DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed May 14, 2026. Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13, 15-18, and 20-21, are presently pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on German Patent Application No. DE10 2019 108 066.5, filed March 28, 2019.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 22, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kull (US 20130297163; already of record), in view of Venkatasubramanian et al. (US 20190168728; hereinafter Venkatasubramanian, already of record), and further in view of Martin (US 20200079343; already of record), does not teach the newly amended limitations to the independent claims. Specifically, Applicant states that Martin does not teach a system for instigating a ore-processing of captured operating data by analyzing, filtering, or forwarding, the captured operating data. Additionally, Applicant states that Martin does not teach a time duration trigger threshold for said operation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Martin teaches that the compressed air monitoring system is constantly receiving data from various sensors and comparing the data to pre-set thresholds to determine if there is a problem with the system or not as outlined in at least paragraph [0140]-[0141]. Additionally, Martin determines a predetermined period of time for brake release or brake actuation (i.e. pressure release or pressure increase) and receives sensor readings from all of the braking systems of the cars connected to the train as outlined in at least paragraphs [0165]-[0166]. The system then compares sensor readings to the predetermined time threshold and flags any that do not go below or above the threshold (depending on the test). The claims, as currently written, do not preclude the use of Martin in teaching the limitations described by the Applicant because the claims are silent as to when the pre-processing occurs and does not state that it cannot occur in response to a trigger event such as those outlined in Martin. Therefore, Martin satisfies the requirement of the newly amended limitations.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach stopping the compressed air supply or switching to an emergency operating mode in response to an incorrect operating state.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Martin discloses an emergency braking system in at least paragraph [0129] which is activated when a significant leak/drop of air pressure in the brake pipe is detected which causes the system to perform an emergency braking operation.
An updated and detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-13, 15-18, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kull (US 20130297163; already of record), in view of Venkatasubramanian et al. (US 20190168728; hereinafter Venkatasubramanian, already of record), and further in view of Martin (US 20200079343; already of record).
Regarding Claim 1,
Kull teaches
A system for providing and/or monitoring operating data of a compressed air supply in a rail vehicle, (Kull: Abstract) the system comprising:
a detector, for capturing the operating data of the compressed air supply; (Kull: Paragraph [0027]-[0028], [0031], Fig. 2 (Element 18); “Any known computing device and/or interface can be used in connection with, integrated with, or in replacement of the local controller 20. Further, and as also shown in FIG. 2, some or all of the air brake data 22 (and/or the raw data from the sensor 18) may be stored in a local database 26, which may be resident on or present at the local controller 20.”)
...
wherein the external storage device is configured to be connected to a computing device (Kull: Paragraph [0040], Fig. 4 (Element 40); Central Controller 40) with which the stored operating data is processed and/or evaluated and/or forwarded, (Kull: Paragraph [0054])
...
Kull does not teach
...
an Internet of Things interface configured to convert the captured operating data into an electrical signal for subsequent transmission;
a communication device for wirelessly transmitting the electrical signal including captured operating data,
wherein the communication device is configured to instigate a pre-processing of the captured operating data via analyzing, filtering, or compressing of the captured operating data, and to trigger transmission of the pre-processed operating data to the external storage device for processing by an external processing device in response to the pre-processed operating data being above an operating-data-specific threshold value; and
an external storage device for receiving and storing the pre-processed operating data from the communication device,
...
wherein reference data for a target operating state and/or an incorrect operating state of the compressed air supply are stored in the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device, and wherein the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device is/are configured to compare the reference data with the received operating data, and
wherein in response to the detection of the incorrect operating state, the communication device is configured to wirelessly receive control signals to stop the compressed air supply or switch to an emergency operating mode.
However in the same field of endeavor, Venkatasubramanian teaches
...
an Internet of Things interface configured to convert the captured operating data into an electrical signal for subsequent transmission; (Venkatasubramanian: Paragraph [0091], [0145]; “In a preferred and non-limiting embodiment, example, or aspect, the use of any configuration of wired and/or wireless communication link 48 that enables HEU 26 to receive data and/or information from communication link 48 is envisioned, including, for example, the IoT.”; [0184]; Sensors and other systems connected with an Internet of Things interface must always convert data into electrical signals in order to be able to transmit data through the IoT network.)
...
