DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and Arguments/Remarks received on 22 July 2026 have been entered. Claims 27-32 and 35-54 were previously pending in the application. No claims have been cancelled, and new claims 55-58 have been added by Applicant.
Claims 27-32 and 35-58 are currently pending in the application. Claims 27, 43, 48, 49, and 54 are independent claims.
The election and rejoinder of Groups I, II, and III drawn to a method for obtaining a composition for tissue regeneration, a composition obtained by a method for obtaining a composition for tissue regeneration, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the composition obtained by a method for obtaining a composition for tissue regeneration, and a method for treating a disease, remains in effect in the instant application.
The following election of species remains in effect in the instant application:
Tissue-specific cells: tenocytes;
Disease: tendinosis.
Claim 54 remains withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 27-32, 35-53, and 55-58 are currently pending and under examination in the instant application. An action on the merits follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/EP2020/059365, filed 02 April 2020, which claims priority to EPO 19382247.5, filed 03 April 2019. Filing of a certified copy of the EPO 19382247.5, filed 03 April 2019, is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is 03 April 2019.
Claim Objections
The objection to amended claim 32 for reciting “macrophges”, is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 32 correcting the spelling of macrophages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of amended and previously presented claims 35-36, 39-40, and 43-53 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regards as the invention for multiple issues of indefiniteness is withdrawn over amended claims 35-36, maintained over amended and previously presented claims 39-40 and 43-53, and newly applied to new claims 57-58 in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims such that Applicant has addressed some of the issues of indefiniteness. Claims 44-45, 48-50, 52-53, and 57-58 are included in this rejection due to their dependent on and/or encompassing of independent claim 43. Applicant's amendments to the claims and arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive in overcoming the rejection for reasons of record as discussed in detail below.
Amended claims 35 and 36 have been amended to clarify that the monocytes are obtained from the same subject to whom the composition is subsequently administered or obtained from a donor different from the subject to whom the composition is subsequently administered. Note that the subsequent administration of the composition to a subject is considered to be an intended use of the composition produced by the method of claims 35-36 and not an active step of the instantly claimed method.
Applicant has not amended previously presented claims 39-40 and so has not addressed the issues of indefiniteness arising from recitation of “autologous” and “allogenic” in claims 39 and 40, respectively. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims still cannot be determined.
Regarding amended independent claim 43, Applicant has amended the claim to recite method steps which require the removal of cells from the supernatant and that recite providing a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-culture M2-macrophages and tissue-specific cells. Note that the claims is a product-by-process claim wherein the structure of the product is a composition comprising a collected acellular supernatant obtained by the subsequently recited method. As written, the claim is still indefinite because it is unclear whether the “sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-culture M2-macrophages and tissue-specific cells” provided by the embedded method is meant to be the recited “collected acellular supernatant” comprised in the claimed composition.
The amendment to claim 43 has additionally introduced a new issue of indefiniteness. Claim 43 recites steps of “separating” and “removing” which each act on the same “collected supernatant” and does not recite any particular order for the two steps beyond suggesting that the “removing” step is the final step by providing the sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-culture. Therefore, it is unclear whether “the collected supernatant in line 13 is referring to the collected supernatant of line 10 or the collected supernatant of line 12.
As such, the metes and bounds of the claims still cannot be determined.
Regarding amended claims 46-47, Applicant amended claims 46 and 47 to clarify that the residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.1% or 0.001% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant. However, it is unclear whether Applicant intends for “the collected supernatant” to refer to the collected supernatant immediately after collecting or after separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells.
To the extent that Applicant is referring to the collected supernatant prior to separation from the culture cells, the it is unclear what cells comprise the total cell count such that residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes are only 0.1% or 0.001% of the total cell count given that independent claim 43 requires that the culture cells themselves comprise a 50% to 97.5% M2-macrophages, which are leukocytes.
Additionally, to the extent that “the collected supernatant” refers to the collected supernatant after separation from the culture cells, it is unclear what residual and total cell counts Applicant is referring to in that cells are removed by the separating step and only cell debris are recited to be removed from the collected supernatant subsequently to the separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells to then provide a sterile cell-free solution.
As such, the metes and bounds of the claims still cannot be determined.
Regarding amended claim 51, Applicant amended claim 51 to recite, “wherein the composition is administered to a recipient subject different from the donor subject from whom the monocytes used to produce the composition were obtained” which clarifies the claim with respect to the prior issue of indefiniteness. However, the claim is still indefinite in that “the donor subject” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. None of claims 51, 49, or 43 have any prior recitation of any donor subject. Further, it is unclear what constitutes a “donor subject” in that it is unclear whether the sample comprising the monocytes is meant to be obtained directly from the donor or whether the monocyte sample is derived from cells obtained from the donor. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims still cannot be determined.
