DETAILED ACTION
2. Amendment after Non-final office action filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claim 1-7, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 19 and 21 have been cancelled.
4. Claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are pending in this application.
5. Applicant elected without traverse lung/pulmonary fibrosis as species of fibrosis in the reply filed on 7/3/2023.
Restriction requirement was deemed proper and made FINAL in the previous office actions. The instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are drawn to a method for treating pulmonary fibrosis in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; a method for reducing or inhibiting fibrosis in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and a method of inducing anti-fibrotic activity in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is induced in lung, and wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β) gene. A search was conducted on the elected species; and prior art was found. Claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Please note: As stated in the previous office actions, for the purpose of this examination, the Examiner is interpreting lung/pulmonary fibrosis as the elected species of fibrosis includes any type of lung/pulmonary fibrosis.
Declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.132
6. Declaration of Hoe Yun Jung under 37 CFR 1.132 has been filed on 5/14/2026. The Declaration is insufficient to overcome the rejection to instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in Section 11 below for the following reasons:
First, as stated in the previous office action, in the instant case, in view of the teachings of Grottelli et al as a whole, in particular, page 6, Section “4.1. Cyclo(His-Pro) Acts as an Anti-Inflammatory Agent” in Grottelli et al, one of ordinary skilled in the art would understand and reasonably expect Grottelli et al teach Cyclo-HisPro as an anti-inflammatory agent increases heme oxygenase 1 (HO-1) expression, and is protective in the experimental model of pulmonary injury.
Second, Tsuburai et al explicilty teach overexpression of HO-1 provides therapeutic benefit in a murine model of bleomycin-induced pulmonary fibrosis; and using HO-1 overexpression to treat disorders due to chronic, profibrotic, inflammatory processes or apoptotic cell death, and such disorders include pulmonary fibrosis, emphysema, lung injury, liver cirrhosis, and nephrosclerosis.
Third, as stated in the previous office actions, the Examiner would like to point out that the additional data presented by Applicant is not available to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the effective filing date of instant application.
Fourth, as stated in the previous office action, in the instant case, it appears to the Examiner that Applicant has identified latent properties of CHP as an anti-fibrotic agent. And the MPEP states: “Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention.” (see MPEP § 2145 II).
Fifth, the Examiner would like to point out that unexpected/novel mechanism of action is not the same as allegations of unexpected results set forth in MPEP § 716.02.
Furthermore, at the effective filing date of instant application, in view of the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al as set forth in Section 11 below, one of ordinary skilled in the art would understand and reasonably expect Cyclo-HisPro would exhibit an anti-fibrotic effect on pulmonary fibrosis.
Taken all these together, in the instant case, considering the state of art regards the role of HO-1 in IFP at the effective filing date of instant application, and in view of the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al as set forth in Section 11 below, a person of ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to develop the methods recited in instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16 and 18-20. Furthermore, with regards to the expectation of success, the MPEP states: “Absolute predictability is not a necessary prerequisite to a case of obviousness. Rather, a degree of predictability that one of ordinary skill would have found to be reasonable is sufficient. The Federal Circuit concluded that “[g]ood science and useful contributions do not necessarily result in patentability.” Id. at 1364, 83 USPQ2d at 1304.” (see MPEP § 2145).
Thus, the rejection is deemed proper and is hereby maintained.
Maintained/Revised Objections
7. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) Claim 18 remains objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 18 as “A method of inducing anti-fibrotic activity in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the anti-fibrotic activity…”.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
8. Applicant’s amendment introduces additional minor issues into instant claim 18. Therefore, claim 18 remains objected.
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
11. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) Claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grottelli et al (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2016, 17, pages 1-14, filed with IDS) in view of Tsuburai et al (HUMAN GENE THERAPY, 2002, 13, pages 1945-1960, cited and enclosed in the previous office actions).
The instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are drawn to a method for treating pulmonary fibrosis in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; a method for reducing or inhibiting fibrosis in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and a method of inducing anti-fibrotic activity in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is induced in lung, and wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β) gene.
Grottelli et al teach Cyclo-HisPro as an anti-inflammatory agent increases heme oxygenase 1 (HO-1) expression, and is protective in the experimental model of pulmonary injury, for example, page 6, Section “4.1. Cyclo(His-Pro) Acts as an Anti-Inflammatory Agent”. It meets the limitation of Cyclo-HisPro recited in instant claims 8, 14 and 18.
The difference between the reference and instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 is that the reference does not explicitly teach lung/pulmonary fibrosis as the elected species of fibrosis; and the subject recited in instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20.
