DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 26 August 2026 has been entered.
The Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the Specification objections. Accordingly, the Specification objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 7 has overcome the 35 USC 112 Claim rejection. Accordingly, the 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 26 August 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the claims remain rejected as obvious in view of the prior art.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 26 August 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claim 7 has been amended.
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 13-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US-20080029498-A1) in view of Both et al. (WO-2017050711-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure), Bonss et al. (US-6444947-B1), and Maier et al. (DE-10214949-C1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 1, Forrest teaches a method for fusion welding (“welding method,” abstract) comprising:
providing one or more steel sheets (substrates 78 and 80, fig. 6) made of press-hardened steel (“steel,” para 0051), wherein at least one of the steel sheets has a metallic coating which contains aluminum (“aluminum-based (Al) coating,” para 0051), and
laser welding (para 0021) the one or more steel sheets (“substrates 78 and 80,” para 0062; “steel,” para 0051) using at least one laser beam (beams 34 and 36, fig. 6),
wherein the laser welding comprises:
generating with the at least one laser beam (beams 34 and 36, fig. 6), using one or a plurality of optical elements (lenses 38, 46, 72, and collimator 58, fig. 3) a single laser focal spot (key hole 98, fig. 7A; overlapping the beams is not explicitly disclosed for this embodiment), comprising a smaller laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 34; “the first end 102 is formed by the leading beam 34,” para 0055; “the leading beam has a beam diameter in the range of 0.1 to 0.4 mm,” para 0062; construed as an area for the beam spot of beam 34 of .00785-.1256 mm2) and a larger laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 36; “the rounded second end 104, are formed by the trailing beam 36 ,” para 0055; “the trailing beam 36 has a beam diameter in the range of 0.4 to 0.8 mm,” para 0062; the larger laser focal spot area is construed as an area for the beam spot area of beam 36, which is .1256-.5024 mm2) wherein a laser energy output per surface unit introduced in the smaller laser focal spot area (“the ratio of power of the leading beam 34 compared to the trailing beam 36 is 75:25,” para 0029; “power in the range of 4 kW to 10 kW,” para 0046; construed as a power of 0.75*4-10 kW=3-7.5 kW; divided by an area of .00785-0.1256 mm2, the intensity is calculated to be a range of 2,389-95,541 kW/cm2) is higher than a larger output per surface unit introduced in the larger laser focal spot area (“the ratio of power of the leading beam 34 compared to the trailing beam 36 is 75:25,” para 0029; “power in the range of 4 kW to 10 kW,” para 0046; construed as a power of 0.25*4-10 kW=1-2.5 kW; divided by an area of 0.1256-0.5024 mm2, the intensity is calculated to be a range of 199-1,990 kW/cm2; a range of 2,389-95,541 kW/cm2 for beam 34 is higher than a range of 199-1,990 kW/cm2 for beam 36),
irradiating the one or more steel sheets (top surface of substrate 78, fig. 6) with the smaller laser focal spot (beam 34, fig. 6; “diameter,” para 0062; construed such that beam 34 has a circular beam spot) and the larger laser focal spot (beam 36, fig. 6; “diameter,” para 0062; construed such that beam 36 has a circular beam spot), wherein the larger laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 36) irradiates an area of the one or more steel sheets (circular area heated by beam 36 on the top surface of substrate 78, fig. 6; fig. 7A, which is top-down view of the weld pool shows part of this circular area in rounded end 104, para 0055) and an area of the one or more steel sheets (circular area heated by beam 34 on the top surface of substrate 78, fig. 6; fig. 7A, which is top-down view of the weld pool shows part of this circular area in first end 102, para 0055) irradiated by the smaller laser focal spot area (area heated by beam 34 on the top surface of substrate 78, fig. 6);
moving the single laser focal spot (key hole 98, fig. 7A) across the one or more steel sheets (“substrates 78 and 80 being used,” para 0062) in a welding direction (“Weld Direction,” fig. 7A) to produce a molten bath (molten pool 82, fig. 7A),
wherein, in the welding direction, at least a portion of the larger laser focal spot area follows the smaller laser focal spot area (“The primary method of increasing the second or trailing end 104 of the keyhole 98, however, is to use a trailing beam 36 that has a larger beam diameter or imprint compared to the leading beam 34,” para 0062; construed that trailing beam 36 is behind leading beam 34 as shown in fig. 6), the smaller laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 34, fig. 6) melts (“melted,” para 0042; para 0059) the one or more steel sheets to form the molten bath (molten pool 82, fig. 6), and the larger laser focal spot area homogenizes the molten bath (“the emission of the coating gas before it impinges on a rear surface 104 of the keyhole 98 also reduces the effect of the weld being porous,” para 0060; removing pores 94 from the weld as shown in fig. 6 is construed as making the weld more uniform or homogenous)
and wherein the laser energy output per surface unit introduced in the smaller laser focal spot area (construed as an area for the beam spot of beam 34 of .00785-.1256 mm2) is controlled in such a way that the smaller laser focal spot area generates a deep welding process (leading beam 34 causes “deep penetrations” of “at least 6 mm below a surface of the substrate” in a “deep penetration welding process,” paras 0052-0053; fig. 6), wherein the laser energy per surface unit introduced in the smaller laser focal spot is greater than 1,000 kW/cm2 (the intensity calculated for beam 34 is a range of 2,389-95,541 kW/cm2).
