are continually entered into the digital twin software. … The sensor data 310 is compared to the expected sensor values 350 produced by the UPM 340. If differences between the sensor values at time = t and the UPM predictions fall outside of the tolerance envelopes, then a report issues at 360. … whether the digital twin is operating on-line as it accompanies its twinned physical system and continually provides an estimate of the RUL (or a Cumulative Damage State (“CDS”). The CDV table 330 may be updated by the sensor 310 and conditions 320 data at time = t + τ. The recommendation 370 (e.g., to inspect, repair, and/or intervene in connection with control operations) may be used to determined simulated operations exogenous data via an ecosystem simulator.”).
Hershey teaches a gateway in communication with each reader, wherein the gateway is configured to acquire the sensor data from each reader, and integrate the sensor data from each reader, (Hershey disclosed in page 3 para [0042]: “At S110, one or more sensors may sense one or more designated parameters of the twinned physical system. According to some embodiments, these sensed parameters may be received by an Internet of Things (“IoT”) associate to facilitate implementation of a digital twin of a twinned physical system. As used herein, the phrase “IoT” associate might refer to, for example, an apparatus having a communication port to communicate with at least one component, the at least one component comprising a sensor or an actuator associated with the twinned physical system. The apparatus may further have a gateway to exchange information via the IoT and a computer processor and local data storage, coupled to the communication port and gateway, to receive a digital twin model from a data warehouse via the IoT and programmed to, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, …”.
In page 4 para [0050-0051]: “As used herein, the term “on-operation” may refer to an operational state in which a twinned physical system and the digital twin 250 are both operating. … The phrase “tolerance envelope” may refer to the residual, or magnitude, by which a sensor's reading may depart from its predicted value without initiating other action such as an alarm or diagnostic routine. … Referring again to FIG. 2B, the inputs to the digital twin 250 may include conditions that include environmental data, … Inputs may also include data from sensors that are placed on and within the twinned physical system. The sensor suite embedded within the twinned physical system may provide an information bridge to the digital twin software. Other inputs may include tolerance envelopes (that specify time and magnitude regions that are acceptable regions of differences between actual sensor values and their predictions by the digital twin), maintenance inspection data, manufacturing design data, …”.
The disclosures above “Inputs may also include data from sensors that are placed on and within the twinned physical system. The sensor suite embedded within the twinned physical system may provide an information bridge to the digital twin software” correspond to claim limitation “integrate the sensor data from each reader”).
Hershey teaches an internet of things hub in communication with the gateway, wherein the gateway is arranged to communicate the integrated sensor data to the internet of things hub; (Hershey disclosed in page 3 para [0042]: “At S110, one or more sensors may sense one or more designated parameters of the twinned physical system. According to some embodiments, these sensed parameters may be received by an Internet of Things (“IoT”) associate to facilitate implementation of a digital twin of a twinned physical system. As used herein, the phrase “IoT” associate might refer to, for example, an apparatus having a communication port to communicate with at least one component, the at least one component comprising a sensor or an actuator associated with the twinned physical system. The apparatus may further have a gateway to exchange information via the IoT and a computer processor and local data storage, coupled to the communication port and gateway, to receive a digital twin model from a data warehouse via the IoT and programmed to, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system,”. In page 3 para [0043]: “At S120, the IoT associate may receive, via the IoT, a digital twin model from a data warehouse. At S130, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, a computer processor of the IoT associate may execute the digital twin model in connection with the one or more sensors and operation of the twinned physical system. The IoT associate may then, at S140, transmit information associated with a result generated by the computer processor.”
Further, in page 4 para [0044]: “one or more sensors may sense one or more designated parameters of a twinned physical system. According to some embodiments, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, a computer processor may execute at least one of: (i) a monitoring process to monitor a condition of the selected portion of the twinned physical system based at least in part on the sensed values of the one or more designated parameters. … Information associated with a result generated by the computer processor is transmitted via a communication port coupled to the computer processor. Note that, according to some embodiments, the one or more sensors are to sense values of the one or more designated parameters, and the computer processor is to execute at least one of the monitoring and assessing processes, …”. This disclosure teaches the limitation “the gateway is arranged to communicate the integrated sensor data to the internet of things hub” (since “IoT” associate an apparatus having a communication port to communicate with a sensor or an actuator associated with the twinned physical system. Further, a gateway to exchange information via the IoT, coupled to the communication port and gateway and information associated with a result generated by the computer processor is transmitted via a communication port coupled to the computer processor; the one or more sensors are to sense values and the computer processor executes at least one of the monitoring and assessing processes)).