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the compressed air monitoring system of Kull, in view of Martin, with the Internet of Things interface of Venkatasubramanian for the benefit of enhanced adaptive braking in an ECP system. (Venkatasubramanian: Paragraph [0012]-[0014])
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, does not teach
...
a communication device for wirelessly transmitting the electrical signal including captured operating data,
wherein the communication device is configured to instigate a pre-processing of the captured operating data via analyzing, filtering, or compressing of the captured operating data, and to trigger transmission of the pre-processed operating data to the external storage device for processing by an external processing device in response to the pre-processed operating data being above an operating-data-specific threshold value; and
an external storage device for receiving and storing the pre-processed operating data from the communication device,
...
wherein reference data for a target operating state and/or an incorrect operating state of the compressed air supply are stored in the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device, and wherein the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device is/are configured to compare the reference data with the received operating data, and
wherein in response to the detection of the incorrect operating state, the communication device is configured to wirelessly receive control signals to stop the compressed air supply or switch to an emergency operating mode.
However in the same field of endeavor, Martin teaches
...
a communication device for wirelessly transmitting the electrical signal including captured operating data, (Martin: Paragraph [0085]; “Each CMU 101 can comprise a processor; a power source such as a battery, energy harvester, or internal power-generating capability; a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) device such as a global positioning system (“GPS”) receiver, Wi-Fi, satellite, and/or cellular capability; a wireless communications capability for maintaining the railcar-based network 105; a wireless communication capability for communicating with the train-based network 107;”)
wherein the communication device is configured to instigate a pre-processing of the captured operating data (Martin: Paragraph [0141]; “When the trigger is activated, the analog pressure sensor immediately is activated to sample at a fast rate.”) via analyzing, filtering, or compressing of the captured operating data, (Martin: Paragraph [0046], [0080], [0141]; “This information is combined by the WSN 104 into a message that contains the exact time of the trigger; and several pressure readings obtained immediately after the trigger activation at a predetermined and known sampling rate. The message is sent by the WSN 104 to the associated CMU 101 or other computing device, which forwards the message to the PWG 102 or another computing device for further analysis, reporting, and alerting.”) and to trigger transmission of the pre-processed operating data to the external storage device for processing by an external processing device (Martin: Paragraph [0089]; “Each CMU 101 is capable of receiving data and/or alarms from its associated WSNs 104; drawing inferences from the data or alarms regarding the performance of the railcar 103 and its braking system 100; and transmitting the data and alarm information to the PWG 102 or other remote receiver.”) in response to the pre-processed operating data being above an operating-data-specific threshold value; (Martin: Paragraph [0082]-[0084], [0141]; “The pressure switch has a predetermined threshold that will trigger a reading, i.e., an electrical output, in response to an increase or decrease in air pressure above, or below a predetermined threshold. ... This information is combined by the WSN 104 into a message that contains the exact time of the trigger; and several pressure readings obtained immediately after the trigger activation at a predetermined and known sampling rate.” When the pressure goes above or below a certain threshold, the system is triggered to activate the analog pressure sensor and the readings are compiled into a message to be sent to a “wireless sensor node” (WSN) which then sends said data to a “communication management unit(s)” (CMU) which forwards the data to a “powered wireless gateway” (PWG) that may be off-board the train (i.e. at a railyard). Otherwise, the sensor is not activated and no readings are sent to the WSN.) and
an external storage device for receiving and storing the pre-processed operating data from the communication device, (Martin: Paragraph [0080]; “The system 10 includes a combination of sensors and signal processing equipment that allow the system 10...to communicate information regarding the status of brake system 100 to sources within, and external to the train consist 109.”)
...
wherein reference data for a target operating state and/or an incorrect operating state of the compressed air supply are stored in the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device, (Martin: Paragraph [0141], [0154]; “Threshold values for the braking force are predetermined, based on known braking characteristics of the railcar(s) 103 during various operational states of the train consist 109, e.g., stopped, moving, etc.”) and wherein the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device is/are configured to compare the reference data with the received operating data, (Martin: Paragraph [0154]; “The PWG 102 monitors and compares the threshold-crossing information from all of the train-based network-enabled railcars 103 in the train consist 109; and the PWG 102 generates an alert or other indication for the locomotive operator and/or remote operations center upon identifying outlier readings in the threshold crossing information for a particular railcar 103.”) and
wherein in response to the detection of the incorrect operating state, the communication device is configured to wirelessly receive control signals to stop the compressed air supply or switch to an emergency operating mode. (Martin: Paragraph [0129])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply monitoring system of Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, with the triggering of an air pressure sensor processing and communication based on air pressure thresholds of Martin for the benefit of increasing efficiency when testing railcar brakes. (Martin: Paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 2,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the communication device is a mobile radio transceiver configured to transmit and receive according to a mobile radio standard or WLAN standard. (Kull: Paragraph [0050]; The system communicates with the remote database using a data radio which is equipped onto each rail car.)
