For Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 15-31 are pending. Claims 15 and 19-22 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Amended specification filed 02/20/2025 discloses the sequence listing created on March 26 2020 named F20W6313-seq1.txt and 12 KB in size. However, the sequence listing is named 17601019_1_1.txt, created 10/12/2021, and is 12602 bytes in size.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 17 which depends from claim 1, recites “wherein use of the composition in hand dishwashing provides at least one hand skin care benefit selected from corneocyte removal, reduced transepidermal water loss, an improved hand skin barrier, and improved hand skin water retention”. The limitation is a recitation of intended use and does not add any compositional or structural limitations to the claimed composition. MPEP 2111.04 states claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. Thus, claim 17 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16, 18, and 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (WO 2016001449 A1, published 07/01/2016, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 09/20/2024, hereinafter “Christensen”). See the sequence alignment, Appendix B, in Office Correspondence mailed on 09/20/2024.
Regarding claims 1, 18, and 23-25, Christensen teaches subtilase variants suitable for use in detergent compositions such as hand dish washing compositions (Abstract, page 4 line 17). Christensen teaches SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 (See Appendix B page 1). Christensen teaches the liquid detergent may be aqueous, typically containing at least 20% and up to about 70% water by weight (page 158 lines 3-4). Christensen teaches SEQ ID NO:1 variant S9E+N43R+N76D+L262E. Christensen further teaches the variant can comprise one or more of the substitutions selected from the group consisting of S9E, N43R, N76D, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, N261W and L262E (page 13 lines 20-35 through page 14 lines 1-4). Christensen teaches each of the above single mutations increases the stability compared to the parent subtilase, and introducing any of the above substitutions in a subtilase parent provides increased stability.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the variant taught by Christensen by adding the
Regarding claims 16 and 29, Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount of 0.1 mg to 10 mg per 1L of composition (i.e., 0.01% to 1%), which falls within the instant limitation of from about 0.001% w/w to about 4% w/w (page 142 lines 31-34).
Regarding claims 26-28, Christensen teaches the composition is formulated to have a pH from about 6 to about 8 (page 167 lines 21-22) and teaches the composition at pH 7 (Table 3)
Regarding claims 30 and 31, Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount 0.05%-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 5), or 0.1%-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the amount of the enzyme in the composition depending on the intended use of the composition, like for use in automatic dishwash, for use in laundry granulation, or for use in laundry liquid.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16-18, and 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,573 in view of Christensen as evidenced by Appendix B (Appendix B, sequence alignment, 2024, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 09/20/2024, hereinafter “Appendix B”).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 23-25, patent claim 1 recites a cleaning composition comprising a protease variant having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 24 and comprising the substitutions S9E, N43R, N76D, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, N261W and L262E, wherein position numbers are based on the numbering of SEQ ID NO: 25. SEQ ID NO: 24 and 25 are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 (See Appendix B page 2). Patent claim 1 does not recite composition comprising from 30% to 90% by weight of an aqueous liquid carrier. However, Christensen teaches subtilase variants suitable for use in detergent compositions such as hand dish washing compositions and teaches the liquid detergent may be aqueous, typically containing at least 20% and up to about 70% water by weight (page 158 lines 3-4). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claim 1 by adjusting the water content, as suggested by Christensen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order form an effective detergent composition.
Regarding instant claims 17-18, the limitation “provides at least one hand skin care benefit selected from corneocyte removal, reduced transepidermal water loss, an improved hand skin barrier, and improved hand skin water retention” is a recitation of intended use and is not considered to contribute to the patentability of the claimed composition as explained above.
Regarding instant claims 16 and 29-31, patent claim 1 does not recite an amount of the protease in the composition. However, Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount of 0.1 mg to 10 mg per 1L of composition (i.e., 0.01% to 1%). Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount 0.05%-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 5), or 0.1 %-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the amount of the enzyme in the composition depending on the intended use of the composition, like for use in automatic dishwash, for use in laundry granulation, or for use in laundry liquid.
Regarding claims 26-28, patent claim 1 does not recite a pH. However, Christensen teaches the composition is formulated to have a pH from about 6 to about 8 (page 167 lines 21-22) and teaches the composition at pH 7 (Table 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the pH in order to optimize the activity of the enzyme.
Claims 1, 16-18, and 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,683,491 in view of Christensen and as evidenced by Appendix B.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 23-25, patent claim 22 recites a detergent composition comprising a variant of claim 1. Claim 1 recites a subtilase variant comprising the substitutions X9E+X206L+X262E. Patent claim 14 recites the substitution S9E+N43R+N76D+ V205I+Q206L+ Y209W +S259D+N261W+L262E (column 99). Patent SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 (See Appendix B page 3). Patent claim 1 does not recite composition comprising from 30% to 90% by weight of an aqueous liquid carrier. However, Christensen teaches subtilase variants suitable for use in detergent compositions such as hand dish washing compositions and teaches the liquid detergent may be aqueous containing at least 20% and up to about 70% water by weight (page 158 lines 3-4). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claim 1 by adjusting the water content, as suggested by Christensen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order form an effective detergent composition.
