DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 10-21 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed towards nonelected species until a generic claim has been found allowable. Claims 1-9 are examined on their merits.
35 U.S.C. § 102 Rejections Maintained
The rejections of claims 1-2 and 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biberacher (Biberacher et al., The cytotoxicity of anti-CD22 immunotoxin is enhanced by bryostatin 1 in B-cell lymphomas through CD22 upregulation and PKC-βII depletion. Haematologica. 2012 May;97(5):771-9) are maintained.
The rejections of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (Liu et al., 2016. J Virol 90) are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1, as well as applicant’s arguments in the response filed on November 7th 2025 are acknowledged.
Regarding the rejections over claims 1-2 and 6-9, applicant argues that “Biberacher fails to describe any experiments regarding the persistence of cell surface antigens in response to bryostatin treatment. Biberacher also fails to teach or suggest the use of bryostatin agent to contact target cells in vivo to modulate immunogenicity of target cells as presently claim.”
Regarding the in vivo contacting step, such a step is indeed suggested by Biberacher (see the below 102 rejection over claim 7; Biberacher, pg. 778, col. 2).
Regarding the persistence of cell surface antigens in response to bryostatin treatment, while Biberacher does not teach the enhancement of cell surface persistence in said terms, Biberacher does describe the upregulation of CD22 for several days following pre-stimulation with bryostatin 1 (Biberacher, abstract, results). That is, while Biberacher does not perform experiments with the explicit goal of enhancing the persistence of cell surface antigens, Biberacher nevertheless demonstrates that such an increase in persistence occurs after contact with bryostatin 1. The 102 rejections over Biberacher are thereby maintained.
Applicant similarly argues the rejections of claims 1-5 over Liu, stating that Liu fails to describe any experiments regarding the persistence of cell surface antigens in response to bryostatin treatment.
Regarding this argument, while Liu does not explicitly perform experiments regarding cell surface persistence of the p24 antigen, the sustained viral outgrowth upon bryostatin administration, especially two weeks after administration (Liu, pg. 9721) would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as an increase in duration that the antigen remains available at the cell surface, and thus an “enhancement of surface persistence.” The 102 rejections of claims 1-5 over Liu are thereby maintained.
Rejections Reiterated
Claims 1-2 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biberacher (Biberacher et al., The cytotoxicity of anti-CD22 immunotoxin is enhanced by bryostatin 1 in B-cell lymphomas through CD22 upregulation and PKC-βII depletion. Haematologica. 2012 May;97(5):771-9).
Claim 1 is directed towards the modulation of cells in a subject via administration of a bryostatin agent to selectively enhance expression of an antigen in the target cells. Biberacher teaches that bryostatin 1 enhances surface expression of CD22 on chronic lymphocytic leukemia cells (Biberacher, abstract, results), anticipating claim 1.
Claim 2 limits the antigen of claim 1 to a protein antigen. Biberacher bryostatin for the enhanced expression of CD22, anticipating claim 2.
Claim 6 requires that the target cells of claim 1 are cancer cells. As Biberacher teaches chronic lymphocytic leukemia cells, Biberacher anticipates claim 6.
Claim 7 requires that the method of claim 6 occurs in vivo. Biberacher suggests an in vivo contacting step (Biberacher, pg. 778, col. 2), anticipating claim 7.
Claim 8 requires that, in the method of claim 6, the method sensitizes the target cells to clearance by the subject’s immune system. Biberacher teaches that bryostatin 1 sensitizes chronic lymphocytic leukemia cells to the cytotoxic effects of BL22, a human immunotoxin (Biberacher, abstract, results). Biberacher therefore anticipates claim 8.
Claim 9 requires that, in the method of claim 7, a second agent capable of inhibiting growth of the modulated target cells or clearing out the modulated target cells is administered. Biberacher suggests a combination of bryostatin 1 with antibodies directed against CD22 as a drug combination for the treatment of B-cell lymphoma (Biberacher, abstract, conclusions). Biberacher therefore anticipates claim 9.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (Liu et al., 2016. J Virol 90).
Liu teaches the administration of bryostatin 1 as a protein kinase C/nuclear factor- B pathway activator (Liu, pg. 9720), anticipating claims 1 and 2.
Claim 3 requires that, in the method of claim 1, the target cells are CAR-T cells. Liu administers bryostatin 1 to CAR-T cells (Liu, pg. 9720), anticipating claim 3.
Claim 4 requires that the contacting step in claim 3 is performed ex vivo and the target cells are derived from the subject. Liu teaches administration to cells from the subject (Liu, pg. 9720, Figure 7), anticipating claim 4.
Claim 5 requires that, in the method of claim 3, the cells are allogenic cells. Liu teaches the administration of bryostatin 1 to allogenic cells (Liu, pg. 9715, Viral Outgrowth Assay), anticipating claim 5.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejections Maintained
Response to Arguments
Applicant has requested that the nonstatutory double patenting rejections over claims 1-2 and 6-9 be held in abeyance until the above 102 rejections over claims 1-2 and 6-9 have been overcome. The nonstatutory double patenting rejections are thereby maintained.
Rejections Reiterated
Claims 1-2 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-25 and 27-28 of copending Application No. 18/241,636 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches the administration of a bryostatin agent for the treatment of cancer, which necessarily occurs in cancer cells.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629