DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending:
17-35
Withdrawn:
32-35
Rejected:
17-31
Amended:
17, 23, 26, 29
New:
NONE
Independent:
17
Claim Interpretation
Amended claim 17 recites the limitation “suited for producing an extruded profile that consists essentially of a recrystallized microstructure which has a yield strength of greater than 260 MPa”, which is held to define an intended use for the alloy bolt product of the claimed composition, see MPEP 2111.02. Further, claim 17, line 2’s limitation of “ with a recrystallized microstructure” does not specify a specific amount of recrystallization; said limitation is interpreted, in light of the instant specification, to be “characterized by” a recrystallized microstructure (in the future condition/use as an extruded profile).
Claim 26 mentions “An extruded profile…obtainable from a continuously cast bolt according to claim 17, having a yield strength of greater than 260 MPa”. The extruded profile is interpreted to have a yield strength of >260 MPa (rather than the cast bolt).
If these interpretations are not consistent with applicant’s intended interpretation, please clarify (including where any alternate interpretation is supported in the original specification) in response to this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fourmann et al (US 2022/0025489, previously cited) in view of “Aluminum and Aluminum Alloys” pp. 98-99 (previously cited).
Fourmann teaches at Table 3, an aluminum alloy comprising (in weight%):
Claim 17
dependent claims
Fourmann
ex. F
Fe
>0-0.40
0.17
Mg
0.40-1.2
0.65-1.0 (cl. 18)
0.64
Si
0.60-0.95
0.65-0.95 (cl. 19)
0.88
Cu
>0-0.30
0.10-0.30 (cl. 22)
0.30
Cr
>0-0.35
0.10-0.30 (cl. 23)
0.14
Mn
0.4-0.95
0.45-0.60 (cl. 24)
0.77
Zn
-0.2
-
Ti &/or TiB2
opt.0.005-0.15% Ti &/or
0.005-0.15% TiB2
0.014% Ti
YS
>260 MPa
348 MPa
Ratio Si/Mg
0.90-1.20
1.00-1.10 (cl. 20)
1.375
outside
Ratio Si/Mg
0.95-1.15 (cl. 21)
1.375
outside
Table 1: instant claims vs. Fourmann
which falls within the claimed alloying ranges and meets the claimed yield strength minimum (claims 17, 19, 22, 23).
Concerning the limitation “suited for producing an extruded profile that consists essentially of a recrystallized microstructure which has a yield strength of greater than 260 MPa”, as set forth in the “Claim Interpretation”, above, the limitation “suited for producing an extruded profile that consists essentially of a recrystallized microstructure which has a yield strength of greater than 260 MPa”, is held to be intended use. The alloy of Fourmann is held to be capable of being formed into an extruded profile as claimed (that is, subject to the intended use of extruding, and capable of the claimed properties), because Fourmann teaches said overlapping alloy has excellent extrudability.
Fourmann does not specify a) the secondary dendrite arm spacing (DAS) of the bolt product (cl. 17, 25), b) casting into the form of a “bolt”, or c) an example with the claimed Si/Mg ratio (amended claim 17).
Concerning a), though Fourmann does not specify the DAS of the cast alloy, Fourmann teaches a process of casting said alloy by continuous casting, substantially as claimed in independent claim 17. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have continuously cast the alloy of Fourmann, while optimizing casting speed/cooling rate, in order to obtain fine DAS such as a DAS of <100µm (cl. 17). “Aluminum and Aluminum Alloys” p. 99 teaches casting with a fast cooling rate produces the predictable result of fine DAS , and wherein continuous cast aluminum alloys have typical DAS of 0.03-0.07 mm (30-70 µm).
Concerning b), Fourmann teaches casting said alloy into a billet (such as by continuous casting) [0016, 0048], and further processing extruding and heat treating. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have continuous cast the alloy of Fourmann into a variety of shapes, such as continuous casting in the shape of a “bolt” (as described in the instant specification, see for instance [0006], etc.) because Fourmann teaches casting said alloy into billets of various sizes (examples).
Concerning c), though Fourmann does not teach examples of an alloy with a Si/Mg ratio within the amended range of instant claim 17, the ranges of Si and Mg taught by Fourmann (see Table 2 below) the broad ranges of (0.85-1.10% Si)/(0.60-0.80% Mg) broadly overlap the claimed ratio (i.e. 0.85 Si/0.80 Mg =1.06, etc.), and therefore the broad ranges taught by Fourmann render a product with the claimed Si/Mg ratio at best an obvious variant of the prior art products.
Therefore it is held that Fourmann together with “Aluminum and Aluminum alloys” have created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Changes in temperature, concentrations, or other process conditions of an old process does not impart patentability unless the recited ranges are critical, i.e. they produce a new and unexpected result. However, said parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, “Aluminum and Aluminum Alloys” teaches casting with a fast cooling rate produces the predictable result of fine DAS (p 99).
Concerning claims 18 and 24, Fourmann teaches broad alloying ranges of:
Claim 17
dependent claims
Fourmann
Fe
>0-0.40
-0.25
Mg
0.40-1.2
0.65-1.0 (cl. 18)
0.60-0.80
Si
0.60-0.95
0.65-0.95 (cl. 19)
0.85-1.10
Cu
>0-0.35
0.10-0.30 (cl. 22)
0.30-0.90
Cr
>0-0.35
0.10-0.30 (cl. 23)
0.05-0.18
Mn
0.4-0.95
0.45-0.60 (cl. 24)
0.40-0.80
Zn
-0.2
-0.03
Ti &/or TiB2
opt.0.005-0.15% Ti &/or
0.005-0.15% TiB2
-0.05 Ti
Table 2: instant claims vs. Fourmann
which overlaps the claimed ranges of Fe, Mg, Si, Cu, Cr, Mn, Zn, and Ti (instant claims 18, 24), and therefore meets the instant limitations.
Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the range, including the claimed range, from the broader range disclosed in the prior art, because the prior art finds that said composition in the entire disclosed range has a suitable utility. Additionally, "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d at 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Concerning the Si/Mg ratio limitation of claims 20 and 21, the broad ranges of (0.85-1.10% Si)/(0.60-0.80% Mg) broadly overlap the claimed ratio (i.e. 0.85 Si/0.80 Mg =1.06, etc.), and therefore the broad ranges taught by Fourmann meets the claimed Si/Mg ratio.
Concerning claims 20, 25, see above discussion of DAS.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
In the reply filed 1/7/26 applicant amended claims 17, 23, 26, and 29; and submitted various arguments traversing the rejections of record. No new matter has been added.
Applicant’s argument that the instant invention is allowable because the prior art does not teach or suggest an aluminum alloy with the claimed alloying ranges, continuously cast as a bolt, and “suited for producing an extruded profile that consists essentially of a recrystallized microstructure which has a yield strength of greater than 260 MPa”, has not been found persuasive. As set forth in the “Claim Interpretation”, above, the limitation “suited for producing an extruded profile that consists essentially of a recrystallized microstructure which has a yield strength of greater than 260 MPa”, is held to be intended use. The alloy of Fourmann is held to be capable of being formed into an extruded profile as claimed (that is, subject to the intended use of extruding), because Fourmann teaches said alloy has excellent extrudability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art, Fourmann et al, does not teach or suggest an extruded profile product with the Al-Mg-Si composition as claimed, complete with the instant 0.40-0.95% Mn and 0.10-0.35% Cr AND the profile consists essentially of a recrystallized microstructure, substantially as presently claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733 4/30/26