However, Tsuburai et al, throughout the literature, teach overexpression of HO-1 provides therapeutic benefit in a murine model of bleomycin-induced pulmonary fibrosis; and using HO-1 overexpression to treat disorders due to chronic, profibrotic, inflammatory processes or apoptotic cell death, and such disorders include pulmonary fibrosis, emphysema, lung injury, liver cirrhosis, and nephrosclerosis, for example, Title; Abstract; Overview Summary; and Figures 1-11.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al and develop a method for treating pulmonary fibrosis, and/or reducing or inhibiting pulmonary fibrosis, and/or inducing anti-pulmonary fibrosis activity in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro. It reads on lung/pulmonary fibrosis as the elected species of fibrosis.
With regards to the limitation “wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β)” recited in instant claim 18, first, this is a result-oriented limitation. In the instant case, the method developed from the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al above comprises administering the same Cyclo-HisPro to the same subject (a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed). Therefore, the method developed from the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al above would results in the same effect, in that the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of TGF-β gene. Second, since Cyclo-HisPro in the method developed from the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al above is identical to Cyclo-HisPro in the method recited in instant claim 18, Cyclo-HisPro in the method developed from the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al above would necessarily have the same properties and functionalities of Cyclo-HisPro in the method recited in instant claim 18. Therefore, Cyclo-HisPro in the method developed from the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al above exhibits anti-fibrotic activity by decreasing expression of TGF-β gene. Furthermore, the MPEP states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Claims were directed to a titanium alloy containing 0.2-0.4% Mo and 0.6-0.9% Ni having corrosion resistance. A Russian article disclosed a titanium alloy containing 0.25% Mo and 0.75% Ni but was silent as to corrosion resistance. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated because the percentages of Mo and Ni were squarely within the claimed ranges. The court went on to say that it was immaterial what properties the alloys had or who discovered the properties because the composition is the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the properties.).” (see MPEP § 2112.01 I). In addition, since the USPTO lacks the experimental facilities to make a further determination, the burden is on the Applicant to prove the otherwise.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al and develop a method for treating pulmonary fibrosis, and/or reducing or inhibiting pulmonary fibrosis, and/or inducing anti-pulmonary fibrosis activity in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro, because Tsuburai et al, throughout the literature, teach overexpression of HO-1 provides therapeutic benefit in a murine model of bleomycin-induced pulmonary fibrosis; and using HO-1 overexpression to treat disorders due to chronic, profibrotic, inflammatory processes or apoptotic cell death, and such disorders include pulmonary fibrosis, emphysema, lung injury, liver cirrhosis, and nephrosclerosis.
A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al to develop a method for treating pulmonary fibrosis, and/or reducing or inhibiting pulmonary fibrosis, and/or inducing anti-pulmonary fibrosis activity in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
12. Applicant presents the same arguments as those in the Declaration of Hoe Yun Jung under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 5/14/2026. Applicant further argues that no prior art reference discloses any experimental data demonstrating a protective effect of CHP in pulmonary injury model.
13. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments about instant rejection, the Examiner agrees that none of the cited references individually teaches or suggests the methods recited in instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20; and none of the cited references anticipates the methods recited in instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20. However, the Examiner would like to point out that instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (obviousness type); and the rejection is based on the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al. Therefore, it is not necessary for each of the cited references to teach all the limitations of instant claims. Furthermore, the Examiner would like to point out that the MPEP states "One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references…" (see MPEP § 2145 IV).
Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments presented in the Declaration of Hoe Yun Jung under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 5/14/2026 have been addressed in Section 6 above.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that no prior art reference discloses any experimental data demonstrating a protective effect of CHP in pulmonary injury model, the Examiner understands that no prior art reference provides experimental data demonstrating a protective effect of CHP in pulmonary injury model. However, in the instant case, as stated in the previous office action, in view of the teachings of Grottelli et al as a whole, in particular, page 6, Section “4.1. Cyclo(His-Pro) Acts as an Anti-Inflammatory Agent” in Grottelli et al, one of ordinary skilled in the art would understand and reasonably expect Grottelli et al teach Cyclo-HisPro as an anti-inflammatory agent increases heme oxygenase 1 (HO-1) expression, and is protective in the experimental model of pulmonary injury. Furthermore, with regards to Applicant’s arguments about impermissible hindsight, as stated in the previous office action, in the instant case, Applicant fails to point to any facet of instant rejection that is not found in the cited prior art references. It is unclear to the Examiner which part of the instant rejection is not based on the combined teachings of the cited references. Merely pointing out the differences between each of the cited references and instant claimed invention is not proof of hindsight reasoning. And, the MPEP states “"[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).” (see MPEP § 2145).
Taken all these together, the rejection is deemed proper and is hereby maintained.
Obviousness Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
15. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) Claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US patent 12534496 B2 (issued patent of application No. 18/377656), and in view of Grottelli et al (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2016, 17, pages 1-14, filed with IDS) and Tsuburai et al (HUMAN GENE THERAPY, 2002, 13, pages 1945-1960, cited and enclosed in the previous office actions).
16. Instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are drawn to a method for treating pulmonary fibrosis in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; a method for reducing or inhibiting fibrosis in a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and a method of inducing anti-fibrotic activity in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of Cyclo-HisPro or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is induced in lung, and wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β) gene.
17. Claims 1-18 of US patent 12534496 B2 are drawn to a composition comprising a cyclo(-His-Pro) hydrate compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, said cyclo(-His-Pro) hydrate compound being characterized by an X-ray powder diffraction (XRPD) diffractogram comprising three or more peaks at 2θ values selected from the group consisting of 13.5o-13.9o, 16.9o-17.3o, 22.4o-22.6o, 24.1o-24.5o and 27.2o-27.5o.
18. The difference between instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 and claims 1-18 of US patent 12534496 B2 is that claims 1-18 of US patent 12534496 B2 do not teach apply the composition in the methods recited in instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20.
However, in view of the combined teachings of Grottelli et al and Tsuburai et al as set forth in Section 11 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to apply the composition recited in claims 1-18 of US patent 12534496 B2 and develop the methods recited in instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20.
Furthermore, with regards to the limitation “wherein the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β)” recited in instant claim 18, first, this is a result-oriented limitation. In the instant case, the method developed above comprises administering the same Cyclo-HisPro to the same subject (a subject whose pulmonary fibrosis has already developed). Therefore, the method developed above would results in the same effect, in that the anti-fibrotic activity is characterized by a decrease in expression of TGF-β gene. Second, since Cyclo-HisPro in the method developed above is identical to Cyclo-HisPro in the method recited in instant claim 18, Cyclo-HisPro in the method developed above would necessarily have the same properties and functionalities of Cyclo-HisPro in the method recited in instant claim 18. Therefore, Cyclo-HisPro in the method developed above exhibits anti-fibrotic activity by decreasing expression of TGF-β gene. In addition, the MPEP states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Claims were directed to a titanium alloy containing 0.2-0.4% Mo and 0.6-0.9% Ni having corrosion resistance. A Russian article disclosed a titanium alloy containing 0.25% Mo and 0.75% Ni but was silent as to corrosion resistance. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated because the percentages of Mo and Ni were squarely within the claimed ranges. The court went on to say that it was immaterial what properties the alloys had or who discovered the properties because the composition is the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the properties.).” (see MPEP § 2112.01 I). And, since the USPTO lacks the experimental facilities to make a further determination, the burden is on the Applicant to prove the otherwise.
Please note: in the instant case, US patent 12534496 B2 shares the same Applicant (NovMetaPharma Co., Ltd.) as instant application.
19. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) For the same and/or similar reasoning/rational as the rejection set forth in Sections 15-18 above, instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable claims 1-28 of US patent 10683300 B2, and in view of the combined teachings of Grottelli et al (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2016, 17, pages 1-14, filed with IDS) and Tsuburai et al (HUMAN GENE THERAPY, 2002, 13, pages 1945-1960, cited and enclosed in the previous office actions) as set forth in Section 11 above.
Please note: in the instant case, US patent 10683300 B2 shares the same Applicant (NovMetaPharma Co., Ltd.) as instant application.
20. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) For the same and/or similar reasoning/rational as the rejection set forth in Sections 15-18 above, instant claims 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-29 of co-pending application No. 19/107159, and in view of the combined teachings of Grottelli et al (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2016, 17, pages 1-14, filed with IDS) and Tsuburai et al (HUMAN GENE THERAPY, 2002, 13, pages 1945-1960, cited and enclosed in the previous office actions) as set forth in Section 11 above.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
21. For the ODP rejections over claims of US patent 12534496 B2 and US patent 10683300 B2, Applicant argues that these rejections should be withdrawn for the same reason as discussed for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
For the provisional ODP rejection, Applicant argues that co-pending application No. 19/107159 has a later filing date.
22. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been addressed in Sections 6 and 13 above. Furthermore, the provisional ODP rejection is not the only rejection remained in the current office action.
Taken all these together, until a proper terminal disclaimer is filed and approved by the Office, these double patenting rejections are maintained.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112 paragraph (d)
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
24. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
25. Claim 20 depends on claim 18; and claim 20 recites “The method of claim 18, wherein the anti-fibrosis is induced in pulmonary fibrosis”. However, in the instant case, the anti-fibrosis induced in instant claim 18 is one induced in the lung, which is the same as the anti-fibrosis induced in pulmonary fibrosis. Therefore, the scope of claim 20 is identical to the scope of claim 18; thus, claim 20 is improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claim is allowed.
/LI N KOMATSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658