Forrest, figs. 6 and 7A
Forrest does not explicitly disclose one or more steel sheets made of press-hardened steel; a single laser focal spot comprising a smaller laser focal spot area within a larger laser focal spot area; irradiating with the single laser focal spot comprising the smaller laser focal spot within the larger laser focal spot, wherein the larger laser focal spot area irradiates an area that is at least two times larger than an area irradiated by the smaller laser focal spot area; the single laser focal spot comprising the smaller laser focal spot area within the larger laser focal spot area, while feeding filler material into the molten bath, wherein the filler material is fed into the molten bath such that the filler material is fed directly into the smaller laser focal spot area; while the laser energy output per surface unit introduced in the larger laser focal spot area is controlled in such a way as to not exceed an energy threshold of 1,000 kW/cm2 for deep welding.
However, Forrest teaches a single laser focal spot (“it should be understood and appreciated that beams 34 and 36 may overlap,” para 0049; construed such that when the beams overlap and there is no inter-beam distance, then there is a single laser focal spot) comprising a smaller laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 34) and a larger laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 36; construed as being a combined area when the beams overlap); irradiating with the single laser focal spot comprising a smaller laser focal spot within a larger laser focal spot (“overlapping the beams 34 and 36,” para 0049), wherein the larger laser focal spot area irradiates an area (“the trailing beam 36 has a beam diameter in the range of 0.4 to 0.8 mm,” para 0062; construed as an area for the beam spot of beam 36 of .1256-.5024 mm2) that is at least two times larger than an area irradiated by the smaller laser focal spot area (“the leading beam has a beam diameter in the range of 0.1 to 0.4 mm,” para 0062; construed as an area for the beam spot of beam 34 of .00785-.1256 mm2; twice this area is at least .0157-.2512 mm2, which overlaps with the calculated area of beam 36 of .1256-.5024 mm2), the single laser focal spot comprising the smaller laser focal spot area within the larger laser focal spot area (“overlap,” para 0049), while the laser energy output per surface unit introduced in the larger laser focal spot area is controlled in such a way as to not exceed an energy threshold of 1,000 kW/cm2 for deep welding (the intensity for beam 36 is calculated to be a range of 199-1,990 kW/cm2; this range is construed as overlapping with a range of less than 1,000 kW/cm2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the specific embodiment of figs. 5 and 7A, in view of the teachings of fig. 7B of Forrest, by using an inter-beam distance of zero, in order to overlap the beams, because by overlapping the beams, an increase in power density may be achieved which results in the beams more fully engaging the substrates, and because by using a beam spot diameter for beam 36 that is wider than the beam spot diameter for beam 34, the spattering of the coating is minimized while also causing the resultant weld to become less porous, which increases the strength of the weld (Forrest, paras 0049 and 0060; if the area of beam 36 becomes 0.2512-0.5024 mm2, then this change in area results in an intensity for beam 36 of 199-995 kW/ cm2, which is less than 1,000 kW/cm2). Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (Forrest describes the inter-spot distance as being a results-effective variable that can be optimized, para 0040, describes the diameters of the beams as being results-effective variables that can be optimized, paras 0058 and 0062, and describes the power ratio between the beams as one that can be optimized, para 0029, based on tradeoff between deep penetrations from beam 34 and the smoothing of the molten pool by beam 36 to prevent the formation of pores, paras 0053-0054).