Applicant has requested reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection in view of the amendments to the claims, but has provided no arguments traversing the rejection. Therefore, Applicant’s amendments and arguments do not overcome a finding of indefiniteness 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for amended and previously presented claims 39-40, 43-53, and 57-58.
The rejection of amended claim 32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regards as the invention for multiple issues of indefiniteness is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claim.
**The following new rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
New claims 56 and 58 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
New claim 56 recites, “The method of claim 27, further comprising centrifuging the collected supernatant and storing the centrifuged collected supernatant at about -80oC”; which is indefinite because it is unclear whether because independent claim 27 already requires separating the collected supernatant of the co-culture from the culture cells and removing cell debris therefrom, thereby obtaining a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution. Therefore, it is unclear whether the additional steps of centrifuging the collected supernatant and storing the centrifuged collected supernatant are meant to occur prior to or after the separating step since both the centrifuging and separating steps are recited to be acting upon the same collected supernatant of the co-culture to produce two distinct products: the centrifuged collected supernatant following the centrifugation step and the sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution following the separating step. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
New claim 58 recites, “wherein the collected supernatant is centrifuged and stored at about -80oC”; which is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the collected supernatant” is referring to the collected supernatant the co-culture recited in claim 43 lines 10-11 immediately following collection or whether “the collected supernatant” of claim 58 is referring to the collected supernatant following separation from the culture cells and/or removing of the cellular debris as recited in lines 12 and 13, respectively. Further, it is unclear whether the centrifugation step is meant to be the separating and/or the removing step(s). As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- New Matter
**The following new rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Amended claims 46-47 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
The Applicant is reminded that an amendment to the claims or the addition of a new claim must be supported by the description of the invention in the application as filed. In re Wright, 866 F.2d 422, 9 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 1989). New or amended claims which introduce elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure violate the written description requirement. See, e.g., In re Lukach, 442 F.2d 967, 169 USPQ 795 (CCPA 1971); In re Smith, 458 F.2d 1389, 1395, 173 USPQ 679, 683 (CCPA 1972).
Amended claim 46 newly recites, “wherein residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.1% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant”. Amended claim 47 newly recites, “wherein residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.001% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant”.
The specification as filed 16 June 2025 generally recites:
“Impurities may be carried from the blood sample into the composition of the invention.
Therefore, in an embodiment, the composition obtained by the method of the invention may contain platelets, red cells or leukocytes in an amount of less than 1 % of the total amount of components in the sample; for example, less than 0.5 %, particularly, less than 0.001 % of platelets, red cells or leukocytes of the total amount of components in the sample.” [p 15 ln 24-28].
The original claims as filed 31 September 2021 recite:
“18. The composition according to claim 15 or 16, wherein the total amount of platelets, red cells or leukocytes in the composition are less than 0.1 % of the total amount of components in the sample.
19. The composition according to any of claims 16-18, wherein it comprises platelets, red cells or leukocytes in an amount of less than 0.001% of the total amount of components in the sample.”
The drawings do not present any data or teachings indicating any level of platelets, red cells or leukocytes present in the collected supernatant.
Neither the specification nor the drawings teach any level of platelets, red cells or leukocytes as any percentage of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant. Neither the specification nor the drawings have any teaching of the total cell count of the collected supernatant nor any cell count teachings other than an initial number of monocytes/macrophages and tissue specific cells which were seeded per insert or well [p 22 ln 15-18].
Therefore, the disclosure does not provide support for the limitations newly added to amended claims 46 and 47 of “wherein residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.1% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant” (claim 46) and “wherein residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.001% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant” (claim 47), and the limitations represent new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of amended and previously presented claims 27-32 and 35-48 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolk et al. [2017, Scientific Reports, 7, 9801, 1-14]; in view of Schoenenberger et al. [2018, Acta Biomaterialia, 71, 306-317]; da Silva et al. [2016, Atherosclerosis, 248, 170-178]; Sardana et al. [2007, Clinical Chemistry, 53(3), 429-437]; Lehmann et al. [2017, Journal of Visualized Experiments, 129, e56440, 1-10]; de Santa et al. [2019, Antioxidants & Redox Signaling, 30(12), 1553-1598, ePub 9 October 2018]; and Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products & Committee for Veterinary Medicinal Products [2002, Note for the Guidance on Quality of Water for Pharmaceutical Use, The European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products, London, 1-6], is withdrawn over amended claims 46-47, maintained over amended and previously presented claims 27-32 and 35-48 and newly applied to new claims 56 and 58. Applicant's amendments to the claims and arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive in overcoming the rejection for reasons of record as discussed in detail below.