Hershey teaches a processor in communication with the internet of things hub and the data storage, the processor programmed to receive the integrated sensor data from the internet of things hub (Hershey disclosed in page 3 para [0042]: “According to some embodiments, these sensed parameters may be received by an Internet of Things (“IoT”) associate to facilitate implementation of a digital twin of a twinned physical system. As used herein, the phrase “IoT” associate might refer to, for example, an apparatus having a communication port to communicate with at least one component, … The apparatus may further have a gateway to exchange information via the IoT and a computer processor and local data storage, coupled to the communication port and gateway, to receive a digital twin model from a data warehouse via the IoT and programmed to, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, …”. Further, in page 4 para [0044]: “one or more sensors may sense one or more designated parameters of a twinned physical system. According to some embodiments, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, a computer processor may execute at least one of: (i) a monitoring process to monitor a condition of the selected portion of the twinned physical system based at least in part on the sensed values of the one or more designated parameters. … Information associated with a result generated by the computer processor is transmitted via a communication port coupled to the computer processor. Note that, according to some embodiments, the one or more sensors are to sense values of the one or more designated parameters, and the computer processor is to execute at least one of the monitoring and assessing processes, …”).
and Hershey teaches receive physical geometric model data from the data storage, to correlate the integrated sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space, (Hershey disclosed in page 3 para [0037]: “FIG. 1A is a high- level architecture of a system 100 in accordance with some embodiments. The system 100 includes a computer data store 110 that provides information to a digital twin of twinned physical asset or system 150. Data in the data store 110 might include, for example, information about a twinned physical system 120, such as historic engine sensor information about a number of different aircraft engines and prior aircraft flights (e. g., external temperatures, exhaust gas temperatures, engine model numbers, takeoff and landing airports, etc.)”. This disclosure teaches the limitation “receive physical geometric model data from the data storage”.
Further, in page 2 para [0031]: “A digital twin may be placed on a twinned physical system and run autonomously or globally with a connection to external resources using the Internet of Things (IoT) … A digital twin's software could reside near the asset and used to help control the operation of the asset. Another location might be at a plant or farm level, where system level digital twin models may be used to help determine optimal operating conditions for a desired outcome, such as minimum fuel usage to achieve a desired power output of a power plant.” In page 2 para [0033]: “A “Per Asset” digital twin may be associated with software model for a particular twinned physical system. The mathematical form of the model underlying similar assets may, according to some embodiments, be altered from like asset system to like asset system to match the particular configuration or mode of incorporation of each asset system. A Per Asset digital twin may comprise a model of the structural components, their physical functions, and/or their interactions. A Per Asset digital twin might receive sensor data from sensors that report on the health and stability of a system, environmental conditions, and / or the system's response and state in response to commands issued to the system. A Per Asset digital twin may also track and perform calculations associated with estimating a system's remaining useful life.” This disclosure teaches the limitation “to correlate the integrated sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space”).
and Hershey teaches to fuse the integrated sensor data with the physical geometric model to produce a dynamic digital twin; (Hershey disclosed in page 2 para [0033-0034]: “A Per Asset digital twin might receive sensor data from sensors that report on the health and stability of a system, environmental conditions, and / or the system's response and state in response to commands issued to the system. A Per Asset digital twin may also track and perform calculations associated with estimating a system's remaining useful life. A Per Asset digital twin may comprise a mathematical representation or model along with a set of tuned parameters that describe the current state of the asset. This is often done with a kernel-model framework, where a kernel represents the baseline physics of operation or phenomenon of interest pertaining to the asset. The kernel has a general form of … where a- is a vector containing a set of tuning parameters that are specific to the asset and its current state. Examples may include component efficiencies in different sections of an aircraft engine or gas turbine. The vector x- contains the kernel inputs, such as operating conditions (fuel flow, altitude, ambient temperature, pressure, etc.). Finally, the vector y- is the kernel outputs which could include sensor measurement estimates or asset states (part life damage states, etc.)”.
In page 2-3 para [0035-0036]: “When a kernel is tuned to a specific asset, the vector a- is determined, and the result is called the Per Asset digital twin model. … A Per Asset digital twin may be configured to function as a continually tuned digital twin, a digital twin that is continually updated as its twinned physical system is on-operation, an economic operations digital twin used to create demonstrable business value, an adaptable digital twin that is designed to adapt to new scenarios and new system configurations … and/or one of a plurality of interacting digital twins that are scalable over an asset class and may be broadened to not only model a twinned physical system but also provide control over the asset.”).