Forrest does not explicitly disclose one or more steel sheets made of press-hardened steel; a single laser focal spot comprising a smaller laser focal spot area within a larger laser focal spot area; while feeding filler material into the molten bath, wherein the filler material is fed into the molten bath such that the filler material is fed directly into the smaller laser focal spot area.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Both teaches one or more steel sheets made of press-hardened steel (“at least one of the sheets is made of press-hardenable steel,” paras 0003-0004); while feeding filler material (filler wire 8, fig. 1) into the molten bath (molten bath 9, fig. 1).
Both, fig. 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Both, by using press-hardenable steel, as taught by Both, for the steel substrates, as taught by Forrest, and by supplying a filler wire 8, as taught by Both, to the molten pool 82, as taught by Forrest, in order to use press-hardenable steel, which has a relatively high tensile strength after being press hardened, and because adding filler wire into the weld results in improved homogenization of the weld melt (Both, paras 0031 and 0046-0047).
Forrest/Both do not explicitly disclose a single laser focal spot comprising a smaller laser focal spot area within a larger laser focal spot area; wherein the filler material is fed into the molten bath such that the filler material is fed directly into the smaller laser focal spot area.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Bonss teaches a single laser focal spot (focus 6 and focus 2, fig. 3) comprising a smaller laser focal spot area (focus 2, fig. 3) within a larger laser focal spot area (focus 6, fig. 3).
Bonss, figs. 3-4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Bonss, by fully overlapping beam 34 inside of beam 36, as taught by Forrest, such that beam 34 was formed forward and off-centered of beam 36, as taught by Bonss, in order use a laser beam with a less intensity over a much larger area, keeping a larger area of the bath of melted material warmed up in comparison to when a smaller circular beam spot is used, for the advantage of slowing the solidifying rate over a larger area, thus reducing the cooling rate, so that thermal stresses and gradients can be minimized, preventing the likelihood of hot or cold cracks from forming in the weld (Bonss, column 1, lines 32-47, column 2, lines 2-8; difference between figs. 2 and 3).
Forrest/Both/ Bonss do not explicitly disclose wherein the filler material is fed into the molten bath such that the filler material is fed directly into the smaller laser focal spot area.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Maier teaches wherein the filler material (wire 5, fig. 5b) is fed into the molten bath (melt pool 6, fig. 5b) such that the filler material is fed directly into the smaller laser focal spot area (“only heated but not yet melted,” para 0046).
Maier, fig. 5b
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Maier, by feeding the filler wire, as taught by Maier, to the beam 34, as taught by Forrest, in order to advantageously melt or liquefy the filler material completely by the high intensity beam, for the advantage of controlling the liquidation of the wire, such that it melts in a localized manner at the keyhole 7, resulting in a narrower seam than when the wire is positioned in front of the high intensity beam (Maier, paras 0012 and 0022).
Regarding claim 2, Forrest teaches wherein the at least one laser beam is substantially free of oscillation during fusion welding (Wed Direction arrow, fig. 6; “the leading beam 34 moves in the welding direction,” para 0053; construed such that there is no oscillation during the movement of beam 34).
