DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed 01/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 10-11, 20, and 22-24 are pending. Examiner has considered Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 10-11, 20, and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and finds them to be persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn. Examiner has considered Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 10-11, 20, and 22-24 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 22 of Application No. 17/997,293 (now issued as U.S. Patent No. 12528809 B2) and finds the arguments to be persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection are set forth herein.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 11/18/2022, that the instant application 17/600,660 filed 10/02/2021 is a 371 of PCT/IB2020/000261 filed 04/03/2020, which claims benefit of the following U.S. provisional applications: 62/828,801 filed 04/03/2019; 62/834,112 filed 04/15/2019; 62/841,363 filed 05/01/2019; 62/841,375 filed 05/01/2019; 62/841,384 filed 05/01/2019; 62/295,601 filed 09/04/2019; 62/895,590 filed 09/04/2019; and 62/895,594 filed 09/04/2019.
However, the limitations of the instant claims are not adequately supported or enabled in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA U.S.C. 112, first paragraph by the aforementioned U.S. provisional applications. More specifically, the limitations of the uncomplicated UTI being recurrent, the human patient being male, and the human patient being pregnant, adolescent, or pediatric are not taught or suggested in their entirety by any of the U.S. provisional applications. Moreover, the earliest teaching or suggestion that the human patient is female is in 62/841,363 filed 05/01/2019. As such, claims 10-11 have been awarded the effective filing date of 62/828,801 filed 04/03/2019, claim 22 has been awarded the effective filing date of 62/841,363 filed 05/01/2019, and claims 23-24 have been awarded the effective filing date of PCT/IB2020/000261 filed 04/03/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scangarella-Oman et al. (Poster Abstracts; 2019; IDS filed 06/18/2025) in view of Orenstein et al. (AAFP; 1999; previously cited).
Scangarella-Oman et al. discloses a method of treating uncomplicated UTI in female subjects, wherein a subject was confirmed to have uncomplicated UTI caused by S. saprophyticus prior to treatment, comprising administering oral gepotidacin at 1,500 mg BID for five days (col. 2, Methods). Scangarella-Oman et al. teaches that the infection was resolved at Time of Cure (col. 2, Results).
Scangarella-Omandoes does not teach that the patient is male, or that the patient is pregnant, adolescent, or pediatric. This limitation is obvious over Orenstein et al.
Orenstein et al. teaches that Staphylococcus saprophyticus is a principal pathogen of acute uncomplicated UTI, recurrent UTI in women, UTI in men, and UTI in pregnant women (p. 3-4).
It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to administer gepotidacin for the treatment of UTI caused by Staphylococcus saprophyticus. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, because S. saprophyticus is a common pathogen that causes uncomplicated acute and recurrent UTI in females, including pregnant women and pediatric females, and men. One of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised that administering gepotidacin for the treatment of uncomplicated UTI would be beneficial to these patients and would be expected to yield similar results.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-11, 20, and 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/262,938 in view of Hovelius et al. (Reviews of Infectious Diseases; 1984); and Orenstein et al. (AAFP; 1999).
Claim 18 of the ‘938 application is directed toward a method of treating a bacterial infection in a subject comprising administering a composition comprising gepotidacin.
In looking to the specification of the ‘938 application to construe the scope of “bacterial infection”, page 17 of the specification filed 07/26/2023 discloses a method of treating a urinary tract infection caused by Escherichia coli (E. coli), Staphylococcus saprophyticus, Citrobacter koseri, or Klebsiella pneumoniae (K. pneumoniae) which overlaps with the instant claims.
Hovelius et al. teaches that Staphylococcus saprophyticus is a common cause of urinary tract infection that must be diagnosed by appropriate screening methods (Abstract; p. 328, col. 1). Hovelius et al. discloses that UTIs caused by S. saprophyticus can occur in both men and women, including pregnant women, and that S. saprophyticus has been identified in urine specimens of female patients as young as 15 years of age (p. 329, Figure 1; p. 330 col. 2 – p. 331 col. 2). Hovelius et al. teaches that a diagnosis of S. saprophyticus can be obtained by studying a patient’s urine sediment, rather than nitrite testing (as S. saprophyticus does not reduce nitrate), and that identification of S. saprophyticus infection can allow for appropriate therapy to be instituted at the first office visit, which is of benefit to the patient’s discomfort (p. 332, col. 1).
Orenstein et al. teaches that Staphylococcus saprophyticus is a principal pathogen of acute uncomplicated UTI, recurrent UTI in women, UTI in men, and UTI in pregnant women (p. 3-4). Orenstein et al. teaches that antibiotic therapy for these categories of UTI include sulfamethoxazoles and fluoroquinolones (p. 8-9).
It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to administer gepotidacin for the treatment of UTI caused by Staphylococcus saprophyticus, wherein the method further comprises determining that the UTI is caused by Staphylococcus saprophyticus. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, because S. saprophyticus is a common pathogen that causes uncomplicated acute and recurrent UTI in females, including pregnant women and pediatric females, and men. Moreover, one would have been apprised to the advantages of determining the cause of the UTI being S. saprophyticus in order to determine an appropriate method of treatment in the patient.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the outstanding nonstatutory double patenting rejection over co-pending application 18/262,938 as maintained above, Examiner has considered Applicant’s arguments and will consider withdrawing the rejection when no other rejections remain outstanding, per MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/M.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624 02/17/2026
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624