Hershey teaches a server in communication with the internet of things hub, the server hosting the digital twin; (Hershey disclosed in page 2 para [0031]: “A digital twin may be placed on a twinned physical system and run autonomously or globally with a connection to external resources using the Internet of Things (IoT) or other data services. Note that an instantiation of the digital twin's software could take place at multiple locations. A digital twin's software could reside near the asset and used to help control the operation of the asset. ... In addition, a digital twin's software could reside in the cloud, implemented on a server remote from the asset.”).
wherein Hershey teaches the physical geometric model is a computer aided design model of the physical space or object; (Hershey disclosed in page 7 para [0070]: “a Graphical Interface Engine (“GIE”) may be included in a digital twin. The GIE may let an operator select components of the twinned physical system that are specified in the digital twin's system structure and display renderings of the selected components scaled to fit a monitor’s display. The GIE may also animate the renderings as the digital twin simulates a mission and display the renderings with an overlaid color (or texture) map whose colors (or textures) correspond to ranges of selected variables comprising flexing displacement, stress, strain, temperature, etc.”).
and wherein Hershey teaches the internet of things hub, the data storage, and the processor are provided on a server in a local area network. (Hershey disclosed in page 3 para [0039]: “As used herein devices, including those associated with the system 100 and any other device described herein, may exchange information via any communication network which may be one or more of a Local Area Network (“LAN”), … Note that any devices described herein may communicate via one or more such communication networks.” In page 3 para [0042]: “As used herein, the phrase “IoT” associate might refer to, for example, an apparatus having a communication port to communicate with at least one component, … The apparatus may further have a gateway to exchange information via the IoT and a computer processor and local data storage, coupled to the communication port and gateway, to receive a digital twin model from a data warehouse via the IoT …”).
However, Hershey doesn’t explicitly teach the limitations “at least one battery-less passive RFID sensor configured to monitor at least one physical parameter in real time; a plurality of readers configured to wirelessly read sensor data produced by the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensor, determine a location of the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensor based on triangulation performed using the sensor data acquired from each reader, data storage storing a physical geometric model of a physical object or space correlating with the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensors;”
Rostamian teaches at least one battery-less passive RFID sensor configured to monitor at least one physical parameter in real time; (Examiner would construe the claim element “physical parameter” as “proximity” considering specification of current Application para [0021].
Rostamian disclosed in page 2-3 section 1.1.3.: “indoor Real Time Localization Systems (RTLS) are an emerging application of RFID systems. … Some approaches have been introduced to estimate distance between unknown targets and known ones such as readers.” In page 3 section 1.1.4: “Proximity detection systems became more popular when the Internet of Things appeared. With the IoT, there has been a need to recognize objects or persons in each other’s vicinity in situations … Depending on the application many different technologies such as such as IR sensors, Sonar sensors, GPS, RFID, etc. have been used to detect proximity.” Further, in page 24 section 2.5.1.: “Proximity detection can have different levels of intelligence depending on the application. Automatic doors were an early form of proximity detection based on IR sensors. Later, automatic toilet flashers and faucet controls became popular. … When RFID showed up, it opened a new window to the application of detecting proximity. Since each tag has a unique ID in RFID, we can determine the identity of two objects and run more intelligent applications: detecting people’s interaction, nurse monitoring in health care, tracking people’s activity in work area and etc.”).
Rostamian teaches a plurality of readers configured to wirelessly read sensor data produced by the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensor, (Rostamian disclosed in page 23 section 2.5.4.: “RFID can meet IoT requirements in many ways. Passive UHF RFIDs do not have batteries and therefore the BOM of passive UHF RFID systems is low. The functionality of passive UHF RFID tags has grown a lot. It opens an opportunity to make RFID suitable for a remote two-way communication by modifying RFID readers … researchers are showing how communication can be done via mobile IPv6 and how passive RFID can be part of that. They modified the RFID readers and low cost tags to be able to communicate two-way end to-end remotely. Nokia introduced a concept of new radio frequency identification system based on Master-Slave RFID reader architecture. … They introduced this system suitable for smart homes to do special jobs such as washing, cooking, shopping, etc. The system consists of some master readers, a number of slave readers and some mobile RFID readers which can all communicate with each other and transfer UHF tag information through the internet. They also counted localization and proximity detection as one of the capabilities of the system.”).
Rostamian teaches determine a location of the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensor based on triangulation performed using the sensor data acquired from each reader, (Rostamian disclosed in page 16 section 2.4.2: “In range-based localization, methods are dependent on accurate ranging results that we can get from our sensor nodes. … After receiving this information, positioning calculations such as triangulation, … applied to the results to estimate the location of the sensor node.” In page 20-21 section 2.4.3: “Figure 2.6 explains the overall design. They segmented the area into a large number of triangular regions with different sets of anchor nodes. The target node receives the messages from those anchors that have common coverage with its location. The overlapping area from all received data can estimate the location of a target node. As you can see in the picture the gray triangle in the figure is the final estimated location of the unknown node.” Further, in page 22 heading ‘Triangulation’: “This technique is based on the direction of arrival of the tag signal to multiple readers or receivers. It can also be obtained by measuring the radial distance from the readers. Figure 2.7 illustrates the overall idea of triangulation technique.”).