Regarding claim 3, Forrest teaches wherein the one or plurality of optical elements (lenses 38, 46, 72, and collimator 58, fig. 3), by which the single laser focal spot (keyhole 98, fig. 7A) is produced (para 0040), is configured such that a position of the smaller laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 34) within the larger laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 36; overlap,” para 0049) is adjustable (“Changing the inter-spot distance requires moving the mirror 40 and focusing lens 72,” para 0040; adjustable using knob 26, para 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Forrest teaches wherein the position of the smaller laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 34) within the larger laser focal spot area (beam spot area of beam 36) is adjusted (para 0040) in a direction running one of parallel (para 0043; fig. 7A) and transverse (not explicitly disclosed) to the welding direction (“Weld Direction,” fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 5, Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the larger laser focal spot area has an elongated shape, and wherein a longitudinal axis of the larger focal spot area runs substantially in the welding direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Bonss teaches wherein the larger laser focal spot area (focus 6, fig. 3) has an elongated shape (focus 6 has a rectangular shape, fig. 3, which is construed as being an elongated shape), and wherein a longitudinal axis (vertical axis, fig. 3) of the larger focal spot area runs substantially in the welding direction (vertical arrow, fig. 3; column 4, lines 42-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Bonss, by using a rectangular beam spot, as taught by Bonss, for the laser beam 36, as taught by Forrest, in order use a rectangular laser beam with a less intensity over a much larger area, keeping a larger area of the bath of melted material warmed up in comparison to when a smaller circular beam spot is used, for the advantage of slowing the solidifying rate over a larger area, thus reducing the cooling rate, so that thermal stresses and gradients can be minimized, preventing the likelihood of hot or cold cracks from forming in the weld (Bonss, column 1, lines 32-47, column 2, lines 2-8; difference between figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Forrest in view of Both, Bonss, and Maier as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 6. Specifically, Forrest teaches wherein the larger laser focal spot area (“the trailing beam 36 has a beam diameter in the range of 0.4 to 0.8 mm,” para 0062) has a longitudinal extension (construed as an extension along the axis of the beam in the weld direction, fig. 7A; beam 36 is located at 104, fig. 7A) that is at least 2 times (the diameter of beam spot 36 along the beam axis is .4 to .8 mm), the average diameter or largest diameter of the smaller laser focal spot area (“the leading beam has a beam diameter in the range of 0.1 to 0.4 mm,” para 0062; the beam 34 is located at end 102, fig. 7; two times .1-.4 mm is at least .2-.8 mm; Forrest teaches a diameter for beam 36 that is within this range).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Forrest in view of Both, Bonss, and Maier as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 6. Specifically, Both teaches wherein the filler material is supplied in the form of a wire (“wire,” para 0006).
Regarding claim 8, Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the filler material does not contain any aluminum except for unavoidable impurities or unavoidable trace amounts.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Both teaches wherein the filler material does not contain any aluminum except for unavoidable impurities or unavoidable trace amounts (“an aluminum-free or substantially aluminum-free filler wire is understood to mean a filler wire which contains no aluminum except for unavoidable impurities or unavoidable trace amounts,” para 0027; “Preferably, the filler wire contains at least manganese and/or nickel as elements promoting or preventing the formation of austenite.” para 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Both, by supplying an aluminum-free wire that includes at least one element for promoting austenite, as taught by Both, to the molten pool 82, as taught by Forrest, which improves both the homogenization of the aluminum flowing into the melt from the metallic coating while also causing the hardenability of the weld to also improve (Both, paras 0031 and 0037).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Forrest in view of Both, Bonss, and Maier as set forth above regarding claim 8 teaches the invention of claim 9. Specifically, Both teaches wherein the filler material contains at least one alloy element comprising nickel (“nickel,” para 0037), chromium (“0.5 to 2.0 wt.% Cr + Mo,” para 0037), or carbon (“0.05 to 0.15 wt.% C,” para 0037).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Forrest in view of Both, Bonss, and Maier as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 11. Specifically, Both teaches wherein the press hardened steel has the following composition (“press-hardenable steel with the following composition,” para 0046): 0.10-0.50% by weight C, max. 0.40% by weight Si, 0.50-2.0% by weight Mn, max. 0.025% by weight P, max. 0.010% by weight S, max. 0.60% by weight Cr, max. 0.50% by weight Mo, max. 0.050% by weight Ti, 0.0008-0.0070% by weight B, and min. 0.010% by weight Al, the remainder consisting of Fe and unavoidable impurities (para 0047).
Regarding claim 13, Forrest teaches wherein the one or more steel sheets comprise a plurality of steel sheets (substrates 78 and 80, fig. 6; para 0051). Forrest does not explicitly disclose wherein the steel sheets are welded with a welding speed of at least 4 m/min.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Both teaches wherein the steel sheets (sheets 1 and 2, fig. 1) are joined with a welding speed of at least 4 m/min (“preferably above 8 m/min,” para 0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Both, by using a welding speed of at least 8 m/min, as taught by Both, in the laser welding method, as taught by Forrest, in order to use a high welding speed that increases the rate of welding production (Both, paras 0038-0041).
