DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/17/2025 has been entered. Claims 2-5, 8-11, 13 and 15-16 have been cancelled, claims 1, 7 and 14 have been amended, and claims 1, 6-7, 12 and 14 remain pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/599,958, hereinafter referred to as the ‘958 application’; in view of Laddu et al. (US 11917589 B2); and in further view of Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0314881 A1. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1; claim 1 of the ‘958 application’ recites a method of receive, by a user equipment (UE), a data channel in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (a method of receive, by a user equipment (UE), a data channel in a wireless communication system, the method comprising): receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel, the DCI including information related to a first transmission indicator state (TCI state) and a second TCI state (receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel, the DCI including information related to a first TCI state and a second TCI state); wherein the first set of PRBs related to the first TCI state and the second set of PRBs related to the second TCI state are based on non-overlapping frequency resource allocation (wherein the first frequency resource related to the first TCI state and the second frequency resource related to the second TCI state are based non-overlapping frequency resource allocation); wherein a transport block size for the first data channel is determined based on the first set of PRBs and the determined transport block size is applied to the second data channel (wherein a transport block size of the first data channel is determined based on the first frequency resource related to the first TCI state and the transport block size of the first data channel is applied to the second data channel).
Claim 1 of the ‘958 application’ recites receiving PDSCH transmissions based on DCI and configuring frequency resource of PDSCH transmissions based on precoding information configured.
The claim 1 of the ‘958 application’ does not explicitly disclose receiving a second data channel which is a repetitive of the first data channel using a second frequency resources related to a second TCI state.
Laddu discloses receiving a first data channel using a first frequency resource related to the first TCI state (a UE may receive one data stream from TRP1; a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); after the first data channel is received, receiving a second data channel which is a repetition of the first data channel using a second frequency resource related to the second TCI state (the UE may receive a different redundancy version from TRP2; a second TRP may use a different TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu to use same transport block size for repetitive data to obtain reliability enhancement (see lines 31-42, col.5 of Laddu).
The combination of claim 1 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu disclose receiving data channels using non-overlapping frequency resources related to TCI states.
The combination of claim 1 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu do not explicitly disclose the frequency resource is determined by a TCI state and a configured PRG size.
Bagheri discloses receiving configuration information related to the data channel, wherein the configuration information includes a precoding resource block group (PRG) size for the data channel (a UE determines a PRG size based on a configuration; the PRG size is one of {2RBs, 4RBs, wideband}; see paragraphs [0082] and [0096]); wherein the first frequency resource comprises a first set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) determined based on the first TCI state and the configured PRG size; wherein the second frequency resource comprises a second set of PRBs determined based on the second TCI state and the configured PRG size (a UE is scheduled with a set of PRBs comprising ‘m’ non-overlapped frequency resource allocations, wherein each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; a UE determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on a configuration, the PRG partitions the bandwidth part with a ‘PRG size’ (e.g. 2RBs or 4RBs) PRBs; therefore, a frequency resource allocated for a TRP comprises a set of PRBs and the set of PRBs are determined based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size; see paragraphs [0093] – [0101]); wherein the UE is configured with a list of multiple TCI states including the first TCI state and the second TCI state via a higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode the first data channel and the second data channel based on the DCI, and a number of the multiple TCI states depends on a capability of the UE (a UE can be higher-layer configured with a list of up to M TCI-state configurations to decode PDSCH intended for the UE, where M depends on the UE capability; the selected configured set of TCI states can be used to decode the physical downlink shared channel; each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; see paragraphs [0008], [0027] and [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of the ‘958 application’, Laddu and Bagheri to determine a set of PRBs based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size to compliance with TS 38.214 (see paragraph [0082] of Bagheri).
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of the ‘958 application’; in view of Laddu; and in further view of Bagheri. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 6; claim 6 of the ‘958 application’ recites receiving configuration information for the first TCI state and the second TCI state through higher layer signaling, wherein the first TCI state is associated with a first transmission unit for transmitting the first data channel, and the second TCI state is associated with a second transmission unit for transmitting the second data channel (receiving configuration information for the first TCI state and the second TCI state through higher layer signaling, wherein the first TCI state is associated with a first transmission unit for transmitting the first data channel, and the second TCI state is associated with a second transmission unit for transmitting the second data channel).