Rostamian teaches data storage storing a physical geometric model of a physical object or space correlating with the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensors; (Rostamian disclosed in page 33 (3rd para) -34 (2nd and 3rd para) under section 2.5.4: “an RFID-enabled IoT solution was presented. It is based on UHF RFID readers placed in a building and passive UHF RFID tags attached to people and objects of interest. The system was extended with a number of software applications that allowed searching for things, integration with social applications, tracking personal trends and so on. … Techniques where passive RFID systems are enhanced with other technologies such as ultrasound or cameras outperform RFID-only techniques regarding localization accuracy. Wireless Identification and Sensing Platform (WISP) tags are extended with LEDs that allows optical locating tagged items with millimeter accuracy. The system consists of a WISP tag with acoustic tone-detector that receives and times ultrasound signals, UHF RFID reader, … In the RFID endpoint, an RFID antenna is attached to a stepper motor and rotates and changes the power transmission continuously. … If a new object enters the zone and gets detected by the RFID antenna, the camera will synchronize itself with the corresponding antenna angle that detected the item for the first time. Then that picture is stored in the database. By this way when somebody is searching for an object, it will search in the database …”. This disclosure teaches the limitation “data storage storing a physical geometric model of a physical object correlating with the at least one battery-less passive RFID sensors”).
Hershey and Rostamian are analogous art because they are related to integrating sensor data with the physical object or space. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey and Rostamian, to modify fusing/integrating sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space to produce digital twin in Hershey’s teaching, to include estimating the location of the passive RFID sensor using triangulation method in Rostamian’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Rostamian because “we present a new RFID device called "Sense-a-Tag" (ST) that can passively detect and decode backscattered signals from tags in its proximity. We show that when STs are added to a standard RFID system, the problems of proximity detection and localization with RFID tags can readily be solved. Then we applied ST-based system for identifying people and object interactions. The potential uses of ST as an augmented device for IoT applications are discussed in this thesis. Results obtained from real experiments illustrate that an ST-based RFID system is feasible for proximity detection applications. The simulations based on real experiments and results illustrates that an ST-based RFID system can be a realistic solution for proximity detection and localization for Location Positioning systems (LPS) and activity monitoring in future IoT”. (Rostamian disclosed in page ii under ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 3, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, however Hershey doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “communications between the passive RFID sensors are provided using a low-level reader protocol (LLRP)”.
wherein Rostamian teaches communications between the passive RFID sensors are provided using a low-level reader protocol (LLRP). (Rostamian disclosed in page 69 section 5.3.2: “The LLRP (Low-Level Reader Protocol) standard is a specification for the interface between RFID readers and clients, such as smart-phones or PCs. Many RFID reader manufacturers use this standard for their reader-client interface. … In the LLRP, standard messages have been defined and all of the communication between reader and clients are based on these messages. Client-to-Reader messages include capability discovery, managing inventory, getting and setting the configuration of the reader, and accessing the operations.”).
Hershey and Rostamian are analogous art because they are related to integrating sensor data with the physical object or space. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey and Rostamian, to modify fusing/integrating sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space to produce digital twin in Hershey’s teaching, to include estimating the location of the passive RFID sensor using triangulation method in Rostamian’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Rostamian because “we present a new RFID device called "Sense-a-Tag" (ST) that can passively detect and decode backscattered signals from tags in its proximity. We show that when STs are added to a standard RFID system, the problems of proximity detection and localization with RFID tags can readily be solved. Then we applied ST-based system for identifying people and object interactions. The potential uses of ST as an augmented device for IoT applications are discussed in this thesis. Results obtained from real experiments illustrate that an ST-based RFID system is feasible for proximity detection applications. The simulations based on real experiments and results illustrates that an ST-based RFID system can be a realistic solution for proximity detection and localization for Location Positioning systems (LPS) and activity monitoring in future IoT”. (Rostamian disclosed in page ii under ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 8, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, however Hershey doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the passive RFID sensors produce a unique identifier, and wherein the processor is programmed to identify the sensor based on the unique identifier”.
wherein Rostamian teaches the passive RFID sensors produce a unique identifier, and wherein the processor is programmed to identify the sensor based on the unique identifier. (Rostamian disclosed in page 14 section 2.2.3: “A RFID reader is a device that communicates with compatible RFID tags with one or multiple antennas. … Some readers can have data transmission with both active and passive tags in the same frequency, … A RFID tag is a device that contains internal memory and unique ID. Some tags have sensors integrated within them and can transmit the sensor information using RF signals.”).
