DETAILED ACTION
Specification
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
NOTE: The claim set that are being examined are from 05/16/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim “one of the preceding claims”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 4 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 5 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim “one of the preceding claims”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 5 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 6 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 1 to 5. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 6 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 7 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 1 to 6. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 7 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 8 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 3 to 7. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 8 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 9 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 8 which is dependent on claim 3 to 7 . See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 9 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim “one of the preceding claims”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 10 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 11 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 3-7. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 11 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 11 which is dependent on claims 3 to 7. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 12 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 12 which is dependent on 11 which is in turn dependent on claim 3 to 7. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 13 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim “any of the preceding claims”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 14 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim “any of the preceding claims”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 15 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim “one of the preceding claims”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 16 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” and is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) are: actuation means in claim 3. Note claims 8 and 9 also have a variation of actuation means however they are not being examined under merit at the moment. It is noted that the actuations means are being interpreted as per [21] of the specification to include electromechanical switch, electro-optical or biometric switch, or an electromagnetic switch.
Because this claim limitation(s) is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/2) as being anticipated by Rodenbeck et al. (WO 2017112795 A1).
Rodenbeck discloses an electronic fluid delivery system that includes a disinfection device for water treatment (Rodenbeck abstract).
For claim 1, water distribution and treatment system (Rodenbeck abstract and [0002-0004]), an inlet for connecting to a water supply source and an outlet for connecting to a water distribution device (Rodenbeck Fig. 1, [0005], [0025-0026], and [0059]), a solenoid valve electrically connected to an electrical supply and control device configured to allow water through the treatment system during the treatment mode or to bypass the cell during the non-treatment mode (Rodenbeck Figs. 2 and 4, [0030-0031, 0037, and 0041]), a water electrolysis module comprising at least two electrodes, (Rodenbeck claims 3 and 5, and [0041]; electrodes are mentioned indicating more than 1).
For claim 3, Rodenbeck further teaches that the power supply and control device is configured to electrically power the electrolysis module only under a control action of a user by actuation means (Rodenbeck abstract, [0003], [0038], [0033] and [0051]; conventional sensor (such as an infrared (IR), which is an electro-optical sensor)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodenbeck et al. (WO 2017112795 A1), and further in view of Ginter et al. (US 20210363034 A1).
As mentioned above, Rodenbeck discloses an electronic fluid delivery system that includes a disinfection device for water treatment that generates ozone (Rodenbeck abstract).
For claim 2, although Rodenbeck teaches electrodes (Rodenbeck [0041, 0027, 0077], and claims 26 and 33]), Rodenbeck does not teach that at least one of the electrodes is a boron-doped diamond electrode, the boron concentration being between 200 ppm (3x1019 B atoms/cm3) and 1500 ppm (2x1020 B atoms/cm3).
Ginter discloses a device and method to clean water using boron-doped diamond electrodes to produce active oxygen/ozone (Ginter abstract and [0014] and [0064]), thus being analogous to Rodenbeck.
Ginter further teaches that the electrodes are boron doped and that the boron concentration is between 200 ppm (3x1019 B atoms/cm3) and 1500 ppm (2x1020 B atoms/cm3) (Ginter [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill skilled in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ginter of using boron doped electrode where the boron concentration is between 200 ppm (3x1019 B atoms/cm3) and 1500 ppm (2x1020 B atoms/cm3) to those of Rodenbeck to obtain the proper operating potential of the electrode in producing the desired active oxygen compound (Ginter [00075])
Conclusion
/ABELLINE KATUSIIME FIONAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759