Regarding claim 14, Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the filler material is supplied in the form of a wire, and wherein the wire is fed at a supply speed in the range of 40% to 90% of welding speed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Both teaches wherein the filler material is supplied in the form of a wire (“wire,” para 0006), and wherein the wire is fed at a supply speed in the range of 40% to 90% of welding speed (“The speed at which the filler wire is fed is preferably in the range of 70 to 100% of the laser welding speed,” paras 0043-0044; construed as overlapping with the claimed range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest to include, wherein the filler material is supplied in the form of a wire, and wherein the wire is fed at a supply speed in the range of 40% to 90% of welding speed, in view of the teachings of Both, by supplying a wire at a rate of 70% to 100% of the welding speed and by heating the wire to a temperature of at least 60°C using a heating device, as taught by Both, in order to enable both a significantly higher welding speed, such that the wire feeding speed is within a ratio of 70 to 100% of the rate of the welding speed, for the advantage of increasing the overall rate of welding production and causing the welding process to be more stable as a result of heating the filler wire before feeding it into the weld melt (Both, paras 0038-0044) and since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (referring to MPEP 2144.05.I and pages 15 and 22 of the Specification, which do not appear to place any criticality on the claimed “range of 40% to 90% of a welding speed”).
Regarding claim 15, Forrest teaches wherein the molten bath is not exposed to a protective gas flow during laser welding at least on a side facing the at least one laser beam (Forrest does not teach a protective gas flow).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Forrest in view of Both, Bonss, and Maier as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 11. Specifically, Both teaches wherein the filler material (wire 8, fig. 1) is supplied in a dragging manner (understood to mean in view of the Specification to mean “that the filler material, when considered in the welding direction, is fed in advance to the molten bath or to the smaller laser focal spot area from the front;” in figs. 4-5; Both teaches that the wire 8 is fed in front of the beam 4, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the filler material is heated to a temperature of at least 60° C. before being fed into the molten bath.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Both teaches wherein the filler material is heated to a temperature of at least 60° C. before being fed into the molten bath (“wherein the filler material is heated to a temperature of at least 60° C., by a heating device before being fed into the molten bath,” para 0107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Both, by including a heating device, as taught by Both, in the invention, as taught by Forrest, where the heating device was used to heat the wire to a temperature of at least 60°C, in order to enable a significantly higher welding speed, for the advantage of increasing the overall rate of welding production and causing the welding process to be more stable as a result of heating the filler wire before feeding it into the weld melt (Both, paras 0038-0044).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US-20080029498-A1) in view of Both et al. (WO-2017050711-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure), Bonss et al. (US-6444947-B1), and Maier et al. (DE-10214949-C1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Vila et al. (US-20180236600-A1).
Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the filler material has the following composition: 0.05-0.4% by weight C, 0-2.0% by weight Si, 0-3.0% by weight Mn, 4-25% by weight Cr, 0-0.5% by weight Mo, and 5-12% by weight Ni, the remainder consisting of Fe and unavoidable impurities.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Vila teaches wherein the filler material (filler wire 25, fig. 1b; “the filler may contain a austenite stabilizing elements,” para 0045) has the following composition:
0.05-0.4% by weight C (“0%-0.3% of carbon,” para 0045),
0-2.0% by weight Si (“0%-1.3% of of silicon,” para 0045),
0-3.0% by weight Mn (“0.5%-7% of manganese,” para 0045),
4-25% by weight Cr (“5%-22% of chromium,” para 0045),
0-0.5% by weight Mo (“0%-0.4% of molybdenum,” para 0045), and
5-12% by weight Ni (“6%-20% of nickel,” para 0045),
the remainder consisting of Fe and unavoidable impurities (“the rest iron and unavoidable impurities,” para 0045; construed as 0% Niobium and 0% Silicon).
Vila, fig. 1b
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest/Both, in view of the teachings of Vila, by using the filler wire, as taught by Vila, instead of the filler wire, as taught by Both, in order to use a filler wire comprised of gammagenic elements that counteract the ferrite stabilizing effect of aluminum, because if the ferrite is not counteracted, then the ferrite can lead to worse mechanical properties or a weakening in the weld after a hot deformation processes such as hot stamping (Vila, para 0040) and since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (referring to MPEP 2144.05.I and pages 12 and 19 of the Specification, which do not appear to place any criticality on the claimed composition of the filler material).