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of the ‘958 application’; in view of Laddu; and in further view of Bagheri. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 7; claim 7 of the ‘958 application’ recites a user equipment (UE) configured to receive data channel in a wireless communication system; the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising: (a user equipment (UE) configured to receive data channel in a wireless communication system; the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising:) receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel, the DCI including a first transmission indicator state (TCI state and a second TCI state (receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel, the DCI including information related to a first TCI state and a second TCI state); wherein the first set of PRBs related to the first TCI state and the second set of PRBs related to the second TCI state are based on non-overlapping frequency resource allocation (wherein the first frequency resource related to the first TCI state and the second frequency resource related to the second TCI state are based non-overlapping frequency resource allocation); wherein a transport block size for the first data channel is determined based on the first set of PRBs and the determined transport block size is applied to the second data channel (wherein a transport block size of the first data channel is determined based on the first frequency resource related to the first TCI state and the transport block size of the first data channel is applied to the second data channel).
Claim 7 of the ‘958 application’ recites receiving PDSCH transmissions based on DCI and configuring frequency resource of PDSCH transmissions based on precoding information configured.
Claim 7 of the ‘958 application’ does not explicitly disclose receiving a second data channel which is a repetitive of the first data channel using a second frequency resources related to a second TCI state.
Laddu discloses receiving a first data channel using a first frequency resource related to the first TCI state (a UE may receive one data stream from TRP1; a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); after the first data channel is received, receiving a second data channel which is a repetition of the first data channel using a second frequency resource related to the second TCI state (the UE may receive a different redundancy version from TRP2; a second TRP may use a different TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 7 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu to use same transport block size for repetitive data to obtain reliability enhancement (see lines 31-42, col.5 of Laddu).
The combination of claim 7 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu disclose receiving data channels using non-overlapping frequency resources related to TCI states.
The combination of claim 7 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu do not explicitly disclose the frequency resource is determined by a TCI state and a configured PRG size.
Bagheri discloses receiving configuration information related to the data channel, wherein the configuration information includes a precoding resource block group (PRG) size for the data channel (a UE determines a PRG size based on a configuration; the PRG size is one of {2RBs, 4RBs, wideband}; see paragraphs [0082] and [0096]); wherein the first frequency resource comprises a first set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) determined based on the first TCI state and the configured PRG size; wherein the second frequency resource comprises a second set of PRBs determined based on the second TCI state and the configured PRG size (a UE is scheduled with a set of PRBs comprising ‘m’ non-overlapped frequency resource allocations, wherein each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; a UE determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on a configuration, the PRG partitions the bandwidth part with a ‘PRG size’ (e.g. 2RBs or 4RBs) PRBs; therefore, a frequency resource allocated for a TRP comprises a set of PRBs and the set of PRBs are determined based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size; see paragraphs [0093] – [0101]); wherein the UE is configured with a list of multiple TCI states including the first TCI state and the second TCI state via a higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode the first data channel and the second data channel based on the DCI, and a number of the multiple TCI states depends on a capability of the UE (a UE can be higher-layer configured with a list of up to M TCI-state configurations to decode PDSCH intended for the UE, where M depends on the UE capability; the selected configured set of TCI states can be used to decode the physical downlink shared channel; each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; see paragraphs [0008], [0027] and [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 7 of the ‘958 application’, Laddu and Bagheri to determine a set of PRBs based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size to compliance with TS 38.214 (see paragraph [0082] of Bagheri).
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of the ‘958 application’; in view of Laddu; and in further view of Bagheri. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 12; claim 12 of the ‘958 application’ recites receiving configuration information for the first TCI state and the second TCI state through higher layer signaling, wherein the first TCI state is associated with a first transmission unit for transmitting the first data channel, and the second TCI state is associated with a second transmission unit for transmitting the second data channel (receiving configuration information for the first TCI state and the second TCI state through higher layer signaling, wherein the first TCI state is associated with a first transmission unit for transmitting the first data channel, and the second TCI state is associated with a second transmission unit for transmitting the second data channel).
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of the ‘958 application’; in view of Laddu; and in further view of Bagheri. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 14; claim 14 of the ‘958 application’ recites a base station (BS) configured to transmit a data channel in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least on (a base station (BS) configured to transmit a data channel in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least ontransmitting downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel (perform operations comprising: transmitting downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel), the DCI including information related to a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state (the DCI including information related to a first TCI state and a second TCI state); wherein the first set of PRBs related to the first TCI state and the second set of PRBs related to the second TCI state are based on non-overlapping frequency resource allocation (wherein the first frequency resource related to the first TCI state and the second frequency resource related to the second TCI state are based non-overlapping frequency resource allocation); wherein a transport block size for the first data channel is determined based on the first set of PRBs and the determined transport block size is applied to the second data channel (wherein a transport block size of the first data channel is determined based on the first frequency resource related to the first TCI state and the transport block size of the first data channel is applied to the second data channel).
