DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 6-13 are pending. Applicant previously elected the following species but has amended the claims to preclude this species and therefore examination is extended to cyanoethyltriethoxysilane as the elected formula (1) species (the species for formula 2 and 3 remain unchanged).
See MPEP 803.02 III: Should applicant, in response to a rejection of a Markush claim, overcome the rejection by amending the Markush claim to exclude the species anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art, the amended Markush claim will be examined again. The examination will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush claim. In the event prior art is found during this examination that anticipates or renders obvious the amended Markush claim, the claim will be rejected and the action can be made final unless the examiner introduces a new ground of rejection that is neither necessitated by applicant’s amendment of the claims nor based on information submitted in an information disclosure statement filed during the period set forth in 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). See MPEP § 706.07(a). Amendments submitted after the final rejection further restricting the scope of the claim may be denied entry if they do not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.116. See MPEP § 714.13.
Applicant’s previous election of Group I claims 1, 3, 6-10, 13 still applies and claims 11-12 remain withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 02/05/26 has been entered. Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive and the previous rejection(s) are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama et al. (U.S. 2017/0153549) in view of Konno et al. (U.S. 2009/0050020) in view of Nakajima et al. (U.S. 2010/0330505).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6-10, and 13, Shibayama teaches a film forming composition (inherently film forming) for forming a resist underlayer (underlayer because subsequent coatings can be applied over the layer) for EUV lithography (300 nm wavelength or less, [0189], as in claim 10, though this intended use is not given patentable weight), that comprises a hydrolysis condensate (as in claim 3) of the same repeating units as in Formula 1, 2 and/or 3, and overlapping the first, second and third elected species, and teaches that hydrolysis and condensation of the silane monomers to produce the polysiloxane may be performed with, e.g., nitric acid (as in claim 6, although this is an immaterial product by process limitation anyway), and also teaches that water may be added to the resist composition, as in claims 7 and 13, to stabilize the polysiloxane polymer as well as a ph adjuster (acid generator) and surfactant as in claims 8 and 9 (see abstract, [0011]-[0014], [0033], [0056], [0058], [0070], [0098]).
Shibayama does not disclose the claimed amount of cyanosilane compound, however, Konno is also directed to silicone base resist underlayer films and teaches that such cyanosilane compounds provide adhesion and tetralkoxysilane compounds provide mask resistance (see abstract, [0035]-[0037]) such that the amounts of these compounds would be obvious to adjust including to values within the claimed range as part of optimizing the adhesion and mask resistance in Shiabayama as taught by Konno.
Shibayama does not disclose a particular motivation for the amount of the bis trialkoxysilane monomers. However, Nakajima is also directed to resist compositions based on siloxane polymers bearing cyano groups and teaches that the same type of monomers (i.e., alkylene bis trialkoxysilane monomers) may be included to provide good resist shape (see abstract, [0081], [0085], [0086]). Thus, it would have been obvious to have adjusted the amount of the monomers of Formula 3 in Shibayama, including to values within the claimed range, because Nakajima teaches that such monomers provide good resist shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Shibayama’s example is outside of the claimed range, but the reference is not limited to the examples and the motivation provided by the reference for the cyanosilane compound is a proper motivation for adjusting the amount of that compound to fall within the claimed range, thereby rendering the claims obvious. In addition to the claimed range being obvious as explained above, it is further obvious based on the following.
See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Applicant argues that the references fail to recognize the present invention’s motivation for the cyanosilane but this is not required and the prior art may arrive at the claimed subject matter for a different reason. Applicant may be trying to argue unexpected results, but it is unclear what examples and comparative examples are being cited to show the criticality of the claimed range. Furthermore, none of the examples are commensurate in scope with the much broader claimed scope anyway (unexpected results requires the claims be commensurate in scope with the cited examples).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787