Hershey and Rostamian are analogous art because they are related to integrating sensor data with the physical object or space. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey and Rostamian, to modify fusing/integrating sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space to produce digital twin in Hershey’s teaching, to include estimating the location of the passive RFID sensor using triangulation method in Rostamian’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Rostamian because “we present a new RFID device called "Sense-a-Tag" (ST) that can passively detect and decode backscattered signals from tags in its proximity. We show that when STs are added to a standard RFID system, the problems of proximity detection and localization with RFID tags can readily be solved. Then we applied ST-based system for identifying people and object interactions. The potential uses of ST as an augmented device for IoT applications are discussed in this thesis. Results obtained from real experiments illustrate that an ST-based RFID system is feasible for proximity detection applications. The simulations based on real experiments and results illustrates that an ST-based RFID system can be a realistic solution for proximity detection and localization for Location Positioning systems (LPS) and activity monitoring in future IoT”. (Rostamian disclosed in page ii under ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 8, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, wherein Hershey teaches the physical geometric model is a geographic map. (Hershey disclosed in page 7 para [0070]: “a Graphical Interface Engine (“GIE”) may be included in a digital twin. The GIE may let an operator select components of the twinned physical system that are specified in the digital twin's system structure and display renderings of the selected components scaled to fit a monitor’s display. The GIE may also animate the renderings as the digital twin simulates a mission and display the renderings with an overlaid color (or texture) map whose colors (or textures) correspond to ranges of selected variables comprising flexing displacement, stress, strain, temperature, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, however Hershey doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the physical geometric model comprises a location of each of the plurality of passive RFID sensors”.
Rostamian teaches the physical geometric model comprises a location of each of the plurality of passive RFID sensors. (Rostamian disclosed in page 24 section 2.5.1: “Proximity detection can have different levels of intelligence depending on the application. Automatic doors were an early form of proximity detection based on IR sensors. … When RFID showed up, it opened a new window to the application of detecting proximity. Since each tag has a unique ID in RFID, we can determine the identity of two objects and run more intelligent applications: detecting people’s interaction, …” In page 28-29 section 2.5.2: “Generally, we can define two variables for all proximity sensors: proximity range and separation range. … Figure 2.9 illustrates a sensor model. Re is the area that chance of detection decreases with the distance from the reader. … researchers used binary proximity sensors for tracking the targets. Sensors provide one bit of information regarding a target‘s presence or absence in their vicinity. In this system, a WSN with "n" known-location sensor nodes was considered. Each node is actually one proximity sensor. Nodes records the detection duration and time. A distance-based weighting scheme implemented in the algorithm is used for tracking the object. We borrowed Figure 2.10 to explain the system’s functionality better. As you can see in the picture, each node has a circular read range, so the object can enter a sensor sensing range from any point or angle. Each node records the time of presence in the vicinity. The researchers assume that the target is at the boundary of the detecting range at the time of detection. By considering the average speed based on previous detection by other sensors they can estimate the angle of entry by calculating the distance d from the time of detection and separation”).
Hershey and Rostamian are analogous art because they are related to integrating sensor data with the physical object or space. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey and Rostamian, to modify fusing/integrating sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space to produce digital twin in Hershey’s teaching, to include estimating the location of the passive RFID sensor using triangulation method in Rostamian’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Rostamian because “we present a new RFID device called "Sense-a-Tag" (ST) that can passively detect and decode backscattered signals from tags in its proximity. We show that when STs are added to a standard RFID system, the problems of proximity detection and localization with RFID tags can readily be solved. Then we applied ST-based system for identifying people and object interactions. The potential uses of ST as an augmented device for IoT applications are discussed in this thesis. Results obtained from real experiments illustrate that an ST-based RFID system is feasible for proximity detection applications. The simulations based on real experiments and results illustrates that an ST-based RFID system can be a realistic solution for proximity detection and localization for Location Positioning systems (LPS) and activity monitoring in future IoT”. (Rostamian disclosed in page ii under ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 12, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1,
wherein Hershey teaches the processor is further programmed to provide a simulation model and to incorporate the sensor data in the simulation model”. (Hershey disclosed in page 2 para [0033]: “A “Per Asset” digital twin may be associated with software model for a particular twinned physical system. The mathematical form of the model underlying similar assets may, according to some embodiments, be altered from like asset system to like asset system to match the particular configuration or mode of incorporation of each asset system. A Per Asset digital twin may comprise a model of the structural components, their physical functions, and/or their interactions. A Per Asset digital twin might receive sensor data from sensors that report on the health and stability of a system, environmental conditions, and / or the system's response and state in response to commands issued to the system. A Per Asset digital twin may also track and perform calculations associated with estimating a system's remaining useful life.” Further, in page 5 para [0053]: “some embodiments is illustrated in FIG. 3. Sensor data and tolerance envelopes 310 from one or more sensors and conditions data 320, which includes operational commands, environmental data, economic data, etc., are continually entered into the digital twin software. … The sensor data 310 is compared to the expected sensor values 350 produced by the UPM 340. If differences between the sensor values at time = t and the UPM predictions fall outside of the tolerance envelopes, then a report issues at 360 … The recommendation 370 (e.g., to inspect, repair, and/or intervene in connection with control operations) may be used to determined simulated operations exogenous data via an ecosystem simulator.”).