Claim 14 of the ‘958 application’ recites receiving PDSCH transmissions based on DCI and configuring frequency resource of PDSCH transmissions based on precoding information configured.
Claim 14 of the ‘958 application’ does not explicitly disclose receiving a second data channel which is a repetitive of the first data channel using a second frequency resources related to a second TCI state.
Laddu discloses transmitting a first data channel using a first frequency resource related to the first TCI state (a UE may receive one data stream from TRP1; a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); after the first data channel is transmitted, transmitting a second data channel which is a repetition of the first data channel using a second frequency resource related to the second TCI state (the UE may receive a different redundancy version from TRP2; a second TRP may use a different TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 14 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu to use same transport block size for repetitive data to obtain reliability enhancement (see lines 31-42, col.5 of Laddu).
The combination of claim 14 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu disclose receiving data channels using non-overlapping frequency resources related to TCI states.
The combination of claim 14 of the ‘958 application’ and Laddu do not explicitly disclose the frequency resource is determined by a TCI state and a configured PRG size.
Bagheri discloses transmitting configuration information related to the data channel, wherein the configuration information includes a precoding resource block group (PRG) size for the data channel (a UE determines a PRG size based on a configuration; the PRG size is one of {2RBs, 4RBs, wideband}; see paragraphs [0082] and [0096]); wherein the first frequency resource comprises a first set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) determined based on the first TCI state and the configured PRG size; wherein the second frequency resource comprises a second set of PRBs determined based on the second TCI state and the configured PRG size (a UE is scheduled with a set of PRBs comprising ‘m’ non-overlapped frequency resource allocations, wherein each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; a UE determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on a configuration, the PRG partitions the bandwidth part with a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs or 4RBs) PRBs; therefore, a frequency resource allocated for a TRP comprises a set of PRBs and determined based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size; see paragraphs [0093] – [0101]); a list of multiple TCI states including the first TCI state and the second TCI state via a higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode the first data channel and the second data channel based on the DCI, and a number of the multiple TCI states depends on a capability of the UE (a UE can be higher-layer configured with a list of up to M TCI-state configurations to decode PDSCH intended for the UE, where M depends on the UE capability; the selected configured set of TCI states can be used to decode the physical downlink shared channel; each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; see paragraphs [0008], [0027] and [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 14 of the ‘958 application’, Laddu and Bagheri to determine a set of PRBs based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size to compliance with TS 38.214 (see paragraph [0082] of Bagheri).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2022/0167321 A1); in view of Bagheri; and in further view of Laddu.
Regarding claims 1 and 7; Zhang discloses receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel (a UE receives a single DCI or multiple DCIs that provide scheduling for the PDSCH; see paragraph [0186]), the DCI including information related to a first transmission configuration indicator state (TCI state) and a second TCI state (the one or more DCI messages provide downlink resource scheduling information, such as allocations of one or more PRBs related to the PDSCH transmissions; the PDSCH PRBs are associated with different TCI states (multiple TRPs); see paragraphs [0005], [0036] and [0187]).
Zhang discloses a UE determines a precoding resource block group information based on the DCI(s) for multiple-TRPs.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose receiving a second data channel which is a repetitive of the first data channel using a second frequency resources related to a second TCI state.
Laddu discloses receiving a first data channel using a first frequency resource related to the first TCI state (a UE may receive one data stream from TRP1; a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); after the first data channel is received, receiving a second data channel which is a repetition of the first data channel using a second frequency resource related to the second TCI state (the UE may receive a different redundancy version from TRP2; a second TRP may use a different TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); wherein the first set of PRBs related to the first TCI state and the second set of PRBs related to the second TCI state are non-overlapping frequency resource allocation (the first TCI may be associated with at least one non-overlapping frequency resource region; the second TCI may be associated with at least one non-overlapping frequency resource region which not assigned to the first TCI; see lines 24-35, col. 1); wherein a transport block size for the first data channel is determined based on the first set of PRBs and the determined transport block size is applied to the second data channel (a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation, and a second TRP may use a second TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; a least one first resource allocation may be used in the transport block size (TBS) determination; the TBS determination for the second TRP may be based on the first TRP; the same TB may be repeated by the other TRP with a different redundancy version; see lines 48-53, col. 4 and lines 30-50, col. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Laddu to use same transport block size for repetitive data to obtain reliability enhancement (see lines 31-42, col.5 of Laddu).