Regarding Claim 5,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 4, wherein the Internet of Things interface is embedded into control electronics of the compressed air supply. (Venkatasubramanian: Paragraph [0115]-[0116])
The motivation to combine Kull, Venkatasubramanian, and Martin, is the same as stated for Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 8,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the external storage device is a data cloud. (Kull: Paragraph [0031], [0047]; The database that the system communicates wirelessly with can be stored on a server in at “central dispatch.”)
Regarding Claim 9,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the external storage device and/or the computing device is/are configured to be connected to at least one mobile terminal device and/or computer interface. (Kull: Paragraph [0054]; The terminal may be a workstation connected to the central controller (40) or may be one of various devices capable of wireless communication and display including, but not limited to, a smart phone which is known to be a mobile terminal.)
Regarding Claim 10,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 3, wherein reference data for a target operating state and/or an incorrect operating state of the compressed air supply (Kull: Paragraph [0049]; There are two levels defined as threshold air leak levels. The “mid leak” level in particular is a reference threshold level that, when surpassed, indicates an incorrect operating state of the brake.) are stored in the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device, (Kull: Paragraph [0045], FIG. 2 (Elements 20 and 26); The system consists of a local controller and access to a database (either on-board or remote) which stores reference data including safe train operation data so that the operator may confirm that all components of the train are operating within safe parameters.) and wherein the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device is/are configured to compare the reference data with the received operating data. (Kull: Paragraph [0053]; The air brake monitoring system may use a local controller, on-board controller, and/or the central controller for processing the air leak data received from the sensors to determine whether the “low leak” or “mid leak” conditions have been reached.)
Regarding Claim 11,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 10, wherein the storage device and/or the computing device and/or the communication device is/are further configured to identify a target operating state or incorrect operating state of the compressed air supply based on the comparison of the reference data and the received operating data. (Kull: Paragraph [0049]; The system has a “mid leak” measurement condition which acts as a reference threshold for an allowable level of air leak from the compressed air supply. Thee system constantly monitors the air leak from the air supply and compares it to the “mid leak” level. If the level of air leak reaches or surpasses the mid leak level then the system raises alarm has the state brake system is now in an incorrect operating state.)
Regarding Claim 12,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
A compressed air supply for generating compressed air for a rail vehicle, (Kull: Paragraph [0006]) the compressed air supply comprising a system as recited in claim 1 for providing and/or monitoring operating data of the compressed air supply. (Kull: Paragraph [0013]-[0014])
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is analogous to Claim 1 limitations with the following additional limitations:
...
instigating pre-processing of the captured operating data, (Martin: Paragraph [0141]; “When the trigger is activated, the analog pressure sensor immediately is activated to sample at a fast rate.”) via analyzing, filtering, or compressing of the captured operating data, (Martin: Paragraph [0046], [0080], [0141]; “This information is combined by the WSN 104 into a message that contains the exact time of the trigger; and several pressure readings obtained immediately after the trigger activation at a predetermined and known sampling rate. The message is sent by the WSN 104 to the associated CMU 101 or other computing device, which forwards the message to the PWG 102 or another computing device for further analysis, reporting, and alerting.”) based on operating-data-specific threshold values including time duration; (Martin: Paragraph [0161], [0165]-[0166])
...
Therefore the claim is rejected under the same premise as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15,
Kull, in view of Venkatasubramanian, and further in view of Martin, teaches
The system of claim 6, wherein the Internet of Things interface (Venkatasubramanian: Paragraph [0089]) is configured to analyze the captured operated data using pattern recognition. (Venkatasubramanian: Paragraph [0187]; The system utilizes stored prior data from the sensors data to determine patterns and predict braking abilities of individual cars of the train and set what the braking should be.)
The motivation to combine Kull, Venkatasubramanian, and Martin, is the same as stated for Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is analogous to Claim 3 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is analogous to Claim 2 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is analogous to Claim 6 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is analogous to Claim 10 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 10.
Conclusion
/P.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663