Applicant amended to independent claim 27 to recite, “collecting the supernatant of the co-culture; separating the collected supernatant of the co-culture from the culture cells and removing cell debris therefrom; thereby obtaining a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-cultured M2 macrophages and tissue specific cells” in lines 8-13” and independent claim 43 to recite, “collecting the supernatant of the co-culture, thereby obtaining the collected supernatant of the co-culture, separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells; and removing sell debris from the collected supernatant to provide a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-culture M2-macrophages and tissue-specific cells” in lines 10-15.
As discussed in the original rejection of record in the Office Action mailed 14 February 2025, Lehman was cited for teaching to centrifuge tissue culture supernatant samples for 10 minutes at 1,500 x g to remove cells and debris [Lehmann pg. 3 lines 3-5], which would thereby remove any contaminating cells from the supernatant preparation. Therefore, Lehmann teaches the active method steps recited in claims 27 and 43 of separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells and removing cell debris from the collected supernatant.
At the time of filing, use of sterile methodologies and reagents were standard practice to ensure that only the desired cells to be cultured were present within a culture without any contaminating cells (e.g., other eukaryotic cells, microorganisms, etc.). Accordingly, absent evidence to the contrary, an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application would expect that a culture media which has had all cells and cell debris removed would be a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution. In the instant case, such a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution would also comprise the cytokines and growth factors secreted by the co-culture of M2 macrophages and tenocytes prior to their removal from the culture supernatant.
Regarding new claims 56 and 58, Stolk teaches to store the collected supernatant at -80oC until use [p 11 ¶ 5].
Additionally, as discussed above, Lehmann teaches to centrifuge tissue culture supernatant samples for 10 minutes at 1,500 x g to remove cells and debris prior to freezing [Lehmann pg. 3 lines 3-5], which would thereby remove any contaminating cells from the supernatant preparation.
Therefore, Applicant’s amendments do not overcome a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Stolk, Schoenenberger, da Silva, Sardana, Lehmann, de Santa, and Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products & Committee for Veterinary Medicinal Products.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the post-collection processing of removing cell debris from the collected supernatant of the co-culture to obtain a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-culture M2 macrophages and tissue specific cells.
However, this is not agreed.
As discussed above, Stolk teaches to collect the supernatants and to store them at -80oC until use. Additionally, Stolk teaches that culture supernatant samples were tested for cytokines using the LegendplexTM human inflammation 13-plex panel (Biolegend) such that the samples were treated following the manufacturer’s instructions [pg. 12 ¶ 2]. Lehmann is the Biolegend LegendplexTM protocol published in JOVE and teaches to centrifuge the collected supernatants to remove cells and debris before storage. Therefore, Stolk and Lehmann together teach wherein the method further comprises centrifuging the collected supernatant and storing the centrifuged collected supernatant at about -80oC.
As further discussed above, absent evidence to the contrary, an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application would expect that a culture media which has had all cells and cell debris removed would be a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution. In the instant case, such a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution would also comprise the cytokines and growth factors secreted by the co-culture of M2 macrophages and tenocytes prior to their removal from the culture supernatant.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments and amendments do not overcome a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Stolk, Schoenenberger, da Silva, Sardana, Lehmann, de Santa, and Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products & Committee for Veterinary Medicinal Products, and the rejection is maintained.
The rejection of amended and previously presented claims 49-53 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolk et al. [2017, Scientific Reports, 7, 9801, 1-14]; in view of Schoenenberger et al. [2018, Acta Biomaterialia, 71, 306-317]; da Silva et al. [2016, Atherosclerosis, 248, 170-178]; Sardana et al. [2007, Clinical Chemistry, 53(3), 429-437]; Lehmann et al. [2017, Journal of Visualized Experiments, 129, e56440, 1-10]; de Santa et al. [2019, Antioxidants & Redox Signaling, 30(12), 1553-1598, ePub 9 October 2018]; and Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products & Committee for Veterinary Medicinal Products [2002, Note for the Guidance on Quality of Water for Pharmaceutical Use, The European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products, London, 1-6]; as applied to claims 27-32, 35-45, 48, 56, and 58 above; and further in view of Veronesi et al. [2017, Journal of Cellular Physiology, 233, 4423-4442]; and Lipman et al.[ 2018, Drug Design, Development & Therapy, 12, 591-603]; is maintained. Applicant's amendments to the claims and arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive in overcoming the rejection for reasons of record as discussed in detail below.