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US-20080029498-A1) in view of Both et al. (WO-2017050711-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure), Bonss et al. (US-6444947-B1), and Maier et al. (DE-10214949-C1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gao et al. (CN-106670649-A, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 12, Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more steel sheets comprise a plurality of steel sheets, wherein the steel sheets are joined in a butt joint, and wherein a gap in the butt joint has with an average gap width of 0.01 to 0.15 mm.
However, in a different embodiment, Forrest teaches wherein the one or more steel sheets comprise a plurality of steel sheets (substrates 78 and 80, fig. 9A; para 0051), wherein the steel sheets are joined in a butt joint (“butt welding,” para 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of the fig. 9A embodiment of Forrest, by placing the substrates in a butt joint, as taught in fig. 9A, instead of a lap weld, as taught in fig. 6, because this amounts to a simple substitution of one weld type (butt welding) known in the art for another weld type (lap welding) with predictable results (the change in the weld type will not change the operation of the laser beams but will continue to allow the substrates to melt and be welded together).
Forrest does not explicitly disclose wherein a gap in the butt joint has with an average gap width of 0.01 to 0.15 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Gao teaches wherein a gap in the butt joint has with an average gap width of 0.01 to 0.15 mm (“0.1 mm welding gap,” page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of the teachings of Gao, by using a gap of 0.1 mm, as taught by Gao, between the substrates 78 and 80, as taught by Forrest, in order to provide sufficient space between the worksheets to form a double-sided weld such that the gap is filled by the wire but not too large of gap, because if there is a larger gap, then more filler wire will need to be melted to fill the larger gap thereby reducing the welding speed, but a gap of .1 mm is optimal gap size for the welded structure (Gao, pages 1 and 3; Forrest teaches a gap between the substrates, fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 18, Forrest teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the filler material supplied in the form of a wire is supplied to the molten bath in such that a central axis of the wire with a surface of the at least one steel sheet to be welded or of the steel sheets to be welded together encloses an acute angle of less than 50°.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Gao teaches wherein the filler material supplied in the form of a wire is supplied to the molten bath in such that a central axis of the wire with a surface of the at least one steel sheet to be welded (wire fed by the wire feeder is angled to the surface of the workpiece, fig. 1) or of the steel sheets to be welded together (fig. 2) encloses an acute angle of less than 50° (“the wire feeding angle of the wire feeder is 45-60 °,” page 2; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Forrest to include, wherein the filler material supplied in the form of a wire is supplied to the molten bath in such that a central axis of the wire with a surface of the at least one steel sheet to be welded or of the steel sheets to be welded together encloses an acute angle of less than 50°, in view of the teachings of Gao, by supplying a wire at a feeding angle of 45-60°, as taught by Gao, to the molten pool 82, as taught by Forrest, in order to use a wire feed angle that facilitates a maximum welding speed of 15 m / min for an aluminum alloy thickness of 1 mm, thereby greatly improving the production efficiency, while still having a stable welding process without defects, for the advantage of preventing the joint from softening so as to enhance the mechanical property of the weld (Gao, bottom of page 2 and top of page 3) and since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (referring to MPEP 2144.05.I and pages 13 and 22 of the Specification, which do not appear to place any criticality on the claimed angle range).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed 26 August 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Art-Based Rejections
The examiner agrees with the following excerpt on page 9 of the arguments:
“Bonss is asserted to disclose, based on FIGS. 3 and 4, a single laser focal spot (focus 6 and focus 2) that includes a smaller laser focal spot (focus 2) within a larger focal spot area (focus 6) (see page 12 of the Office Action).
On pages 12-13 of the Office Action, it is asserted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Forrest, in view of Bonss, by fully overlapping beam 34 inside of beam 36 (as taught by Forrest), such that beam 34 is formed forward and off-centered of beam 36 (as taught by Bonss), in order to "use a laser beam with a less intensity over a much larger area, keeping a larger area of the bath of melted material warmed up in comparison to when a smaller circular beam spot is used, for the advantage of slowing the solidifying rate over a large area, thus reducing the cooling rate, so that thermal stresses and gradients can be minimized, preventing the likelihood of hot or cold cracks from forming in the weld".”