Regarding Claim 16, the same ground of rejection is made as discussed in claim 1 for substantially similar rationale, therefore claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey and Rostamian as discussed above for substantially similar rationale. In addition, claim 16 recites following limitations:
Hershey teaches a method for producing a dynamic digital twin, (Hershey disclosed in page 4 para [0051]: “Referring again to FIG. 2B, the inputs to the digital twin 250 may include conditions that include environmental data, such as weather-related quantities, and operational controls such as requirements for the twinned physical system to achieve specific operations as would be the case for example for aircraft controls. Inputs may also include data from sensors that are placed on and within the twinned physical system. The sensor suite embedded within the twinned physical system may provide an information bridge to the digital twin software. Other inputs may include tolerance envelopes (that specify time and magnitude regions that are acceptable regions of differences between actual sensor values and their predictions by the digital twin), maintenance inspection data, manufacturing design data, …”).
Hershey teaches transmitting the integrated sensor data from the internet of things hub to a data fusion processor; (Hershey disclosed in page 4 para [0044]: “one or more sensors may sense one or more designated parameters of a twinned physical system. According to some embodiments, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, a computer processor may execute at least one of: (i) a monitoring process to monitor a condition of the selected portion of the twinned physical system based at least in part on the sensed values of the one or more designated parameters, and (ii) an assessing process to assess a remaining useful life of the selected portion of the twinned physical system based at least in part on the sensed values of the one or more designated parameters. Information associated with a result generated by the computer processor is transmitted via a communication port coupled to the computer processor. Note that, according to some embodiments, the one or more sensors are to sense values of the one or more designated parameters, and the computer processor is to execute at least one of the monitoring and assessing processes, …”).
Regarding Claim 19, Hershey and Rostamian teach the method of claim 16, however Hershey do not explicitly teach the limitation “the method comprises transmitting, by the passive RFID sensor a unique identifier (UID) to the plurality of readers”.
wherein Rostamian teaches the method comprises transmitting, by the passive RFID sensor a unique identifier (UID) to the plurality of readers. (Rostamian disclosed in page 14 section 2.2.3: “A RFID reader is a device that communicates with compatible RFID tags with one or multiple antennas. … Some readers can have data transmission with both active and passive tags in the same frequency, … A RFID tag is a device that contains internal memory and unique ID. Some tags have sensors integrated within them and can transmit the sensor information using RF signals. … Active tags usually send their information when they receive the activator signal from the reader. Then they send their information at a specific time interval.” Further in page 15 section 2.3.2: “Figure 2.5, which is the global identifier tags use in the EPC Gen 2 standard. … The idea is that each tag has a unique ID. … In addition to an EPC number, tags can store information such as expiration date, manufacturing date, manufacturing location, etc. New tags can have more than 8Kb memory in the chip and can send information using the RFID interface to the reader.”).
Hershey and Rostamian are analogous art because they are related to integrating sensor data with the physical object or space. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey and Rostamian, to modify fusing/integrating sensor data with the physical geometric model of a physical object or space to produce digital twin in Hershey’s teaching, to include estimating the location of the passive RFID sensor using triangulation method in Rostamian’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Rostamian because “we present a new RFID device called "Sense-a-Tag" (ST) that can passively detect and decode backscattered signals from tags in its proximity. We show that when STs are added to a standard RFID system, the problems of proximity detection and localization with RFID tags can readily be solved. Then we applied ST-based system for identifying people and object interactions. The potential uses of ST as an augmented device for IoT applications are discussed in this thesis. Results obtained from real experiments illustrate that an ST-based RFID system is feasible for proximity detection applications. The simulations based on real experiments and results illustrates that an ST-based RFID system can be a realistic solution for proximity detection and localization for Location Positioning systems (LPS) and activity monitoring in future IoT”. (Rostamian disclosed in page ii under ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 19, Hershey and Rostamian teach the method of claim 16, further Hershey teaches the step of using the digital twin to provide at least one of asset tracking, process planning, monitoring, and data visualization. (Hershey disclosed in page 2 para [0028]: “With the advancement of sensors, communications, and computational modeling, it may be possible to a consider multiple components of a system, ... Moreover, it may be possible to very accurately monitor and continually assess the health of individual components, predict their remaining lives, and consequently estimate the health and remaining useful lives of systems that employ them. This would be a significant advance for applied prognostics, and discovering a system and methodology to do so in an accurate and efficient manner will help reduce unplanned down time for complex systems (resulting in cost savings and increased operational efficiency). It may also be possible to achieve a more nearly optimal control of a twined physical system if the life of the parts can be accurately determined as well as any degradation of the key components. According to some embodiments described herein, this information may be provided by a "digital twin” of a twinned physical system.”).
