DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10 are pending in the application and claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman US2018/0268382 in view of Brody et al. US2020/0034457 in view of Pack et al. US2019/0068615
Regarding claim 1, Wasserman teaches: a user terminal comprising a first processor and a first memory connected to the first processor; and (Wasserman see paragraph 0309 0314 0318 0335 0366 customer to have virtual account directly connected to server network such that each server comprises memory and processor)
an approval terminal comprising a second processor and a second memory connected to the second processor, (Wasserman see paragraph 0309 0314 0318 0334 0366 financial institution to have virtual account directly connected to server network such that each server comprises memory and processor)
a blockchain network; (Wasserman see paragraph 0175 blockchain as a network)
wherein a distributed ledger of the blockchain system includes a state database that stores a state of a smart contract for a plurality of tokens; (Wasserman see paragraph 0001 0175 0281 blockchain as a database storing smart contracts and tokens)
wherein the first processor of the user terminal is configured to: issue, to the blockchain network, a transaction causes a parent token to split into multiple child tokens; (Wasserman see paragraph 0231 0281 request from customer modifying blockchain resulting in a split, splitting oldest token into two)
wherein the second processor of the approval terminal is configured to:
collect one or more transactions issued to the blockchain network within a predetermined time interval, the one or more transactions including the issued transaction; (Wasserman see paragraph 0250 0281 0284 financial institution to fulfill requests on blockchain such that certain transactions may be based on a line of credit specified for a period of time)
update data indicative of a child token of the multiple child tokens based on the issued transaction in the state database;
generate a block including the issued transaction;
cause the block and the state database to be reflected in the distributed ledger; and (Wasserman see paragraph 0284 upon splitting token based on requests blockchain is updated by appending block comprising data reflecting changes)
set tracking data for the child token in the state database, the state database comprising tracking data for each token of the plurality of tokens, the tracking data of the child token comprising generating the child token, of the child token, (ii) a token ID of the parent token each child token of the multiple child tokens is derived, and (iii) a smart contract of the parent token. (Wasserman see paragraph 0175 0179 0212 0213 0214 0222 0223 0281 0284 all changes made to blockchain to add new blocks on blockchain as a chain of modifications with complete history such that a change deals with modification with tokens being split and tokens having a real world currency ID for given smart contracts)
Wasserman does not distinctly disclose: (i) a block number of a block, the block number indicates a change point of a state of the smart contract, a smart contract address
However, Brody teaches: a smart contract address (Brody see paragraph 0018 0019 0034 0035 history of blockchain recorded in blockchain including blockchain address smart contract address)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a merging tokens in blockchain as taught by Wasserman to include a smart contract address as taught by Brody for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Further, the combination of Wasserman and Brody does not appear to distinctly disclose: (i) a block number of a block, the block number indicates a change point of a state of the smart contract
However, Pack teaches: (i) a block number of a block, the block number indicates a change point of a state of the smart contract (Pack see paragraphs 0087-0089 0091 0092 latest transaction where value is written to smart contract with an associated block number in blockchain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a updating data as taught by Patterson as modified to include a block number as taught by Pack for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 2, Wasserman teaches: a user terminal comprising a first processor and a first memory connected to the first processor; (Wasserman see paragraph 0309 0314 0318 0335 0366 customer to have virtual account directly connected to server network such that each server comprises memory and processor)
an approval terminal comprising a second processor and a second memory connected to the second processor; (Wasserman see paragraph 0309 0314 0318 0334 0366 financial institution to have virtual account directly connected to server network such that each server comprises memory and processor)
a blockchain network, wherein a distributed ledger of the blockchain system includes a state database that stores a state of a smart contract for a plurality of tokens; (Wasserman see paragraph 0001 0175 0281 blockchain as a database storing smart contracts and tokens)
wherein the first processor of the user terminal is configured to: (Wasserman see paragraph 0231 0281 request from customer modifying blockchain)
wherein the second processor of the approval terminal is configured to:
collect one or more transactions issued to the blockchain network within a predetermined time interval, the one or more transactions including the issued transaction; (Wasserman see paragraph 0250 0281 0284 financial institution to fulfill requests on blockchain such that certain transactions may be based on a line of credit specified for a period of time)
generate a block including the issued transaction;
cause the block and the state database to be reflected in the distributed ledger; (Wasserman see paragraph 0284 upon splitting token based on requests blockchain is updates the blockchain by appending block comprising data reflecting changes)
Wasserman does not distinctly disclose: issue, to the blockchain network, a transaction that causes a first token to merge with a second token to create a merged token
update data indicative of the merged token based on the issued transaction in the state database;
set tracking data for the merged token in the state database, the state database comprising tracking data for each token in the plurality of tokens, the tracking data of the merged token comprising
(i) a block number of a block generating the merged token the block number indicates a change point of a state of the smart contract of the child token, (ii) token IDs corresponding to the first token and the second token that the merged token is derived, and (iii) smart contract addresses for each of the first token and the second token
However, Brody teaches: issue, to the blockchain network, a transaction that causes a first token to merge with a second token to create a merged token (Brody see paragraph 0033 0034 tokens to be merged in blockchain)
update data indicative of the merged token based on the issued transaction in the state database; (Brody see paragraphs 0033 0034 assignment of ownership is performed by merging tokens into a single token defining a composite token and destroying the sub assets used to create the composite token, such actions to be recorded blockchain)
set tracking data for the merged token in the state database, the state database comprising tracking data for each token in the plurality of tokens, the tracking data of the merged token comprising
generating the merged token, of the child token, (ii) token IDs corresponding to the first token and the second token that the merged token is derived, and (iii) smart contract addresses for each of the first token and the second token (Brody see paragraph 0018 0019 0034 0035 merging of tokens recorded in blockchain including blockchain address smart contract address and an asset token as a digital identifier or an identifier added to each token resulting in recorded history of blockchain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a merging tokens in blockchain as taught by Wasserman to include a smart contract address as taught by Brody for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Further, the combination of Wasserman and Brody does not appear to distinctly disclose: (i) a block number of a block, the block number indicates a change point of a state of the smart contract
However, Pack teaches: (i) a block number of a block, the block number indicates a change point of a state of the smart contract (Pack see paragraphs 0087-0089 0091 0092 latest transaction where value is written to smart contract with an associated block number in blockchain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a updating data as taught by Patterson as modified to include a block number as taught by Pack for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 3, Wasserman as modified teaches: wherein the second processor of the approval terminal is configured to set a flag indicating that the merged token is consumed in each of the first token and second token in the state database. (Brody see paragraph 00330034 0047 0051 0054 each modification such as a token merge to be recorded in blockchain using a hash)
Regarding claims 5, 7, 9, 10, note the rejection of claim(s) 1-3. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s argument: Prior art of record does not teach newly amended subject matter
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is moot as newly amended subject matter is responded to in the above rejection
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153