DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1, 52-67, and 72-76 are pending in this application. Claims 1 has been amended. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the “Amendments/Remarks” filed on 10/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 52-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US 8584288 B2) in view of Frickey (US 7225489 B1), further in view of Bertolet (US 3671983 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Shaw discloses a sleep system comprising: a mattress conversion device (10 mattress expander) to expand the width of a mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress M expands in width) comprising: a base layer (12 top pad); one or more side portions (16 side members); and a cavity (20 channel) defined by the base layer and the one or more side portions (“side members 16 extend downward relative to top pad 12 and are laterally spaced from each other to define a mattress receiving channel 20”; [Col. 3, Lines 5-7]); and a mattress (M mattress); wherein the mattress conversion device is configured to slidingly receive the mattress (See Fig. 1, mattress is tucked between top pad 12 and side portions 16).
Shaw fails to explicitly disclose a frame conversion device, wherein the frame conversion device is configured to provide expanded width support to the mattress conversion device and/or mattress, wherein the frame conversion device is configured to removably attach to a bed frame via one or more attachment assemblies comprising a strap.
However, Frickey teaches a frame conversion device (extensions 200), wherein the frame conversion device is configured to provide expanded width support to the mattress conversion device and/or mattress (See Fig. 7, “when the extensions 200 of the bed 170 are raised and the supports are put in place the bed deck offers an expanded width”; [Col. 4, Lines 49-51]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Shaw by adding the extensions taught by Frickey. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “offers an expanded width”; (Frickey, [Col. 4, Line 51]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Shaw in view of Frickey fails to explicitly teach wherein the frame conversion device is configured to removably attach to a bed frame via one or more attachment assemblies comprising a strap.
However, Bertolet teaches the frame conversion device is configured to removably attach to a bed frame via one or more attachment assemblies comprising a strap (See Fig. 1, straps 5 connect tubing 2 to pad 7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Shaw in view of Frickey by adding the straps taught by Bertolet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to be “readily assembled or disassembled”; (Bertolet, [Col. 2, Lines 40-41]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 52, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the mattress conversion device slidingly receives the mattress via the cavity (See Fig. 1 above, configuration of mattress expander 10 allows for the receiving channel 20 to receive the mattress M).
Regarding Claim 53, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 52, wherein the mattress conversion device base layer (12) is proximate a first surface of the mattress (15 lower surface) and at least one mattress conversion device side portion (16) is proximate a second surface of the mattress (24 interior surface).
Regarding Claim 67, Shaw, as modified, teaches according to claim 1, wherein the mattress conversion device (10) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of foam; latex; polyester; polyester blend; wool; cotton; and combinations thereof (“Top pad 12 may be constructed of foam, as shown, or other suitable padding material including natural fiber, open or closed cell foam, synthetic fiber, air or other fluid containing bladders, among others…material used to construct the side members 16 may be selected from the same types of padding materials used to construct top pad 12”; [Col. 2, Lines 40-43, 63-65], mattress expander 10 includes top pad 12 and side members 16).
Regarding Claim 54, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the mattress conversion device base layer (12) comprises a length of at least 75 inches. (“Standard mattresses in care-giving settings typically are 80-84 inches long, 36 inches wide, and 6 inches in height. These dimensions are examples and should not be considered limiting...length of top pad 12 is sized to be the same as or close to the length of mattress M”; [Col. 2, Lines 26-29, 34-35], top pad 12 has a length of at least 75 inches, but not a width greater than 36 inches or a height greater than 6 inches.)
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach a width of at least 38 inches, and/or a depth of at least 7 inches.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to try and modify the claimed dimensions of the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and arrived at a width of at least 38 inches and a depth of at least 7 inches. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try a dimension modification because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have tried to make the dimension modifications with no change in the respective functions of the claimed design with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the modification was predictable.
Regarding Claim 55, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 54, wherein the mattress conversion device base layer (12) comprises a length similar to a length of the mattress (“length of top pad 12 is sized to be the same as or close to the length of the mattress M”; [Col. 2, Lines 34-35]).
Regarding Claim 56, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 54, wherein the mattress conversion device base layer (12) comprises a length greater than a length of the mattress (“greater length could be provided by mattress expander 10 by extending its length”; [38-40], mattress expander 10 comprises top pad 12).
Regarding Claim 57, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 54, wherein the mattress conversion device base layer (12) comprises a width greater than a width of the mattress (“top pad 12 is wider than the standard mattress M”; [Col. 2, Lines 29-30]).
Regarding Claim 58, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein at least one mattress conversion device side portion (16) comprises a length of at least 75 inches (“Standard mattresses in care-giving settings typically are 80-84 inches long, 36 inches wide, and 6 inches in height. These dimensions are examples and should not be considered limiting…Side members 16 have a height similar to that of standard mattress M and may extend below the lower surface L of mattress M, as necessary. Side members 16 generally have the same lateral dimension as the overhanging portions 18 of top pad 12, and extend longitudinally to the same extent as top pad 12”; [Col. 2, Lines 26-29, 52-57]).
Shaw in view of Jurrius in view of Clenet fails to explicitly teach a width of at least 3 inches, and/or a depth of at least 7 inches.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to try and modify the claimed dimensions of the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and arrived at a width of at least 3 inches and a depth of at least 7 inches. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try a dimension modification because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have tried to make the dimension modifications with no change in the respective functions of the claimed design with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the modification was predictable.