The combination of Zhang and Laddu discloses receiving data channels using non-overlapping frequency resources related to TCI states.
The combination of Zhang and Laddu does not explicitly disclose the frequency resource is determined by a TCI state and a configured PRG size.
Bagheri discloses receiving configuration information related to the data channel, wherein the configuration information includes a precoding resource block group (PRG) size for the data channel (a UE determines a PRG size based on a configuration; the PRG size is one of {2RBs, 4RBs, wideband}; see paragraphs [0082] and [0096]); wherein the first frequency resource comprises a first set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) determined based on the first TCI state and the configured PRG size; wherein the second frequency resource comprises a second set of PRBs determined based on the second TCI state and the configured PRG size (a UE is scheduled with a set of PRBs comprising ‘m’ non-overlapped frequency resource allocations, wherein each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; a UE determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on a configuration, the PRG partitions the bandwidth part with a ‘PRG size’ (e.g. 2RBs or 4RBs) PRBs; therefore, a frequency resource allocated for a TRP comprises a set of PRBs and the set of PRBs are determined based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size; see paragraphs [0093] – [0101]); wherein the UE is configured with a list of multiple TCI states including the first TCI state and the second TCI state via a higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode the first data channel and the second data channel based on the DCI, and a number of the multiple TCI states depends on a capability of the UE (a UE can be higher-layer configured with a list of up to M TCI-state configurations to decode PDSCH intended for the UE, where M depends on the UE capability; the selected configured set of TCI states can be used to decode the physical downlink shared channel; each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; see paragraphs [0008], [0027] and [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang, Laddu and Bagheri to determine a set of PRBs based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size to compliance with TS 38.214 (see paragraph [0082] of Bagheri).
Specifically for claim 7; Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver (a circuitry configured to receive; see paragraph [0009]); at least one processor (one or more processors; see paragraph [0009]); at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations (memory storing instructions, when executed by the one or more processor, cause the one or more processors to perform operations; see paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12; Zhang discloses a UE determines a precoding resource block group information based on the DCI(s) for multiple-TRPs.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose receiving TCI state through higher layer signaling.
Bagheri discloses receiving configuration information for the first TCI state and the second TCI state through higher layer signaling (the first TCI state and the second TCI state may be configured by RRC; see paragraph [0027]), wherein the first TCI state is associated with a first transmission unit for transmitting the first data channel, and the second TCI state is associated with a second transmission unit for transmitting the second data channel (a first TCI state is for a PDSCH transmission from a first TRP; a second TCI state is for a PDSCH transmission from a second TRP; see paragraphs [0137] – [0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Bagheri to receive TCI state via higher layer signaling to improve communication between a UE and the network (see paragraph [0005] of Bagheri).
Regarding claim 14; Zhang discloses a base station (BS) configured to transmit a data channel in a wireless communication system (a base station in a wireless system transmits PDSCH to a UE; the control signal information may include PRB bundle related information; see paragraph [0024] and Fig. 1), the BS comprising: at least one transceiver (see paragraph [0083]); at least processor (processor; see paragraph [0085]); and at least on(the processor may be coupled with memory to execute instructions stored in the memory; see paragraph [0085]), perform operations comprising: transmitting configuration information related to the data channel (a UE receives control signal information related to the PDSCH; see paragraph [0175] and Fig. 10); transmitting downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the data channel (the UE receives a single DCI or multiple DCIs that provide scheduling for the PDSCH; see paragraph [0186]), the DCI including a first transmission configuration indicator state (TCI state) and a second TCI state (the one or more DCI messages provide downlink resource scheduling information, such as allocations of one or more PRBs related to the PDSCH transmissions; the PDSCH PRBs are associated with different TCI states (multiple TRPs); see paragraphs [0005], [0036] and [0187]).
Zhang discloses a UE determines a precoding resource block group information based on the DCI(s) for multiple-TRPs.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose receiving a second data channel which is a repetitive of the first data channel using a second frequency resources related to a second TCI state.
Laddu discloses transmitting a first data channel using a first frequency resource related to the first TCI state (a UE may receive one data stream from TRP1; a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); after the first data channel is transmitted, transmitting a second data channel which is a repetition of the first data channel using a second frequency resource related to the second TCI state (the UE may receive a different redundancy version from TRP2; a second TRP may use a different TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; see lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 3); wherein the first set of PRBs related to the first TCI state and the second set of PRBs related to the second TCI state are non-overlapping frequency resource allocation (the first TCI may be associated with at least one non-overlapping frequency resource region; the second TCI may be associated with at least one non-overlapping frequency resource region which not assigned to the first TCI; see lines 24-35, col. 1); wherein a transport block size for the first data channel is determined based on the first set of PRBs and the determined transport block size is applied to the second data channel (a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation, and a second TRP may use a second TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation; a least one first resource allocation may be used in the transport block size (TBS) determination; the TBS determination for the second TRP may be based on the first TRP; the same TB may be repeated by the other TRP with a different redundancy version; see lines 48-53, col. 4 and lines 30-50, col. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Laddu to use same transport block size for repetitive data to obtain reliability enhancement (see lines 31-42, col.5 of Laddu).