7.2 Claims 4,5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey and Rostamian and in view of JEON et al. (Pub. No. US2016/0330182A1) (hereinafter Jeon, IDS provided dated 3/9/2023).
Regarding Claim 4, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, however Hershey and Rostamian do not explicitly teach the limitation “communications between the plurality of readers and the gateway and between the gateway and the internet of things hub are provided using Message Queue Telemetry Transport (MQTT)”.
wherein Jeon teaches communications between the plurality of readers and the gateway and between the gateway and the internet of things hub are provided using Message Queue Telemetry Transport (MQTT). (Jeon disclosed in page 12 para [0185-0186]: “The IoT may refer to a network of IoT devices that use wired and/or wireless communication. Accordingly, the IoT may be referred to as an IoT network system, a ubiquitous sensor network (USN) communication system, a machine type communication (MTC) system, … Here, an IoT network system may include elements, such as, an IoT device, a hub, an access point, a gateway, a communication network, and/or a server. … The IoT network system may use a user datagram protocol (UDP), … a message queue telemetry transport (MQTT), or an MQTT for sensors networks (MQTT-S) for exchange (or communication) of information among at least two elements therewithin.”).
Hershey, Rostamian and Jeon are analogous arts because they are related to having proximity sensors in an IoT device to sense sensing information from the surrounding environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey, Rostamian and Jeon, to modify processing data and run a localization algorithm based on proximity detection information in Rostamian’s teaching, to include the communication between Internet of Things, gateway, reader and HTTP protocol Jeon’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Jeon because “A sensor may sense various types of signals or information (e.g., a chemical signal and an electrical signal) generated in the outside or inside of an IoT device and generate sensing information. For instance, the sensor may sense the environment information of a building or vehicle including an IoT device or may sense information related to the location of the vehicle, the operating state of the vehicle, and/or the state of internal components of the vehicle. The sensor may be attached to a wearable IoT device to sense the surrounding environment of a user of the wearable IoT device and/or the user's biometric information”. (Jeon disclosed in page 15 para [0220]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, however Hershey and Rostamian do not explicitly teach the limitation “communications between the plurality of readers and the gateway and between the gateway and the internet of things hub are provided using HTTP/HTTPS protocol”.
wherein Jeon teaches communications between the plurality of readers and the gateway and between the gateway and the internet of things hub are provided using HTTP/HTTPS protocol. (Jeon disclosed in page 12 para [0185-0186]: “The IoT may refer to a network of IoT devices that use wired and/or wireless communication. Accordingly, the IoT may be referred to as an IoT network system, a ubiquitous sensor network (USN) communication system, a machine type communication (MTC) system, … Here, an IoT network system may include elements, such as, an IoT device, a hub, an access point, a gateway, a communication network, and/or a server. … The IoT network system may use a user datagram protocol (UDP), … a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), … for exchange (or communication) of information among at least two elements therewithin.”).
Hershey, Rostamian and Jeon are analogous art because they are related to having proximity sensors in an IoT device to sense sensing information from the surrounding environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey, Rostamian and Jeon, to modify processing data and run a localization algorithm based on proximity detection information in Rostamian’s teaching, to include the communication between Internet of Things, gateway, reader and HTTP protocol Jeon’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Jeon because “A sensor may sense various types of signals or information (e.g., a chemical signal and an electrical signal) generated in the outside or inside of an IoT device and generate sensing information. For instance, the sensor may sense the environment information of a building or vehicle including an IoT device or may sense information related to the location of the vehicle, the operating state of the vehicle, and/or the state of internal components of the vehicle. The sensor may be attached to a wearable IoT device to sense the surrounding environment of a user of the wearable IoT device and/or the user's biometric information”. (Jeon disclosed in page 15 para [0220]).
Regarding Claim 13, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, even Hershey and Rostamian teach the claim element “the reader”, however Hershey and Rostamian do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reader is at least one of a Wi-Fi reader, a narrow band internet of things reader, or a wireless communications protocol”.
where Jeon teaches the reader is at least one of a Wi-Fi reader, a narrow band internet of things reader, or a wireless communications protocol. (Jeon disclosed in page 3 para [0060]: “the hub 200 and the first controller 300 may perform first secure pairing (i.e., hub pairing) using at least one of near field communication (NFC) and wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi), … The hub 200 and the IoT device 400 may perform second secure pairing (i.e., device pairing) using a wireless local area network (WLAN) such as Wi-Fi, a wireless personal area network (WPAN) such as Bluetooth, a wireless universal serial bus (USB), …”. It has been disclosed in para [0095] that the first controller includes an NFC reader which may read the first secret value from the NFC tag. Therefore, it is concluded that the reader is at least one of a Wi-Fi reader or a wireless communications protocol).