Applicant amended claim 51 to address issues of indefiniteness which do not alter the scope of the claim so as to overcome a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the cited references.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the post-collection processing of removing cell debris from the collected supernatant of the co-culture to obtain a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines secreted by the co-culture M2 macrophages and tissue specific cells.
However, this is not agreed.
As discussed above, Stolk teaches to collect the supernatants and to store them at -80oC until use. Additionally, Stolk teaches that culture supernatant samples were tested for cytokines using the LegendplexTM human inflammation 13-plex panel (Biolegend) such that the samples were treated following the manufacturer’s instructions [pg. 12 ¶ 2]. Lehmann is the Biolegend LegendplexTM protocol published in JOVE and teaches to centrifuge the collected supernatants to remove cells and debris before storage. Therefore, Stolk and Lehmann together teach wherein the method further comprises centrifuging the collected supernatant and storing the centrifuged collected supernatant at about -80oC.
As further discussed above, absent evidence to the contrary, an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application would expect that a culture media which has had all cells and cell debris removed would be a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution. In the instant case, such a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution would also comprise the cytokines and growth factors secreted by the co-culture of M2 macrophages and tenocytes prior to their removal from the culture supernatant.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments and amendments do not overcome a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Stolk, Schoenenberger, da Silva, Sardana, Lehmann, de Santa, Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products & Committee for Veterinary Medicinal Products, Veronesi, and Lipman, and the rejection is maintained.
**The following new rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Amended and new claims 46-47, 55, and 57 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolk et al. [2017, Scientific Reports, 7, 9801, 1-14]; in view of Schoenenberger et al. [2018, Acta Biomaterialia, 71, 306-317]; da Silva et al. [2016, Atherosclerosis, 248, 170-178]; Sardana et al. [2007, Clinical Chemistry, 53(3), 429-437]; Lehmann et al. [2017, Journal of Visualized Experiments, 129, e56440, 1-10]; de Santa et al. [2019, Antioxidants & Redox Signaling, 30(12), 1553-1598, ePub 9 October 2018]; and Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products & Committee for Veterinary Medicinal Products [2002, Note for the Guidance on Quality of Water for Pharmaceutical Use, The European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products, London, 1-6]; further in view of Veronesi et al. [2017, Journal of Cellular Physiology, 233, 4423-4442]; and Lipman et al.[ 2018, Drug Design, Development & Therapy, 12, 591-603]; as applied to claims 27-32, 35-45, 48-53, 56, and 58 above; and further in view of Menck et al. [2014, Journal of Visualized Experiments, 91, e51554, 1-10]; and Liu et al. [2018, Stem Cells Research & Therapy, 9(7), 1-14].
Regarding claims 46-47, Applicant amended dependent claims 46-47 to address issues of indefiniteness, wherein the claims now recite wherein residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.1% or less than 0.001% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant.
Stolk teaches a purification method for PBMCs from buffy coat samples comprising a Biocoll density gradient with centrifugation at 800 g for 30 minutes at room temperature with no brake, removal of the interphase comprising PBMCs, and subsequent washing of the interphase cells three times with cold PBS [p 10 ¶ 4- p 11 ¶ 1]. Stolk also teaches wherein anti-CD14 bead-isolated monocytes prior to the macrophage induction were 93-97% pure monocytes [p 11 ¶ 6], such that 3-7% of the cells were any other blood cells, including platelets, red blood cells, other leukocytes, and lymphocytes. Additionally, Stolk teaches inducing differentiation of the monocytes into M0-type macrophages by adherent culture in dishes for 6 days in the presence of M-CSF before harvesting them to add to the 1-day old tenocyte culture, after which the adherent co-culture is maintained for another 3 days prior to harvesting the supernatant (for a total of 9 days in culture) [p 11 ¶ 6-7].
To the extent that claims 46-47 refer to residual platelets, red blood cells, and non-monocyte/macrophage leukocytes present in the collected supernatant after the separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells, Stolk further teaches that culture supernatant samples were tested for cytokines using the LegendplexTM human inflammation 13-plex panel (Biolegend) such that the samples were treated following the manufacturer’s instructions [pg. 12 ¶ 2]. The Biolegend LegendplexTM protocol published in JOVE instructs users to centrifuge tissue culture supernatant samples for 10 minutes at 1,500 x g to remove cells and debris [Lehmann pg. 3 lines 3-5], which would thereby remove any contaminating cells from the supernatant preparation. As such, the collected supernatant composition as taught by Stolk would have very little to no cellular contamination, and an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing would expect that the method of Stolk would produce a composition (e.g., the collected supernatant of a co-culture which has been centrifuged to remove contaminating cells) which has a total amount of platelets, red blood cells, and non-monocyte/macrophage leukocytes which is less than 0.1% (e.g., 0%) or less than 0.001% (e.g., 0%) of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant, absent evidence to the contrary.