Regarding Claim 59, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 58, wherein two or more mattress conversion device side portions (16) comprise similar lengths, widths, and/or depths (“pair of side members”; [Col. 2, Line 49], Length, width, and depth of the side members are similar to each other being a pair.)
Regarding Claim 60, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 58, wherein two or more mattress conversion device side portions (16) comprise dissimilar lengths, widths, and/or depths (“side members 16 do not have to have the same length and width as the top pad 12 and do not have to have the same width as overhanging portions 18. For example, the lateral and longitudinal dimensions of side members 16 may be smaller or larger than overhanging portions 18 of top pad 12”; [Col. 2, Lines 58-62]).
Regarding Claim 61, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 58, wherein at least one mattress conversion device side portion (16) comprises a length similar to a length of the mattress (“The length of top pad 12 is sized to be the same as or close to the length of the mattress…extend longitudinally to the same extent as top pad 12”; [Col. 2, Lines 34-35, 56-57], side portions 16 are the same length as top pad 12 which is the same length as the mattress).
Regarding Claim 62, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 58, wherein at least one mattress conversion device side portion (16) comprises a length greater than a length of the mattress (“side members 16 do not have to have the same length and width as the top pad 12”; [Col. 2, Lines 58-59], top pad 12 is the same length as the mattress).
Regarding Claim 63, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 58, wherein at least one mattress conversion device side portion (16) comprises a depth similar to a depth of the mattress (“side members 16 have a height similar to that of standard mattress M”; [Col. 2, Lines 52-53]).
Regarding Claim 64, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the mattress (M) comprises a mattress (“Standard mattresses in care-giving settings typically are 80-84 inches long, 36 inches wide, and 6 inches in height. These dimensions are examples and should not be considered limiting”; [Col. 2, Lines 26-29]).
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach an extra-long twin mattress.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to try and modify the claimed dimensions of the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and arrived at an extra-long twin mattress (80 in (L) x 38 in (W)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try a dimension modification similar to an extra-long twin mattress because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have tried to make the dimension modifications with no change in the respective functions of the claimed design with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the modification was predictable.
Regarding Claim 65, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 64, wherein the mattress conversion device (10 mattress expander) is configured to convert a mattress into a larger mattress.
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach converting an extra-long twin mattress into an extra-long full mattress.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to try and modify the claimed dimensions of the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and arrived at converting an extra-long twin mattress (80 in (L) x 38 in (W)) into an extra-long full mattress (80 in (L) x 54 in (W)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try a dimension modification similar to an extra-long twin mattress conversion into an extra-long full mattress because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have tried to make the dimension modifications with no change in the respective functions of the claimed design with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the modification was predictable.
Regarding Claim 66, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim [[65]] 64, wherein the mattress conversion device (10) is configured to increase a width of the mattress (“top pad 12 is wider than the standard mattress M”; [Col. 2, Lines 29-30]).
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach increasing the width of the extra-long twin mattress by at least 8 inches.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to try and modify the claimed dimensions of the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and arrived at converting the width of an extra-long twin mattress (80 in (L) x 38 in (W)) by at least 8 inches. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try a dimension modification similar to an extra-long twin mattress width expansion of 8 inches because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have tried to make the dimension modifications with no change in the respective functions of the claimed design with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the modification was predictable.
Claims 72-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US 8584288 B2) in view of Frickey (US 7225489 B1), further in view of Bertolet (US 3671983 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (CN 208150022 U).
Regarding Claim 72, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1.
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach a mattress storage device.
However, Liu teaches the system according to claim 1, further comprising a mattress storage device (1 bag body).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and the mattress storage device of Liu and arrived at a sleep system with storing capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 73, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 72.
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach the mattress storage device is configured to store the mattress conversion device or the mattress.
However, Liu teaches the system according to claim 72, wherein the mattress storage device (1) is configured to store at least one mattress conversion device or mattress (“a bag for accommodating an inflatable mattress is provided including a bag body 1”; [0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and the mattress storage device configured to store a mattress conversion device or mattress of Liu and arrived at a sleep system with storing capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 74, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 72.
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach the mattress storage device comprises an enclosure comprising one or more fluid exchange ports.
However, Liu teaches the system according to claim 72, wherein the mattress storage device (1) comprises an enclosure comprising one or more fluid exchange ports (9 air inflation port).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and the mattress storage device comprising a fluid exchange port of Liu and arrived at a sleep system with storing capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 75 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US 8584288 B2) in view of Frickey (US 7225489 B1), further in view of Bertolet (US 3671983 A) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Lobascio (US 6085370 A).
Regarding Claim 75, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1.
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach a mattress transport assembly.
However, Lobascio teaches the system according to claim 1, further comprising a mattress transport assembly (10 protective and supportive cover).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and the mattress transport assembly of Lobascio and arrived at a transportable sleep system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 76, Shaw, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 75.
Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet fails to explicitly teach the mattress transport assembly is configured to secure the mattress conversion device or the mattress to a vehicle.
However, Lobascio teaches the system according to claim 75, wherein the mattress transport assembly (10) is configured to secure the mattress conversion device or the mattress to a vehicle (The combination of straps 11, spaced rivets 13, and elastic cord 17 can secure the device to a vehicle).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined the system of Shaw in view of Frickey in view of Bertolet and the mattress transport assembly secured to a vehicle of Lobascio and arrived at a sleep system transportable by vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 52-67, and 72-76 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE SAMUEL GINES/
Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673