Hershey, Rostamian and Jeon are analogous art because they are related to having proximity sensors in an IoT device to sense sensing information from the surrounding environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey, Rostamian and Jeon, to modify processing data and run a localization algorithm based on proximity detection information in Rostamian’s teaching, to include the communication between Internet of Things, gateway, reader and HTTP protocol Jeon’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Jeon because “A sensor may sense various types of signals or information (e.g., a chemical signal and an electrical signal) generated in the outside or inside of an IoT device and generate sensing information. For instance, the sensor may sense the environment information of a building or vehicle including an IoT device or may sense information related to the location of the vehicle, the operating state of the vehicle, and/or the state of internal components of the vehicle. The sensor may be attached to a wearable IoT device to sense the surrounding environment of a user of the wearable IoT device and/or the user's biometric information”. (Jeon disclosed in page 15 para [0220]).
7.3 Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershey and Rostamian and further in view of a Journal “C2PS: A Digital Twin Architecture Reference Model for the Cloud-based Cyber-Physical Systems Kazi Masudul Alam et al. (hereinafter Alam, Journal published on 2017).
Regarding Claim 6, Hershey and Rostamian teach the system of claim 1, however Hershey and Rostamian do not explicitly teach the limitation “the internet of things hub, the data storage, and the processor are provided in an internet of things Platform as a Service (IoT PaaS).”
wherein Alam teaches the internet of things hub, the data storage, and the processor are provided in an internet of things Platform as a Service (IoT PaaS). (Alam disclosed in page 2052-2053 (right col.): “We proposed a vehicular CPS (VCPS) architecture, Social Internet-of-Vehicles (SIoV), ... SIoV is a vehicular domain of SIoT and exploits social network like characteristics … In this paper, we present a digital twin architecture reference model for cloud based CPS (C2PS), where we use the standard CPS design concepts to incorporate cloud support to it. In Table 1, we compare relevant works that present CPS architecture models. … In our work, we have followed the state machine based analytical design techniques to describe this integration. In this process, we have identified various types of computations and communications (i.e. physical, cyber and hybrid) possible in the C2PS. We also present Bayes network and fuzzy logic based reconfigurable model that considers system contexts while selecting a possible interaction mode.” In Table 1, “PaaS” shown under ‘Cloud integration’ column, has been inherently presented in proposed “cloud-based CPS reference model’. Further, in page 2053 section III: “In the proposed C2PS, we assume that a number of independent systems connect together to perform a common goal … All the data that are useful to improve the Quality of Service (QoS) of the physical things, are stored in the cloud based Data Center (Fig. 2). In the C2PS, a smart thing can be both stationary or mobile and can provide various services to other smart things. All the data gathered by the smart things are stored at different levels of storage from mobile, stationary to the cloud based data center.” Therefore, Alam teaches the whole limitation).
Hershey, Rostamian and Alam are analogous art because they are related to use digital twin in modern industry. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hershey, Rostamian and Alam, to modify the internet of things hub, the data storage, and the processor are provided in an internet of things Platform in Hershey’s disclosure, to include or integrate digital twins with the cloud infrastructure becomes the true bridge between the physical layer and the application layer of CPS (Cyber-physical system) in Alam’s disclosure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Alam because “In this paper, we present a digital twin architecture reference model for cloud-based CPS (C2PS), where we use the standard CPS design concepts to incorporate cloud support to it. In this process, we have identified various types of computations and communications (i.e. physical, cyber and hybrid) possible in the C2PS. We also present Bayes network and fuzzy logic based reconfigurable model that considers system contexts while selecting a possible interaction mode. This kind of smart connection model has been prescribed for the CPS, additionally, we also present a model to describe the formation of various possible cloud infrastructures. (Alam disclosed in page 2052 (right col. last para).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. An article “Digital twin-driven product design, manufacturing and service with big data” by Fei Tao et al. proposed a new method for product design, manufacturing, and service driven by digital twin. The detailed application methods and frameworks of digital twin-driven product design, manufacturing, and service are investigated. Digital twin is an integrated multi-physics, multi scale, and probabilistic simulation of a complex product and uses the best available physical models, sensor updates, etc., to mirror the life of its corresponding twin. The idea and concept of digital twin, which is composed of physical product, virtual product, and connected data that ties physical and virtual product, can realize the convergence between product physical and virtual space. Digital twin currently is primarily applied to the field of aeronautics and astronautics for failure prediction and is mainly applied to product service and maintenance phase. With the concluded characteristics of digital twin, especially synchronous linkage and ultra-high fidelity between physical product and corresponding virtual product, digital twin has high potential to solve problems existing in PLM. This paper will emphasize its potential applications in product design, product manufacturing and product service. Digital twin is a faithful mapping of the physical product and can make the communication between clients and designers more transparent and faster by using the real-time transmission data. It can perfectly guide the improvement of the new product by making full use of customers’ feedback and various problems appeared in customers’ usage of the previous generation.
/NUPUR DEBNATH/Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186