To the extent that claims 46-47 refer to residual platelets, red blood cells, and non-monocyte/macrophage leukocytes present in the collected supernatant prior to the separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells, Stolk does not teach specifically that the residual platelets, red blood cells, and leukocytes collectively constitute less than 0.1% or less than 0.001% of the total cell count present in the collected supernatant prior to separating the collected supernatant from the culture cells.
Menck teaches that macrophages attach to the surface of the cell culture dish while any contaminating cells stay in suspension, such that washing the cells removes the non-adherent contaminating cells [p 3 ¶ 9]. Accordingly, a combination of adherent culture and washes/ media changes allows for the removal of contaminating non-macrophage cells from the macrophage culture.
Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application would expect that the contaminating cells (including residual platelets, red blood cells, and non-monocyte/macrophage leukocytes) would be removed by the protocol taught by Stolk which includes washing cells and passaging cells in adherent culture such that the contaminating cells would be present at levels less than 0.1% or less than 0.001% of the total cell count. Alternatively, to the extent that the protocol taught by Stolk does not explicitly recite steps which would eliminate residual platelets, red blood cells, and non-monocyte/macrophage leukocytes, an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application would have been motivated to perform the washing steps taught by Menck to remove contaminating cells to produce a pure macrophage population free of contaminating cells.
Regarding claims 55 and 57, as discussed above, Stolk, Shoenenberger, da Silva, Lehmann, de Santa, Committee, Veronesi, and Lipman teach the limitations of claims 27-32, 35-45, 48-53, 56, and 58, but do not specifically teach to remove cell debris from the collected supernatant by filtering the collected supernatant through a membrane having a pore size of 0.22 µm.
Liu teaches the preparation of conditioned media for therapeutic use in vivo, wherein the collected conditioned media/supernatant of the culture was centrifuged for 10 min at 3000 rpm in order to remove cell debris, concentrated by filtration, sterilized by filtration through a 0.22-µm filter, and then stored at -80oC until use [p 2 col 2 ¶ 3]. Liu further teaches wherein the prepared conditioned media was administered to rats in vivo [p 3 col 1 ¶ 2], thereby indicating suitability of the post-collection processing for preparing a sterile cell-free physiological aqueous solution comprising growth factors and cytokines. Liu also teaches wherein administration of the prepared conditioned media improved the pathological structure and function of UUO-induced kidney in rats [p 5 col 1 ¶ 3], thereby further demonstrating the suitability of preparing conditioned media by the method comprising filtering the collected supernatant through a 0.22-µm filter for in vivo therapeutic applications.
As such, given the teachings of Liu of successful therapeutic use of conditioned media prepared by a method comprising filtering the collected supernatant through a 0.22-µm filter, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to sterilize a collected supernatant intended for in vivo therapeutic use by filtration through a 0.22-µm filter.
Given the motivation taught by Stolk, Lehmann, and Menck to perform the washing steps to remove contaminating cells to produce a pure macrophage population free of contaminating blood cells; and the motivation taught by Liu to sterilize a collected supernatant intended for in vivo therapeutic use by filtration through a 0.22-µm filter; it would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application to modify the method and composition of Stolk to wash off non-adherent contaminating blood cells to produce a pure monocyte/macrophage population and to process the conditioned media by filtering the collected supernatant of the cell co-culture through a sterilizing 0.22-µm filter with a reasonable expectation of success.
Insofar as applicant’s arguments apply to this new grounds of rejection, Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the specific purification and storage procedures recited in new claims 55-58 in connection with preparation of the claimed regenerative composition.
However, this is not agreed.
As discussed above, Liu teaches the preparation of conditioned media for therapeutic use in vivo, wherein the collected conditioned media/supernatant of the culture was centrifuged for 10 min at 3000 rpm in order to remove cell debris, concentrated by filtration, sterilized by filtration through a 0.22-µm filter, and then stored at -80oC until use [p 2 col 2 ¶ 3]. As such, the cited references teach every limitation of the instant invention as claimed.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome a finding of obviousness over Stolk, Shoenenberger, da Silva, Lehmann, de Santa, Committee, Veronesi, Lipman, and Liu.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DR. KATIE L. PENNINGTON
Examiner
Art Unit 1634
/KATIE L PENNINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
Dr. A.M.S. Wehbé
/ANNE MARIE S WEHBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634