Regarding instant claims 17-18, the limitation “provides at least one hand skin care benefit selected from corneocyte removal, reduced transepidermal water loss, an improved hand skin barrier, and improved hand skin water retention” is a recitation of intended use and is not considered to contribute to the patentability of the claimed composition as explained above.
Regarding instant claims 16 and 29-31, patent claim 1 does not recite an amount of the protease in the composition. However, Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount of 0.1 mg to 10 mg per 1L of composition (i.e., 0.01% to 1%). Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount 0.05%-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 5), or 0.1 %-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the amount of the enzyme in the composition depending on the intended use of the composition, like for use in automatic dishwash, for use in laundry granulation, or for use in laundry liquid.
Regarding claims 26-28, patent claim 1 does not recite a pH. However, Christensen teaches the composition is formulated to have a pH from about 6 to about 8 (page 167 lines 21-22) and teaches the composition at pH 7 (Table 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the pH in order to optimize the activity of the enzyme.
Claims 1, 16-18, and 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,550,381 in view of Christensen and as evidenced by Appendix B.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 23-25, patent claim 6 recites a detergent composition comprising a variant of claim 1. Claim 1 recites a subtilase variant wherein the amino acid sequence of the variant subtilase has at least 90% but less than 100% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the subtilase variant comprises the substitutions X9E, X76D, and X262E, wherein each position corresponds to the position of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2. Patent SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 (See Appendix B page 4). Patent claim 2 recites subtilase variant further comprises one or more of the substitutions selected from the group consisting of X43A, X43C, X43L, X43R, X43W, X72A, X72V, X78D, X104F, X114V, X115T, X115W, X120I , X120T, X120V, X129D, X147W, X149C, X149N, X158E, X160D, X160P, X161C, X161E, X163A, X163D, X182C, X182E, X185C, X185E, X188C, X188D, X188E, X191N, X204D, X204V, X205I , X206C, X206E, X206I , X206K, X206L, X206T, X206V, X206W, X209W, X212A, X212D, X212G, X212N, X216I, X216T, X216V, X217C, X217M, X218T, X222C, X222R, X225A, X255C, X255E, X256A, X256C, X256D, X256V, X256Y, X259D, X260E, X260P, X261C, X261E, X261L, X261M, X261 V, X261 W, X261 Y, and X261F.
Patent claim 1 does not recite composition comprising from 30% to 90% by weight of an aqueous liquid carrier. However, Christensen teaches subtilase variants suitable for use in detergent compositions such as hand dish washing compositions and teaches the liquid detergent may be aqueous containing at least 20% and up to about 70% water by weight (page 158 lines 3-4). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claim 1 by adjusting the water content, as suggested by Christensen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order form an effective detergent composition.
Regarding instant claims 17-18, the limitation “provides at least one hand skin care benefit selected from corneocyte removal, reduced transepidermal water loss, an improved hand skin barrier, and improved hand skin water retention” is a recitation of intended use and is not considered to contribute to the patentability of the claimed composition as explained above.
Regarding instant claims 16 and 29-31, patent claim 1 does not recite an amount of the protease in the composition. However, Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount of 0.1 mg to 10 mg per 1L of composition (i.e., 0.01% to 1%). Christensen teaches the subtilase variant in the detergent composition is in an amount 0.05%-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 5), or 0.1 %-5% of enzyme protein by weight of the composition (page 143 line 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the amount of the enzyme in the composition depending on the intended use of the composition, like for use in automatic dishwash, for use in laundry granulation, or for use in laundry liquid.
Regarding claims 26-28, patent claim 1 does not recite a pH. However, Christensen teaches the composition is formulated to have a pH from about 6 to about 8 (page 167 lines 21-22) and teaches the composition at pH 7 (Table 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the pH in order to optimize the activity of the enzyme.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Christensen contains a number of variants with particular substitutions but does not exemplify a particular variant with the 9 specific substitutions claimed for a hand dishwashing composition. Applicant argues that the primary stated objective of Christensen is variants with increased stability, whereas the claimed protease has been found to provide substantial skin care benefits.
In response to the argument, the instant claim does not exclude the presence of other substitutions. Christensen teaches protease variants with substitutions N76D+S9E+L262E, S9E+N43R+N76D+Q206L+Y209W+S256D, N76D+V205I+Q206L (pages 176-177 Table 9, page 102 lines 15, 18, page 104 lines 14, page 106 line 1). Christensen teaches the variant can comprise one or more of the substitutions selected from the group consisting of S9E, N43R, N76D, V205I, Q206L, Y209W, S259D, N261W and L262E (page 13 lines 20-35 through page 14 lines 1-4). Christensen teaches the substitutions are beneficial for the structure of the protease (increased stability). Thus, the claimed composition is obvious in view of Christensen. Table 1 of the specification discloses the parent protease (i.e., SEQ ID NO:1) also has corneocyte removal benefit. In response to applicant's argument that the claimed protease has been found to provide substantial skin care benefits not taught in Christensen, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant requests that the double patenting issue be deferred until the
present arguments have been fully considered.
The double patenting rejections of record have been maintained as no response to these rejections has been filled by applicant at this time.
Conclusion
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699