DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse in the reply filed on 5/19/2025 is acknowledged:
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 18 and 26 read on the elected invention and are treated on the merits, below. Claims 3, 16, 28, 31-33, 41, 42, 46, 48, 54, 56, 62, 63 are withdrawn from consideration as exclusively covering a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover compounds with a self immolative linker comprising a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a cell binding agent.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of compounds comprising a self immolative linker comprising a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a cell binding agent, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify particular compounds encompassed by the claims. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other compounds comprising the recited linker and reactive group besides those covered by the formulas in the specification, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species or subgenre do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of compounds.
With regard to the functional definition of self immolative linker or reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a cell binding agent, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of compounds to see if the compounds can perform the required function, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited compounds comprising a self immolative linker comprising a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a cell binding agent.
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The intended structures of the self immolative linker or reactive group that can form a covalent bond are not defined.
The claims, e.g., claim 2, recite preferably. It is unclear if Applicant intends the claims to be limited to the preferred embodiments.
The claims refer to structures in listed in Tables in the specification. It is unclear what definitions of variables are required by reciting compounds in this manner. Moreover, the claims are required to be complete as possible and these structures are required to be recited in the claims with all included variable definitions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20120238731 based on an application by Fishkin et al. (Fishkin) in view of Islam et al., Drug Saf. 1997 Sep;17(3):149-65 (Islam).
Fishkin teaches the following compounds and conjugates:
page 60
The maleimide and sulfides qualify as the recited linkers.
Those of ordinary skill would be motivated to find the preferred stereoisomeric form to optimize efficacy, minimize toxicity, and improve the drug's overall therapeutic index. Because of the body's own chirality (or "handedness"), a drug's specific three-dimensional shape (its stereoisomer) dictates how it binds to biological targets like receptors and enzymes, leading to potentially different pharmacological effects, metabolic rates, and side effects for each isomer, see Islam.
In this regard, the difference between the disclosed compounds and the claimed inventions is that the disclosed compounds may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, Fishkin teaches the elements of the claimed compounds with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150209444 based on an application by Chari et al. (Chari) in view of Islam et al., Drug Saf. 1997 Sep;17(3):149-65 (Islam).
Chari teaches the following compounds and conjugates:
Fig. 3A
The terminal diene structurally and functionally satisfies the required reactive group.
Those of ordinary skill would be motivated to find the preferred stereoisomeric form to optimize efficacy, minimize toxicity, and improve the drug's overall therapeutic index. Because of the body's own chirality (or "handedness"), a drug's specific three-dimensional shape (its stereoisomer) dictates how it binds to biological targets like receptors and enzymes, leading to potentially different pharmacological effects, metabolic rates, and side effects for each isomer, see Islam.
In this regard, the difference between the disclosed compounds and the claimed inventions is that the disclosed compounds may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, Chari teaches the elements of the claimed compounds with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20170274091 based on an application by Chari et al. (Chari) in view of Islam et al., Drug Saf. 1997 Sep;17(3):149-65 (Islam).
Chari teaches the following compounds:
See claim 61, for example.
Those of ordinary skill would be motivated to find the preferred stereoisomeric form to optimize efficacy, minimize toxicity, and improve the drug's overall therapeutic index. Because of the body's own chirality (or "handedness"), a drug's specific three-dimensional shape (its stereoisomer) dictates how it binds to biological targets like receptors and enzymes, leading to potentially different pharmacological effects, metabolic rates, and side effects for each isomer, see Islam.
In this regard, the difference between the disclosed compounds and the claimed inventions is that the disclosed compounds may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, Chari teaches the elements of the claimed compounds with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 18 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10046063. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the conflicting claims recite compounds and conjugates that anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the compounds covered by the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not cover the instant compounds with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the instant compounds with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 18 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9555125. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the conflicting claims recite compounds and conjugates that anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the compounds covered by the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not cover the instant compounds with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the instant compounds with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646