The combination of Zhang and Laddu discloses receiving data channels using non-overlapping frequency resources related to TCI states.
The combination of Zhang and Laddu does not explicitly disclose the frequency resource is determined by a TCI state and a configured PRG size.
Bagheri discloses transmitting configuration information related to the data channel, wherein the configuration information includes a precoding resource block group (PRG) size for the data channel (a UE determines a PRG size based on a configuration; the PRG size is one of {2RBs, 4RBs, wideband}; see paragraphs [0082] and [0096]); wherein the first frequency resource comprises a first set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) determined based on the first TCI state and the configured PRG size; wherein the second frequency resource comprises a second set of PRBs determined based on the second TCI state and the configured PRG size (a UE is scheduled with a set of PRBs comprising ‘m’ non-overlapped frequency resource allocations, wherein each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; a UE determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on a configuration, the PRG partitions the bandwidth part with a ‘PRG size’ (e.g. 2RBs or 4RBs) PRBs; therefore, a frequency resource allocated for a TRP comprises a set of PRBs and the set of PRBs are determined based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size; see paragraphs [0093] – [0101]); a list of multiple TCI states including the first TCI state and the second TCI state via a higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode the first data channel and the second data channel based on the DCI, and a number of the multiple TCI states depends on a capability of the UE (a UE can be higher-layer configured with a list of up to M TCI-state configurations to decode PDSCH intended for the UE, where M depends on the UE capability; the selected configured set of TCI states can be used to decode the physical downlink shared channel; each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state; see paragraphs [0008], [0027] and [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang, Laddu and Bagheri to determine a set of PRBs based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size to compliance with TS 38.214 (see paragraph [0082] of Bagheri).
Response to Arguments
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Bagheri does not disclose “receiving configuration information related to the data channel, wherein the configuration information includes a precoding resource block group size for the channel”; the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Bagheri discloses a UE receives a configuration and determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on the configuration (see paragraphs [0082], [0096] – [0098]).
In response to the applicant’s arguments that the combination of Laddu and Bagheri fails to disclose or suggest “receiving a first data channel using a first frequency resource related to the first TCI state, wherein the first frequency resource comprises a first set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) determined based on the first TCI state and the configured PRG size”; the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Laddu discloses a UE may receive one data stream from TRP1 and a different redundancy version from TRP2. Each TRP may use one or more non-overlapping frequency resources, with one TCI state for multi-TRP transmission in a time instance. A first TCI may be associated with at least one non-overlapping frequency domain allocation (PRBs) and a second TCI may be associated with at least one non-overlapping PRBs which not aligned to the first TCI in a slot (see lines 24-35, col. 1, lines 15-16, col. 5 and lines 30-39, col. 7 and Fig. 1).
Bagheri discloses a UE is scheduled with a set of PRBs comprising ‘m’ non-overlapped frequency resource allocations, wherein each non-overlapped frequency resource allocation is associated with one TCI state. A UE determines a PRG size (e.g. 2RBs, 4RBs, wideband) based on a configuration, the PRG partitions the bandwidth part with a ‘PRG size’ (e.g. 2RBs or 4RBs) PRBs. Therefore, a frequency resource allocated for a TRP comprises a set of PRBs and the set of PRBs are determined based on a TCI state and a configured PRG size (see paragraphs [0093] – [0099]).
Therefore, the combination of Laddu and Bagheri discloses the claimed invention.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that the Laddu does not teach calculating a transport block size for the first channel based on the first set of PRBs and applying the TBS to the second data channel; the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Laddu discloses a first TRP may use a TCI state and at least one associated resource allocation, and a second TRP may use a second TCI state and at least one corresponding resource allocation. The at least one first resource allocation may be used in the transport block size (TBS) determination. The TBS determination for the second TRP may be based on the first TRP. The same TB may be repeated by the second TRP with a redundancy version (see lines 48-53, col. 4 and lines 30-50, col. 7).
Therefore, Laddu discloses the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415