However, the examiner disagrees with the statement that because Forrest (US-20080029498-A1) teaches a leading beam (34) / trailing beam (36) arrangement, then “fully embedding the leading beam (34) within the trailing beam (36) of Forrest, as asserted in the Office Action in view of Bonss, would alter this functional separation of Forrest since the alleged trailing beam (36) would no longer act only behind the leading beam (34), but would surround it and also act laterally and at least partly in front of it.”
Instead, fully overlapping the beam 34 inside the beam 36, as taught by Forrest, would be an obvious modification to Forrest for two main reasons.
The first reason is that Forrest teaches that the “beams 34 and 36 may overlap” (paragraph 0036 of Forrest; see also page 9 of the Applicant’s arguments filed 5 May 2026). Thus, respectfully submit that overlapping the beams 34 and 36 would not render Forrest “unsatisfactory for its intended purpose” (as argued on page 10 of the arguments filed 26 August 2026). Instead, overlapping the beams at least partially was a feature that was considered and permitted within the “purpose” of the Forrest reference.
The second reason is that the beam 34 would still trail beam 36, based on the teaching of Bonss (US-6444947-B1). As acknowledged by the Applicant, the proposed modification to Forrest is “such that beam 34 is formed forward and off-centered of beam 36 (as taught by Bonss).” The examiner proposed this modification because this is the arrangement that Bonss teaches and which is shown in fig. 3:
“The focus 2 of the laser beam 1 is formed off-center from the focus 6 of the laser beam 5, it preferably being displaced in the direction of welding, corresponding to the arrow represented.”
Thus, fully embedding the leading beam 34 in the trailing beam 36 is an obvious modification to Forrest, based on the evidence that has been provided within the Bonss reference.
Page 10 of the arguments provides the following statements:
“Applicant also submits that Bonss follows a different technical concept. Bonss uses a larger, lower-intensity irradiation area to reduce temperature gradients and slow the cooling rate (see e.g., column 2, lines 2-5). This does not provide a motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Forrest's leading beam (34)/trailing beam (36) arrangement into a fully nested focal spot arrangement.”
The examiner is not sure what is the point of comparison is for asserting that “Bonss follows a different technical concept.” The examiner agrees that “Bonss uses a larger, lower-intensity irradiation area to reduce temperature gradients and slow the cooling rate.” However, the examiner disagrees that “this does not provide a motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Forrest's leading beam (34)/trailing beam (36) arrangement into a fully nested focal spot arrangement.” Instead, “using a larger, lower-intensity irradiation area to reduce temperature gradients and slow the cooling rate” provides sufficient motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Forrest’s leading beam/trailing beam arrangement.
Pages 10-11 reference paragraph 0046 of Maier (DE10214949C1) and provide additional statements, where the evidence provided supports the examiner’s position that the limitations are obvious and not the Applicant’s position that the limitations are non-obvious:
“Maier does not provide motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to feed the filler material directly into Forrest's leading beam (34). Rather, Maier teaches feeding the filler material through the melting jet first, in order to heat the filler material before it reaches the process zone of the welding beam (see paragraph [0019] of the English Translation of Maier). If applied to Forrest, this teaching would at most suggest introducing the filler material first into Forrest's trailing/lower-intensity beam (36), rather than directly into the leading/high-intensity beam (34).”
The examiner agrees that “Maier teaches feeding the filler material through the melting jet first, in order to heat the filler material before it reaches the process zone of the welding beam.” However, the examiner disagrees that this teaching “does not provide motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art” or that “this teaching would at most suggest introducing the filler material first into Forrest's trailing/lower-intensity beam (36), rather than directly into the leading/high-intensity beam (34).” Instead, based on the teachings of Maier, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to “feed the filler material through the melting jet first, in order to heat the filler material,” where the melting jet, as taught by Maier, is the trailing/lower-intensity beam 36, as taught by Forrest, “before it reaches the process zone of the welding beam,” where the welding beam, as taught by Maier, is the leading/high-intensity beam 34, as taught by Forrest.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
For the above reasons, rejections to the pending claims are respectfully sustained by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 9/30/2026